Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Leaving Cert points did you get and what path did you take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

425. I repeated and got 430 :pac:
    I had to repeat because I failed maths the first time around.
    Ended up studying English and Sociology and Politics.
    I did a Masters in Public Advocacy and Activism which is about as useful as an empty tea bag.
    I begin my second Masters in Social Work next week.
    I am also broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭TG1

300 or less
    385, I didn't really do a tap. I wanted to work with horses so only stayed in school to keep the mammy happy.

Then a few years later the reality of hard manual labor outside for minuscule pay and a lot of abuse dawned and I went back to college and did a b.comm. now I have a cushy office job and miss the horses like nothing else... I'm just never happy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

While some of ye wouldn't be allowed to vote, I suspect the same chap wouldn't want me to breed based on my LC score.

I practically did zero homework from the third year onward and really, really enjoyed by secondary school daze days.

However, I did finally grow up (bah humbug) and got a professional qualification (level 9 equivalent) and went back to get a Uni degree by night (mostly as a hobby).

I have done and continue to do well by most measures. And I always did quite well from a network point of view. Recently got contacted by a multi published Doctor (Professor) well known in his speciality to work on a business opportunity.

With that said, I've always admired those that did well in the Leaving Cert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Four hundred and something. Not enough to go to Galway with my group of friends, which seemed like a disaster at the time, but they all lived together and were on the lash all the time and I think only 1 of the 4 ever graduated, whereas I had to make my own way and ended up doing fine by myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭Bitches Be Trypsin

450+
    All I did was the homework but no study or anything. I won't say what I got but it was very close to 600. Went on to do a course for 540 points which I hate. I will either study medicine, computer science or beauty therapy afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,847 ✭✭✭take everything

560 (595 with bonus points) in 1994.
    First in school in DATS aptitude testing.
    Medical degree.
    Masters in Neuroscience.

Not working currently. Can't stand the culture/bull**** in Medicine.

Going back to college to do something I'm really good at and want to do hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

450+
    575 in 2003. Well enough to do engineering so was under no pressure to get points which may have helped.

Got a 1st class honours, automotive engineer, self-employed, work out foreign, renovating a barn in the south of France but most importantly met the girl of my dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

enda1 wrote: »
    575 in 2003. Well enough to do engineering so was under no pressure to get points which may have helped.

Got a 1st class honours, automotive engineer, self-employed, work out foreign, renovating a barn in the south of France but most importantly met the girl of my dreams.

Eh... you did get points that helped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

450+
    YFlyer wrote: »
    Eh... you did get points that helped.

I only need like 400 or something. I knew I'd get them without trying. I'm not trying to sound arrogant, but it's just the way it is.

So having no pressure on myself the leaving cert was quite enjoyable and allowed me to maybe do better in some subjects that I was less good in without having the stress and pressure of necessity weighing over me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭fmpisces

I feel like a dunce having read the first few posts with yer 500+ points :D:D

I did my leaving a few years ago back in 1994 :P and got 285. I was a grafter believe it or not but I wasn't happy with my results so I repeated the following year. I was hoping to make 350 to do a BA in Arts in Maynooth but only managed 335. I was gutted. I did a PLC course in Moate, BTEC in Social Studies and Social Care. It was a two year course but I only did one year, opting to go to England with my best friend instead and the rest as they say, is history.

I've chopped and changed jobs over the years but did a good stint as a Registered Childminder from home. I'm now an SNA since the last 4 years and I'm happy out. This is my calling :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

300+
    375 I think. I hardly studied and smoked dope and chased women and drank beer and made friends and memories and due to issues with being kicked out of school and stuff I did the leaving in one year
    I did a year of electronic engineering degree but decided it wasn't for me (probably was but I was burnt out with education at that stage )
    So then I became self employed aged 19 and worked 69 hours a week and realised that I should probably go back to college
    So I did a degree in chemistry and half way through realised it wasn't for me but I finished it cos I'd done that before and I needed to learn to Finish what I started

So then I became self employed again and worked 70 hours a week week and then I got a management job from another self employed grafter and I work d 40 hours a week for him and 20 for me and was happy enough
    Then he folded up so I started my own 3 times a charm busin as filling the hole his larger business left behind
    My first month in that business I made €35,000 gross profit . That's not in my pocket cos I'd borrowed heavaily and had massive rent and stuff but I made 200k befor tax that year
    i have no idea what I'm ment to do but hard work and the ability to know that getting back on it when you fail is the secret to doing it
    I'm no longer self employed I run a business for someone else and while I make a lot less money it's much less stressful
    Doss in your teen early twenties
    Study in your mid twenties
    Work in your thirties
    And dial it back when you hit 40
    Or work hard in school and get a decent leaving
    I Donno it's 99% luck I reckon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

It doesn't matter how I did, cos if boards taught me anything, I can blame all my failings on women or immigrants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

300+
    If I remember correctly, I got 375 points, after which I opted out of college and became a pro-wrestler (and a fairly mediocre one at that, but sure with those points I was used to mediocrity by that stage). Due to the head trauma I likely suffered in that, I'd say I'd score a solid 120 if I sat today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭MagicHumanDoll

450+
    500 points on the button. Currently have done 3 out of 5 years in Architecture. Have wanted to be one since I was a kid and have loved it so far!

Points, if you can get the ones you want, are so pointless. So many replies of people who love what they do and achieved lowish points and many others who smashed it out of the park and have since changed careers.

It's all relative!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

I did mine under an older system
    pitifulgod wrote: »
    350 which I was pretty disappointed with at the time. Did an English and history degree which I did great in. Now a software engineer which I enjoy lots. So pretty happy with the outcome. Wouldn't ever view the result as a reflection of intelligence and think system didn't suit me.

How did you go from English and History to working as a SE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭wetlandsboy

480. Did a degree in Civil Engineering. Then a MEngSc (by research), followed by a PhD. Ten years of education and hard graft to be called doctor! Currently a prof in a university.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭markc1184

300 or less
    I got 320, should have done a lot better but didn't. After the LC I did an electricians apprenticeship and when that dried up in the recession I went to college through one of those access certificates and got a degree in electronic engineering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭pitifulgod

300+
    How did you go from English and History to working as a SE?

Conversion course, I've been always pretty oriented to computer science in general so didn't find it to be a major challenge to move to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Lets not beat about the bush here. We all know why you're loving it. However, Mr. Ashcroft has some advice for you below.

Was the song about his dad's terminal cancer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

360 points. Didn't really care at the time and only did small bits of night before study. Did a entry course for engineering and dropped out as I hated it. Worked as a labourer for 2 years. Got a job in a bank and worked my way up to supervisor. Went out on my own as a self employed consultant doing BA/PM activities which pays ridicously well. Went back to college at 27 as a mature student on a P/T basis and got a BA Finance and Accounting degree. My LinkedIn is pinging with opportunities at the minute.

The LC in my opinion is not relevant and unnecessary pressure. There is always other ways if the motivation is there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Donnielighto

450+
    I got 570 points. That was ten years ago and I haven't achieved much since then. I did go on to complete a BSc and an MSc, but with average to below average results in disciplines I was not particularly talented in. Have been trundling along the humdrum "work 9-5 for 40-50 years then curl up and die" path since.

Having said all that my mental health and attitude to life has (marginally and very slowly) improved compared to where I was a couple of years ago. Maybe when I'm 30 I'll go back to college or **** off to the other side of the world on a whim or something. Be grand.

Exact same, even the points year and work style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭dricko_lim

350+
    got 415. Did computer engineering for a year in college and changed to Business Studies. Finished that then worked in Scotland for a few years in car rental then Finance in Ireland for 5 years.

Packed it in last year and my wife and I sold our house and went travelling with two young kids (3&1) at the time. Now living in Chiang Mai in Thailand teaching computers and my wife is the school Nurse. Both kids in the same school also now in nursery and 'babies' K1. Work full days but teach about 12 hours a week. the rest is spent playing basketball or soccer with the kids. Love my job :)

Delighted I packed in the 9-5 as it was the same ****e everyday!! I would advise anyone just pack up and go if you can. I was reluctant but wife convinced me and so happy I did!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,277 ✭✭✭Wompa1

300 or less
    I think I got 320. I was so upset that I threw it in the bin. I don't fully remember. Blocked it out of my mind. That year of my life was a bag of crap. I ended up doing an IT course in GMIT, which wasn't my first choice but it turned out to be the best thing that could have happened.

At the time Science courses, Engineering (Civil, Electronic etc.) and even Commerce had high points. It was before the economy took a dump and was just after the .com bubble burst. A lot of IT courses, even in large Universities ended up going AQA by 2nd or 3rd offers. One of my choices at a University apparently only had a handful of people in the class.

I took to college in a way I never took to school before. I was one of the top students in my class during my first two years. I think being away from the drama of home and having something practical to focus on was what I needed.

I started my first IT job just 2 weeks after my final exam in 4th year. That was just over 10 years ago. Looking back, that seems crazy. Only 2 other people applied for the same job that I did. There was high demand for tech workers and not enough people to fill them. A graduate had their pick of jobs BUT people seemed more inclined to go back and do a masters or a PhD in IT (in my 11th year of working in IT, that also seems crazy. It's such overkill unless everybody fancied themselves a lecturer or were trying to change their skillset). Many also decided to travel for 6 months to a year but by the time they came back, everything had changed. The jobs were gone!

In my 11th year, I am living in the US making more money that I ever thought possible. I have been awarded as one of the top professionals in what I do by some of the largest tech companies in the world. I have been to over half of the states in the US, all over Europe, to Australia, Canada and will be travelling to Asia for my first time next year. I have a full-time job but also moonlight as an executive partner with a company, as well as doing some side consulting every once in a while.

It's not exactly what I wanted to do. It's definitely not what I wanted to do when I was young but hopefully I can put in a few more years, save my acorns and then try something else.

I have found a strong work ethic and common sense can bring you further in life than a piece of paper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭ittakestwo

300+
    I got 365 points in 2002. Did not do much study and was much more interested about the World Cup that was on at the time of the leaving that year. Got into Civil Engineering in TCD despite it coming in at 430 that year as I was let of pionts due to a learning disability.

I graduated at the peak of the construction boom in 2006 and walked into a job but by 2009 I was let go due to the crash. I chopped and changed during the recession when there was no work available in construction .I really regreted my choice for a while then. But now I am back in construction and I have no regrets :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

280 I think, didnt do a tap for the leaving, stopped going to classes in March, got a business degree and a well paying job. Burned out after 10 years and studied pt for an IT degrees, switch to a entry level IT job last year and love it, if I had to do it all again, I probably wouldn't change a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,285 ✭✭✭RiseToMe

295 points, JC was straight As but mental health took a battering and it all went wrong for the LC.

Did two years of an arts degree, dropped out. Got a job at 19, started a course that only a handful people have here in the same area, bought a place in Dublin at 21. Further distance learning achieved a first class honours BSc and a professional qualification and two diplomas by 28. I'm now a tutor and examiner for the college I studied in and director of my own successful company.

Leaving cert works for some, not for others but certainly isn't the be all and end all unless you let it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Did very well in the mocks, crashed out in the LC. Had just hit the end of my tether at that stage and the stress piled up. Screwed up two of what should have been my strongest papers. Still, got lucky, the points dropped a bit for the science course I wanted and I scraped in, eventually graduated with a First right into the recession. So that was fun and all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Vivian Flat Ground

300 or less
    Samaris wrote: »
    Did very well in the mocks, crashed out in the LC. Had just hit the end of my tether at that stage and the stress piled up. Screwed up two of what should have been my strongest papers. Still, got lucky, the points dropped a bit for the science course I wanted and I scraped in, eventually graduated with a First right into the recession. So that was fun and all.

Simlar story to me, got 420 ish in the mocks and then I scraped a 300 in the actual test, tiredness and stress got to me, got into Cork Institute of Technology instead of UCC Arts course as I was aiming to get into teaching via that way but got computer science and dropped out after a month into Business Administration and then found I was interested in marketing and HR and found my way into an admin job ....I blame also the subjects I selected Biology and chemistry as they were my worst subjects and I never did a business related one and now ive a masters/undergrad done in business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭fg1406

350+
    Got 450 points in 1999. Did common entry Engineering and graduated with a degree in Civil Engineering. Did a Post grad diploma in Town planning by night after getting a job with a LA. It was only temporary so I moved to the private sector and worked for a surveying company in Dublin. Living and working in the city wore me out so myself and my then boyfriend relocated to his hometown where I took a pay cut and went into another public sector job. This was initially in HR but I transferred to finance shortly after. I did a law degree at night through UCC a few years ago. Now doing my LLM via distance learning.