Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My Log on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Younganne wrote: »
    All perfect reasons to go for Donadea.:D
    You are doing the right thing regarding your recovery, but with no DCM in the plan, now is the perfect time to build towards Donadea. There is no interruption along the way and you have lots of time to get the perfect training done.. . . just my opinion though!!!:D

This time around would be a good time to do Donadea but it just doesnt fit into my plans for 2018. The reason that I have failed to make the start line for the previous 2 Donadea races is because it takes me so long to recover from DCM that I cant get the proper training done in time for a 50k. So if I assume the recovery will be just as long after the 50k then that would really upset my plan for next year. I will run Donadea sometime in the future but I will go and support you in 2018:D

Tuesday
    5.7 miles @ 8:19m/m

Thursday
    6.3 miles @ 8:28m/m

Friday
    4.6 miles @ 9:06m/m

Sunday
    6.5 miles @ 8:46m/m

All runs this week where on the road and happy to say that there was no complaints from the Achilles but the legs where quite tired which is probably from being back on the roads.
    From this week on I will start to increase the long runs and hopefully I might start hitting some decent weekly mileage soon.

23.1 miles for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Building up very nicely there J. Good to see that this log has some consistency. Enjoy.

denis b wrote: »
    Building up very nicely there J. Good to see that this log has some consistency. Enjoy.

Thanks D. This log will hopefully be boringly consistent over the next few months, fair play to anyone who continues to read it:)

Monday
    3.7 miles @ 9:10m/m recovery run.

Wednesday
    6.4 miles @ 8:03m/m
    Dropped Jake jr to soccer training and headed off for a run along a route which happens to be a lap of the EOI Staplestown marathon route. The route has a few long drags so I was happy that I was able to maintain a decent pace.

Thursday
    4.2 miles @ 9:07m/m
    Out and back recovery run.

Friday
    5.2 miles @8:03m/m
    Dropped the kids to GAA training and I headed out along the canal to Robertstown and back. After a slow start I upped the pace and I managed to get 2 miles at sub 8 min pace, that doesnt seem like much but it is progress.

Sunday
    7.3 miles @ 8:22m/m
    Lovely morning for a run but it did get very warm by the time I had finished.

This was the first week in a long time that I managed to get 5 runs in for the week. No problems to report.
    26.8 miles for the week.

Tuesday
    6.2 miles @ 8:00m/m
    I managed to get 3 miles in at sub 8 min pace(7:46, 7:36 and 7:43m/m) on this run. It was nice to up the pace for a change and I will include this type of run into my weekly training from now on.

Wednesday
    4.3 miles @ 9:00m/m recovery

Thursday
    6 miles @ 8:14m/m
    I had planned on adding some strides on this run but my Achilles was a bit tender so I didnt bother. I am probably being to cautious but the main thing is to get back running consistently.

Saturday
    4.2 miles @ 9:13m/m Recovery pace

Sunday
    8.1 miles @ 8:14m/m
    Out and back route, I managed to avoid the rain but it was very humid.
    Legs were a little bit tired by the end of the run.

28.8 miles for the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Your making great progress and you're right to be cautious for now anyway. Fair play for doing the sensible thing and building back up slowly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I've been reading up on your log as much as possible over the last few days and have learned a lot. Thanks ! I've spent the bulk of this year improving 5k and 10k times. I'm at the stage now where I'm not sure whether to stick with improving those times or to move up to half/full marathon. The fear I have is that as I get older (currently 36) I'll slow down and the chance to achieve those fast 5k/10k times will have passed me by. The question I have is, did you find the marathon training has impacted your shorter distance (5k/10k) times? I couldn't see from your log whether they did or not and you seemed to be at a similar level to me before DCM 2016 (I think).

Thanks again for the great log. It's definitely one I will use as a reference when I do bite the bullet and do a full marathon.

P.S apologies for hijacking your log......

Your making great progress and you're right to be cautious for now anyway. Fair play for doing the sensible thing and building back up slowly.

Thanks hbs. I am very happy with my progress so far and I am more than a little surprised at how sensible I am being but its all about the main thing which is to hopefully have an injury free 2018.

I've been reading up on your log as much as possible over the last few days and have learned a lot. Thanks ! I've spent the bulk of this year improving 5k and 10k times. I'm at the stage now where I'm not sure whether to stick with improving those times or to move up to half/full marathon. The fear I have is that as I get older (currently 36) I'll slow down and the chance to achieve those fast 5k/10k times will have passed me by. The question I have is, did you find the marathon training has impacted your shorter distance (5k/10k) times? I couldn't see from your log whether they did or not and you seemed to be at a similar level to me before DCM 2016 (I think).

Thanks again for the great log. It's definitely one I will use as a reference when I do bite the bullet and do a full marathon.

P.S apologies for hijacking your log......

Hi Swashbuckler thanks for taking the time to read my log.
    The short answer to your question is yes I do feel that marathon training has impacted my shorter distance times but the reason is not because marathon training slows me down but it is because I prioritise marathon training over the other distances.
    Ideally I try to set up my year of running like this, I start off the year training for a spring half marathon then its on to 5/10k training and then carry that speed training into a 12 week specific marathon plan in the autumn. If I PB over the shorter distances well and good but its all about being sharp heading into marathon training.
    This year hasnt gone to plan but the previous 2 years went very much to plan. Next year it will be more of the same but I know that if I want to hit my marathon target I am going to have to embrace the pain of 5/10k trainingfrown.png to achieve this.

With regards to slowing down as you get older have no fear, if you train hard and smart your times will continue to improve over all distances for years to come, after all you are still only a young fellowsmile.png. I am 47 now and I will be very disappointed if I dont take chunks off all my PBs over the coming years.
    Best of luck with your training, enjoy and start a log here so we can keep an eye on you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

jake1970 wrote: »
    Hi Swashbuckler thanks for taking the time to read my log.
    The short answer to your question is yes I do feel that marathon training has impacted my shorter distance times but the reason is not because marathon training slows me down but it is because I prioritise marathon training over the other distances.
    Ideally I try to set up my year of running like this, I start off the year training for a spring half marathon then its on to 5/10k training and then carry that speed training into a 12 week specific marathon plan in the autumn. If I PB over the shorter distances well and good but its all about being sharp heading into marathon training.
    This year hasnt gone to plan but the previous 2 years went very much to plan. Next year it will be more of the same but I know that if I want to hit my marathon target I am going to have to embrace the pain of 5/10k trainingfrown.png to achieve this.

With regards to slowing down as you get older have no fear, if you train hard and smart your times will continue to improve over all distances for years to come, after all you are still only a young fellowsmile.png. I am 47 now and I will be very disappointed if I dont take chunks off all my PBs over the coming years.
    Best of luck with your training, enjoy and start a log here so we can keep an eye on you.

Thanks for the response. That's really useful info and seems like a good way to break up the year. I guess I'm at a crossroads on what to do so I'll need to decide over the coming months. The temptation to move up to the full is definitely there for me. I might take an approach similar to yours and split up the year.

I'll continue to follow your log with interest. I have set up a log this week actually - The Day That Never Comes. Training is a bit up in the air at the moment as my wife and I are expecting our first arrival and I promised no races for the next few months so I have no real target race in mind!

Thanks again. Best of luck with the training.

Monday
    4.3 miles @ 9:07m/m Recovery pace

Tuesday
    6.4 miles @ 7:33 m/m
    Soccer training for jake jr and for me its a lap of the Staplestown marathon route. Even though this was my fastest paced run in 10 weeks I felt comfortable throughout, maybe its a sign that I am starting to regain some fitness.

Thursday
    6.3 miles @ 8:17m/m with 5 x 100m strides
    I decided to reintroduce strides into my training. I was a bit nervous about this as I thought the strides might be a bit much for the achilles but happy to report all went well.

Friday
    5 mile @ 9:04m/m recovery.

Sunday
    9.5 miles @ 8:18m/m
    Nice steady long run.

31.5 miles for the week.

Monday
    5 miles @ 9:03m/m recovery

Tuesday
    6.6 miles @ 7:47m/m
    The plan was to run a few quick miles just to do something different. I started out with a warm up mile and then ran 2 fast miles @ 7:01 and 7:08 and then a mile recovery followed by another fast mile @ 7:06m/m and I finished off with a cool down of 1.6 miles. Probably not the smartest workout to be doing at the moment but it was an enjoyable one.

Thursday
    6.5 miles @ 7:59m/m
    Struggled a bit to maintain pace and was sweating loads even though it was cool out.

Sunday
    10 miles @ 8:20m/m
    I was meant to do a recovery run on Friday but I had picked up a tummy bug so that meant no running till today. I started out on a short loop that would bring me back by my house just in case I had any issues after the tummy bug but after a couple of easy miles I continued on my way. It was nice to get 10 miles done, its has been 12 weeks since I have hit double figures on a run.

28.1 miles for the week.

Monday
    5 miles @ 9:07m/m
    I had to charge up the headlamp for this run as it was 9pm by the time I got out, no luxury of street lighting around these country roads.

Tuesday
    6.4 miles @ 8:00m/m
    Another Tuesday and another run around the Staplestown route while Jake jr was soccer training. Not as comfortable a run as it was 2 weeks ago.

Friday
    4.7 miles @ 8:57m/m

Saturday
    4.2 miles @ 8:49m/m

Sunday
    6.2 miles @ 8:44m/m

On Wednesday I was getting a short sharpe pain in my Achilles and it was the same on Thursday so I booked an appointment with the Physio for Friday. He diagnosed a mild Achilles Tendinopathy, so lots more streching but the good news is I can keep running as long as I am pain free when running.

26.5 miles for the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Friday
    4.7 miles @ 8:57m/m

Saturday
    4.2 miles @ 8:49m/m

Sunday
    6.2 miles @ 8:44m/m

On Wednesday I was getting a short sharpe pain in my Achilles and it was the same on Thursday so I booked an appointment with the Physio for Friday. He diagnosed a mild Achilles Tendinopathy, so lots more streching but the good news is I can keep running as long as I am pain free when running.

26.5 miles for the week

Whew....last few words took the sting out of that post. Did the Achilles behave at the weekend?

denis b wrote: »
    Whew....last few words took the sting out of that post. Did the Achilles behave at the weekend?

Thankfully it was grand but I did take it easy on the first few runs after the Physio visit, there is a slight ache there but no return of the sharp pain. Hopefully its only another niggle to add to the list of niggles to be managedsmile.png

Monday
    5 mile @ 8:56m/m

Wednesday
    6.4 mile @ 7:55m/m

Thursday
    6.3 mile @ 8:06m/m

Friday
    5 miles @ 9:04m/m

Sunday
    5 miles @ 8:24m/m

27.7 miles for the week.

Well that was a week of meh running. I think its time to up the training a little and also run a few races just to give myself an idea of where my fitness is currently at. I was looking at Donadea 10k but its only 2 weeks away but it is probably too soon. There is a 10k race in Clane on the 4th November so that will probably be my next race, I wont be expecting much from the race but I do need something to focus on just to keep me ticking over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

There's a 5k/10K in Longwood on Sunday 22nd October, super little race if a bit challenging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

There's a 5k/10K in Longwood on Sunday 22nd October, super little race if a bit challenging.

Never mind her L, nice flat route in Longwood!!!!

OOnegative wrote: »
    Never mind her L, nice flat route in Longwood!!!!

Thanks for that AM but I am a bit confused by the conflicting opinons of the route, now who should I believesmile.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

Thanks for that AM but I am a bit confused by the conflicting opinons of the route, now who should I believesmile.png

Me of course, yer man is spinning yarns again :D. Maybe youganne will come along with a more neutral unbiased opinion :pac:.

It is a challenging route to race on (there are a few bumps!) but I wouldn't let that stop you, it's also a really nice race, very well organised and cheap as chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Me of course, yer man is spinning yarns again :D. Maybe youganne will come along with a more neutral unbiased opinion :pac:.

It is a challenging route to race on (there are a few bumps!) but I wouldn't let that stop you, it's also a really nice race, very well organised and cheap as chips.

I see the children are squabbling again!! :)

hhhmmm my memory is not what it use to be :o and I honestly can't remember the route. I do however remember the rain and the 2 bridges over the canal.

I have checked strava for last years run and it shows elevation gain of 36 ft!!

Hope that's of some use L.. I do know its a great run, well organised and lovely teeshirt!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Younganne wrote: »
    I see the children are squabbling again!! :)

hhhmmm my memory is not what it use to be :o and I honestly can't remember the route. I do however remember the rain and the 2 bridges over the canal.

I have checked strava for last years run and it shows elevation gain of 36 ft!!

Hope that's of some use L.. I do know its a great run, well organised and lovely teeshirt!!

It's flat for us country folk Anne, a speed bump is a hill to those Dubs!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

:D:D:D:D:D

As I would fit into the "country folk" category I will take it to be flat.