Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2017 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

Stillill42 wrote: »
    Anyone get yo Everything Everything? Thought they were great too. No reptiles another contender for the song of the weekend.

Yeah they were class... That song or funeral by band of horses were song of the weekend for me... Young fathers and run the jewels my stand out acts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭thebusher

I second this - thanks again thebusher, your directions were excellent. We went via Athy too and got into the Yellow car park no problem shortly before 2 on Friday afternoon.

I'll post again soon with thoughts on my first full Picnic.

Glad it worked out :-)

Pogueology as the gig gets pulled

https://youtu.be/yXi_jt0n3O4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭phizzledizzle

Anyone get yo Everything Everything? Thought they were great too. No reptiles another contender for the song of the weekend.

I only caught them near the end due to clashes, but that was a belter. Had never heard it before and it was on repeat in the car on the way home.

Thought Le Galaxie were excellent, it looked like things were going to go awry when their choreographed opening came undone due to the keyboard not working and Michael Pope slamming his faulty mic down and screaming the sound desk, but it all worked out after. Was really impressed by Otherkin at 4pm, made the most of that slot. Interpol were clinical but I like that about them tbf. Wouldn't be a huge fan of Fr John Misty but the second half of his set was exceptional.

Was torn between Kiasmos, Pond and Soulwax last night, went to a bit of Kiasmos but it looks like I would have enjoyed Soulwax more.

London Grammar should have been in the Electric Arena, I think the intimacy of their music gets lost on the main stage.

Don't think I can hack camping in the mainsite anymore, we were surrounded by cokeheads roaring all-night monologues.

The app was a lifesaver Pablo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

I only caught them near the end due to clashes, but that was a belter. Had never heard it before and it was on repeat in the car on the way home.

Thought Le Galaxie were excellent, it looked like things were going to go awry when their choreographed opening came undone due to the keyboard not working and Michael Pope slamming his faulty mic down and screaming the sound desk, but it all worked out after. Was really impressed by Otherkin at 4pm, made the most of that slot. Interpol were clinical but I like that about them tbf. Wouldn't be a huge fan of Fr John Misty but the second half of his set was exceptional.

Was torn between Kiasmos, Pond and Soulwax last night, went to a bit of Kiasmos but it looks like I would have enjoyed Soulwax more.

London Grammar should have been in the Electric Arena, I think the intimacy of their music gets lost on the main stage.

Don't think I can hack camping in the mainsite anymore, we were surrounded by cokeheads roaring all-night monologues.

I counted my blessings I got the eco campsite everytime walking through oscar Wilde.. it was wedged and looked more and more like the jungle at Calais as the weekend went on :) .. I wouldn't have stuck it there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,653 ✭✭✭✭Seathrun66

The aftermath of that same Pogueology gig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,147 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Can't post... too soon :(

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

They did. The post above is wrong.

They had Heineken, Heineken Light, Cute Hoor, Tiger, Paulaner, Desperados, Murphy's and Orchard Thieves. It's enough variety.

Not sure if you're being sarcastic or not, but just in case.....

Heineken, Heineken Light, Tiger & Desperados - 4 kinds of pilsner/lager. One is lower calorie, one is slightly stronger alcohol and slightly more barley malt flavour and one is a whacky lime and tequilla flavoured lager.

Cute Hoor, Paulaner, Murphy's and Orchard Thieves - one red ale, one wheat beer, one stout and cider isn't beer.

So 4 lagers, one ale, one weiss and one stout. You'd be hard pressed to find a pub in any town in Ireland that has more than a thousand residents with less beer variety than this.

Especially since Pale Ale and IPA are so popular at the moment.

The Big Grill BBQ festival in Herbert Park had 18 beer vendors, each with 3/4 different brews each. I'm not saying that EP should do the same, as they are primarily a music festival, but considering they have such a variety of food options (as many if not more than Big Grill or Taste of Dublin), it's odd that they don't do the same for beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 MaxManis

Heres what I can remember and what I thought - had to leave early yesterday evening so missed all the acts from later last night.
    Friday
    Young fathers - really good
    Vince Staples - didnt get it - reminded me of Kanye at Glasto :D
    The XX - grand ,
    Bicep - really enjoyed them even though only knew Just and a couple of others
    Otherkin - excellent
    After that chaos ensued at Trenchtown and Rave in Woods, then magically you wake up in a tent the next morning

Saturday
    After some breakfast beers
    Touts - effing amazing - short sharp punk songs
    Strypes - good
    Otherkin - brilliant - any gig that you have the leader singer standing on top of you has gotta be good ?
    Bold Motel - saw Outsiders - R&b not my thing but enjoyed my brief stay there
    Madness - very good , they still got it
    Everything everything, very well received, surprised me tbh as not a fan
    These charming men - absolutely fantastic smiths cover band
    All Tvvins - took a while to get going - always watchable
    Frank & Walters - excellent
    Japandroids - sounded good - only there for a couple of songs
    A tRibe Called Quest - very good - more lively than expected - rain really arrived
    Interpol - This was my disappointment of the weekend - especially as at that stage I was half drowned and decided to stay in and dry - Would have loved to left and gone to Pete Tong but just didnt - They looked to be a bit miffed - possibly the delayed start pissed them off - saw the drummer throwing a strop when called back for another couple at the end ? Anyone else think that ?
    Saw a dj in a tent after Interpol- It think it was Clark - whoever it was he was not great but had 2 dancers who worked there socks off. They looked a bit freaky with long hair down in front of them - reminded me of the scary lady who crawls out of tv's in the ring
    Slunk off to my tent wet but happy particularly with the start of the day

Sunday
    Prymary Colours - brilliant tunes, brilliant outfits , scantily clad assistants - whats not to like ?!
    Kila - very enjoyable
    Fangclub - excellent - very early nirvana vibe off the songs to me,
    King Kong Company - really good live performers and performance as always -got a huge crowd in to see them again
    That was when I cut off to go home
    saw loads of nibbles of other things when drifting about, got to wander around all the Global Green area and stuff like that on Sunday morning - very enjoyable
    I also thought the vibe was great in general this year - better than last year for sure
    I hope everyone elase had as good a time as I did, got home safe and I'll see you all soon on next years thread :D
    I didnt get my code yet etc...:D:D:D

Looked like the Interpol drummer pulled a bit of strop but think he may have been joking because he drew a little smile after it. Thought Interpol were excellent but poor scheduling when the main act get delayed 30 mins going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 MaxManis

Did anyone find The Strypes hugely underwhelming on the mainstage on Sunday. I know its not an easy time to play at 3.00 on a Sunday but they didn't seen interested at all. Setlist was very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Kurtosis

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Because it's probably intentional.

Possibly not in all cases. A friend paid for a pint of Heineken with a fifty euro note and a euro twenty in coin. The person behind the bar had to go ask someone what change to give :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭whelzer

Kurtosis wrote: »
    Possibly not in all cases. A friend paid for a pint of Heineken with a fifty euro note and a euro twenty in coin. The person behind the bar had to go ask someone what change to give :(

Had similar at the B&S bar, gave 20 note and 3.40 in change for 2 pints, totally confused person behind the bar, in fairness a lot of the bar staff were just volunteers with their wages going to Comhlamh.

And yes, better choice of beer would have been a very nice touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,922 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Kurtosis wrote: »

Of course not in all cases. Not all people are bad. Genuine mistakes can be made

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

Thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. Great organisation, great vibe and great line up.
    Was in eco for the first time. Definitely going back next year.
    Security were sound.
    Some highlights
    Touts
    Goat Girl
    Brand New Friend
    Madness
    PSB
    This charming man

Disappointments
    London g
    Dj Yoda
    Kicking teenagers didn't happen

Touts were really a great find

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭nc6000

MaxManis wrote: »
    Did anyone find The Strypes hugely underwhelming on the mainstage on Sunday. I know its not an easy time to play at 3.00 on a Sunday but they didn't seen interested at all. Setlist was very poor.

Yep, we thought they were pretty disappointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I just saw this and i honestly do not know what they are screaming at or for..

http://www.irishexaminer.com/examviral/watch-doireann-garrihy-and-james-kavanagh-perform-at-electric-picnic-804432.html

am i just old? This guy is not doing anything at all. :confused:
    I do not think he is even particularly good on the that hoverboard thing

They must be the same people that were giving the "Oooii oooii oooo" at Jenny Greene + RTE Orchestra.

All the same, great to see everyone enjoying themselves.
    I forgot to mention earlier run the Jewels also had quite a powerful performance. I have never been a fan, but would definitely have a listen to them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Cocojumbo

I walked 45km according to Stepz and didn't even stay Sunday !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭Stillill42

Anyone else catch DD Allen? The poor fecker. I caught him at a very sparsely populated Salty Dog on Friday and again at Trailer Park in the absolute pissings of rain on the Saturday, again with one man and his dog to watch him. He deserved better, he was excellent. And unfailingly polite to boot.

Yea. I enjoyed him on Friday night.

What site did you stay in ?

I'm a wreck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Not sure if you're being sarcastic or not, but just in case.....

Heineken, Heineken Light, Tiger & Desperados - 4 kinds of pilsner/lager. One is lower calorie, one is slightly stronger alcohol and slightly more barley malt flavour and one is a whacky lime and tequilla flavoured lager.

Cute Hoor, Paulaner, Murphy's and Orchard Thieves - one red ale, one wheat beer, one stout and cider isn't beer.

So 4 lagers, one ale, one weiss and one stout. You'd be hard pressed to find a pub in any town in Ireland that has more than a thousand residents with less beer variety than this.

Especially since Pale Ale and IPA are so popular at the moment.

The Big Grill BBQ festival in Herbert Park had 18 beer vendors, each with 3/4 different brews each. I'm not saying that EP should do the same, as they are primarily a music festival, but considering they have such a variety of food options (as many if not more than Big Grill or Taste of Dublin), it's odd that they don't do the same for beer.

This is not how music festivals work. The Big Grill is a beer and food festival and is about 0.1% of the scale of EP. Pubs are even less relevant.

To get enough drink, bars and staff in for 50,000 people for 3 days requires a colossal infrastructure that only someone like Heineken or Diageo could provide.

EP can't bring Heineken on board and then let a load of competitors set up shop.

I'm not being sarcastic. Just realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,595 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

I'm a wreck

join the club, got home, did washing, crashed for about 4 hours this afternoon.

watching twin peaks at the moment which is really not helping

we had white lines last night, epic wonderful tasteless fantastic out there white lines...

i'm a happy camper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mrs Shuttleworth

I'm a wreck

Drank a ferocious amount of alcohol yesterday and very hazy memories of midnight onwards.

Four hours in the leaba this afternoon, Nurofen Plus, sausage rolls and Diet Coke and I'd do all again in a heartbeat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,734 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

One more grumble from me - this trend of having "special guests" listed for a stage and only ever announcing who it will be via Twitter or Facebook is utter bullsh*t. Barely anyone at the festival is checking your stupid social feeds, even if we had the bandwidth to do so. Just announce the guest on the physical stage time list thats's shown outside each stage ffs.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,568 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

EP can't bring Heineken on board and then let a load of competitors set up shop.

Well this is different from what you said. You said there was enough choice already. Now you are making the point that I already made - that Heineken seems to have a monopoly deal to the exclusion of competitors. I'm not denying that's what has happened, my point is that I wish it wasn't so.

Given the scale, and that most people's preference will probably still be for Heineken beers, convenience etc, I really don't see how letting a few smaller breweries set up a stall or two would make a massive dent in their profits, and it would make the festival better for awkward customers like me! In fact, it would probably make me drink more of the Heineken beers towards the end of the night.

In Beatyard Becks and the Brewtonic tents were happily situated side by side. If Heineken refuse to have any competition in the same festival, they could go to Diageo, InBev, Carlsberg group etc, Molson Coors who all have the capacity and branding to cover such a large festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

How were London Grammar? Haven't seen them mentioned much, were they on the main stage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

MadYaker wrote: »
    How were London Grammar? Haven't seen them mentioned much, were they on the main stage?

I thought they were great. Hannah Reid's voice is insanely good. I was very impressed with how great lyrically she was live. Probs would have been better in EA though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Go Tobban

Cracking Picnic. Crowd was great, saw zero trouble

Only gripe I had was the lack of camping space. We arrived at half 1 on Fri and the place was absolutely jammed. Couldn't find a anywhere to camp. Bad buzz when you have all your camping gear/cans
    Eventually found somewhere in Joplin after an hour or so of looking

Will go through the acts tomorrow when my brain re-balances!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭EIREDriver

Thoughts after my first picnic

The Good

- Great 3 days of music overall.
    - Band of Horses was my highlight. The reaction to The Funeral was unbelievable! The band even paused half way through to acknowledge it. Think they were pleasantly surprised.
    - Japandroids were also very good. Loved Brian kneeling behind the oblivious security guard with the wooly cap and rocking the sh!t out of his guitar at the end. Seeing the security supervisor explain and reenact the whole thing to the guard after was brilliant to see.
    - Security was very very sound. Polite, searches were quick (and mostly surprisingly not thorough at all) and they weren't afraid to have a laugh. Also got into main arena with cans a good few times by using the entrance out of Hendrix beside the lake swimming. (Think public shouldn't be allowed through this but we were only turned away once.)
    - Good policy on shtuff for personal use. We got talking to an undercover and he said they were told during a briefing to let people on with amounts considered for personal use. They were only targeting dealers - which is fair enough.
    - Very good vibe overall. Only saw one bit of potential trouble as I was leaving on Sunday when two lads started squaring up to each other in Hendrix. They hugged it out in the end.
    - Michael Kiwanuka was very good. Could see his passion.
    - No garda checkpoints on Sunday night - hadn't drank but was good to not be held up coming home.

The Bad

- Was very disappointed with Perfume Genius. Sound was off and just wasn't what I was expecting. Left after a few songs.
    - Friday's cold weather was Baltic.
    - Hendrix noise from amusements and rides. My god, why do they pump loud horrendous music out of the rides until 4am? A mix of this, the cold weather and people walking on my tent meant I got feck all sleep on Friday night.
    - Chatters during acts - Very bad group in front of me during Kiwanuka. Women chatting about their weddings and futures.
    - Lack of camping space - arrived at half 12 and place was packed - squashed our tents beside the path after 20 mins of looking. Campsites were very cramped.

The Ugly

- Lot of robbing in Hendrix, especially of chairs, gazebo type things and tents.
    - Drank Heineken all weekend.
    - Kids around collecting the cups - good idea to reduce rubbish but at night defo not the place for kids. Saw a few individuals with eyes as wide as digestive biscuits, wandering aimlessly around - do you really want children around this?
    - Keywest (I think) were on early on Sat and cursed a lot which felt very unnecessary - especially with a good few very young audience members.

Goods far outweighed the bad. Really enjoyed myself and hope to return next year!