Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Sheesh, I go away for 2 years and look what happens :eek: :D

Yep I let myself go once you left ;)

TbL

Remember where you were a few short weeks ago............

you would have definitely taken a 45 min 10k in August.

The weight will come down, the endurance will return, the speed.......well that'll still be crap :)

Lol, you auld fecker, that cheered me up no end :)

TbL

Another crap/tough week.

Coach had given me a number of objectives to achieve and I didn't hit any of them.

Early start on Monday as I was heading to Toronto with work for the week. Got to my hotel (was staying in a nice little hotel right on the Humber river, it was on the site of one of the rivers original sawmills) got the runners on and got 5k easy done in the evening sunshine along the riverbank. Lovely run.

Tuesday: sleep was all over the place, was dog tired, canned the planned session and just did 5 miles along the riverbank.

Wed: got a 2 hour early morning hike done around the trails of the "Forks of the Credit" provincial park. Warm, scenic and enjoyable.

In the afternoon went to Awenda Park, hadn't much time but it seemed very impressive and I got a lovely 5k done around a forest trail that was really enjoyable. Finished up with a swim in Lake Huron, my god the size and scale of it is incredible, looked more like an ocean to me. Was enjoying the swim until I noticed something pop up in the water near me, I initially thought it was a twig but then it started swimming and I realised it was a water snake. I polluted the water as I did an Olympic speed 100 metre front crawl back to the shore. My colleague told me they were non venomous but there was no way I was getting back in. The most dangerous thing you're likely to encounter in Irish water is a wayward turd!!

Thur: 90 minutes kayaking up the Humber before I headed to the airport meant no run.

Fri-Sat: got into Dublin at 5.30am Friday, drove to Galway, worked till lunch, drove home, picked up the missus and headed to Delphi for a weekend away. Got to Delphi and put the runners on, the missus then wanted to go for a hike so that put the kosh on my run. Got a two hour hike done around the spectacular trails, the scenery is superb. No run and didn't bother on Saturday either.

Was staying in the courtyard accommodation and there was a sign on the door "close the door unless you want to share your room with a Connemara sheep", I told Mrs TbL she'd be fine as she was sharing hers with a ram :)

Sun: planned 8 miles easy. Really struggled to motivate myself to get out but I was glad I did as I got a half decent run in.

After a slow start in warm and humid conditions I got 10 miles done @ 8.04. Longest I've run in 10 weeks and was happy enough with the pace and effort.

I still look like a shot putter in jogging shoes but I'll keep at it.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

You're counting that as a crap week? Running in beautiful trails in Canada, swimming, kayaking and then hiking in Delphi? Sounds like bliss to me!!! Lucky sod :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

I still look like a shot putter in jogging shoes but I'll keep at it.

TbL
    Attached Images
    File Type: jpg IMG_3401.JPG (1.76 MB, 12 views)

I was a tad nervous about opening up that jpg file.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

You're counting that as a crap week? Running in beautiful trails in Canada, swimming, kayaking and then hiking in Delphi? Sounds like bliss to me!!! Lucky sod :)

My thoughts exactly ...... I thought his update would end with him heading over to the dark side :) Maybe he's trying to fill Career_Moves shoes over there :)

Neady83 wrote: »
    My thoughts exactly ...... I thought his update would end with him heading over to the dark side :) Maybe he's trying to fill Career_Moves shoes over there :)

Never Neady, I'm allergic to lycra:)

TbL

Mon: called for a rest day. Had an S&C session, I was looking forward to this like a dose of food poisoning, this stuff is like a foul tasting antibiotic, you know you need it to get better but Christ it's difficult to stomach! Squats, core work and some simple plyometric exercises had me gasping for breath!

Tue: called for a session. I was to travel to London later in the day so I got up very early to get this out of the way but despite having the gear on I kept putting it off, eventually running out of time but telling myself I'd do it when I got to London. I knew from experience that I was really unlikely to get this done in London and it was nagging away at me so I got the gear on and headed to Dangan at lunch time. Got a couple of miles warm up done and headed down to the side of the river to do the faster stuff.

Plan called for wu/cd with 3 x 3,2,1 mins at 10k pace off 1 minute jogged recovery with 3 minutes between sets.

They were laying fresh sand on the riverbank trail and when I asked the lads raking the sand if the route was open, one of them said it was and "sure we need big lads like you to pack it down"!! Ffs, a new low, the college grounds staff comparing me to a steamroller!

Found it a little harder to run on the fresh sand so after completing part of the second set I changed to a lap around one of the pitches. I wasn't able to jog between reps after the first set so walked the recoveries. Not sure if the Garmin was working properly around the pitch as the pace seems fast. Despite walking the recoveries I was delighted with this run, I'm still fairly stiff but it's getting better and I seemed to be running more smoothly. Walked a short recovery and did some stretching.

3 mins @ 6.30
    2 mins @ 6.37
    1 min @ 6.42

3 mins @ 6.26
    2 mins @ 6.33
    1 min @ 5.51

3.5 mins @ 6.04 (wasn't keeping a eye on the watch)
    2 mins @ 6.15
    1 min @ 6.03

7.5 miles for the day

Small steps back to fitness but very happy with that.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

When the Garmin is lying, take what you get! Nice session (for a roller). ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Great session. It's a lovely feeling when you feel the fitness coming back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

"1 min @ 5.51" Nice, Good to see you on the "fast" road to recovery :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

You're flying. The way you've come back from that surgery you must have some special super-healing powers, I'm hugely jealous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 179 ✭✭Rockyman7

3 mins @ 6.30
    2 mins @ 6.37
    1 min @ 6.42

3 mins @ 6.26
    2 mins @ 6.33
    1 min @ 5.51

3.5 mins @ 6.04 (wasn't keeping a eye on the watch)
    2 mins @ 6.15
    1 min @ 6.03

Small steps back to fitness but very happy with that.

TbL
    have u gone metric...

Murph_D
    When the Garmin is lying, take what you get! Nice session (for a roller).
    Thanks Murph, hopefully I'll be steaming along like you soon :)

3 days ago
    05/09/2017 21:38
    career move
    Great session. It's a lovely feeling when you feel the fitness coming back

Absolutely CM I'm usually as grumpy as a ferret with haemorrhoids but I was buzzing after this

2 days ago
    06/09/2017 09:24
    MisterDrak
    "1 min @ 5.51" Nice, Good to see you on the "fast" road to recovery
    Tnx MD, I'd say the Garmin lost signal on that one!

2 days ago
    06/09/2017 18:47
    hillsiderunner
    You're flying. The way you've come back from that surgery you must have some special super-healing powers, I'm hugely jealous.

Thanks Hillsiderunner. Nothing special, just a pure stubborn auld lad

2 days ago
    06/09/2017 23:19
    Rockyman7

have u gone metric...

Ha Lol A, yea I did a couple of double takes to make sure. My weights gone metric and I'm going mental!

Wednesday: didn't get back from London so my planned late evening 5 mile nursing home special got canned. I'm not sweating missed runs at the moment as I've not got any specific target apart from working myself back to fitness.

Thursday: had a S&C session that left me tired and very heavy legged so I canned the planned easy run and did some stretching. Renegade squats, ffs, torture!! The rigor mortis like stiffness that's been afflicting me and making running uncomfortable seems to be slowly lifting and the multitude of niggles also seem to be on the wane.

Friday: session, wu/cd with 5 x 3 mins @ 6.45 pace off 75 seconds with 4 x 30 seconds hard off 60 seconds. 4 minutes between.

Did this in Dangan, got the 2 mile warm up done around the trails but headed for the track to do the faster stuff. Either my watch is broken or I'm in a bit better shape than I thought as the pace again seemed fast. My money's on the former!!

Decided to run 200 metres as it'd be easier to manage than the 30 seconds. Was surprised that while I walked the recoveries after the 3 min reps I was able to jog after the hard 200's.

I think I'll leave this sprinting malarkey to CareerMove as it's ridiculously hard work.

Another work out that I'm happy with but more pleased that after weeks the body seems to be finally freeing up.

3 mins @ MILE pace

200's

39 seconds

Off to see Stoke beat Man Utd tomorrow!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Say the missus is delighted with the rigor mortis though.............

Sat: was in Stoke with the young lad and my Dad for the Stoke - United game. Didn't get home till 2.30am and was hoarse from all the roaring and shouting. No run.

Sun: plan was for 8 mile easy. Dossed around the house in my smalls watching the rain and wind blow up a storm, while continually putting off my run.

Eventually the guilt got me out and I got 11 miles done @ 8.22, did an out and back route and the return was a tough slog as it was mainly into very strong winds.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

Sat: was in Stoke with the young lad and my Dad for the Stoke - United game. Didn't get home till 2.30am and was hoarse from all the roaring and shouting. No run.

Sun: plan was for 8 mile easy. Dossed around the house in my smalls watching the rain and wind blow up a storm, while continually putting off my run.

Eventually the guilt got me out and I got 11 miles done @ 8.22, did an out and back route and the return was a tough slog as it was mainly into very strong winds.

TbL
    Ye ruined my weekend.😠

Monday: normally a rest day on the plan but I usually do a S&C session, mental at work so I'd to cancel it at short notice. Did a 4 mile nursing home special around Dangan after work.

Tuesday: plan was for 5 miles easy. Headed up to the rolling hills of Seanadh Pheistin after work, haven't been up there in an age. It was dreary, windy, wet and cold and I wasn't in the best of humour for this. Was very stiff starting out and the pace was snail like, picked it up a bit over the last mile or two to finish with 5 miles @ 8.43.

Wednesday: plan was for wu/cd with 2 x 4,3,2,1 minutes @ 10k pace off 75 seconds with 3 minutes between reps.

Did this in Dangan this morning, spent a bit longer warming up and did some dynamic auld lad stretches. The trails in Dangan were a bit slippery so I decided to do the quicker stuff on the track. I'm convinced that my watch doesn't work properly on the track as the paces were definitely too fast. I've an arse like a wet bag of cement and a cement mixer belly and those paces are definitely not my 10k pace!! I walked the recoveries and did some stretching.

Another session in the bag and happy enough with the way it went. I only did a very short cool down as I was too lazy!

I'm hoping to run a local 5k this weekend and I might be being over optimistic but at this stage of my return to fitness I'd like to think break I could break 21 mins.

4 min @ 6.12
    3 @ 6.14
    2 @ 6.10
    1 @ 5.50

4 @ 6.08
    3 @ 6.04
    2 @ 6.00
    1 @ 5.45

TbL

Thursday: has an S&C session and given that I'd cancelled Monday's he increased the intensity and by the end I was wrecked and swapped around Friday's planned rest day.

Friday: planned 5 miles easy. Early local morning run, on a combination of roads and the GA pitch. Fairly slow (around 9 minute pace) and uneventful. Did stretching class for 45 minutes in the evening, need to do more of this as I was very stiff and inflexible.

Sat: had agreed with coach to swap the planned session with a 5k race. Was a bit all over the place this morning and I left the house around lunchtime but forgot my wallet so I'd to make a detour to borrow the entry fee! Put me under time pressure and I'd only time to do a half mile warm up. Very small race and I decided that I was just going to plod along and try and break 21 mins. At the start some club runners and a few others broke quickly away and I didn't see any of them again, I was in the second bunch of school kids, grannies and residents from the local home for the bewildered!

After about 2k I was ahead of the walking dead but couldn't see anyone ahead to chase so just tried to keep it ticking over. The last 2k were tough enough and I'd to dig deep to stop the pace dropping drastically over the last mile into a slight wind and incline.

Crossed the line in 20.42.

Was happy that I broke 21 but I'm still a long way off where I was and it's frustrating.

Looking to race more in the coming weeks to try and get acclimatised to sucking up some discomfort.

If I run tomorrow it'll be the first time I've run 6 times a week in over 3 months.

Best of luck to everyone racing tomorrow.

The bit, 5.56

TbL

Ps: Ultraman might be right, maybe my watch was capturing the recent session splits in km :)

Good sponsored walk that C, well done.

OOnegative wrote: »
    Good sponsored walk that C, well done.

Tnx, have you taken up inland skating yet, might help you going sub 3 :)

TbL

Sunday: plan was for 10 miles easy.

Love the hurling but I'd prefer to watch Oireachtas Report that watch the GA, so while everyone else was watching the match I headed up to Seanadh Pheistin to get this done.

Fantastic day for a run and the scenery was spectacular over there today with beautiful clear skies. Glute Med and groin had tightened up again although not as bad as the last couple of weeks.

Coach told me not to worry about pace that this was just about time on feet and the body was happy to oblige. The first 2 miles averaged 9.20 but I was happy to plod on. Took ages to loosen a bit out and the pace started to pick up slightly. Finished with two steady miles (7.41 & 7.30 pace) but was helped by the net downhill finish. Longest run since May.

12 miles @ 8.24.

A fairly decent week in the bank with 6 days running, a S&C session and a stretching/mobility class. Also dropped a kilo but I've plenty to go on that front.

TbL

Monday: planned rest day.

With extreme reluctance I headed to a S&C session, these sessions always push me outside my comfort zone, I don't enjoy doing them and a combination of a squat and lunges routine with light weights did nothing to help me feel the love!

Only positive was that it looks like I'm getting some mobility back as this was the first time since the knee op that I was able to lay flat on my stomach and touch my heel to arse.

Tuesday: session. Wu/cd with 3 x (2,3,2,1) minutes at 10k pace off 75 secs, 3 minutes between sets.

Had to do some juggling to get this done as I was heading to London in the afternoon and the I wanted to watch the young lad running the schools x country.

Headed to Dangan to do this, got a slow 2.1 mile warm up done and decided to run the faster stuff on the track as the paces on the track are wrong in my favour and it's good for your confidence :) (although reality bites when you then race!)

Didn't feel great starting and I've a touch of a sore throat so wasn't expecting much. I know the watch pace on the track is wrong but it's unlikely to be getting "wronger", so I was pleasantly surprised with the rep paces. Tough enough little session but not puke inducing.

I walked the recoveries and I need to stop this as it's habit forming although I only took 2 minutes between sets as I was under time pressure.

No cool down run as I to dash to see the young lad run admirably well in the xc and then scarper for the airport.

2 mins: 5.55; 5.59; 5.44
    3 min: 5.56; 5.57; 5.59
    2 min: 5.57; 6.03; 6.00
    1 min: 5.57; 5.45; 5.40

TbL

You done a 5k at the weekend and didn't come near the paces you hit in that session so how is sub 6 min pace your 10k pace? Your not long after a knee op, don't rush it please, said cause I care!!!

Cheers B,

Yep too fast but not sure how much of that is down to the watch not picking up the correct pace on the track.

I've 5 x 1 mile to do later in the week on the road and'll be sticking to prescribed pace.

Seems like you found some decent routes to run over there, are you missing me? :) I'll have to come over and visit

TbL

Yeah, if anyone knows about dodgy paces on a Garmin it's me you know that!! Your going well again just take her steady, and of course I miss you, sure you were the only lad I ran with that made me feel fast!!!

Lol :) you always finished too fast alright :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Cheers B,

Yep too fast but not sure how much of that is down to the watch not picking up the correct pace on the track.

TbL

I've done a few of those types of sessions of late C - I find the watch next to useless for them because the reps are so short ( even more useless on a track ), run them by effort and be honest about it - it makes for a much more controlled and rewarding session in my book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Testosterscone

Duanington wrote: »
    I've done a few of those types of sessions of late C - I find the watch next to useless for them because the reps are so short ( even more useless on a track ), run them by effort and be honest about it - it makes for a much more controlled and rewarding session in my book.

Maybe that is the point ;)

Could be a number of reasons for this;

1) restore confidence when returning to fitness
    2) base session off effort rather than watch
    3) have some aul feckers with a tendency to overcook sessions not running as hard as they think they need to

Who knows :p