Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shooter [USA] [** Spoilers **]

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I'm new to this series... I started on series 1, but gave up as I thought it mirrored the film too much...
    this second season is excellent though... really enjoying it..
    Phillippe is able to pull off the dangerous hitman/Marine/assassin very well... I was a bit surprised by that...

I was the same as that, couldn't get into it cause I knew exactly what the story was an was just comparing Philippe to Wahlburg the whole time, stuck with it though and it's far better that the movie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,090 ✭✭✭markc1184

Just caught up on the latest episodes. Strong season so far and enjoying it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,974 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

That last episode was intense. At least only a one day wait till the next one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Cliffhanger ending!

I'm sure it will be renewed but man it needed the final two episodes to round off the season and story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,941 ✭✭✭krustydoyle

Ahh feck.. I knew they'd end the season like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Phillippe broke his leg in a “freak accident” while off set on July 16; he later required surgery to repair it. The series was shooting Episode 9 at the time, but has since shuttered production for the season. The show’s producers, Paramount TV and Universal Cable Prods., and USA Network ultimately decided to air only the finished hours and end with Episode 8.
    Season 2 premiered on July 18. Insiders tell Deadline that Episode 8 will serve as a natural stopping point for the drama.

http://tvline.com/2017/07/26/shooter-season-2-short-ryan-phillippe-injury/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,669 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Mr E wrote: »
    The end of episode 8 works as a season finale, apparently.

I don't believe that for one minute. I know it was due to a freak accident, but I think it is going to be very frustrating and unsatisfactory for fans when that episode airs.

I f**king called it. "Works as a season finale" my arse.

Good episode though. Shame we have to wait 10 months to see how it ends.

Yeah not really a natural stopping point for a season, but personally, enough to make sure I'll be straight on the next season when it happens. Really enjoyed the whole season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,897 ✭✭✭Brief_Lives

Excellent episode... Love this show...
    How long do we have to wait?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Just finished watching S2, actually think it's better than the first, really great pace and good characters - the villain is really fantastic. I think ep8 actually works pretty OK as a finale, it is a total cliffhanger rather than a wrap up though. Most shows do that anyway so I'm begrudgingly OK with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Marje

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

Can anyone tell me if the Season 2 suffers the same ridiculous hatchet job in the covering up the profanity as Season 1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭JimmiesRustled

Can anyone tell me if the Season 2 suffers the same ridiculous hatchet job in the covering up the profanity as Season 1?

Season 2 ends abruptly. The main actor broke his leg in real life meaning the season just kind of ends. I'd probably wait until season 2 gets finished although I have heard rumours that might not happen either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,969 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Threads merged.

Season 2 ends abruptly. The main actor broke his leg in real life meaning the season just kind of ends. I'd probably wait until season 2 gets finished although I have heard rumours that might not happen either.

You misunderstand.

I was referring to the asinine dubbing the USA network did to cut out the swearing on the show. This censored version of Season 1 is what Netflix is streaming. I was asking if Netflix was streaming also streaming censored Season 2.

I wasn't aware of Phillippe's accident or the affect on the episodes but I had quick Google and Season 2 is finished. The abrupt end you mention is the end they had to work with. Whatever was intended for episodes 9 & 10 will probably just be abandoned or worked into Season 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Pretty sure I saw the USA network version. Didn't bother me me, but I did wonder. Are violence levels also censored in the original aired version?

I know the show Vikings for example used to be censored on original broadcast and was generally speaking pretty tame, but the Blu-Ray is 18's rated with added profanity, violence and nudity. Not sure if still the case.

Pretty sure I saw the USA network version. Didn't bother me me, but I did wonder. Are violence levels also censored in the original aired version?

I haven't noticed any obvious cuts that would signal censorship in the violence. While I wouldn't consider the show graphically violent, it is violent enough that I have to wonder at whose delicate ears they are protecting from the swearing.

If Netflix are going to spend the money on securing first run rights to a show, they could at least ensure it is good working order.
    I know the show Vikings for example used to be censored on original broadcast and was generally speaking pretty tame, but the Blu-Ray is 18's rated with added profanity, violence and nudity. Not sure if still the case.

I would class the Vikings episodes that I have seen so far as graphically violent but I have no recollection of any profanity and I'd call it relatively tame in regards to sex/nudity. So based on your post I must be watching a censored version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,462 ✭✭✭EoinMcLovin

Starts back tonight in the States.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,138 ✭✭✭✭cena

Starts back tonight in the States.

Is it not on Netflix today

cena wrote: »
    Is it not on Netflix today
    Just checked Netflix and it says new episode out on June 22nd. Any show on Netflix Ireland that airs on a US tv channel will always be out here the day after it airs in America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,138 ✭✭✭✭cena

Just checked Netflix and it says new episode out on June 22nd. Any show on Netflix Ireland that airs on a US tv channel will always be out here the day after it airs in America

Looking forward to it again

cena wrote: »
    Looking forward to it again
    On Netflix now

Sad that Solotov is gone, enjoyed his character. Can see where the last season was supposed to end anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,669 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

That fight scene was excellent. Every punch looks like it landed for real. Very realistic.

I get the impression that they rewrote some of that episode for a smoother transition into this season. I suspect the Earl Swagger stuff wasn't originally there last year.

Looks like this season will be based (at least partially) on Black Light. Since Earls bits were originally in the 50s, it'll be interesting to see what they change by bringing it into the 80s instead.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

I enjoyed that episode, it seemed like the end of a season episode but really works as a setup for the new season, fair play to him for breaking his leg :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

I know the series was never steeped in realism, but that all just seemed a bit silly to me. Really didn't enjoy the episode at all.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

I know the series was never steeped in realism, but that all just seemed a bit silly to me. Really didn't enjoy the episode at all.

What bugged me was someone must have started playing Sniper Elite with all the slow downs and heartbeats, but I'll forgive it for now

Ye I'm guessing the Earl stuff was all added to the end to link it into this season.

wasn't impressed with that episode.