Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DJI Phantom 3 SE Wifi FPV RC Quadcopter EUR460 incl shipping @Tomtop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 640 ✭✭✭chris1970

got my mavic today ordered 14th nitetime , taken 1.45 to setup , 2 new firmwares to choose from , i took newest one with .1000 i think on it , this issue arose it took a few minutes to rid of it with this ,

Hi DJI Diana....i fixed my mainland china problem with your suggestion.

1. went to a place with enough GPS signal and relaunch the app.

2. Once the app is on and connected to the drone. go to settings and disable "Calibrate Map Coordinates (For China Mainland)

3. Done!! ... that message prompting mainland china number.... wont come on again.

never got a flight in but bought dji refresh package 119 euro mavic pro looks to nice to mess with tonight, told the missus it was 75 euro lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 rdoggett

Hi Guys, sorry to ask.. I have been reading through entire thread, a little confusing. Could anyone please advise best price they are buying DJI Mavic Pro for ? and what website ? thanks a million

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭sphinx501

fugee wrote: »
    Does the SE need to be registered with the IAA. Not much mention of this on this thread but are all purchasers doing this?

The SE shows a takeoff weight of 1.23KG, therefore according to IAA regulations, it should be registered. All drones over 1KG should be registered.

https://www.iaa.ie/general-aviation/drones/drone-registration

The Mavic and Spark come in below the 1KG mark, therefore registration is not required if flown below 15M.

However, I am interested to hear myself if anyone has registered with IAA? Or ye all flying below 15M? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭tedpan

benji2006 wrote:
    I couldn't upgrade the firmware using the app on oneplus 3t phone - the upgrade worked fine however when using an oldish ipad - no idea why it failed, didn't check the log.

DJI - developed for iOS.

Xiaomi - developed for android

Then the apps were ported across to the other platform so there are some bugs. Lucky I'm an android head and got the Xiaomi.

Can you not continue to use your iPad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭mlumley

|Will the DJI not work on android?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭ozmo

tedpan wrote: »
    DJI - developed for iOS.
    Xiaomi - developed for android

Then the apps were ported across to the other platform so there are some bugs. Lucky I'm an android head and got the Xiaomi.

the DJi products do work best on IOS devices... Especially good on the IPad Mini 4!

However.... The Mavic and Spark are actually flying Android devices! - internally they are built running Lollipop release Android OS :)

“Roll it back”

mlumley wrote:
    |Will the DJI not work on android?

It will, just not as well. Lots of complaints online and in the playstore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭smokingman

Is there any drone sub-forum or anything here that we can all help each other with camera/video settings, legal stuff, commercial use ideas and spot places we can meet up or recommend filming?
    Seems there's a lot of us now thanks to this thred (cheers OP!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Thanks OP. Just picked one up for just under €440. Been wanting a drone for a long time but could not justify the price.

Great bargain thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭ozmo

smokingman wrote: »
    Is there any drone sub-forum or anything here that we can all help each other with camera/video settings, legal stuff, commercial use ideas and spot places we can meet up or recommend filming?
    Seems there's a lot of us now thanks to this thread (cheers OP!).

There is a thread here - a few folks on there already
    DJI Mavic Pro
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=104374972

A meetup would be great to do - lots of tips to share between us - lets see if we can arrange something before winter.

Id suggest to be careful of posting legal stuff, access and heights restrictions- as even in this thread there is conflicting and most likely incorrect rules - the rules are very new and changing often- maybe best to just give a link to the IAA's official site and guidelines and leave it at that?

“Roll it back”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭arek_s

Just created new one for DJI Phantom 3 SE owners:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057781209

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

ozmo wrote: »
    There is a thread here - a few folks on there already
    DJI Mavic Pro
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=104374972

A meetup would be great to do - lots of tips to share between us - lets see if we can arrange something before winter.

Id suggest to be careful of posting legal stuff, access and heights restrictions- as even in this thread there is conflicting and most likely incorrect rules - the rules are very new and changing often- maybe best to just give a link to the IAA's official site and guidelines and leave it at that?

This.

nCdb1C.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Origin Country - Sweden

Order departed from sorting hub

2017-08-28 08:47

Order departed on flight from origin

2017-08-19 16:10

Item received for processing

2017-08-17 17:38

Item pre-advice received

2017-08-16 20:54

What does all that mean 🀣🀣

Does the phantom 3 se come with a cable / adaptor for USB type c ?

Edit. My bad - Seems it does not use cables. Uses WIFI apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭R777B

Mine departed Tamworth this morning, hopefully be flying tomorrow evening!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭R777B

also - for anyone who has got the drone - does UPS give you an expected delivery time so you know when to be in?

R777B wrote: »
    also - for anyone who has got the drone - does UPS give you an expected delivery time so you know when to be in?

No, they only tell you the day it will be delivered on the first attempt, however, if you aren't in and miss the delivery on the first attempt, they will give you a time window for the second attempt apparently.

That's what I was told on the phone when I was chasing up mine anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭The Undecided One

Rick Shaw wrote: »
    No, they only tell you the day it will be delivered on the first attempt, however, if you aren't in and miss the delivery on the first attempt, they will give you a time window for the second attempt apparently.

That's what I was told on the phone when I was chasing up mine anyway.

I've found out with UPS that they have no problem leaving the parcel with your neighbours. I think on 4 occassions I wasn't there and when I came back I found a 'We missed you' letter with the number of the house they left it at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Just got mine fecking tracking my A##

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭evolutionqy7

I would hate to be in a rush to write to TomTop.

Wrote them an email yesterday and today and not a beep.
    Their Facebook page seems to be quiet too.

Folks, can any of ye tell me the practicalities of this drone?

I use a drone on a regular enough basis, to photograph property for sale. I have 2 Parrot Bebop Drones (the first version) and they are great. I'm always under time pressure, and the boxes they come in open like a suitcase. You can go from sitting in the car to having the drone ready to fly in about a minute. All photos (I never do video, only photo) are sent straight to the phone, and you use the phone to control it.

It's so easy and quick.

However, one drone flew away and the other has had a hard knock (although it's still operating fine). So it's time to look into replacing them. Instinctively i was just gonna buy the Bebop Version 2, but i would like a better camera for still images (and the camera in both versions of the bebop is the same).

Can anyone tell me how quick you can get this yoke ready to fly, and what way you use it? Can I have the option of, like the Bebop, controlling it via the phone, and also having photos stored directly on the phone (or on an internal card, something easy like that).

EDIT: Also is the picture quality good? Lots of lies about MP count on drones, and exaggerations galore. Bebop works for me, but if the cameras are much the same I'd just stick with the Bebop (I'm lead to believe the camera in DJI stuff is a lot better though). I also rarely fly more than a few hundred meters so that's not a huge issue either. I would never say it's been anymore than 300 meters away.
    Cheers :)

Folks, can any of ye tell me the practicalities of this drone?

I use a drone on a regular enough basis, to photograph property for sale. I have 2 Parrot Bebop Drones (the first version) and they are great. I'm always under time pressure, and the boxes they come in open like a suitcase. You can go from sitting in the car to having the drone ready to fly in about a minute. All photos (I never do video, only photo) are sent straight to the phone, and you use the phone to control it.

It's so easy and quick.

However, one drone flew away and the other has had a hard knock (although it's still operating fine). So it's time to look into replacing them. Instinctively i was just gonna buy the Bebop Version 2, but i would like a better camera for still images (and the camera in both versions of the bebop is the same).

Can anyone tell me how quick you can get this yoke ready to fly, and what way you use it? Can I have the option of, like the Bebop, controlling it via the phone, and also having photos stored directly on the phone (or on an internal card, something easy like that).

EDIT: Also is the picture quality good? Lots of lies about MP count on drones, and exaggerations galore. Bebop works for me, but if the cameras are much the same I'd just stick with the Bebop (I'm lead to believe the camera in DJI stuff is a lot better though). I also rarely fly more than a few hundred meters so that's not a huge issue either. I would never say it's been anymore than 300 meters away.
    Cheers :)

Hi.

I ain't sure about the other Drones, but I'm a mavic owner, and it can be ready to fly in a minute or so too.

Connect the phone to the controller, turn it on, then turn the drone on, wait for gps signal, then go.

Prob a min tops.

I know from a friend who had a parrot that the battery is 10-15 minutes, but my Mavic will do around about double that.

As for pictures, the mavic gets some decent stills.

I got this one a few weeks ago while at a mates house in Kildare.

I had to resize it in order to upload it to the site, and I lost a hell of a lot of quality in doing so, but you get the idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭dobbs2210

Hi.

I ain't sure about the other Drones, but I'm a mavic owner, and it can be ready to fly in a minute or so too.

Connect the phone to the controller, turn it on, then turn the drone on, wait for gps signal, then go.

Prob a min tops.

I know from a friend who had a parrot that the battery is 10-15 minutes, but my Mavic will do around about double that.

I had to resize it in order to upload it to the site, and I lost a hell of a lot of quality in doing so, but you get the idea.

What drone exactly do you have? Any links to it? Newbie and on the lookout for one?

dobbs2210 wrote: »
    What drone exactly do you have? Any links to it? Newbie and on the lookout for one?

I own a DJI Mavic Pro.

Best way I could give you a demo is to give you a YouTube link.

Hi.

Prob a min tops.

I'm presuming that hasn't been linked to in this thread (I googled it and its about 800-900€, which is more than I'd spend, to be honest, as it will invariably get banged up or fly away, and i'd rather not invest too much in it due to that).

Or is there a decent deal to be had on it?

Picture looks great. Has it been processed at all (sharpened, contrast etc.)?

I'm presuming that hasn't been linked to in this thread (I googled it and its about 800-900€, which is more than I'd spend, to be honest, as it will invariably get banged up or fly away, and i'd rather not invest too much in it due to that).

Or is there a decent deal to be had on it?

Picture looks great. Has it been processed at all (sharpened, contrast etc.)?

I bought the fly more combo pack. Compared to amazon etc, I got a pretty amazing bargain tbh.

The Phantom se in the op, or even the spark (if your after portability)

As for the picture, uploaded directly from my phone. No edit whatsoever except downsizing it so I could upload to boards.

The mavic pro platinum has been announced. Longer flight time and 60% reduction in propeller noise. Impressive..

tedpan wrote: »
    The mavic pro platinum has been announced. Longer flight time and 60% reduction in propeller noise. Impressive..

Saw that. And apparently they are backwards compatible so you can fit the new props to the old mavic and get the benefits.

I bought the fly more combo pack. Compared to amazon etc, I got a pretty amazing bargain tbh.

The Phantom se in the op, or even the spark (if your after portability)

As for the picture, uploaded directly from my phone. No edit whatsoever except downsizing it so I could upload to boards.

Are you familiar with drones or DJI stuff etc?

Is it possible to get the same or similar image quality in a cheaper drone? To be honest, considering the use I give them, it's easy for them to take a battering, so I wouldn't spend anymore than 400-500 on one.

(otherwise the pain of watching it crash land and break, or fly away to a new home would make me cry - at least with my €300 Bebop i can shrug my shoulders and move on with my life).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭sphinx501

Tzardine wrote: »
    Saw that. And apparently they are backwards compatible so you can fit the new props to the old mavic and get the benefits.

That's pretty cool, wasn't expecting that since the new big features appear to be the longer and quieter flight.

The props are on the DJi site, some benefit but not the full benefit.

When used with the Mavic Pro Platinum, up to 4dB (60%) of aircraft noise is lowered during takeoff and landing, and flight time is extended to 30 minutes. Noise reduction and flight time are also enhanced when used with the Mavic Pro, but not as much.

http://store.dji.com/product/mavic-low-noise-quick-release-props-platinum