Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why Does The Irish Media Hate Conor Mcgregor?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

road_high wrote: »
    Why becuse I think/know McGregor is an unadulterated chav? Lol

LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

The guys an absolute genius and im no fan of MMA or boxing. He makes the establishment uneasy and i love that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads keep it civil, attack the post not the poster...you shouldnt need to be told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Pussyhands wrote: »
    Articulate? He's a mumbling **** who talks like a 10 year old reading a book, following the sentences with his finger.

Ha, the ironing is delicious...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,855 ✭✭✭✭road_high

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    The guys an absolute genius and im no fan of MMA or boxing. He makes the establishment uneasy and i love that.

He's clever and had manipulated an audience to cash in on thats for sure.

However, outside of that circuit I don't think many are too bothered apart from either apathy or dislike for him as a human being. I don't think he'll be running for Taoiseach any time soon for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Indeed. Chavs follow chavs and sadly in the case of McGregor, try emilate one another. He's a desperate role model for the working classes

I doubt he ever set out to be a role model, or cares about the impressions he leaves on kids.

He's out for himself and his family, to make as much money and fame as he can. To that I'd say fair play. If it makes you feel better to think of him as an upjumped scrote then that's ok, but he's a world famous personality who's doing what he loves and making millions in the process.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,201 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Schwiiing wrote:
    Dunne also had humility and modesty and carried himself with a bit of class on his way to a world title in the same 'combat sport' sphere McGregor is in.

Can I ask. Why the air quotes around combat sport?

No issue with people disliking McGregor for his attitude, persona, whatever.

But to dismiss his achievements with a set of air quotes is imo plain and simple begrudgery.
    Don't like the sport. Grand. Don't watch it. But it IS a combat sport and as others have said the FASTEST growing sport in the world.

Dismissing something you don't like or understand in a manner like that is pathetic though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

Didn't he win sportsman of the year or something like that on RTE and the audience looked gutted he won. Hardly got a round of applause. If it had of been some GAA lad who whacked a few heads with a hurl he'd of got a standing ovation.

Indeed. Chavs follow chavs and sadly in the case of McGregor, try emilate one another. He's a desperate role model for the working classes

The working classes? Could you explain this please?

Also please explain emilate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

The treatment of Annalise Murphy and the O' Donovans last summer shows where we are as a media and as a nation.

We celebrate losers. We always have and always will.

They all received pretty substantial funding from Sport Ireland to compete in obscure niche sports in the Olympics. They went out there, they competed and they lost. So, they come home to massive parties in Dublin and Cork, to Late Late Show appearances, to magazine covers and everyone has a warm fuzzy feeling inside. It's a love-in from the media and the public.

To quote Conor from 2014:

"But you said congratulations I'm now No. 9, if you think I celebrate being No. 9 you're highly mistaken my friend".

Just over 2 years later he was the featherweight world champion, 3 years later the lightweight world champion. No funding along the way, no leg-ups or assistance from the government just sheer determination.

People don't even bother to scratch the surface of his character and see the tremendous loyalty, kindness, humility, sacrifice and dedication in the man, all they want to see are the fight promotion antics which serve a very practical purpose in a sport where more people watching translates to more income to bring in for his family.

Conor's a winner. The O' Donovans are losers. Annalise Murphy is a loser. Come back to me in 2020 when they win gold at the Olympics and I'll be the first to congratulate them.

In the meantime, the media can continue to celebrate losers and people can continue to dislike Conor, while he's busy winning and inspiring a whole generation of younger people to work hard to chase their own impossible dreams.

I agree with all of this great post..

It's a tough one that I can't quite put my finger on. I want to say it's begrudgery but I don't think that word is fitting. The GAA comes to mind and the people who follow that religiously are of the same etos..,, who shake their head at Mc gregor.

There was a ceremony for Irish sports person of the year I think Mc gregor was up against Austin Gleeson from waterford hurling team and I think the o Donovan brothers were nominated as Well... imagine giving it to any of them instead of McGregor.. not one should of been nominated with him he should of just been handed it..
    There wasn't much of an applause when the news was read out either and McGregor knew it was best not to attend I feel and sent a video of appreciation instead which was very smart of him...

Listen to any GAA player talking to the media no matter what county and just hear them throw out the same shiite over and over...'''' Sure I suppose we new it was going to be a hard day against a tough team ''''. And and and ahhhh sure look it, we will go back to the drawing board and come back next year''''' ehh ehh

They are half afraid to say anything like robots they are.. at least McGregor brings a bit of personality and individuality to the table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,708 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

If you look at his pictures online and see him with his kid and girlfriend. He looks like a nice happy guy.
    If you look at him when he's at a press conference or in the octagon or going around with his socks tucked in his pants. He looks like a rough guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,855 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I agree with all of this great post..

It's a tough one that I can't quite put my finger on. I want to say it's begrudgery but I don't think that word is fitting. The GAA comes to mind and the people who follow that religiously are of the same etos..,, who shake their head at Mc gregor.

There was a ceremony for Irish sports person of the year I think Mc gregor was up against Austin Gleeson from waterford hurling team and I think the o Donovan brothers were nominated as Well... imagine giving it to any of them instead of McGregor.. not one should of been nominated with him he should of just been handed it..
    There wasn't much of an applause when the news was read out either and McGregor knew it was best not to attend I feel and sent a video of appreciation instead which was very smart of him...

Couldn't be bothered turning up as there wasn't a few tens of millions involved. All the class of an empty Dutch Gold can right there. That's why the audience were so unimpressed

If you look at his pictures online and see him with his kid and girlfriend. He looks like a nice happy guy.

If you look at him when he's at a press conference or in the octagon or going around with his socks tucked in his pants. He looks like a rough guy.

Surely you can see why there would be a difference in his attitude in these different situations.

The socks tucked into his pants comment is baffling. How does that make him look rough?

You can't really make comparisons between McGregor and the O'Donovans or Bernard Dunne
    The difference is that McGregor does not represent Ireland or his county. He only represents himself.
    Putting him in the same category as Olympic or GAA athletes and saying his conduct isn't up to scratch doesn't really make sense.

He's not bound by the same rules as those guys. The Sports Council doesn't pay his wages and can't slap his wrist when he's out of bounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Oh. I see.

Well, here's his story in a nutshell:

23 years old going nowhere in life, on the dole, training mixed martial arts daily while getting nowhere, being pressured by his father to give up on his dreams and get a normal job. He resists, doubles down, works even harder. For the first 5 years of his mixed martial arts career he made less than 10 grand in income, which would represent a loss. He still persisted. He tore his ACL while on the cusp of stardom, went through gruelling rehab and stuck with it.

Combat athletes should never be held up as an example for any children to aspire to. They punch and kick each other in the face for a living.

But... If you're going to have to hold one up, then Conor McGregor is an absolutely amazing example of perseverance, hard work, dedication, refusal to quit on his dreams to reach the top.

Obviously you could hold up Katie Taylor also but Katie benefitted with a lot of leg-ups on her way and is yet to conquer the professional ranks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

He reminds me of the type of 15 year old scrote you see hanging around outside shops with one hand down the front of his grey tracksuit bottoms thinking it's hilarious to make comments at people walking past but wouldn't say a word if his mates weren't with him.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 56,201 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

If you asked me who were the people that I knew that followed it. There rough lads. Who were rude and disrespectful in school and still are as adults.

Just on this point. I think you have a point that a certain element of his fans are as you say.

But... I'm a McGregor fan. I was brought up to have respect for others. I don't consider myself 'rough' (I'm a civil servant!). It's not fair to tar all of his fans with the same brush as many including contributors on this forum much more knowledgeable than me work normal jobs, live normal lives and are normal everyday people.

sabat wrote: »
    He reminds me of the type of 15 year old scrote you see hanging around outside shops with one hand down the front of his grey tracksuit bottoms thinking it's hilarious to make comments at people walking past but wouldn't say a word if his mates weren't with him.

Aw what did they say to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,239 ✭✭✭Pussyhands

I'd be the same if I managed to be filthy rich like Mcgregor. ;)

Obviously you could hold up Katie Taylor also but Katie benefitted with a lot of leg-ups on her way and is yet to conquer the professional ranks.

Katie Taylor got €300,000 from the Irish Government between 2005 and 2012.

To anyone bitching about McGregor claiming the dole when he was training, don't forget that the world famous Irish trap shooter :rolleyes: Derek Burnett, received €270,000 to finish 29th in the 2008 Olympics and 27th in 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,571 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

I don't see much begrudgery at all to be honest. He's a world champion at two different weight classes. He's an elite fighter and one of our greatest ever athletes.

But let's face it. He's an arsehole. If you want the big money in combat sports you need some sort of attitude. For Tyson it was that of a stone cold killer, for Mayweather it was being a money obsessed, vein pretty boy. For McGregor it's being the loudest mouth in the room. That's not too bad in and of itself. He can be funny and articulate himself very well. But some of the stuff he comes out with is disgusting. Calling opponents Nazi's, veering towards old racial stereotypes, denegrating the poverty his opponents went through during childhood. It may be part of the act, but they're scummy things to say.

He has inspired young kids to take up sports in the hopes they'll emulate his achievements one day. He's an inspiration in that regard. But with that comes a hero worship amongst some of his other fans who try to shut down many of the valid criticisms people may have of him. That's what I'm seeing here and on twitter.

Oh. I see.

Well, here's his story in a nutshell:

23 years old going nowhere in life, on the dole, training mixed martial arts daily while getting nowhere

He had an apprenticeship, which is better than a LOT of people in this country. Unless you're saying most people are going nowhere?

Get off it, you think he should have stuck with a job he hated instead of following his passion?
    Talk about strawman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,708 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Necrominus wrote: »
    Just on this point. I think you have a point that a certain element of his fans are as you say.

But... I'm a McGregor fan. I was brought up to have respect for others. I don't consider myself 'rough' (I'm a civil servant!). It's not fair to tar all of his fans with the same brush as many including contributors on this forum much more knowledgeable than me work normal jobs, live normal lives and are normal everyday people.
    I'd be the same if I managed to be filthy rich like Mcgregor. ;)

Yes, I'm sure there are plenty of hard working Mcgregor fans.(I'm one of the people who don't really care what people does once the behave themselves). I suppose I've just encountered the rough Mcgregor fans.
    I actually think he's a nice guy but he just has to put on an image of being a tough guy and young impressionable lads seem only see this side of him

He had an apprenticeship in something he had no interest or passion for..so for him it was a road to nowhere.

eeguy wrote: »
    Get off it, you think he should have stuck with a job he hated instead of following his passion?
    Talk about strawman.

Thank god everyone doesn't give up their job to follow their passion otherwise we'd have a nation of dole recipients and no one to fill our jobs.

It's dumb advice to tell people to follow their dreams. For every McGregor there's tens of thousands of people who failed.

Axwell wrote: »
    He had an apprenticeship in something he had no interest or passion for..so for him it was a road to nowhere.

Don't think anyones passion is fixing leaking pipes or cleaning chimneys or reparing punctured tyres but I'm thankful there's people willing to do it.

The reasons are simple why both the media and a certain percentage of the population dont like him.

1. He's involved in MMA - a lot of people do not follow the sport to the same levels they do other Irish Sports. Plenty also have their own assumptions on MMA based on what they hear on Joe Duffy or an opinion its a bloodsport or glorified cock human fighting without having ever watched a fight. But that's a discussion for another day.

2. He has a mouth, is brash, in your face and says what he thinks when in front of the camera in relation to fights. The majority of his interviews people see are online on youtube, on American tv, at press conferences or on world tours promoting fights where everything is hyped up and over the top. When he is on the Late Late Show or simialr he is a far more pleasant individual but you can count the number if times he has been interviewed on Irish media like that on one hand.

3. Where he is from, how he talks and who he grew up with. Granted as someone else pointed out other sports stars have grew up in rough areas but when when you factor in point 1 and 2 point 3 gives people an added reason to not like him.

4. We Irish love a good rant or to complain about things - sure where would boards or Joe Duffy be without it!

This thread in itself is a perfect example - loads of posts on here from people that have never posted in the MMA forum before, or at least not in the last few weeks about the McGregor Mayweather fight because they dont follow MMA or Boxing and dont have an interest in the sport. But they know who Conor McGregor is an have an opinion on him and why they dont like him, and like him or hate him as long as you are talking about him you can be sure Conor McGregor is smiling all day, every day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Exactly, if he'd stuck at the plumbing he'd probably be pulling in a six-figure income by now, more than most professionals at his age. It kind of shows up his whole 'fought my way out of the ghetto' spiel for the American media as complete bull****.

Thank god everyone doesn't give up their job to follow their passion otherwise we'd have a nation of dole recipients and no one to fill our jobs.

It's dumb advice to tell people to follow their dreams. For every McGregor there's tens of thousands of people who failed.

You're right. People should take the first thing they get and be grateful to be miserable.
    You should be a guidance councilor.
    Don't think anyones passion is fixing leaking pipes or cleaning chimneys or reparing punctured tyres but I'm thankful there's people willing to do it.

Your comments reek of snobbery. No wonder you don't like him.