Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Wed-Fri: nothing, eating pizza, ice cream and skittles and travelling home through chaotic airport throngs on Friday.

Sat: 6k, felt the extra pounds accumulated on the holidays on this run. Did it half on the ga pitch and half on roads but never felt comfortable.

Sun: mini session, 2 x 6 mins @ tempo pace off 90 seconds. 5 min walk, 6 X 1 min, off 90 seconds, 2 steady, 2 MP, & 2 HMP.

Headed up to the GA pitch and got a short warm up done. Found the tempo stuff hard and was puffin heavily, did the first one at 6.33 pace and was sure I was leaking pace on the second rep so was happy to see the section no rep come in at the same pace, 6.33.

The Garmin was all over the place for the minute reps so ran it by feel.

Tired by the end of this and it shows I've a long way to go.

Back at it now with a proper focus and training program and I'll run the streets of Galway next week but it'll be slow(er than usual)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

I'll run the streets of Galway next week but it'll be slow(er than usual)

TbL

Paint will dry quicker I'd say...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

OOnegative wrote: »
    Paint will dry quicker I'd say...........

I feel like he's setting me up :confused::confused::D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    I feel like he's setting me up :confused::confused::D

He'll be like Wily Coyote trying to catch the Road Runner Marty, he'll jam a stick of dynamite up his hole to try catch you or something!!!

I wish :D:D

coyote-and-road-runner-acme-rocket.jpg?auto=format&cs=tinysrgb&q=20&w=786&h=393&fit=crop&dpr=1.5

Monday: plan called for a rest day but in a effort to shift the holiday puddin I headed off for a walk and got 5.5 miles done

Tue: plan called for 5k easy. Headed up to the ga pitch while the daughter was training and got the 5k done around the pitch. Felt like a chore and I don't know what it is about these short easy runs but I always seem laboured on them.

Wed: back to the ga pitch as the young lad was training. Plan called for wu/cd and 2 x 3,2,1 minutes @ 10k pace off 75 seconds with 4 minutes between sets.

Lovely evening for it and after a mile warm up I started the faster stuff. Ended up doing these a bit fast and was puffin hard again towards the end of the reps. Think the Garmin might be telling porkies as I doubt I hit sub 6 min pace for the last minute. Finished with a mile to cool down.

In the car in the way home the young lad said his mates said I was "going like a bullet", 'tis good to be able to impress 9 & 10 year olds :)

3 min @ 6.18
    2 min @ 6.14
    1 min @ 6.05

3 min @ 6.15
    2 min @ 6.11
    1 min @ 5.46

If I come within 4 minutes of MartyBoy on Saturday the pints are on me!!!

TbL

Hope the Streets went well Hop-A-Long.

Thursday: am - S&C session was dreading going back to this and after 40 minutes of lunges, squats and core work I knew why, the body was aching all over.

pm - got the planned 5k easy around the ga pitch while daughter was training.

Friday: planned rest day. Went to the physio and got the all clear on the rehabbing knee but my left knee was sore, apparently been aggravated by very tight hip flexor and quads and not the adductors as I'd initially thought.

Sat: plan was to do the Streets of Galway 8k. I'd really no idea how to approach this but I knew it would be slow. Initially planned on going out at 8 min pace and finishing up with a fast last mile or two.

The race is very well organised but the one gripe I'd have is the start, I started further back than I would have in previous years and my god the number of people starting around the 35-40 minute pacers, that had no business being there, was incredible!! Shuffling along with earphones oblivious to the runners trying to pass them, it's terrible.

After a half mile of weaving I noticed I was doing close to 7 minute pace and changed the plan to try and run as close to marathon pace till I blew up.

Started to labour around 3.5 miles in but I was happy enough that I dug in a kept tipping along.

My slowest SOG ever but I was happy to get 5 miles in at close to MP 6 weeks after knee surgery.

Only saw Martyboy (looking fit and tanned) as he was driving away, we'll have to wait till next year to do battle again.

1. 6.55
    2. 6.53
    3. 6.54
    4. 7.03
    5. 6.49

Eldest daughter and my niece walked/jogged it in under an hour and she said she wants to do it faster next year. Might look around for a couple of local 5k to see if I can get her interested again.

TbL

Whose MP are you running at...........

Well it ain't yours ... :)

TbL

Well it ain't yours ... :)

TbL

Well I know that!!! Great performance 6 weeks post op C, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

great rehab going on here C and fab racing. Think you are learning a bit of patience too!!;) Your sub 3 will be with you before you know it!!!
    Rotterdam 2018...know where there's cheap accommodation!!! :rolleyes:

Younganne wrote: »
    great rehab going on here C and fab racing. Think you are learning a bit of patience too!!;) Your sub 3 will be with you before you know it!!!
    Rotterdam 2018...know where there's cheap accommodation!!! :rolleyes:

Thanks YA.

The knee feels great, its all the other auld man bits that are creaking now that I need to hold together for a few months. You seem to be coming out the other side of your niggles.

I'm definitely not a patient man and I was looking at next weeks plan, thinking I could do more!!

Not going to commit to race anything until I get the weight back down and a decent level of fitness back.

I'll try and do some local races but only as hard sessions to get back into the swing of things.

That said, I'm so fickle I'll probably enter San Seb next week :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Thanks YA.

The knee feels great, its all the other auld man bits that are creaking now that I need to hold together for a few months. You seem to be coming out the other side of your niggles.

I'm definitely not a patient man and I was looking at next weeks plan, thinking I could do more!!

Not going to commit to race anything until I get the weight back down and a decent level of fitness back.

I'll try and do some local races but only as hard sessions to get back into the swing of things.

That said, I'm so fickle I'll probably enter San Seb next week :)

TbL

sure if you stop thinking about skittles you could telepathy lose a stone in no time!!!;);)
    Yes hopefully i've got to the source of it and will be back flying in no time!!

5k/10k caltra next weekend????

BTW, you're looking slender as always :)

Sunday: plan called for 8 x 1k easy off a short walk recovery. Was a lovely day and was looking forward to a nice run in the evening heat/sun. Ended up doing this in driving rain and wind! Was fairly stiff and it wasn't the most pleasant of runs but I got it done.

Monday: plan called for a walk but I was travelling to London and tight on time. Got a S&C session done and he increased the number of reps so I was pretty tired after it.

Tuesday: plan called for 4 miles very easy. Hectic day in London hopping from tube to tube station coupled with very little sleep left me considering skipping this. Staying at a hotel near Blackfriars and eventually got out for a trot along the river. It was nearly harder to cross the new cycle lane than the road with hundreds of cyclists whizzing along. 4 miles @ 8.36

Wednesday: plan called for wu/cd with 2 x 4,3,2,1 minute @ 6.30 pace off 75 seconds with 4 mins between sets. Another early start and half the day travelling home had me in no humour for this. Was moaning and grumbling to myself even as I was togging out! Did this in Dangan and found it tough. Had to walk all the recoveries and didn't bother with the cool down jog.

After a 2 mile warm up I did it around the double pitch and the corners were a little mucky and slippery and there was some daft tool hitting golf balls into the pitch. If I wasn't so fcuked I'd have had words!! Shows how far back I've gone that it took so much outta me but baby steps in the right direction and all that.

4 mins @ 6.29
    3 mins @ 6.32
    2 mins @ 6.31
    1 min @ 6.25

4 mins @ 6.32
    3 mins @ 6.31
    2 mins @ 6.28
    1 min @ 6.14

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Was fairly stiff and it wasn't the most pleasant of runs but I got it done.

Just reading segments of the log is never a good thing :D

Thur: plan 4 miles very easy

met a buddy (another auld lad in his 50's with loads of marathons under his belt) who is looking to go sub 3 early next year. We met up in Dangan and got 5 miles done @ 8.02, a little too quick but we were excitable! We also agreed to meet up once a week to run together, it's much easier running with company so I'm looking forward to it.

Fri: plan was for a day off but as I'm bringing the young lad to the Stoke/Arsenal game I'd to bring forward tomorrow's planned run.

wu/cd with 2x1 mile @ 7.00 min pace off 75 secs and 3 x 2 mins @ 6.30 pace off 90 sec jog

Met up with my new running buddy for this early morning in Dangan. Glad of the company as I was stiff and tired and not in the humour for it.

Found this fairly tough going and wasn't entirely sure why as when I saw the plan I thought it would be handy enough. Very tired at the end and I'd have struggled to do another 2 mins @ 6.30!

Finished with 2 mile cool down for 7 miles in total.

Miles @ 6.50 & 6.45

2 mins @ 6.28, 6.30 & 6.30

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

He's not even at the airport and you've replaced him already :pac:

Need a running date with experience :)

TbL

tired and not in the humour for it

New running buddy is feck all use, you were NEVER this way for any running date with me!!!!

But was he like this on your running dates :eek::eek::eek: :D
    Glad of the company as I was stiff..

Sat: I switched around the planned days on Friday and Saturday so that I could take the day off as I was in Stoke with my young lad. We watched Stoke give Arsenal a lesson, great game great atmosphere, great result. No run but plenty of walking courtesy of the Ryanair travelling experience!

Sun: plan called for 8 miles easy.

This would be the furthest I've run in 8 weeks. Didn't get outta bed till after 11 as it was 3.30am by the time I got home. Shocking weather and my hip flexors and groin were very stiff so I wasn't looking forward to this. Eventually manned up and got out around a local route. Had to use the roads which wasn't ideal but I'm very happy with the rehab to date.

Did 8 miles @ 8.32 but the groin never really softened out so I'll need to get it looked at tomorrow, as I'm heading to London for a few days.

2 weeks done on the new program and I hit all the sessions and planned runs which must be a first for me :) Battling a couple of niggles but going in the right direction. Dusting off My FitnessPal tomorrow as the diet has gone "American" lately :)

Might try the Claregalway 10k next weekend and see if I can do it as a MP run.

TbL

Ya alright........

Ha, bit of a ****e week B, disillusioned and demotivated.

Got to London late on Monday and the plan was a rest day. Even if it wasn't I wouldn't have run as I was very stiff and tired. Spent 30 mins stretching. I'm a fat niggle magnet at the moment which is the extremely frustrating and disheartening given the knee op went so well. Hips, groin, quads and calves are tight, ropey and sore. Wore luminous green compression socks in bed.

Tuesday: plan called for a mini session. Got back to the hotel with only about 30 minutes daylight left, canned the session and did 4 easy miles @ 8.32. 30 mins foam rolling and stretching afterwards.

Wed- Thursday: canned the planned steady run and 4 mile easy run. I had made a conscious effort this week to properly hydrate and monitor what I was eating, got on the scales and couldn't believe I'd put on a few pounds, un****inbelievable!!! I'm the heaviest I've been in years, you know you're obese when an Irish Mammy tells you "sure the bit of extra weight suits you"!!! I'm at the stage where I sweat even if I sit still for too long!

Went to a physical therapist to try and get some of the niggles sorted but the mojo for running is zero.

Friday: was getting hassled by the S&C guy to do a session so reluctantly went up to do a session early this morning. I could barely do a squat and he told me, in his best Kiwi accent, what I already knew, "Jeez you're ****in stiff!" Loosened up a bit and got a reasonable session done. Might do 4 miles easy tonight and I'll probably do the Claregalway 10k at a steady pace to try and get the mojo back.

I'm in North America all next week with work so I need to cop on fast, or I'll be on Operation Transformation

TbL

Kathryn Thomas would be all over a fella like you!!!! Feel your pain on the weight department, can't walk past a KFC, McD's or Burger King without ordering something!!!

Sat: don't know whether to laugh or cry but it was a shocking performance. Decided to run the Claregalway 10k to try and get some mojo back.

Ended up with a time of over 6 minutes outside my pb but I suppose what can you expect when you're 2 stone overweight!

Small enough race but it's very well organised by Clare River Harriers.

Was hoping that I'd manage to match my Streets of Galway 8k pace over the 10k distance.

Started ok but could feel the elastic of my shorts eating into my belly muffin and after 2 miles my fleshy side saddle bags were flapping slowly matching my slow plodding pace.

By mile 4 I wanted to stop and the only minor positive from this fiasco was that I sucked it up and continued waddling. Was passed at mile 6 by a guy with earphones who was singing as he passed, "ah for fcuks sake I'm not having that", I gathered up my girt and finished with a bit of s spurt. Finished in around 45.38, mortified, straight to the car and home.

Think I need to pick a target to give me some focus, (maybe the world record for ating skittles), and I'll talk to coach about it.

6.15 for the spurt

Sun: 4 miles easy around the pitches, was surprised that I wasn't as stiff as I was before the race.

The only positive is I can't get any slower!

TbL

You didn't happen to meet a female running legend from these parts at the race???
    Ye both would have been star struck :D:D

By the way, Craughwell ac have a 5k on sat 16 sept at 3pm. Think I remember you saying the kids might want to have a run... €10 online afaik.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Ended up with a time of over 6 minutes outside my pb but I suppose what can you expect when you're 2 stone overweight!

Sheesh, I go away for 2 years and look what happens :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Remember where you were a few short weeks ago............

- 2 mile early morning walk
    - S&C session focusing mainly on core
    - physio session
    - 2 mile evening walk

Saturday:

- 6 mile power walk in just over an hour and twenty minutes (about the same as Tangs marathon pace :)). Needed that to de-stress from my Ed Sheeran trauma!

- 3 mile walk broken up by a swim in the sea. Took the long way down to the beach to meet the clan, had a lovely swim and walked back home.

9 miles walking total for the day and the knee held up so very happy with that.

Sunday:

Physio told me that I could do some gentle jogging on the pitch. Plan was to walk to the local GA pitch and walk a lap then jog half a lap and do this 4-6 times. All went very well did 5 half pitch jogs and managed a full lap for the final jog rep. Delighted with that.

Just under 6 miles.

TbL

you would have definitely taken a 45 min 10k in August.

The weight will come down, the endurance will return, the speed.......well that'll still be crap :)
    Sat: don't know whether to laugh or cry but it was a shocking performance. Decided to run the Claregalway 10k to try and get some mojo back.

Finished in around 45.38, mortified, straight to the car and home.

Think I need to pick a target to give me some focus, (maybe the world record for ating skittles), and I'll talk to coach about it.

6.15 for the spurt

Sun: 4 miles easy around the pitches, was surprised that I wasn't as stiff as I was before the race.

The only positive is I can't get any slower!

TbL