Electric Picnic 2017 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales**

Poorside wrote: »
    Seathrun66 wrote: »
    Once when I finally got onto the guest list. There's a more comfortable bar that's open a bit later than the main arena, some good toilets (though not many of them & half seemed to be blocked when I visited). Also had a wood-fired pizza place with long queues and a MAC make-up stall with free stuff. Nothing special, but a useful alternative to have.

Sound, but what about the beer? Is it still a Heineken bar?
    Yeah, they have Murphys also & maybe other Heineken beers. Don't think they'll have anything not available elsewhere on the site.
    Would be nice if Heineken sold Lagunitas at the festival, they bought half the company two years and it's a great beer that'd go down very well at EP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Johann.

I'll never, ever, ever forget the state of some of the toilets come the Saturday evening or Sunday morning. Ye best hope you don't stumble into one of the bad ones :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

Johann. wrote: »
    I'll never, ever, ever forget the state of some of the toilets come the Saturday evening or Sunday morning. Ye best hope you don't stumble into one of the bad ones :D

Never had a really bad experience with them, there was one last year that every lad that went up to it just opened and closed the door, loads in the queue said it couldn't be that bad and went up, all came back with a look of horror.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,159 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Can you remember the long drops, they were something else.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Never had a really bad experience with them, there was one last year that every lad that went up to it just opened and closed the door, loads in the queue said it couldn't be that bad and went up, all came back with a look of horror.
    You were lucky. Some were awful. It's just silliness, at want point do people keep pushing the boundaries....just use another one!

Johann. wrote: »
    You were lucky. Some were awful. It's just silliness, at want point do people keep pushing the boundaries....just use another one!
    Best toilets in the morning are in the main arena. Hardly used, freshly cleaned and pretty deserted. No queues. Worth the walk from the campsites if you can hold on.

Best toilets in the morning are in the main arena. Hardly used, freshly cleaned and pretty deserted. Worth the walk from the campsites if you can hold on.
    Yeah, figured that out after the first year! Some people don't give a ****e, literally! :D

Ah, it's great craic. Didn't go last year due to a wedding with the missus & heading away to Tenerife this year. Common trend setting in? :P

Best toilets in the morning are in the main arena. Hardly used, freshly cleaned and pretty deserted. No queues. Worth the walk from the campsites if you can hold on.

The ones in Pink moon are always in great nick.
    The smell in the early mornings when the trucks go into the main arena to suck them clean is something I could do without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Rigor Mortis

The secret is 12 o clock each day, head down to the jacks to the left of the main stage. Pristine.

No matter how well I plan it, I've never made it into the arena that early.

Usually around the time you're woken up by the drips of condensation falling on your face in your €20 tent. Ahhh. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭davew121

Campervan is great for comfort but when it comes Sunday when you have to empty the toilet cassette into the tank in the ground and every other tramp just poured it onto the ground not near the hole it's not a pretty site or memory 🀢

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,221 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I know this sounds like an awful thing to say but I'm already dreading the Tuesday afterwards :(

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

everlast75 wrote: »
    I know this sounds like an awful thing to say but I'm already dreading the Tuesday afterwards :(

Just power through, I usually go fora few pints Monday evening to taper off the weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,993 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

davew121 wrote: »
    Campervan is great for comfort but when it comes Sunday when you have to empty the toilet cassette into the tank in the ground and every other tramp just poured it onto the ground not near the hole it's not a pretty site or memory ��

Yeah, there's no portaloo I've ever encountered that's been as bad as that "waste disposal" area in the campervan site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,159 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

The worst is if you come too early and yer man is cleaning out the loos, wowf! The smell.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Worst smell really,, is the stinging eyes smell from the wall across from The salty dog by Sunday

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 44,666 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

https://www.facebook.com/pg/thepalemusic/events/?recently_added_ids=266889853801049%2C1971700703074455&ref=notif

The Pale down for Trailer Park at on Saturday and salty Dog on Sunday.

times TBC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭askU

I remember at EP 2015 they had trucks emptying the toilets tanks regularly and also a gang from servicing them...the results were good!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭allym

askU wrote: »
    I remember at EP 2015 they had trucks emptying the toilets tanks regularly and also a gang from servicing them...the results were good!!

Yeah I also remember that the toilets were always pretty much grand except for Monday morning when they'd obviously stopped on the Sunday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭declanleo

if everything you're bringing fits in a rucksack then that's your best bet, if you're bringing a slab (or 2) get yourself a handcart with decent size wheels.

Get a cart with inflatable wheels. Dont muck about with the others....trust me

alastair wrote: »
    Last year there wasn't a hope of selecting a sneaky route into Stradbally, coming from Dublin. Gards were set up early enforcing a 'locals only' rule on non-proscribed routes to the festival. Different story in previous years. I suspect you'd need to be down pretty early to beat the cordons this year.

Thats not quite true ;)

thebusher wrote: »
    First year last year, well into our 40s. Arrived and walked through Hendrix and Warhol and it was like downtown Beirut!

As for the next announcement I reckon its Ham Sandwich, Picture This, Liam Gallagher and I pray to Zues that The Jesus and Mary Chain will be announced.

Would love SLF, Undertones and James.

I think we're likely to see The Radiators at the Mindfield 40 years of punk thing.

Liam is playing Samhain festival in October... no chance

I haven't been since 2009 and I may not get there until around 5pm. Any idea where my best option for setting up tent is? It's just myself and herself so not too fussy.

Joplin. Beenthere the last 3 years. Its grand. Mostly people coming down after work on the friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

declanleo wrote: »
    Liam is playing Samhain festival in October... no chance

That's already sold out though.

*ignoring your sound logic because I would love him to be announced

To be fair to him Stuart Maconie was behaving like a jerk that day. And FJM later apologised. Hopefully in the EA in two weeks and he's likely to be amongst the best of this year's acts.

I cant get into him at all

To be fair to him Stuart Maconie was behaving like a jerk that day. And FJM later apologised. Hopefully in the EA in two weeks and he's likely to be amongst the best of this year's acts.

I cant get into him at all
    Fair enough. I can see why people struggle with Pure Comedy, but Honeybear from 2015 was the best album of that year for me. I reckon he's worth a look if there's nothing clashing that you're into.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

sydthebeat wrote: »
    https://www.facebook.com/pg/thepalemusic/events/?recently_added_ids=266889853801049%2C1971700703074455&ref=notif

The Pale down for Trailer Park at on Saturday and salty Dog on Sunday.

times TBC

Saw them at Salty Dog last year, they were very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Gal44

Get a cart with inflatable wheels. Dont muck about with the others....trust me

Where would one get a hold of an inflatable wheel cart? Like the sound of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭MusicLover8498

Just if anyone's interested, now that we're hitting the two week mark, I made a 1000 or so strong playlist with about 5 or so songs from every artist playing (well as man as I could find) :rolleyes: just cause I always find EP's own playlist a bit bland in terms of giving the impression of a band/artist. Here's the link hopefully it's of some use to someone...even if it is just me :P
    https://open.spotify.com/user/1187290569/playlist/7FZ3nvbRN2jF7509rz9e2u