Not The Annoyingly Trivial Things-Bitches be cray cray week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I am off on holiday from Friday evening. So work people have decided to fill up my calendar with friday afternoon meetings/ calls/ training/ sh1te.
    Wish I had the power to just ignore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

northgirl wrote: »
    The tokens they give you at the checkout in Tesco to assign to one of their 3 current charity recipients. I never have hands free for this!

And never any animal charities!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭Bredabe

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    And never any animal charities!
    Im sure its not "right", but I stock pile mine and wait till they have an animal charity and put them in then, or take a form and nominate one. some vet's take them as well if they deal with your fav one.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

Bredabe wrote: »
    Im sure its not "right", but I stock pile mine and wait till they have an animal charity and put them in then, or take a form and nominate one. some vet's take them as well if they deal with your fav one.

Yay! I will be doing this too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Oh - and another thing. I am not particularly unfit (from a health perspective - not looks!)...but after a weekend of painting the house I am grunting like an ancient arthritic old man every time I get out of the sitting position.

Is this what the future holds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

You've time for a good f*cking beating up and down the street if I get my hands on you.

I think this is my favourite thing I've read today.
    Feel like dishing out one of them myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Never any PMs.

Slow walkers.

Dead end romance.

Zero excitement.

People who loot at you as you walk up to a bus stop or luas platform- its not a f*cking show for your entertainment while you sit there like!

And in general, people who don't realize it is rude to stare! I often have to glare back at people to get them to cop on to what they are doing. Slack-jawed Neanderthal c*nts.

That paracetamol add with the guy running a pop up/ hippy kitchen and he turns and says, "does it look like I've got time for a headache" - except he sounds all smug and like his mouth is stuffed with cotton wool. You've time for a good f*cking beating up and down the street if I get my hands on you.

I hate his stupid hippy hat and the stupid head it is on.

TA that i don't know how to just quote one bit of someone else's post to reply to :(

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

You delete the part of the quote you don't want.

Yay! I will be doing this too.

Good, pass it along, its an idea a woman in Waterford told me about. It mayb national now.

TA the amount of unnecessary plastic packaging on food these days. Nobody needs that much plastic and it is so bad for the environment.

TA trying to paint my nails uniformly and failing. Tempted to get shellac as it is on special but it is misaligned with my vegan ethos. TA beetlejuice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

New Home wrote: »
    You delete the part of the quote you don't want.

Thank you :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

People who call to your house unannounced in the middle of the day. If I don't know you're coming, the door won't be answered anymore. So I left whoever it was knocking meekly on the door in the rain after I ignored the door bell.

Next one is my biggest thing.
    People dictating someone else's diet. Oh my lawwwd.
    I was at a birthday party yesterday. Kids dad has lost a lot of weight and to be honest he was a big guy so had weight to lose. He announced to us all yesterday that it was his "day off" from his diet as he placed himself in front of a bowl of nachos and ate cake pulled pork wedges sausages peanuts crisps sweets cake and biscuits. That's fine, he doesn't need to justify himself.

But that didn't stop him coming in "why are you eating that?" "Do you know how many syns are in that?" "You're only harming yourself" "why do you not care what you're putting in your body?"
    Bear in mind everyone else was eating in moderation he was the one going to town on his "day off". I snapped at him and said sure aren't you shoving food into your cake hole since I came in? "This is my day off though".

I was ****ing fuming, he does it to everyone his in laws his wife me his brother everyone. People who go on about their choices constantly and expect others to follow suit or pander to them. At best you are a pain in the hole and at worst you're an obnoxious and arrogant mouthpiece. If you want to diet and eat raw or paelo foods or only halal meat or just apples that's fine knock yourself out but stop bleating on to everyone else who isn't following your life plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

Looking at a film or TV series and 2 characters are deep in conversation.
    One of them says something that you can't make out due to either the speed they say it, the hushed voice they say it in, or some background noise.

Suddenly the background music changes into something more sinister and the other characters facial expression tells you something big has just been said but you don't know what it was. Multiple pause, rewind, play attempts later and you are still none the wiser :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

That is just the worst. People who ate like a slob for 20 years and suddenly become vegan or something overnight and decide to morally dictate about your life choices. Just as bad as people who give up the fags and start to think they're morally superior and become all smug and health conscious cos they're off the fags four days. I've no problem with people being proud of their own life choices, fair play, but when they infringe on other people's it's overbearing.
    Fcuk off. Live and let live.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 79,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Looking at a film or TV series and 2 characters are deep in conversation.
    One of them says something that you can't make out due to either the speed they say it, the hushed voice they say it in, or some background noise.

Suddenly the background music changes into something more sinister and the other characters facial expression tells you something big has just been said but you don't know what it was. Multiple pause, rewind, play attempts later and you are still none the wiser :mad:

You need subtitles.

But yes, it's very annoying, just like it's annoying when the volume suddenly increases for the ads. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

If I am watching TV, and my mother in law walks in to the room, it's a given that with the next two minutes there will be a couple riding in the film I'm watching. Loudly.

I hate enclosed spaces with water(like showers) but I have to scan a photo to HQ tom, so I have to wash my hair for the photo, might as well shower while the hot water is on. TA'ed I have to behave like a normal human being to please a computer and wrestle with a scanner that 1. Hates me, 2. Deaf as has still got locked to her, so she can have the joy of refusing use of.

That I come on her to post the following and tangented off to shower issues(welcome to BB's brain) I had to go to four (4) well know chain supermarkets before finding bottles of lime juice in the independent at 1.5 times the price. Lime fruit won't do for what I need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,715 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

when you turn on the telly and the person before you has it way up . the noise starts way before the remote starts to turn it down.
    then I get the blame and told I need a hearing test.
    feck off will ya , you had it on last. you need a hearing test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

auto play videos on Facebook. also, videos that play automatically at the highest possible volume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭dub_skav

anna080 wrote: »
    That is just the worst. People who ate like a slob for 20 years and suddenly become vegan or something overnight and decide to morally dictate about your life choices. Just as bad as people who give up the fags and start to think they're morally superior and become all smug and health conscious cos they're off the fags four days. I've no problem with people being proud of their own life choices, fair play, but when they infringe on other people's it's overbearing.
    Fcuk off. Live and let live.

As me auld mother goose used to say: None so pew-er, as a reformed who-er

TA: Anybody feeling they have the right to lecture you, on anything. Educate, illuminate by all means, but lecturing is the worst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,066 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

Robsweezie wrote: »
    auto play videos on Facebook. also, videos that play automatically at the highest possible volume.

You can turn off autoplay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    If I am watching TV, and my mother in law walks in to the room, it's a given that with the next two minutes there will be a couple riding in the film I'm watching. Loudly.

Tends to be the case when watching porn!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Vandalism. The local post box looks a sorry sight after presumably a few young fellas with more adidas
    tracksuits than sense pulled it asunder. I just saw a story about life buoys that were burned to a crisp
    at a beach. What the fcuk is wrong with people that they can't leave necessary public equipment that
    is of benefit to everyone alone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

gramar wrote: »
    Tends to be the case when watching porn!

Even I draw the line at watching porn when my in laws are in my house :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    Even I draw the line at watching porn when my in laws are in my house :D

Your mother in law told us that you spend ages in the bathroom whenever she visits...ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

It's taken me at least 2 hours to tidy my room because I keep getting distracted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

When people reply to a comment on Boards without using the Quote button. Sometimes a reply posts right after the first person's comment, sometimes it ends up several posts further down. At least state that you're replying to X-Person's comment. I wouldn't mind if these were new Boards users who can't use the Quote function.

TA Many coffee machines now take pods and capsules. More plastic waste. What's wrong with a bag of ground coffee and a spoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

There were no spoons at the coffee dock so I have to use wooden stirrers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

TA Many coffee machines now take pods and capsules. More plastic waste. What's wrong with a bag of ground coffee and a spoon.

I have one of those at home. Espresso in 40 seconds in the morning.

To be fair, it's damn hard to recycle those pods. It would be great if the companies did something about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I think I posted about this before- but people who post pictures of people at their most vulnerable. I'm friends with a girl on snapchat, I don't know her too well, she's a sister of a friend. Her grandad is in a nursing home with dementia and god love him, every time this girl visits him she uploads about ten pictures of him to Snapchat. This man is just sitting in a chair, not knowing where he is, who he is- nothing- and I just feel like it's a total violation of his privacy and dignity to take pictures of him and upload them to social media like that. I'm only friends with her on snapchat, so I dont know where else she posts them, but probably Facebook as well.

I find it so disrespectful. This man has probably worked hard all his life and is being deduced to this poor old lost soul in a chair, and now has this awful illness and probably never even knew what social media is, and yet pictures of him in his most vulnerable state are being splashed for all to see. And for what? So she will get some attention for it? It's just awful.