Marian Finucane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I'm just watching Scannal on TG4, they're revisiting Marian's interview with Joe Jacobs (Minister for Iodine Tablets). I'd forgotten what an absolute car crash it was, hilarious stuff!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,067 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I wonder will the host mention rte wages?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭h.gricer

I'm just watching Scannal on TG4, they're revisiting Marian's interview with Joe Jacobs (Minister for Iodine Tablets). I'd forgotten what an absolute car crash it was, hilarious stuff!!

When I'm up at 4.30am Monday to Friday, I had to be up this morning, Apache Friday western, I was heading for the sack when Scannal came on, I just had to stick with it, really hilarious stuff, it would be even funnier if it wasn't true, if this was British politics that idiot would have been gone before you could utter the word stupid, and the way Bertie and company stuck by him, said a lot more about them, he top the poll in the 2002 election making the people even more stupid than he was, still the funny side was funny, you couldn't make it, I must seach for my iodine tablets LOL!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Jaysus, didn't think she would ask her about that :eek:

I wonder will she have Darina Allen in for a few hard questions after the break.

She should name that journalist. I often think that if I were famous... in the real world and not just in my head.... if I had somebody like that outside my gate or stalking me. I would pay somebody to stalk them 24/7 until they backed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,320 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I have a lot of time for Tracey Piggott but this interview smacked of..

"Bollocks Marion, our 11 O'Clock has cancelled."
    "Go down to the RTE canteen and grab the first person you see."
    "I grabbed the first person but the chef said that she was needed to wipe down tables so Tracey said she'd do"
    "What's the famous for?"
    "I've already googled that for you, now go out there and have yourself a smoke; you've done without for 5 minutes"

Next in the Primal Scream lyrics... surely Rocks, their most popular song??

"Dealers keep dealing, thieves keep thieving
    Whores keep whoring, junkies keep scoring
    So to speak".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭citykat

She really hasn't a clue who Primal Scream are. She clearly didn't know those lyrics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Next in the Primal Scream lyrics... surely Rocks, their most popular song??

"Dealers keep dealing, thieves keep thieving
    Whores keep whoring, junkies keep scoring
    So to speak".
    It has to be saaaaaaid

Bit trite there from Marion - "I hope it works out for each of you in whatever way that you would like yourself" i.e. My head is on the plane, and I absolutely 100% couldn't give a crap if any of ye make it through the rest of the day.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

citykat wrote: »
    She really hasn't a clue who Primal Scream are. She clearly didn't know those lyrics.

In fairness she doesn't need to and I get the impression the producer sees that as part of its strange charm in what is typically a charmless show.

What was the point of helicoptering Dorley in to do a slot about coastal restaurants only to immediately hurry him up and then cut him short and all to make space for another guest to talk about gardening? (This guest wasn't "radio fit" and the talk turned to food).

Another show rang in from the presenter whose heart is in Deauville, her head is with accountants and her gob in Montrose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I have a lot of time for Tracey Piggott but this interview smacked of..

"Bollocks Marion, our 11 O'Clock has cancelled."
    "Go down to the RTE canteen and grab the first person you see."
    "I grabbed the first person but the chef said that she was needed to wipe down tables so Tracey said she'd do"
    "What's the famous for?"
    "I've already googled that for you, now go out there and have yourself a smoke; you've done without for 5 minutes"

I like Tracey but I didn't see the point of that interview .. all a bit old hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,270 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

She should name that journalist. I often think that if I were famous... in the real world and not just in my head.... if I had somebody like that outside my gate or stalking me. I would pay somebody to stalk them 24/7 until they backed off.

Just doing his/her job, Peter.

Eh?

She was on media training and it's commonplace to keep on talking and talking to the point that you speak about your sex life with your partner? I'm not buying that. Diana would not have spoken about that topic unless she wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

this old cliche of ' we're a sports mad nation ' ,jesus wept!, every nation is as sports mad as we are .
    and participating in sport isn't the solution to the obesity problem , stopping stuffing faces unnecessarily is .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Oops69 wrote: »
    this old cliche of ' we're a sports mad nation ' ,jesus wept!, every nation is as sports mad as we are .
    and participating in sport isn't the solution to the obesity problem , stopping stuffing faces unnecessarily is .

Yep, you can't outrun a bad diet as they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭tampopo

If we win the bid for the 2023 Rugby world cup, I wonder if the mens' teams will be put up in the student accommodation of the UCD campus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Creol1

The nadir must have been on the day after the marriage equality referendum when she spoke to two activists and actually asked each of them, "are you a gay person?"

On the other hand, there seem to be -- or used to be -- occasions when at 12 she just forgot about the Angelus and went straight to the news, if I'm not mistaken. As a secularist, that's something I can forgive her for.

Creol1 wrote: »
    On the other hand, there seem to be -- or used to be -- occasions when at 12 she just forgot about the Angelus and went straight to the news, if I'm not mistaken. As a secularist, that's something I can forgive her for.

No angelus on Sundays. Maybe that was it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Creol1

tampopo wrote: »
    No angelus on Sundays. Maybe that was it.

Really? That would explain it.

Creol1 wrote: »
    Really? That would explain it.
    yep, no angelus on Christmas Day or Good Friday either. Philip Boucher Hayes says they get complaints into Drivetime every Good Friday when they don't broadcast the Angelus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

yep, no angelus on Christmas Day or Good Friday either. Philip Boucher Hayes says they get complaints into Drivetime every Good Friday when they don't broadcast the Angelus!

Any of you good Catholics know why those days are excluded?

Callan57 wrote: »
    I'm not even Catholic! No idea but I'd be curious as to the reason too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Probably because staunch catholics do a bit of extra praying on those days anyway so the get a let off on the angelus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,905 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

I think the Good Friday and Easter Saturday are because he's supposed to be dead. I think the Angelus is about rejoicing so it wouldn't go down too well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,320 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I think the Good Friday and Easter Saturday are because he's supposed to be dead.

Pretty much that is why there are no bells tolled, yeah. It is a reflection of the period of mourning.

As a general thing, the peal at midday and 6PM are calls to both prayers and meals. It goes back to the days when clocks and watches were uncommon so bells would be pealed to let people know when it was to come back home from work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

As a general thing, the peal at midday and 6PM are calls to both prayers and meals. It goes back to the days when clocks and watches were uncommon so bells would be pealed to let people know when it was to come back home from work.

The landowners and clergy had it sown up, didn't they?

Callan57 wrote: »

Presumably at 12.00 on a Sunday you'd be at mass

With the left wing brigade, it wont be long before Marion will be throwing a mat on the floor and pointing herself towards Mecca...

Researcher: "Where do you want the mat, Marion"?
    Marion: "And you can... leave.. that... theeeeeeeeere..."

"I presssssssssssssume that the Martens family would be hoping an appeal would not be successful"

You see it's that level of in depth analysis that you would not get if you tried to get somebody on less than 300K a year.