Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion - Part 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

km79 wrote: »
    Mayo were still going strong against same Galway team with a man less
    Were much stronger than Derry and to a lesser extent cork in second period of extra time
    Much stronger than Clare second half

I won't bother going back over the last few years but mayo were on a par with Dublin fitness wise
    No way Roscommon were

As for the age thing mayo have a fair few around that mark too and the likes of Cillian is only 25 Aidan 26 maybe 27
    3\4 tipping 30 bring experience Roscommon dont have

Roscommon will not edge mayo on fitness
    If they are to win it will be due to their super duper forwards and their backs all having the games of their life's to contain Mayo's misfiring forwards ;)

Yes they were fitter than Clare, Cork and Derry but that's what you would expect with a team as good as Mayo. I never said they weren't fitter than them teams but they did struggle, I wouldn't say they were going strong at the end of them three games.

I don't think you should look at the past few years because Mayo are moving on and they are not as good as they once were. Roscommon were not as fit Mayo up until last year. I do think they are fitter this year, since alot of new names are on the team this year that are very talented, fit players.

Roscommon have players around the 30 mark too, but overall they are a younger team. They do not have the experience Mayo have, especially in Croke Park. In saying that, a lot of the younger players are no stranger to Croke Park having won many minor games there over the last few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,462 ✭✭✭✭km79

Mayo were still going strong against same Galway team with a man less
    Were much stronger than Derry and to a lesser extent cork in second period of extra time
    Much stronger than Clare second half

I won't bother going back over the last few years but mayo were on a par with Dublin fitness wise
    No way Roscommon were

As for the age thing mayo have a fair few around that mark too and the likes of Cillian is only 25 Aidan 26 maybe 27
    3\4 tipping 30 bring experience Roscommon dont have

Roscommon will not edge mayo on fitness
    If they are to win it will be due to their super duper forwards and their backs all having the games of their life's to contain Mayo's misfiring forwards ;)

Yes they were fitter than Clare, Cork and Derry but that's what you would expect with a team as good as Mayo. I never said they weren't fitter than them teams but they did struggle, I wouldn't say they were going strong at the end of them three games.

I don't think you should look at the past few years because Mayo are moving on and they are not as good as they once were. Roscommon were not as fit Mayo up until last year. I do think they are fitter this year, since alot of new names are on the team this year that are very talented, fit players.

Roscommon have players around the 30 mark too, but overall they are a younger team. They do not have the experience Mayo have, especially in Croke Park. In saying that, a lot of the younger players are no stranger to Croke Park having won many minor games there over the last few years
    Some good points made to be fair
    We will find out Sunday I guess but I'll be suprised if fitness is a decisive factor in Roscommon's Favour
    I'd be more worried about McStays game plan

We will find out Sunday I guess but I'll be suprised if fitness is a decisive factor in Roscommon's Favour

Hes very tactical and he will want to show Mayo how good he really is

That's my worry
    I read today that they were preparing for all 3 possible opponents BUT he focused on mayo for the past 3 weeks and got outside people to focus on donegal and cork
    He will have had a lot longer than Rochford
    But maybe that's a good thing as sometimes I feel Rochford focuses on opposition too much to the detriment of some of our own players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Mayo News Football Podcast Extra

Roscommon Preview.

Connacht and the Kingdom are taking over Croke Park this Sunday and we have an extra podcast to mark the occasion as we add to the build up to Sunday's Mayo versus Roscommon All Ireland Quarter final clash.Joining Rob Murphy on this week's show are John Gunnigan of the Mayo GAA blog,Mayo News columnist Billy Joe Padden and Roscommon coach Liam McHale.We caught up with McHale at the launch of the Connacht championship at the start of the summer and we think you'll find it interesting to see how relaxed and confident he was in the progress his side were making at that point despite all the critics.

http://themayonews.podomatic.com/enclosure/2017-07-28T06_15_55-07_00.mp3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Just what I needed. A bit of football talk.

"I know I'm one of the best coaches in the country, probably the best coach in the country" - Liam McHale. Skip to 10:20 if you don't want to listen to the full thing :)

http://mayogaablog.com/?p=21189

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭jasonroche123

"I know I'm one of the best coaches in the country, probably the best coach in the country" - Liam McHale. Skip to 10:20 if you don't want to listen to the full thing :)

http://mayogaablog.com/?p=21189

Had to hear it to believe it. What great managers and coaches all seem to have is a humble outlook on their roles not such cockiness

Liam McHale was never one to doubt himself too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,307 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

McHale was a ledgend of a football player for Mayo.

But he is a spoofer, a snake oil salesman.

As I've said many times before, Mayo dodged a bullet when he and McStay we're not given the Mayo job back in late 2014.

A fitting stone memorial to two gardai (Detective Garda John Morley and Garda Henry Byrne) who died in the line of duty was unveiled today at Shannon's Cross in Loughglynn where the shooting took place after a bank robbery in Ballaghaderreen in 1980.

John Morley was by all accounts one of the giants of the game and his son Gordon donned the Green and Red too in more recent years.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/overcoming-lifes-cruel-breaks-26409403.html

they don't help themselves the Rossies !
    McStay has had a lot to say this week too........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭jasonroche123

Team named do they release the full 26 at all?? Cause lets face it the team named is never the one Rochford plays

David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
    Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
    Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
    Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
    Lee Keegan (Westport)
    Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
    Colm Boyle (Davitts)
    Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
    Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
    Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
    Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
    Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)
    Conor Loftus (Crossmolina)
    Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
    Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
    Team Manager: Stephen Rochford.

Selectors: Donie Buckley, Peter Burke & Tony McEntee.

Dummy team named

Yep, looks like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

So what do you think the real team will be?
    I can't see Jason Doherty losing his place and will be interesting to see if Cafferty starts

Also for those of you driving I found this on the Roscommon thread so reposted here so people don't get caught.
    Hey there folks. Just a heads up about parking in Maynooth and getting the train into Drumcondra; Parking at Maynooth train station is fairly limited. What some people do is park at Greenfield Shops or at the Glenroyal hotel.

I advise AGAINST this now.

I live close to Greenfield in Maynooth and the last time Mayo were playing in Croker, a lot of cars parked at the Greenfield Shops were clamped. The spaces are for customers only and APCOA went to town on cars parked there for the last Mayo match. I wouldn't want any of my fellow Rossies having to deal with APCOA after the match.

I can't speak for the parking at the Glenroyal hotel, but there is a Spar shop there and it could be a similar story with clamping.

Leixlip Louisa Bridge has a decent sized car park if you get there early. Not sure how much it costs, but it's cheaper than a clamp removal!

Absolutely do not park around the glenroyal either
    You will be clamped
    Go to leixlip Louisa bridge
    Good sized car park to the right Of the station
    About a fiver for the day best I can remember

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Mayo Club 51

The front of tomorrows match programme

DF7cFlfXsAI-cHZ.jpg

Our "friend " casscass popped into Roscommon thread to wish them luck whilst at the same time abusing mayo folk
    He was not met with the response he was fishing for ;)

Our "friend " casscass popped into Roscommon thread to wish them luck whilst at the same time abusing mayo folk
    He was not met with the response he was fishing for ;)

I think the young people call it "epic fail"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,405 ✭✭✭naughto

I got the head taking off me for calling the rossies sheep shaggers I mean stealers but sure ya no what it's not worth it.
    Have a friend looking for a ticket where is the best place I can send him in the big smoke to pick one tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭casscass4444

There was lads on here during the week saying they would be surprised if the Roscommon bus could find croke park.
    If I was a Mayo supporter I'd be more concerned about the amount of times the Mayo bus came home from croke park having won nothing.but yeah Mayo are a top 3 team as ye say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

naughto wrote: »
    I got the head taking off me for calling the rossies sheep shaggers I mean stealers but sure ya no what it's not worth it.
    Have a friend looking for a ticket where is the best place I can send him in the big smoke to pick one tomorrow

There are tickets on sale now in the front rows of 304 and 305. Must be heading for a near sell out?

mayo.mick wrote: »
    There are tickets on sale now in the front rows of 304 and 305. Must be heading for a near sell out?

They will get very wet !

There was lads on here during the week saying they would be surprised if the Roscommon bus could find croke park.
    If I was a Mayo supporter I'd be more concerned about the amount of times the Mayo bus came home from croke park having won nothing.but yeah Mayo are a top 3 team as ye say.

Keep here going casssss yop is warming the ban hammer as we speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,662 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Judging by the lack of knowledge you displayed on the Roscommon thread and again just now I'd say you have enough of your own trouble finding stuff without coming on here imparting your brand of expertise.

mayo.mick wrote: »

I doubt it mick Kerry will bring Fock all will the rossies bring 15 k or selves the same or more and Galway 10/ 12

naughto wrote: »
    I doubt it mick Kerry will bring Fock all will the rossies bring 15 k or selves the same or more and Galway 10/ 12

Are they even opening the hill?
    Not seen anyone mention terrace tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭jeffred

Are they even opening the hill?
    Not seen anyone mention terrace tickets

Terrace tickets are on sale on tickets.ie at the moment