Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

February 2017 Babies Club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭deh983

greenttc wrote: »
    Do you use a monitor deh? I use the angel care one (although i havent installed the mat part) the monitor is so sensitive that i can almost hear him starting to wake, it just sounds like static on the monitor, it obviously turns on when he starts moving a bit, so as soon as i hear that i am up the stairs, i dont wait to hear a cry. The monitor is portable too, i bring it out to the garden wiTh me, its beside me right now! Your poor wee toddler, maybe you could make a game of it or something?

Yea I have the monitor with me but I have music playing so hard to hear. Will try it anyway & see does it help. Might have to resign myself to fact that she's a cat napper!! Sleep training worked well with older lad so might have to try that when time comes. She's going into big cot tonight for first time too.

Bad night again last night and this morning. Sorry for keep harping on about the same thing but I have another question.
    This morning she woke at 7:10 so I had her back asleep at 9:10. She was awake at 9:50. So therefore she was due to go back down around 11:50. Her feed was due at 11:30 so her 2 hours of awake time were all before her feed. Is anyone else finding this? I fed her and by time winded & changed it was 12:20 & she couldn't keep eyes open. So she's on her 2nd nap already and it's only 12:30!!!! Going to be a long day.
    Guess what I'm asking is when they wake early do ye still keep the same feed schedule even bough it's so close to the next nap.

Apologies again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 508 ✭✭✭smaoifs

I don't really schedule her. She lets me know if she's hungry and I feed her. Naps aren't scheduled either for us. Some days she's more active than others and she'll just crash and burn but other days if we're out for a walk she'll stay awake and nap for a short while when we get home. No two days are the same with us yet but timings for feeds and bed for the night are always within the same hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭ally_pally

I'd prioritise a nap over a feed, especially if she's taking such short naps. At her age I wouldn't be overly worried about a feed being a bit early or late if it facilitates a nap. It's so hard to know though and I've only just stopped scheduling her feeds since starting solids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭catrionanic

I have no idea about naps. He has had three 30 min naps today. He's awake since 7. Bah.

I've had many many days of 30 minute naps. I'll try and squeeze in a fourth nap if possible on days like that. We actually had our best night in ages last night. I had thought she might have a terrible night as we were travelling so she wasn't actually in her cot until around 10. Against all odds, she had a brilliant night and is napping like a champion today. They sure do like to keep us guessing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭greenttc

deh983 wrote: »
    Bad night again last night and this morning. Sorry for keep harping on about the same thing but I have another question.
    This morning she woke at 7:10 so I had her back asleep at 9:10. She was awake at 9:50. So therefore she was due to go back down around 11:50. Her feed was due at 11:30 so her 2 hours of awake time were all before her feed. Is anyone else finding this? I fed her and by time winded & changed it was 12:20 & she couldn't keep eyes open. So she's on her 2nd nap already and it's only 12:30!!!! Going to be a long day.
    Guess what I'm asking is when they wake early do ye still keep the same feed schedule even bough it's so close to the next nap.

Apologies again

I do mostly stick to my schedule really and he does, he cries if he doesnt got the bottle he is expecting. Most of his bottles are just before naps except for one and that is about an hour after he wakes from a nap. Sometimes he will sleep past a bottle time and i will just give it to him when he wakes. Or if i know he is due a bottle in 30mins i will try keep him from falling asleep by playing or singing unless he is very cranky, if that is the case i give him his bottle early. If the bottle is late i give the next bottle at the same scheduled time anyway otherwise it messes up the rest of the day.

Maybe i am doing it all wrong but it works for us so far, the only thing i am wary about as i said before is that i am scared now that he sees a bottle as a sleep association as he has one before both naps and bedtime, cant change it thoug, everything is working and i dont want to disturb that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭tangobelle2010

deh983 wrote:

I don't have any schedule when it comes to feeding. Baba dictates when she's hungry or thirsty and I go with that. She'll always have a drink after waking up. I don't really time between the feeds. But I do time the naps and wake time and try to stick to a routine as much as possible when at home but when we're out and about, routine goes out the window and thats fine too. She's on 3-4 bottles a day and 3 wee meals and they are worked in between naps as needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭greenttc

I don't have any schedule when it comes to feeding. Baba dictates when she's hungry or thirsty and I go with that. She'll always have a drink after waking up. I don't really time between the feeds. But I do time the naps and wake time and try to stick to a routine as much as possible when at home but when we're out and about, routine goes out the window and thats fine too. She's on 3-4 bottles a day and 3 wee meals and they are worked in between naps as needed.

3/4 bottles? What size? God my lad must be a milk monster, he is on 8oz by 5 and this week he is guzzling them down and would prob drnk more if i could fit more in the bottle!

I am hoping his food intake increases and he doesnt really need more than the 8!

greenttc wrote:
    3/4 bottles? What size? God my lad must be a milk monster, he is on 8oz by 5 and this week he is guzzling them down and would prob drnk more if i could fit more in the bottle!

7 oz bottles. My first was a boy and he was a super guzzler too so don't be stressing. If your boy needs it, he'll drink it. Both my girls are more dainty eaters than the boy was. My mother said the same...her boys ate far more enthusiastically than the girls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭The HorsesMouth

I'm gate crashing this thead a bit late but I have a wee little woman nearly 6 months old! If she's having a short nap day( like today) I just let her dictate what happens with bottles....she will always get her 4 8oz but just depends on the time..the worst though is if she wakes up early from the last nap and then trying to drag her out til bedtime! We're not really into food at the moment but planning on doing BLW so not too worried yet. The biggest problem we have is getting her to sleep..at the moment it's a lot of rocking and cuddling before being placed on the cot asleep...in no uncertain terms will she doze off herself! Anyone else?!

Welcome horsesmouth! I'm always hoping the last nap will end around 6 pm or later but if before, like you, its so hard dragging them out! My baba got up today at 9 am, yesterday at 7.30 so coordinating the 6 pm wake time from last nap isn't easy!

I posted before about the soft comforter to help them drop off by themselves. Have you tried that? Its worked wonders for my last two...dodo and comforter and into the cot and she's away, sometimes I'll have to go back in to pop dodo back in but mostly she's away by herself. Every baby is different though.

This past two nights, she's been rolling over on to her belly to sleep. Freaked me out big time! Every time I rolled her back, she just flipped back over. She seems so much more comfortable like that but I'm just worried about risk of SIDS, though I think the risk is much lower after six months. Don't know if I should leave her be or keep flipping her back over!

Another bad night last night! He went down around 7 and woke again and needed resettling around 8, but we were up with him from 12.15 to 2, then up again for the day at 5.30. I hadn't managed to fall asleep yet before he woke (despite being in my bed since 10... I've always suffered with insomnia but it seems particularly cruel nowadays when sleep is so precious), so I basically slept 2-5.30 and that was me.

Tango, I wouldn't worry too much about the belly sleeping. Some babies just prefer it. She's obviously mobile enough to flip around so I don't think there's anything you can do about it anyway!

My fella isn't very mobile. He can sit up pretty well and he loves standing and bouncing, but he's still only rolled over from belly to back twice, despite doing three tummy time sessions per day, and hasn't done back to belly yet. My mam says we were all slow to do things when we were young so I'm not too bothered.

Yeah have tried blanky, dodi all of that...shes very good with waking up in middle of the night and going back to sleep herself (if you give her the dodi) buts it's the initial going to sleep that's the problem...im sure til sort itself out anyways.. not too worried until I physically can't carry her around! Catriona you've probably tried everything but would you try a later bed time? I know with the daylight streaming in until half 9 or ten these evenings my little one thinks its morning sometimes! Or you were saying he's not too mobile yet..maybe he's physically not tired out by bedtime..We had this issue so made sure she was rolling (with help) lots and sitting up..basically trying to tire her out and it helped. I realise I'm probably suggesting things that you have more than likely tried!

How do you get her to roll though? My wee man just lies on the mat and doesn't seem to know what to do lol. He lifts his head up quite high and flails his legs about, then starts giving out after 5 mins or so as he wants up, but doesn't seem to have worked out that he can get off his tummy if he just rolls lol. I've tried helping him to roll over but he doesn't seem to understand, bless him.

My second child rolled on to her belly once and never did it again. Some babies hate it and hate tummy time and she was one of them. She never crawled and started bum shuffling instead close to her 1st birthday. Its the cutest sight! We tried and tried to encourage her to roll but she was having none of it! Their personalities are already developing and they know their capabilities and limits. Its amazing. Keep with the tummy time to keep his wee neck muscles going and hopefully crawl when the time comes.

You must be exhausted though from the lack of sleep. Its so tough. The first couple of months you expect the tough nights but six months on, the lack of sleep is so hard to endure. I really don't think I believe all these people who claim their babies slept the night from 6 weeks or whenever! Hopefully he'll settle soon for you.

So I used to bend her knees up to her belly or as far as comfortable and turn them to one side and she used to do the rest apart from move her arm out of the way so I'd help her with that...but like tango said..some babies just weren't meant to roll!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,076 ✭✭✭✭fits

One of my twins won't roll either. The other is creeping around. Bit worried about the lack of rolling but hopefully it will happen soon.

My little one isn't rolling either. She kicks her legs in the air, tips over on to her side, squeaks in delight but seems to have no interest in going any further. I help tip her over on to her front and on to her back which she thinks is a fantastic game, but one which she has no interest in trying herself!

A friend recently told me that her now four year old never rolled until well after he was already walking. That helped put my panicky paranoid mind at rest a bit. Yes, it's a developmental milestone but maybe not every baby will do it.

ally_pally wrote:
    My little one isn't rolling either. She kicks her legs in the air, tips over on to her side, squeaks in delight but seems to have no interest in going any further. I help tip her over on to her front and on to her back which she thinks is a fantastic game, but one which she has no interest in trying herself!

That's the way my little one was til she got enough momentum to go from her side to her belly. It took a couple of weeks bit now she does it all the time. Has only continued back on to her back once.

My guy who wont roll is very long and slim. I wonder if body shape is part of it. The other, mobile fellow is a lot more sturdy.

fits wrote: »
    My guy who wont roll is very long and slim. I wonder if body shape is part of it. The other, mobile fellow is a lot more sturdy.

I wonder! My boy is long and slim (and not interested in rolling) too. 20th percentile for weight. He hasn't had his height measured in about six weeks or so, but was around the 75th percentile for length then. Although is the more mobile boy the one who is better on solids? Bigger appetite?

Does your skinny minny sit? My man is sitting pretty well now since he was 5 and a half months.

he's only really beginning to sit up well this week. (and hence take solids as well). He was 0.4th centile last time checked and Id say he is still on that curve. Yep the bigger boy is better eater too. And shockingly was picking stuff up using the pincer grip this evening!

Liam slept 11.15 to 4.45 last night!!!!!!! I nearly jumped for joy!

That's fantastic! Fingers crossed it's the start of things to come.

That's great. Delighted that u managed to get some sleep. Long may it continue!!

That's brilliant! You must feel refreshed today!

We've gone 10 steps back here this past few nights and I'm up multiple times during night to resettle her. So frustrating! She's in such great form during day though so I can't put it down to teething or anything. She's moving around on the floor too, not crawling but is able to get from a-b on her belly so you'd think she'd be so worn out from that, but no, she's ready to party at 2 am!

I think they get so excited with the crawling that they wake up wanting to practice. I think that's what's going on with one of mine and the other is teething mad. It's two steps forward one step back! We have taking to dividing to conquer from 5am onwards. ( husband is in different room €

I'm delighted for you Catriona. 5.5 hours is a great stretch, long may it last!

Had a fairly unsettled few nights here. She'll stay asleep but be fussing and grumbling badly in her sleep. Settle her back down, head back to bed and the process starts again in 15 minutes. I'm wrecked today!

We also took the baba for his first paddle in the sea today. AND I just about squeezed in to my pre-pregnancy jeans (still have about a stone to lose though). Today was a good day! Hope you've all been out enjoying the nice weather. I start back to work next weekend and will be working most weekends going forward, so we made the most of it!