Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

Excellent piece!

Well written, engaging, and honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Inviere

Really? Heavily biased toward the Mayweather-run event imo. Not that he's wrong about things, the way it's painted though just reeks of bias.

• Site Banned Posts: 14 FreshBedsheets

You would be hard pressed to find any men who would look as comfortable as Conor did on stage as he was awaiting Floyd. He was simply put into a sh1t situation by Floyd and showtime who clearly want Conor on a tight leash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Good piece again wonder. Don't particularly think anyone 'won' though. But one thing is clear, and maybe that's what constitutes the win, is that it's Floyd's house, Floyd's rules, he won't really let himself be exposed to Conor's tongue.

I do disagree about the being less popular thing, I don't think Floyd has ever been popular, he's well used to getting booed and essentially being the heel.

Lukker- wrote: »
    Good piece again wonder. Don't particularly think anyone 'won' though. But one thing is clear, and maybe that's what constitutes the win, is that it's Floyd's house, Floyd's rules, he won't really let himself be exposed to Conor's tongue.
    I agree. I think it might be a mistake from a promotional point of view. Floyd is surely all about the money, if he lets Conor do his thing it will hype the fight a lot more. That press conference was pants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Lukker- wrote: »

I do disagree about the being less popular thing, I don't think Floyd has ever been popular, he's well used to getting booed and essentially being the heel.

I don't think it's a popularity thing, it's a numbers thing. Floyd may very well be the A-side in terms of purse here but he's been destroyed when it comes to coverage of the fight from day 1.

That was evidenced right from the get-go. Conor's fight announcement tweet was the most retweeted sports tweet of all-time, while Floyd's barely made a splash.

For a person like Floyd, the 'Money' persona has never been about how much money he has - it's always been about how many people care how much money he has. There's no point in him flashing wads of cash over strippers or flaunting his cars if there's nobody paying attention to him or more people paying attention to a rival.

Conor is swamping him on attention and coverage for this fight already and that's gotta sting for a guy with a massive ego like Floyd. Nobody has ever out-shone him in the build-up to a fight since he adopted his 'Money' gimmick.

There's no way Showtime would have staged that ambush if it was Spence Jr. or GGG involved because their social media and global fame are tiny compared to Conor's. The fact they did it shows it bothers Floyd's ego.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,014 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Are they on at 10pm again tonight?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Inviere wrote: »
    Really? Heavily biased toward the Mayweather-run event imo. Not that he's wrong about things, the way it's painted though just reeks of bias.
    Wait, are you suggesting Wonder is bias towards Mayweather there?

First time for everything I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

Not sure I'd agree with that Wonder. Although everything Floyd says needs to be taken with a shovel full of salt, he said last night "fortune over fame". He's fully aware that his last few fights have been all about people wanting to see him lose. In his media scrum he was clearly bigging up Mcgregors chances, he wants people to tune in to see him get beaten.

Edit: sorry looking at your post a second time I see you mean it's more about the attention etc.

That may be true to an extent but I'm if the firm belief that everyone involved in this has already achieved what they want to. The contracts are signed and it will sell huge PPV numbers regardless what happens between this and then. I feel Floyd is happy to back in the spotlight again at all, and while it may bug him a bit that MCGregor is the bigger talking point for this one, his 9 figure pay day will ease that pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 livelife

It mentions in the article that Conor sounded muted & was shy. The poor lads mic was turned off!
    I don't agree with the the article. Mayweather was pacing back & fort from the mic, while Conor seemed relaxed.
    It may be the case that there is too much money at stake for Conor to be his usual self at these press conferences, which is a shame for everyone!
    Mcgregor is the pay per view A side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,020 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

You would be hard pressed to find any men who would look as comfortable as Conor did on stage as he was awaiting Floyd. He was simply put into a sh1t situation by Floyd and showtime who clearly want Conor on a tight leash.

really? you must have been watching something different to me, conor looked really nervous, that chewing is something a nervous guy would do, now mayweather was as cool as a cumumber though. I think conor knows now how out of dept he is, hes in awe of floyd I think, he wont be able to bully floyd like he usually does with most of the ufc fighters, glad they turned his mic off, used to hate when he talked over all the ufc fighters at the press conferences, not letting anyone else get a word in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Shorter summary of the presser:

Who would win in a fight between a shark and a lion?

Well, it depends where they fight.

Conor was dragged into the sea last night by the shenanigans of TMT and Showtime. Now, he's well aware he's going swimming later so we will see the first speech he makes going straight for the jugular. Go for a kill-shot and get out of the water. Let the shark come after him on dry land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,033 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

It's a pity Floyd saying he would fight with lighter gloves will come to nothing. Maybe Conor will focus on that and see if he can taunt Floyd into saying something more concrete.
    Conor said he wasn't informed that he would have to speak for so long last night.
    He will be ready tonight

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

Now, he's well aware he's going swimming later so we will see the first speech he makes going straight for the jugular. Go for a kill-shot and get out of the water. Let the shark come after him on dry land.

I like that!

Hope tonight is nothing like last night with speeches etc... If it is, you're right, he will be better prepared & hopefully he'll come out of it looking better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭dashoonage

Conor was dragged into the sea last night by the shenanigans of TMT and Showtime. Now, he's well aware he's going swimming later so we will see the first speech he makes going straight for the jugular. Go for a kill-shot and get out of the water. Let the shark come after him on dry land.

I'm getting sucked into this act and i ****ing down want too.... but ill watch tonight to see mcnugget tapper comes out with after last night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

peteeeed wrote: »

I guarantee the amount of $500 tickets available will be in single digits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Syphonax

Insane prices for a fight that wont last more than 2 rounds. who the hell would pay 10 grand and what sort of seat would that buy you? id be expecting free lap dances before and after the fight for that much at a minimum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,667 ✭✭✭✭rob316

martyos121 wrote: »
    I guarantee the amount of $500 tickets available will be in single digits.

There will be next to nothing available sub 5k is my guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

everlast75 wrote: »
    It's a pity Floyd saying he would fight with lighter gloves will come to nothing. Maybe Conor will focus on that and see if he can taunt Floyd into saying something more concrete.
    Conor said he wasn't informed that he would have to speak for so long last night.
    He will be ready tonight

NSAC will shoot down the idea before Floyd even 'mentions' it. It's a shame too, I think that's one of the few things that would make the bout interesting.

It would ruin Floyd's defence though. Philly shell isn't going to help you when you have gloves covering half your body.

One dig that seemed to get at Floyd clearly was the thing about 10 oz gloves and him saying that Floyd insisted on 154, no Mexican gloves, no horsehair etc, made it seem like he was worried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,667 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Syphonax wrote: »
    Insane prices for a fight that wont last more than 2 rounds. who the hell would pay 10 grand and what sort of seat would that buy you? id be expecting free lap dances before and after the fight for that much at a minimum

10k should get you ring level behind the VIP section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,377 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

People that will drop $10k on a spin of the wheel in Vegas. This is an event for people with any grasp of the value of money.

Mellor wrote: »
    People that will drop $10k on a spin of the wheel in Vegas. This is an event for people with any grasp of the value of money.

With any grasp or is that with no grasp?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,033 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Insane prices for a fight that wont last more than 2 rounds

I reckon Conor will end it in the second too

Elect a clown... Expect a circus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Duff

Time is the presser tonight, lads?

everlast75 wrote: »
    I reckon Conor will end it in the second too

Yeah I can see the white towel he will throw already :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,987 ✭✭✭Inviere

Mellor wrote: »
    Wait, are you suggesting Wonder is bias towards Mayweather there?

First time for everything I guess.

Lol, I'd assumed that was written by some Mayweather-friendly reporter. Ultimate of ironies indeed!

With the amount of people tuned in last night, this fight will be sold out in minutes
    Chatting to lads in work yesterday about this everyone was like "I'm not tuning into that ****e"
    Conference over and next morning first thing one of the lads says is "McGregor won that" :pac:

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    With the amount of people tuned in last night, this fight will be sold out in minutes
    Chatting to lads in work yesterday about this everyone was like "I'm not tuning into that ****e"
    Conference over and next morning first thing one of the lads says is "McGregor won that" :pac:

Pure morbid curiosity on my part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Stop stealing Paulie's lines!