Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Mayweathers oul lad is like a mad homeless crackhead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭finglashoop

I turned it off after staredown and kept an eye between here and twitter.

Can only imagine the "show " before hand wil be toned down now and its a straight press conference with actual (pre arranged) questions from journos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I turned it off after staredown and kept an eye between here and twitter.

Can only imagine the "show " before hand wil be toned down now and its a straight press conference with actual (pre arranged) questions from journos?

3 more nights of the two oul lads, **** that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,548 ✭✭✭tinpib

D.Q wrote: »
    Literally not one redeeming factor.

Bit harsh, I was marking out here when I found out that MGM Grand Casinos was proud to be associated with this landmark event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

what was up with floyd's 48 hat? was he hoping conor had a smart comment on it so he could spit out a prepared joke or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

The actual "PRESS" Conference was miles better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,304 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Ariel has interviews coming with Conor, May, Lobov/Roddy and Lockhart. He also says him getting pulled was 100% Dana's fault, as if we didn't already know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

gitzy16v wrote: »
    The actual "PRESS" Conference was miles better.

Not enough air horns, IMO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Conor bringing up the ruleset that its not a real fight is his ready excuse when hes taken to school, hes planting that seed.

Not enough air horns, IMO.

Plenty of Floyd Senior made up for that:pac:

Now Floyd Sr vs Conor's Dad would really be a classic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

Haha that was gas afterwards. They should send Tony in to heckle jnr for the craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

D.Q wrote: »
    Mayweathers oul lad is like a mad homeless crackhead

He looks more like what you'd expect Jamie Foxx's old man to look like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Snr is fast tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Django99

Gamebred wrote: »
    Conor bringing up the ruleset that its not a real fight is his ready excuse when hes taken to school, hes planting that seed.

As I've said already that whole thing is a bit silly to say, you don't see Miocic going around saying who he'd beat in a "real" fight so I don't know why anyone should care. And I don't see why he needs an excuse either, he's taking on one of the best boxers of all time while he himself has never boxed professionally.

I actually don't know why fans of either sport care about the whole thing, and I'm as guilty as anyone seeing as I'll watch all the press conferences and watch the fight too (not that I'd even consider paying for it)

But I find it annoying that it's going to attract so much attention and make so much money, when it really shouldn't. We're probably not even going to get the circus we thought we would.

Conor says hes bringing in Malinaggi for the sole reason of having a knock and make him answer for the **** he talking lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,921 ✭✭✭pudzey101

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

For those wondering about the "48" on his hat, its his 48th opponent coming up. Castillo and Maidana both had rematches.

Floyd Sr is always great for a laugh, its just a pity that Roger is too sick not to be in **** talking mood. He would have caused a brawl in that situation :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Ah lads Floyd snr stole the show tonight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Dana's VLOG

Conor looks ridiculously happy behind the scenes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

McGregor done a photo shoot in red Everlast shorts there might be his choice some fight night.

I was out of the house when the press conference was on so only got to watch it now. Some things struck out at me:

1. Those old farts taking their minute in the sun like people were there to see them… just shut up you old dinosaurs and let people see the product they came to see Conor v Money.
    2. Conor will get the better of Floyd in these verbal exchanges for sure, Floyd can’t talk at all, also his strutting around the stage every sentence is irritating.
    3. Conor doesn’t look much taller than Floyd as I would have thought.
    4. It was cool as sh!te to see Conor get a bigger reception in LA than Floyd :D
    5. Conor seems more restrained in these press conferences than in normal UFC ones. Did Floyd bring his kids on stage? Was that to stop Conor from maybe bringing up some personal things?

I find the UFC format of interviews so much better than boxing and I think they should have let the UFC handle this press conference but Floyd would not allow that, I think he wants to have Conor on a leash in case he brought up some things Floyd doesn’t want brought up (wife beating).

I have been saying Conor has no chance for a long time but after that press conference I am joining the rest of the people on here and just praying some act of god happens that allows Conor to win because Floyd is just irritating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭gilmour

Why is everyone surprised that Floyd gets boo'ed in LA or any other city he does a presser in? He's been wearing the black hat since he transitioned from Pretty Boy Floyd to Money Mayweather in 2006/7. He got boo'ed against every single opponent he has fought since. Its what has made him the richest fighter in history. People just cant wait to see someone (ANYONE) to knock him out.

Here's that interview with those comments about Paulie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

Well this is meant to be the best bit and it was a bit cr4p.

Do feel this is the last we'll see of McGregor fighting sadly.

The promo was pish from a production stand point but suppose it can only get better

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

Gamebred wrote: »

Well hes not a boxer, take Floyd and put him in mma and see how long hed last. Everyone knows it for the dineros

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

Tiddled.

Lots of people tweeted at Paulie asking did he see the clip but he said he hadn't.

More being made of it than I think is warranted but you know how New Yorkers of Italian decent are when it comes to respect.

McGregor could end up sleeping with the fishes before August 27th :p

Seriously though, Paulie could very well say 'On second thoughts, find yourself another sparring partner'.

Lots of people tweeted at Paulie asking did he see the clip but he said he hadn't.

More being made of it than I think is warranted but you know how New Yorkers of Italian decent are when it comes to respect.

McGregor could end up sleeping with the fishes before August 27th :p

Seriously though, he could very well say 'On second thoughts, find yourself another sparring partner'.

Or Paulie might show up to show McGregor how out of his depth he is...and give McGregor the best spar he could hope for.

Im sure Paulie getting well paid for it.