Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Championships 2017 - Read Mod Note Post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

keane2097 wrote: »
    Not for Mayo.

At least we actually put it up to Dublin in the championship and not wet our trousers every time we see Kev Mcmanamon. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

elefant wrote: »
    If he was asked about it I'm sure he'd talk about it. I don't think the issue was ever broached on The Sunday Game?

They were specifically discussing the Dublin match, and having not seen the game myself, all I'd heard about it all day Sunday was Diarmuid Connolly potentially being in trouble.

I can't believe we're still talking about this matter, but I can't see anything that Pat Spillane did wrong here.

I was at the match so didn't see live coverage but it was clear from my own eyes what Connolly did and that he would be punished severely. Spillane had nothing really to do with it tbf.
    There’s a consensus that the TSG can unduly influence things that it WANTS to. AND there’s also a thought out there that Kerry players (and seemingly Mayo as well) get an easier ride than Dubs. It may or may not be true. But it’s difficult given we’re all biased for our counties to really see that reality.

Anyway, let’s cut the Dermo talk. It’s done and it’s Tuesday, so we should be abusing Mayo I think.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Not for Mayo.

That mad me snigger and snort my coffee you b*stard.
    At least we actually put it up to Dublin in the championship and not wet our trousers every time we see Kev Mcmanamon. :)

How'd that see ye through in 2014? :P

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Ah there is. Those teams win All-Ireland's.

Mayo teams have won AIs or are we going to continue with your Mayo obsession..... :D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

That mad me snigger and snort my coffee you b*stard.

Seems Dublin lads do a lot of that when around Mayo :D:p

yop wrote: »
    Mayo teams have won AIs or are we going to continue with your Mayo obsession..... :D
    No way!

In fairness this is a group effort this morning. Not all me.

No way!

Tis fine, we can have pick on Bonnie Tuesday now !:D :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

No way!

Unsupervised access to the internet for you today? What time do your parents get home?

Parents, sister/brother no difference really. Hence how they got into a Boner Situation and now we have a "Mayo Fan boy" :D:D:D:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

has it been confirmed yet if Cillian O Connor is being cleared or charged over his punch?

Id say he has got away with it now. No mention of it in the CCC yet, think they met yesterday. No mention of Comers punch either, so both seem to have escaped it.

Comer was dealt with as he was sent off anyway! same for harrisons body slam, he got a black for that, didnt he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,195 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

If the only evidence available was the zoomed camera view from the other side of the field then I doubt much would come of it.

Comer was given a yellow on the field, not sure if the CCCC can do any more about it.

Comer was dealt with as he was sent off anyway! same for harrisons body slam, he got a black for that, didnt he?

Got a yellow for the melee, the other Galway lad got a straight red for his punch.
    Harrison got a black, not sure when a body slam entered the rule books as a black but then its a spin-the-wheel moment now with black cards to figure out what is and isn't black.

If the only evidence available was the zoomed camera view from the other side of the field then I doubt much would come of it.

Comer was given a yellow on the field, not sure if the CCCC can do any more about it.

Did COC not get booked for that episode with the orgasmic Clare goalie?

Got a yellow for the melee, the other Galway lad got a straight red for his punch.
    Harrison got a black, not sure when a body slam entered the rule books as a black but then its a spin-the-wheel moment now with black cards to figure out what is and isn't black.

In fairness, I'd be more inclined to give Harrison a ban than COC based on gthe available evidence and the dangerous nature of what he did. But I reckon COC will be watched like a hawk v Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Surely Harrison will get a decent enough ban?

Ah Jaysus Tod

No, seriously.

They had a purple patch in the middle of the '00s.

What did they do before that, 2 finals 9 years apart ?

What did they do since (almost a decade), well beaten in two semi finals.

In fairness, I'd be more inclined to give Harrison a ban than COC based on gthe available evidence and the dangerous nature of what he did. But I reckon COC will be watched like a hawk v Cork.

Agreed, when I saw it first it looked poor. He could have hurt himself more than the Clare lad.
    COC will be watched as much as *insert other players*, he plays on the edge as do the rest. Own fans love it, other fans him for it.

Fact he was black carded might be the end of it.

No, seriously.

They had a purple patch in the middle of the '00s.

What did they do before that, 2 finals 9 years apart ?

What did they do since (almost a decade), well beaten in two semi finals.

Tod, we all know what Tyrone and Mayo have done in history. What are you going on about?

It was a joke that was easily knocked back as it was set up. Jesus.
    Agreed, when I saw it first it looked poor. He could have hurt himself more than the Clare lad.
    COC will be watched as much as *insert other players*, he plays on the edge as do the rest. Own fans love it, other fans him for it.

But that being said the potential to injure himself doesn't come into it. There's a duty of care and he really should get done for it. He won't. But he should.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Fact he was black carded might be the end of it.

Thats odd enough to be honest- was fairly dangerous but I'm not sure is the ability to saction after the fact has been dealt with there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

time for a 'citing official' to review incidents in games and hand out retrospective cards

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    time for a 'citing official' to review incidents in games and hand out retrospective cards

Completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

nice_guy80 wrote:

I propose Pat Spillane as Citing Commissioner. He can do it live on the Sunday Game.

It previously existed in some shape or form, the Thomas O Se (poor innocent fellow) case back around 2010 being the perfect example.

But they changed it so that incidents dealt with on the field were no longer reviewable.

Your new hero McStay was very against it on the Sunday Game back when he was an analyst.

I'll try and dig out some media about it, slow enough day at work.

dont think he can as its already been dealt with. same for the conor loftus incident.

Thats odd enough to be honest- was fairly dangerous but I'm not sure is the ability to saction after the fact has been dealt with there.
    Do that do that in the GAA? I know they do in Rugby. Is it a case that if its in the refs report then the CCC can't act?

Agreed, the eye gouge last week against Derry was totally ignored. Eye gouging by McMahon and McCarthy would have been pulled up. COC would have been pulled up.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,088 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

Whatever about anyone else, Comer getting nothing but a yellow and no further action is disgraceful. Threw 3 or 4 punches from what I saw anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,799 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Says the Mayo man to the Kerry man :pac:

giphy.gif