Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Championships 2017 - Read Mod Note Post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Since the Connolly suspension it seems every game I watch has a player putting their hands on the referee or to put it another way running straight into them at flattening him.

Typical Dubs ahead of the curve
    :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 618 ✭✭✭iluvfatfrogs

charlie14 wrote: »
    Breffni is a great venue and one Donegal would be more than happy with I`d imagine but getting on the road after is almost as bad as Clones.

Markievicz in Sligo I was surprised to learn has now a capacity of 18,588, so probably the most practical venue for both sets of supporters.

Sligo & Limerick confirmed as the two venues for R4A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭harpsman

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Ah c'mon. He's in his first season as a pundit. Give him time.

I've a feeling he may suffer permanantly from HenrySheflinitis...very aware of his perceived standing in the game, to the degree that he won't ever be 100% honest. He knows that if there is even the faintest whiff of putting the boot in & he'll be all over de papurs the next morning. :rolleyes:
    I thought he was pretty frank about the body slam-said you could cause a spinal injury doing that, didnt mince his words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,817 ✭✭✭dr.kenneth noisewater

Carlow V Monaghan to be shown on Sky @ 7PM

Cork V Mayo, 5pm (22/7)
    Donegal v Galway, 7pm (22/7)

Both on SS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Cork V Mayo, 5pm (22/7)
    Donegal v Galway, 7pm (22/7)

Both on SS

Pity that. Any reason why SS got both on same day??

I think from here on in they tend to get all the Football Qualifiers
    They have both next Saturday too?

I think from here on in they tend to get all the Football Qualifiers
    They have both next Saturday too?

load of boll*x. I have access to SS but there are so so many that don't. GAA are selfish b*stards. Fair enough, give them 2 of those games, but not 4

I assume RTE has all the QFs, yeah??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Strange one that, surely the Armagh and Tipp game has the potential to be more competitive and exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

load of boll*x. I have access to SS but there are so so many that don't. GAA are selfish b*stards. Fair enough, give them 2 of those games, but not 4

I assume RTE has all the QFs, yeah??

Nope. 2 on RTÉ and 2 on SS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Sky's attempt to take audience share from Beeb for Wimbleton :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Surely Cillian O Connor is getting a hefty ban after Saturday?

Clare people very agreived after the game, 6 or 7 big calls against them which turned the game and then helped keep it there in Mayos favour.

Another ref or one doing its job properly would have seen Clare win. Some shocking poor decisions and every one of them then turned into a key moment in the game.

Clare people very agreived after the game, 6 or 7 big calls against them which turned the game and then helped keep it there in Mayos favour.

Another ref or one doing its job properly would have seen Clare win. Some shocking poor decisions and every one of them then turned into a key moment in the game.

You might enlighten us on these 6/7 calls....not one Clare person I spoke to blamed the referee

For which transgression exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭Gael85

In fairness was a lack of bench that cost Clare as ran out of steam in second half. Would agree on O'Connor, getting away with a lot of nasty elbows, sly punches lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,930 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Was out in Ennis Saturday night and met loads of Clare fans who had been at the game, not one and i mean that, said anything of the sort. And i too would like to know what exact incidents you are on about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

For which transgression exactly?

TSG seemed to show a late hit by COC on Clare GK Hayes, then in the follow up there was a grainy still which could be interpreted as COC chinning the FB

Edit .. The Camera POV was from the opposite end of the ground

DoctaDee wrote: »
    TSG seemed to show a late hit by COC on Clare GK Hayes, then in the follow up there was a grainy still which could be interpreted as COC chinning the FB

That was after the goal right?

I remember seeing that at the time clear as day live.

Nothing will happen there at all.
    It's COC and given the (lack) of reaction to the bodyslam then this will not even reach a murmur.

I hope I'm wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Strange one that, surely the Armagh and Tipp game has the potential to be more competitive and exciting.

Both games on SKY according to the GAA fixtures page

Tipp v Armagh & Carlow v Monaghan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

What the Sunday Game didn't show was the endless provocation and hassling that the Clare goalkeeper and fullback were at all day between the two of them.

Such a load of bollix.

PressRun wrote: »
    What the Sunday Game didn't show was the endless provocation and hassling that the Clare goalkeeper and fullback were at all day between the two of them.

So?

Provocation doesn't let Diarmuid Connolly away from his transgressions and neither should COC or anyone else get to use it as an excuse. It's such a cop out.

Also, I'm shocked that anyone would think that the ref cost Clare. Mental altogether!!!

So?

Provocation doesn't let Diarmuid Connolly away from his transgressions and neither should COC or anyone else get to use it as an excuse. It's such a cop out.

Also, I'm shocked that anyone would think that the ref cost Clare. Mental altogether!!!

Except people use it as an excuse for Diarmuid Connolly all the time.

666f0750c54842e10d5be185fa942fe8.mp4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Honestly don't think there's an awful lot in that, and certainly not enough to charge him with if that's the only footage of it. Mattie Donnelly got away with a very similar one earlier in the year against Derry.

666f0750c54842e10d5be185fa942fe8.mp4

Bold boy

PressRun wrote: »

And that makes it okay? It doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

PressRun wrote:

Did you accept it ?

If you did I'm with you on this one again ?

Bold boy

:o .. gimme another go !
    giphy.gif

Bunch of softies on here!

I thought the Dubs were tough lads who can give and take. I know f*cking well if I was being fouled and provoked all game I would stick up for myself. Obviously not so much as to injure a player or get myself sanctioned.
    Wanting to get a player banned because of some of these minor enough reactions to provocation boils me over.
    I would try and get some sort of small dig in to let them know I can take it. Obviously I wouldn't want to break a jaw or seriously injure someone but if I could get away with something that at least would allow me to play my own game without being burdened by off the ball fouls I certainly would,

I had a heavy pr*ck stand on my heal when I went for a short pass when I was playing a game, knowing he couldn't keep up. I ended up tearing my cruciate. I know how these arseh*les work when a player is getting the better of them.

Just because O' Connor doesn't lose the run of himself like other players does in these situations and keeps it subtle with regards officials view irritates people I think.

If COC does his arms out wailing for a free when he is fouled or tugged at, he is criticised and told to get on with the game and play the whistle, and then when he goes man to man with a player he gets criticised. He can't win. Is he meant to just stand there and take these subtle but vasty hindering his game type digs off the ball and pray he will get a whistle.

Obviously serious, out of proportion reactions should be punished and the ref has every right to punish any foul he sees during a game but faux outrage and pleas for retrospective bans for these sort of incidents are becoming tedious.

Some people seem to watch games for the fouls more than anything. Breaking down every little misdemeanour