Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Sorry. What was that?

Did something happen?

Wake us up when it's August. :D

The words of the song go:

"Wake me up when September ends"

So sadly... you'll miss the boat :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭casscass4444

yop wrote: »
    Weren't you escorted off this forum a few times already..... anyway go back and plan for Donegal. Just watching it on the Sunday Game, how Mayo didn't beat Galway is beyond me. Comer through a punch, should have gotten straight red.

i was over what could be classed as banter but referring to Galway posters as kxxxs as this poster did is unacceptable and the fact that 5 or 6 regular posters on here thanked such a comment shows the attitude of some people on this forum.
    Taking it a bit far if you ask me.maybe the poster suffers indiscipline like some of the Mayo players but selective modding at best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I don't know what the big deal with the Harrison thing is.

He made an arse of whatever it was he was doing and nearly broke his own neck.

I didn't see the COC one

I think Harrison was trying to show off his strength, he knew he was in a headlock though, there was no harm done imo. Same with the eye gouging last week, nobody lost and eye so nothing was gouged.

Now picking someone up is a spear tackle and a mauling on the ground is eye gouging.

We are marking big deals out if things imo.

It's like saying every punch is an attempt to decapitated someone or break a jaw.

yop wrote:
    The Dubs will be delighted now with the coverage there of the Mayo lads! Wonder they didn't comment on Comers punch into the face of the Rossie lad..... Outcry now on Hill16 page I assume!

Just like Spillane was delighted that there was something to talk about apart from PEDs

It's all a game Yop

You didn't put the foot in to be fair, but some Mayo fan boys did, I'm not going to anyway. COC has always been that sort of player imo he has that cut to him , all teams have them and he's one of yours, like our Philly people will have no sympathy for them. Many would argue that teams need lads like that and I'd agree with them. The trick is trying to get non natives to see the good in them!!!

But we'd win a digging match if there was one though, and a hurling game too, just saying.

PressRun wrote:
    Comer is decent enough, but there's definitely a nasty side to him. He supposedly spat on Keith Higgins in the semi-final prior to the sending off.

He should be banned for life, trying to drown a player, terrible stuff:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Pure tashte

Any chance Galway could do us a favour and beat Donegal to set us up with a nice quarter final clash with the Rossies? As the Tribesmen won their all All-Ireland on June 11th, you'd have to say probably not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Any chance Galway could do us a favour and beat Donegal to set us up with a nice quarter final clash with the Rossies? As the Tribesmen won their all All-Ireland on June 11th, you'd have to say probably not.

Mayo are better off meeting Kerry in the QF than the SF.
    If Mayo are to beat them then that is the day to do it.

So let Donegal do the favours so there is at least a 50/50 chance of getting Kerry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

When will the venue "TBA" be decided?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Galway and Donegal could be a good match. Be interesting to see if Galway can pick themselves back up.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Stoner wrote: »
    Just like Spillane was delighted that there was something to talk about apart from PEDs

It's all a game Yop

You didn't put the foot in to be fair, but some Mayo fan boys did, I'm not going to anyway. COC has always been that sort of player imo he has that cut to him , all teams have them and he's one of yours, like our Philly people will have no sympathy for them. Many would argue that teams need lads like that and I'd agree with them. The trick is trying to get non natives to see the good in them!!!

But we'd win a digging match if there was one though, and a hurling game too, just saying.

I was been sarcastic on that one a bit, but COC has an edge, too much one in that regard, get on with the game and cut out the *THSE as far as I'm concerned. It does nothing for his game.

Digging, ye Dublin boys wouldn't know a shovel if it hit ye in the head, soft hands on the lot of ye! :D:D

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

i was over what could be classed as banter but referring to Galway posters as kxxxs as this poster did is unacceptable and the fact that 5 or 6 regular posters on here thanked such a comment shows the attitude of some people on this forum.
    Taking it a bit far if you ask me.maybe the poster suffers indiscipline like some of the Mayo players but selective modding at best

I didn't call any Galway posters knuts, but maybe it was someone else? If they did then report them. There is no selective modding on this forum, I'm not a mod either on here and have received plenty (too many for my own good!) infractions for stepping out of line.

If you want to come in and discuss, but your previous posts were trolling and nothing else. That will end one way.

Indiscipline... how many Galway lads walked to the line yesterday...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,523 ✭✭✭spurscormac

Football double header in Thurles or Tullamore ?
    Gives Donegal a long way to travel to Thurles, Tullamore a bit fairer on all concerned.

Best location imo would be Mayo-Cork in Galway, and Donegal-Galway in Castlebar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭boosabum

Cork would never travel to Galway and i bet most Mayo people would rather wait out of Salthill too.
    Ennis has a long tradition of Mayo V Cork clashes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

boosabum wrote: »
    Cork would never travel to Galway and i bet most Mayo people would rather wait out of Salthill too.
    Ennis has a long tradition of Mayo V Cork clashes

Yeah it will be either limerick or Ennis and probably Ennis. Can see the first half being close but with game in melting pot mayo will up intensity and beat us by six or seven points.

Have to say the atmosphere in the stand in Ennis was class, you forget about the noise levels in the smaller grounds, reminded me a lot of Connacht finals before the qualifiers and the 2nd chance, barely standing room and it was nuts.

Found Ennis good the other day, seats were a bit small but the venue was lovely beside town and food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Much like last year, we have yet to meet a Division 1 side and you can't really tell where this Mayo team is at until that happens.

We'd get away with a lot against Clare, Derry or Galway. But if we were to face Dublin or Kerry we could be badly exposed, particularly in the full back line and in the forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

The black line as a hole is very dodge under Horan it was solid.
    Or kick outs are coining a long nicely clarks 100 game aswell.
    Not sure what happened in the first half it's like we forgot how to play

I wouldn't mind Cork v Mayo in Limerick. Great atmosphere down there in 2014 and a great stadium. Convenient enough for both sets of supporters. Thurles is a long way from Mayo. Ennis is a bit small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

I wouldn't mind Cork v Mayo in Limerick. Great atmosphere down there in 2014 and a great stadium. Convenient enough for both sets of supporters. Thurles is a long way from Mayo. Ennis is a bit small.

It will be half empty though with little cork support unlike when ye played Kerry. Ennis will fit the crowd comfortably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

naughto wrote: »

Hmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Mayo Club 51

DEXf_oDW0AEGl_9.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

DEXf_oDW0AEGl_9.jpg

That's the examiner again
    They are the only one pushing this
    It won't happen
    Ennis or limerick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

km79 wrote: »
    That's the examiner again
    They are the only one pushing this
    It won't happen
    Ennis or limerick

There is a question about whether PUC is even ready, there were doing last week about it being ready for hurling quarter finals.

Non story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,579 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

naughto wrote: »
    Or kick outs are coining a long nicely clarks 100 game aswell.
    Not sure what happened in the first half it's like we forgot how to play

Memory may be fading a bit there naughto.

Mayo had a tendency to ship some very soft goals under Horan.

The main cause of them failing to win a senior AI during his tenure imho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

It's limerick
    Hope it's 5 and not 7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

yop wrote: »
    Have to say the atmosphere in the stand in Ennis was class, you forget about the noise levels in the smaller grounds, reminded me a lot of Connacht finals before the qualifiers and the 2nd chance, barely standing room and it was nuts.

Found Ennis good the other day, seats were a bit small but the venue was lovely beside town and food.

Found it grand, easy to get in and out of and being in the town adds to the day. Greta atmosphere around the town. Having a pint in Ciarans Bar within 5 minutes of the final whistle :D btw is the venie being announced today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

It's limerick
    Hope it's 5 and not 7

Even though it might be half empty, Limerick seemed the obvious choice. Having said that, I think there will be a massive crowd from Mayo at it. Cork might bring a few thousand. I hope Cork supporters travel and contribute to the occasion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭jasonroche123

As good a draw as we could have hoped for, Cork are at nothing atm, As regards our performance v clare it was satisfactory enough. Still work to do but Clare are a nice side who tested Kerry this year so we can be reasonably happy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,077 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

It's limerick
    Hope it's 5 and not 7

7pm would suit me just fine ;)

Actually, 8pm would be even better for me (I live about a 10 min drive away) but that might be pushing it a bit