Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Senior Football Championships 2017 - Read Mod Note Post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Sonny678

I mean this in the nicest way, Sonny, but are you aware of this site? I just think your passion and knowledge, while fascinating and educated is wasted here sometimes. You put so much effort in and sometimes dont even get a discussion.

I just amn't sure you are aware of it?

Again, not trying to put you off here, hope you continue posting, don't misinterpret why I am giving you this link, I just feel with regards Meath, this may be a much better site

http://www.hoganstand.com/Meath/ForumPage.aspx

Hogan stand is full of a lot of younger chaps in their 20s calling each other names. And if you say anything bad about Dublin your blocked. Its kind of the intermediate football forum. Boardsie is more senior intercounty level forum. I tried to live with the big boys in senior football . It didnt work out. I was causing to much conterversey and uproar and annoying people with to many black cards, off the ball challenges, talking back to the referee and taking over threads etc etc etc. I get the message I will piss of then.

If I put in a good few months training in the winter I might be ready for senior next year. But to many youngsters at intermediate level at Hogan Stand and way to mouthy .And Im getting to old for that stuff. I'm not going on there. I think it could be junior level for me. Write the odd letter to Meath Chronicle complaining about a junior c match between Kilbride and Dunsany and Kilbrides use of the blanket defence. Thanks to the Hammer, the Stoner, the Bonnie man, Bambi, Poor Old Gill and the fella I had a row with on my first night here from Dublin. I enjoyed all the conversations greatly with some fellow gaels . Up Da Royals . Meath for Sam 2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,531 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

up navan?? arent they the boys that faught big joe joyce at the back of the dog track in longford last november .....or am in the wrong thread :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Sonny678 wrote: »
    Hogan stand is full of a lot of younger chaps in their 20s calling each other names. And if you say anything bad about Dublin your blocked. Its kind of the intermediate football forum. Boardsie is more senior intercounty level forum. I tried to live with the big boys in senior football . It didnt work out. I was causing to much conterversey and uproar and annoying people with to many black cards, off the ball challenges, talking back to the referee and taking over threads etc etc etc. I get the message I will piss of then.

If I put in a good few months training in the winter I might be ready for senior next year. But to many youngsters at intermediate level at Hogan Stand and way to mouthy .And Im getting to old for that stuff. I think it could be junior level for me. Write the odd letter to Meath Chronicle complaining about a junior c match between Kilbride and Dunsany and Kilbrides use of the blanket defence. Thanks to the Hammer, the Stoner, the Bonnie man, Bambi, Poor Old Gill and the fella I had a row with on my first night here from Dublin. I enjoyed all the conversations greatly with some fellow gaels . Up Da Royals . Meath for Sam 2020

Oh stop!! That is not what I meant at all! I just wasn't sure you knew of the thread! I pointed out that I hoped you wouldn't misinterpret my giving you the link. I haven't a clue of the goings on there , I just came across it and had a quick snoop around the time of the Kildare/Meath game to get a feeling of the confidence of Meath fans going into the game.
    Noone wants you to depart the thread, I doubt!

As I said, I just thought you may prefer engaging with more Meath fans

PS, don't be so confident this thread is all in all the Senior division of county football! threads There are a few lads here that didn't even get the graduating t-shirt and goodie bag at their respective GAA CUL camp!

i remember the calypso song about sam coming home to mayo ...thats enough ....:rolleyes:

Clare are like a division four team this half.

Again another goal chance wasted... people can talk about fitness but their decision making and execution don't relate to that.

agreed to a degree but we have no bench , the other sad part of the foootball championship is most other counties dont have one either and effectively the top 3 in the country will once again be miles ahead of the rest of the country this year and next in this regard

unless galway and tyrone can kick on there is no one else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,302 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

keane2097 wrote: »
    Is it definitely the rule by the way? I went looking for it lately and couldn't find it.

To be honest I'm not sure.

I know there was a rule change a few years ago that "limited" what could be reviewed, I recall McStay giving out about it when he was an analyst on The Sunday Game.

I think the core of it is that if the ref issues a card on the day then the CCCC cannot go back and change that decision.

Harrison got a black, so I don't think anything can be done.

By the way, I have no idea what Harrison and the Clare guy got the black for, looked like a cop out from the ref, there was no clear black card offence there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

It was a poor year for Meath football. Knocked out of minor and u21 at earliest opportunity and didnt achieve any goals set for every competition we entered. Didnt make OBC final, didnt get promoted, didnt make Leinster final, didnt make it through the qualifiers. I read comments like 'signs of progress' and 'work done at underage' but theres yet to be any actual real evidence of this on the pitch where it counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,281 ✭✭✭C__MC

Not much mention of Monaghan on here but they could be dangerous opponents down the line, pressure will be completely off them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,457 ✭✭✭✭km79

C__MC wrote: »
    Not much mention of Monaghan on here but they could be dangerous opponents down the line, pressure will be completely off them

Absolutely
    I think Dublin have the toughest side of the draw this year .........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,302 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

C__MC wrote: »

Unexpectedly beaten in a SF.
    Good opening qualifier win

Not a huge amount of other quality that side of the draw.

As long as Down don't win Ulster, Monaghan could get as far as the SF without meeting Dublin, but would have to take out Tyrone in the QF.

Doable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,616 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

Unexpectedly beaten in a SF.
    Good opening qualifier win

Not a huge amount of other quality that side of the draw.

As long as Down don't win Ulster, Monaghan could get as far as the SF without meeting Dublin, but would have to take out Tyrone in the QF.

Doable.

Monaghan are a bit under the radar, but while taking out Tyrone is doable, the history of this Monaghan team against Tyrone in Croke Park, would suggest doubtful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

No chance of Lyster and the boys making the trip out west i see.

The hurling always has pride of place on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

corny wrote: »
    No chance of Lyster and the boys making the trip out west i see.

The hurling always has pride of place on RTE.

Oh, come on, it is The Munster Hurling Final! A classic Irish sporting event.

The Connaught football final hasn't a touch on it, legacy wise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 641 ✭✭✭raiders11

If Galway were to lose today, can they meet Mayo in the next round of the qualifiers? or cannot as already met, leaving Donegal v Galway & Mayo v Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,023 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

raiders11 wrote: »
    If Galway were to lose today, can they meet Mayo in the next round of the qualifiers? or cannot as already met, leaving Donegal v Galway & Mayo v Cork.

Pretty sure I read Mayo and Galway can't meet in the next round. It's Cork or Roscommon for Mayo (If Roscommon lose today).

I can't see why not
    Mayo played Sligo in first round of Connaught championship yet were free to be drawn against them in round 2 of qualifiers
    Mayo lost to Galway in a semi not provincial final
    I'd be delighted to get them again !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

Oh, come on, it is The Munster Hurling Final! A classic Irish sporting event.

The Connaught football final hasn't a touch on it, legacy wise!

Its a common theme, not a one off. Every time the programme has been split the hurling takes precedence.

Not a big deal but its true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Tom Tommy Tom Carr?

Oh piss off RTE ! :mad:

Armstrong's placed kicking got Galway over the line against mayo in similar conditions to today
    Very surprised he isn't playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

km79 wrote: »
    Armstrong's placed kicking got Galway over the line against mayo in similar conditions to today
    Very surprised he isn't playing

Carrying an injury.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Sonny678 wrote: »

If I put in a good few months training in the winter I might be ready for senior next year. But to many youngsters at intermediate level at Hogan Stand and way to mouthy .And Im getting to old for that stuff. I'm not going on there. I think it could be junior level for me. Write the odd letter to Meath Chronicle complaining about a junior c match between Kilbride and Dunsany and Kilbrides use of the blanket defence. Thanks to the Hammer, the Stoner, the Bonnie man, Bambi, Poor Old Gill and the fella I had a row with on my first night here from Dublin. I enjoyed all the conversations greatly with some fellow gaels . Up Da Royals . Meath for Sam 2020

@Talking Bread, if Sonny's gone you'll be held accountable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

@Talking Bread, if Sonny's gone you'll be held accountable.

Yep. Sonny's pure football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,811 ✭✭✭threeball

How is Lavelle the Galway keeper. Not even club standard

Stoner wrote: »
    Yep. Sonny's pure football.

He really is.

Hard to believe he's from Meath. :p

....ducks and runs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Fantastic goal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

My favourite moment of the match so far was the very beginning when Tom Carr's microphone was turned down to barely audible levels.

Fair dues Ros, be interesting to see if they can keep up this pace.

corny wrote: »
    Its a common theme, not a one off. Every time the programme has been split the hurling takes precedence.

Not a big deal but its true.

But it is perfectly logical why the respective provincial Championships that have any meaning in hurling would be covered in that manner? One being in Croke Park, the other being The Munster Championship final.

They are the main two that have clashed.

Football gets far more coverage on RTE because there are far more games, and there are only a few big games in hurling that have clashed with any football this year date wise. Going deeper into the respective Championships, there will be far more football games and coverage on.

I think there is a total of 6 hurling games remaining in the Championship (this one included)

For the rest of the summer, neither codes will clash, and there will be far more football games.

I just think it is an odd thing to bear any sort of relevance?