Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

The game yesterday, my initial take after one viewing (I'll rewatch later):

Clarke outstanding on his 100th game, made a save first half that kept us from going 6 points down, and with the momentum Clare had at that time I'm not sure we would have recovered tbh. Kickouts exemplary.

Thought Harrison was brilliant, close to man of the match, Caff solid (thank god been worried about him) and Boyle solid but looks a bit leggy to me. Boyle is doing well but does it look to ye like he's not the same player as before? Keegan very good, drove us on in that crucial period before half time when we kicked two scores. Keegan is a real big game man, when the chips are down he's delivering, did the same last weekend.

Absolute blessing in disguise Vaughan got black IMO, Coen was superb, showed excellently, passed very well, his best Mayo game yet IMO. I'd like to see him keep his place now.

Tough midfield battle but when you have Aidan O'Shea in beast mode you'll win that battle. What a performance again, deserved man of the match, looks a player reborn, remotivated, and at comfort in his proper position.

Still think McLoughlin looked unconfident and uneasy despite kicking a couple of points, I think he does have a confidence problem at the moment. DOC worked really hard, took his goal superbly. Loftus showed well but also looked maybe a little afraid to take responsibility and have the final shot. Andy Moran, well what can we say that's not already been said about the man, great performance. Also his two points before half time were massive IMO, huge, momentum changers.

I think it's worth noting our first 2-8 came from play, our forward play was poor first half but that's an impressive figure and deserves respect. Clare were also very disciplined and obviously were drilled not to foul in COC range.

The slow start was very concerning, I thought we were dust to be honest and never expected us to come out all guns blazing second half as we did. Credit to whoever spoke or made tactical switches etc at half time, it worked a treat.

Anyways, a tough challenge passed. Concerns with the first half for sure but great to see the old Mayo back second half.

I just also want to say again: Aidan O'Shea you were brilliant, keep silencing your doubters, you are doing a damn good job of it at the moment.

Also just to add, thought that was a really good Clare team, no fluke they were Quarter Finalists last season. Respect to them. Munster football looks strong at the minute with Kerry, Cork (never rule them out), Tipp and Clare.

Having now rewatched the game I'd like to address what I said above!

Coen really was superb, absolutely brilliant, all action display, turnovers, breaks, didn't give away possession once and showed extremely well. Very happy for him as a young guy to have had this performance. I'd love to see the stats and see how many possessions he had actually, I'd bet he'd be high on the list.

I was also very harsh on McLoughlin. He was brilliant. Again the amount of turnovers he won and breaks from kickouts was unreal. Kicked two points as well. I take back what I said about him looking uneasy.

Against Derry we missed 3-21 of clear scoring opportunities (just counting normal time). Against Clare we missed 1-9 of clear scoring opportunities. Major improvement was needed and it happened! We converted 13/37 scoring chances against Derry (35%) and converted 16/26 against Clare (61%). That was the difference really. The shooting boots came on against Clare. We need to keep to that 60% ratio or higher moving forward IMO if we are to really challenge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

Most round 4 games are in CP

But I believe U2 are playing that night so it's not available.

Could round 4 be a double header? Four teams will be Mayo, Cork, Donegal, Galway/Ros.
    If Galway are in round 4 then double header in Hyde Roscommon.
    If Roscommon then double header in Salthill !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

Yep Coen was excellent
    Loftus also came into the game well after a slow start
    So that's 2 more options than last year already .........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

cocoman wrote: »
    Could round 4 be a double header. Four teams will be Mayo, Cork, Donegal, Galway/Ros.

Hyde Park is not fit to host a double header like that, no way :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

cocoman wrote: »
    Could round 4 be a double header? Four teams will be Mayo, Cork, Donegal, Galway/Ros.

Your not taking Cork up to either of those dumps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

Hyde Park is not fit to host a double header like that, no way :pac:

A lot of work was done on Hyde park since the league last year.

The field yes, it looks in great shape

But the rest of the place is still a dump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Well the aftermath of another day on the road.

Jekyll and Hyde performance again.I do believe there is a gradual decline in the team,nothing is more inevitable as the grains of sand pass by.The quality and quantity of newcomers have not been of the requisite standard to offer enough of a challenge to the places of an exceptional group of footballers.

There is no doubt they'll have to play for seventy plus minutes if we do progress to meet Kerry.At this point in time Kerry would be heavily favoured to beat us.I can recall that they could have had us beaten out the door at half time with numerous spurned goal chances and an absent trio of Enright,Geaney and O Donoghue.TBH it would be game over at half time if we continue to be so sluggish out of the blocks.I'm not sure if the lads find it hard to motivate themselves for games that they are favoured to win.But in recent years there is a pattern of lethargy and standing too far their men and only playing in fits and starts.I found it bizzare why the team did not push up on the Clare kickouts in the first half when evidently there was much joy likely to accrue from such a strategy.

Anyway fair play to the Banner most especially in the first half,our looseness and the play of Gary Brennan and Cathal O Connor put us on the backfoot.O Connor was a huge loss in the second half.

Kudos to Andy Moran,I'm some idiot writing him off as an impact substitute.What a brain and skillset he has negating largely his lack of pace,yet again rolling back the years and offering our main forward threat in the first half.It will be a tougher challenge for him against the bigger teams nonetheless.

David Clarke had as a good a day out as I can recall.Brendan Harrison is such a quality corner back and really stood up in the first half.Lucky not to see red after the altercation at the end.The much malaligned full back line had a solid day out.

Half back line were solid rather than spectacular,Keith Higgins has to be taken out of the corner.He is no sweeper but offers us so much going forward.Possibly positioned in the half forward line.Competition is strong with Keegan,Durcan and Boyle in the half back line.I do not think Colm Boyle is quite at the level he was at in previous years,Higgins slot in there?Stephen Coen had a great game in the half back line when introduced.Donal Vaughan will struggle to make the first 15 IMO.

Seamus O Shea put in a solid shift but I'd imagine Tom Parsons will be recalled the next day.Hopefully Aidan can carry forth his outstanding form in the later parts of the championship.Another tour de force yesterday.I do wish on occasion when he goes back inside if he'd lay off the easy pass as opposed to trying to go inside himself.

Delighted to see Kevin Mc have a really good day at the office,he is a joy to behold picking up loose ball around the middle third,linking up play.He has a potent directness in his pomp and kicked a couple of nice scores,shame about the goal chance.

Diarmuid showed a welcome return to form,he was a bundle of energy.He does tend to finish some great moves over the years.

I thought Conor Loftus did very well,on his first ball he was caught waiting for the ball to come to him.But in general he moved well and linked the play well.Shame about the poor wide.Wise decision to call him ashore after some lazy tackling post his yellow card.

Cillian is very hit and miss with his freetaking at the present time which would be a concern.He continues to get involved in stuff unnecessarily,that altercation in the second half directly in front of the umpire springs to mind.He was fortunate,it could prove costly in another game.

Which brings me to the inability of one of the best run organisations inability to make anything other than a mess out of the playing of our national anthem at numerous games.Shambolic is the only way I can describe the carry on yesterday.

Draw tomorrow at 8.35,Cork or the losers of the Connacht final.I shall be glued.Prefer a trip to Salthill as to that venue of ongoing nightmares in Limerick.No great fan of Salthill but tis only a short journey and I know there many here who would love a clash with Roscommon.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Mayo/Cork would be Limerick. Should be a no-brainer.
    But with the influence Tipp have don't be surprised to see a trip to Thurles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

And meeting Kerry in the QF is better than meeting them in a SF.

Because meeting and beating Roscommon guarantees a QF v Kerry.

Why is that a good thing? Mayo will not beat Kerry. They have beaten Kerry in the Championship since 1996.

If I were a Mayo supporter, Kerry is the last team I'd want to face.

Why is that a good thing? Mayo will not beat Kerry. They have beaten Kerry in the Championship since 1996.

If I were a Mayo supporter, Kerry is the last team I'd want to face.

If Kerry are as good as everyone makes out then mayo will have to meet them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Eyes Down Field

But I believe U2 are playing that night so it's not available.

Most round 4 games are in CP

Then Salthill would make the most sense as a neutral venue. Sligo town or Carrick on Shannon would be to small Roscommon and Mayo who both have big traveling support.

If Mayo play Cork. The game with probably be in Limerick or maybe Thurles. Ennis is too small

Then Salthill would make the most sense as a neutral venue. Sligo town or Carrick on Shannon would be to small Roscommon and Mayo who both have big traveling support.

If Mayo play Cork. The game with probably be in Limerick or maybe Thurles. Ennis is too small

Cork won't bring anymore than Clare brought yesterday
    11000 at it
    Would be similar for that game
    It will be Limerick though if it's cork
    And probably at 7pm which will be a pain in the hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

km79 wrote:
    Cork won't bring anymore than Clare brought yesterday 11000 at it Would be similar for that game

Great support for football in West Clare, but the amount of clubs joining up due to lack of numbers is unbelievable. I remember there being four teams in an area that's now just one. 11 thousand would be a good number for Clare to bring to a game.

Cork on the other hand still have a huge playing population but they are not travelling these days. Like any country they need a bit of success to get the crowds back. They wont expect to win so they won't travel. Bit like the Dublin hurlers yesterday, that's life regardless of the county.

Stoner wrote: »
    Great support for football in West Clare, but the amount of clubs joining up due to lack of numbers is unbelievable. I remember there being four teams in an area that's now just one. 11 thousand would be a good number for Clare to bring to a game.

Cork on the other hand still have a huge playing population but they are not travelling these days. Like any country they need a bit of success to get the crowds back. They wont expect to win so they won't travel. Bit like the Dublin hurlers yesterday, that's life regardless of the county.

There was 11 thousand TOTAL
    It could easily accommodate mayo cork imo

km79 wrote: »
    There was 11 thousand TOTAL
    It could easily accommodate mayo cork imo

Oh yeah, it would make a lot more sense than Limerick

A close to full Ennis v a three quarter empty Limerick.

And both Cork fans can car pool, Ennis is only another 10 mins on the motorway from Limerick.

Thurles is way out of the way for Mayo fans compared to Ennis or Limerick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

AOS was standing near to the left hand post of Clare goal towards the end of the second half. The Clare no 6 sauntered up to him from the side while ref was busy and game not on. The no 6 punched aos in stomach and then kicked his shins. I grimaced as both had to hurt and was no doubt indicative of the treatment aos was getting throughout the match.

Aos without a flicker or reaction just looked down on the smaller no 6 and I imagine said to himself "f**k off like the little bug you are", aos was then subbed.

The disapline aos shows is beyond admirable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

km79 wrote:
    There was 11 thousand TOTAL It could easily accommodate mayo cork imo

Lol, I was thinking is was a good number !

Thurles is way out of the way for Mayo fans compared to Ennis or Limerick.

Thurles would be a disaster to get to.
    It would suit Cork fans and maybe they might hold it there to incentivise them to travel. Let's hope not. Will the venue be fixed this week seeing that it's not on until 22nd July?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Ennis is only another 10 mins on the motorway from Limerick.

Love to know what kind of car you're driving....:)
    Or maybe its a helicopter.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

Who is everyone shouting for in the Connaught final?

franklyon wrote: »
    Who is everyone shouting for in the Connaught final?

The referee :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭piobhan

Question
    Looking at flights from London. If Mayo are to make a quarter final when will it be?

piobhan wrote: »
    Question
    Looking at flights from London. If Mayo are to make a quarter final when will it be?

Sunday 29th
    Either 2 or 4pm in Croker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭piobhan

km79 wrote: »
    Question

Sunday 29th
    Either 2 or 4pm in Croker

Sunday is the 30th of July, i take it you mean Mayo will be playing on the Sunday??

Sorry yes Sunday 30th
    4B qualifiers are on sat 29th

That second yellow for Roscommon corner forward was exactly why loftus was subbed yday
    To avoid a tired lazy second yellow
    And it was coming

Looking safe for the Rossies now in Salthill. That means its Mayo v Cork doesn't it? No 4A draw needed?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

*cough cough*..... ;)