If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Leader Of The (Mid) Pack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Did you say hello to yaboya1, today's 2nd finisher?

Good luck tomorrow. Stick to pacer like glue and push on with 400 to go. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Apparently I did. Didn't realise it was him until I saw the results later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Best luck on sub 6 quest, stick with pacer as Murph says and stay relaxed until last 400, then all out till you drop over the line :)

Sun 25/6 - Irish Runner Paced Mile, Phoenix Park

I had tried the sub-6 once before, a shocking 6:11 on a freezing and windy night at ALSAA in March 2016. Finally I reckoned I was ready for another crack, last week's 2:46 for 800m having boosted my confidence.

I jogged down Chesterfield with the club group, but even as 9 approached (we were due away at 10) I couldn't see any friendly faces setting up, let alone a gantry. After the clubmates turned towards the Acres, I came back up on my own, but the only signs of large scale activity were on Furze Road. So I headed up to see what the craic was. Turns out it was some massive gathering of (fake?) sheikhs :eek: so back towards Chesterfield it was. Eventually the lads arrived, and even though I hadn't booked it in advance, registration was very quick. Overall atmosphere was very relaxed; the pacers were very keen to point out that it wasn't a race :pac:

After a group warmup, we were split into two groups. 9, 10 & above went off first, with some brilliant performances from Porterstown parkrunners :)

So now it was my turn. David Carrie was the 6 min pacer, and I stayed close behind him as we headed towards the turnaround point. I was working hard, but felt fairly controlled and happy with what I was doing. Bang on 3 minutes as we turned just before the Phoenix Monument. In my head I was thinking "It's on!"

Now the hard work was under way. The wind was against us, and a slight incline as well. That said, with 600 metres remaining I decided it was time to go hard or go home.

Leaving David behind, I struck out hard into the breeze on my own. It felt very hard and certainly much faster than I'm used to. Even so, as I passed the 400m mark I was still confident of getting it done. Did the wind pick up again? I'm not sure to be honest, but as first the finishing clock and then the times on the clock came into view, I seemed to be slowing down.

Had I shot my bolt too early? 100 metres to go and I still think I've got it. 5:40 on the clock, surely I can't fail now? But in the last 50 metres especially, although my legs and arms were still going, I didn't seem to be getting any closer. One lad passed me near the end, but I couldn't tag onto him. 5:55, 5:56 COME ON!!! 5:58, 5:59 I'm still not there!

6:03. PB :rolleyes: I found a spot just behind the Irish Runner advertising board, and tucked in there for a couple of minutes to get my breath back.

I really thought I had this. Certainly I felt in good shape for a go at it; I'd passed up several other opportunities this year until I felt like I was ready. So even though I improved by 8 seconds on the first attempt, it still feels very much like a miss. Maybe another try on the track will get me across the line in time. Thanks for reading!
    J.

Tough, isn't it! Hard luck J. Good PB though. I think I'd have run that parkrun yesterday a good bit easier, and maybe stuck with pacer a bit longer, but it's a good time nonetheless! Definitely worth a sub-6 on the track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Noooooo.... damn round numbers. Sounds like a good crack at it.

Next time for sure, better when you have some to work off, the day we did it there wasn't a breath of wind which makes a bid difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

The track has to be quicker no? turning around you definitely loose some momentum? I know I would. Anyway, congrats on the PB :)

Murph_D wrote: »
    Tough, isn't it! Hard luck J. Good PB though. I think I'd have run that parkrun yesterday a good bit easier, and maybe stuck with pacer a bit longer, but it's a good time nonetheless! Definitely worth a sub-6 on the track.

Hard to know as regards the parkrun. I honestly felt fine throughout, apart from having to push up that hill a bit. Very tough going from 600 out into the wind though. Talking to DC afterwards, he reckoned I'd be about 10s quicker on the track.
    Singer wrote: »
    Noooooo.... damn round numbers. Sounds like a good crack at it.

Yeah, still waiting to make my first appearance on the round numbers table :rolleyes: then I will have finally arrived :D
    Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Next time for sure, better when you have some to work off, the day we did it there wasn't a breath of wind which makes a bid difference.

Agreed, instead I was the target for all the chasers, one of whom got me near the end. More disciplined next time I hope (with less wind involved?)

The track has to be quicker no? turning around you definitely loose some momentum? I know I would. Anyway, congrats on the PB :)

Thanks AM, I'd be confident of getting it next time. That turning around part definitely slows you down a bit. I turn quicker than the average forty foot, but no doubt some time was lost.

Time to update this again. There were about a gazillion posts on the Novices thread in my absence; I'll catch up with those tomorrow :)

Is Fearr An Iarthar 2017:- Cuid A Dó - Land Of The Long White Cow

Mon 26/6 - Rest

After watching the Dubs do a number on Westmeath, it was time to pack the runners for a return trip West. First off it was a night in Galway city, when I kept to my planned rest day as opposed to running through the monsoon rains that evening.

Tue 27/6 - 6k @ 5:30/km (approx.)

Back on the beautiful island of Inishbofin, for the second time in a month :D This was an easyish run around the loop road to shake out the legs a bit.

Wed 28/6 - 5k@5:30-5:45/km, + hill session

I went anticlockwise around the loop this time, taking a kilometre or so off by coming down the hill past the community centre instead of passing the school. The session was 6 x 30 seconds at 80-85% effort, with recoveries of however long it took me to walk back down, plus 20-30s. For those who have been there, you can see this hill as you come in on the boat; it's dead straight and very steep. I was delighted with this one, as I kept my effort consistent and made the mark every time, with a bit of an extra push on the last one. A very slow paced mile plus shuffle back to the house finished off a good morning's work.

Thu 29/6 - 6k@5:45-6:00/km, + more hills

By chance, a clubmate was on the island too, and I managed to catch up with her for a run before she left. As she was away on the early ferry, there wasn't enough time for us to run the entire loop together, so she suggested running to the top of the same hill I covered the day before - 4 times!! :eek:

I thought I would majorly struggle with this, but having someone alongside me was a great help, and we pushed each other along to get the full 4 done. With that session in the bag, I continued on to complete the full loop from my house, slowing it down even more than I did before the hill runs.

Fri 30/6 - LSR

Even with two consecutive tough sessions, I decided to bring my long run forward, it being my last full day on Inishbofin. This would be three full 6k loops, plus a shorter 3k or so turning up the hill past the Dolphin House and back to the main loop road as it drops through the valley.

Splits were in the 38s for each of the long laps, with the shorter loop bringing it up to 2:16:26. Very pleased with this one, as I kept the pace slow and steady throughout for my longest ever run on Inishbofin, and my longest run anywhere this year, on a beautiful sunny morning to boot.

Sat 1/7 - Rest

Caught most of the All Blacks v British and Oirish Lions hypefest, before catching the lunchtime ferry to Cleggan, followed by the long drive back to D15. Good news was waiting for me on arriving home, as I got official notification that I had passed all my exams. Not having to repeat anything in August is a major weight off the shoulders :)

June Review

Overall, quite pleased with my work the last few weeks. It seems as if fitness and form are coming back, and although I didn't quite hit any of my targets, I feel much more positive about my running. Trinity and Castleknock in the same week wasn't easy, but still I'm delighted I went to both and gave them a good go. I'm confident of getting sub-6 in my next mile attempt, but it could be a while before I try it again; I'll have to see what way training and real life and whatnot is going to pan out. Still and all, getting my first PB of the year was something to be pleased about.

This month: 3 races, 1 parkrun, 1 other
    This year: 16 races, 9 parkruns

July will see me aiming to go sub-20 in the Docklands 5k, as well as shooting for a 10k PB in the Fingal race series event in Swords. Thanks for reading!
    J.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭kin9pin

Welcome back J and congratulations on the exam results!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Congrats on the exam results J . Inisboffin sounds challenging .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Brilliant news on the exam results! Well done!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,483 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

Congrats on the exams - a well earned summer break.

Inishbofin. :D

kin9pin wrote: »
    Welcome back J and congratulations on the exam results!
    The Muppet wrote: »
    Congrats on the exam results J . Inisboffin sounds challenging .
    Brilliant news on the exam results! Well done!
    Congrats on the exams - a well earned summer break.

Inishbofin. :D

Thanks so much to all of you! Massive relief not having to sit repeat exams in mid-August. From Tuesday I knew that everyone else had passed, so I was a bit nervous on the drive home thinking that I could be the one who had to go back!

As TBO knows from first hand experience, running on Inishbofin is tough on the legs but very rewarding, with some spectacular views! In the half marathon, participants tackle the long hill up past the school for the fourth time, after the 12 mile mark :eek: before turning right at the top and rolling downhill to the finish :pac: I made it my business to check that one with the organiser before heading home :D

Sun 2/7 - Club run, Phoenix Park

I decided just to run with the 8:00-8:45 grouping, not wanting to undo the good work from the Inishbofin sessions by running myself into the ground. That said, four of us went a bit quicker (4:30-4:35/km) than our usual. I was comfortable running up the Khyber (seldom is wonderful!) and picked it up a bit at the end of our extended 5 miler. 29/30 mainly hilly miles for the week, with a double dose of hill sprints included. Happy with that outcome :)

Mon 3/7 - Rest

Tue 4/7 - 3+ miles in 28:06

I decided to save myself some potential race day hassle, and pick up my Docklands 5k stuff after work. Thankfully, not waiting too long once I found "Club Vitae" in the bowels of the Clayton (formerly Maldron) Hotel. "Large" top is surprisingly snug on me :pac:

Just a couple of easy laps around Porterstown, to give the legs a little shakeout before Thursday.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,483 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

As TBO knows from first hand experience, running on Inishbofin is tough on the legs but very rewarding, with some spectacular views! In the half marathon, participants tackle the long hill up past the school for the fourth time, after the 12 mile mark :eek: before turning right at the top and rolling downhill to the finish :pac: I made it my business to check that one with the organiser before heading home :D

Pat? Some man, doubt he has a minute to himself.

BOOM!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

holy cow!!! excellent result!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭scotindublin

Great stuff J!

Congrats, J, very well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭diego_b

Super time there J, delighted for you. Nice to catch up with you!

Wed 5/7 - Rest

Thu 6/7 - Docklands 5k

Pre Race

Sitting in work on a day of high temperatures, wondering if they were going to drop at all. Plus on the walk across, the sun came out and I was thinking that I can't wait for the perfect conditions to go after a time, I just have to play the hand I'm dealt.

Bag drop was quick and painless, so after a few stretches in the square, I wandered over to the start area. John Coghlan gave me a shout as he whizzed past; he would go on to win in style, breaking the course record in so doing.

I had a good chat with Marthastew, who seemed to be in charge of proceedings at the start; no easy task! Singer spotted me waiting to get away, so we had a nice relaxed catch up. I mentioned the recent amazing exploits of previous DCM Novices mentors, and wondered aloud when the present incumbent was going to follow suit, if ever? diego_b found us here as well. All of us were in good form; the sun had gone behind the clouds, and there didn't seem to be much wind. However, it was still very warm and humid.

I tucked in behind the 20 minute pacers, and after what seemed like a very quick countdown, we were off!

Km 1

It didn't feel superfast as we made our way westwards, and I was able to keep the pacer in close proximity, despite a little bit of bobbing and weaving before we crossed Matt Talbot Bridge. Sharp right turn onto the North Quays, and now we were heading eastwards, going through 1k somewhere around Sean O'Casey Bridge.

Km 2

Breeze was behind us here, and at times I was finding it hard to resist the temptation to go beyond the pacer and do my own thing. However, this time I was able to keep hold of the reins, even though I got a few smacks of the balloons for my troubles :pac: Feeling a lot faster now, and I can definitely feel the effort increasing.

Km 3

Not quite certain where the 2k marker was; I missed it anyway. Having negotiated the sharp turn around the bollard at the 3 Arena Point Depot, we were now pushing back the way we came. There was a definite breeze here, and I was starting to gasp for air a bit as the doubts started to kick in. When was I ever going to get this? Sure I've folded every time before. I only lasted 2k in Castleknock! Over half way, but instead of thinking less than 10 minutes to the end, I was expecting myself to fold up like a cheap tent when the real pressure came on. Again.

Km 4

I really got stuck out in the open here, as two other lads who had been between me and the pacer fell away, and I had to get out of the middle of the road before the wind really began to take its toll. Still hanging on, but it was getting harder all the time, and my breathing was starting to go a bit haywire. aquinn was somewhere around chq, and gave me a shout, which I kind of acknowledged. I was really fighting to stay close now, and just wishing we would get out of the breeze and turn for home, which we finally did about three quarters of the way through. Now I was where I wanted to be beforehand, with about 5 minutes of running left. Had I got the minerals?

Km 5

I thought we had gone through the 4k marker about 100 metres before we actually passed it. Doubts creeping in again! Even though the breeze was now behind us, and there was nothing like an uphill finish to complicate matters, I still kept thinking another collapse was on the cards. Yet still I was there and right in the mix. PaulieYifter was spectating with about 500 to go. Or was it 600? I was trying to remember where the finish was; in my head I remembered it being about 300m beyond Samuel Beckett Bridge. Past the bridge, and encouraged by the pacers, I did my best to pick it up for the line, passing a few runners (and the pacers) while I was at it. Now I could clearly see the clock. Still in the 19s!!! And yet the memory of the late collapse in the paced mile came back. COME ON NOW, YOU CAN'T LET THIS ONE GO!!! Kept pushing. Few more seconds. Passed someone else. I think. Still not there. Clock was still in the 19s though. Can't let it go to 20! One last push.

19:59 on the clock. BOOM!!

Post Race

Singer was there watching my finish, and it was great that he was there, as he stayed with me while I got my head together and my breath back, while feeling seriously dehydrated. I could barely talk for the best part of five minutes. But what a great feeling of finally beating a target which had been hanging over me for a long, long time. Once I got back on my feet, diego_b had found us again, while I subsequently got to meet Testosterscone for the first time. Great work all round! I was even happier when I got hold of my phone, and discovered that I had set a PB of 19:43 - 20 seconds quicker than my time from last year's Jingle Bells.

Position: 225th (45th M40)

Next

Fingal 10k on July 23. Last year I set my PB there, which still stands. However, especially after this result, I'm feeling confident that I can take another chunk off it. Thanks for reading!
    J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Brilliant, absolutely fantastic. Well done.

At least I knew you this time to properly roar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

Well done and congrats on the PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Great stuff J. It was fantastic watching you cross the line with sub-20 on the clock. I think you neglected to mention a big scream of delight when you crossed the line? :)

You looked close to collapse after finishing, definitely a sign of having given it your all - well done!

That's a fantastic result J, blew it out of the water, great running and PB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Fantastic performanc and result, well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Brilliant run and report J, delighted for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

That's some improvement on Jingle Bells! Savage time and great report! Really delighted for ya:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭gypsylee

Wow. Great result. Delighted for you.