Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk Drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 429 ✭✭chinwag

Ivan and Chris only did NT Breakfast as far as I'm aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Yeah hook did his show for 14 years or something before Drive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

Quandary wrote:
    Used to listen to Newstalk drive everyday while it was Chris and Ivan. It worked because they were both bouncing off each other but now it's painful to listen to. Sarah and Chris are both far too PC to give the show the edge it needs imo. Ivan was great at times and at times he came across like a Neanderthal(often very deliberately)but he was a good foil for squeaky clean Chris. The show seemed more natural and entertaining, while still covering current affairs in a reasonably credible way.

Knows enough about the show to say "it's too PC", but not enough about the show to know about its predecessor. I smell anti-PC bandwagon jumping...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,447 ✭✭✭Quandary

Apologies,have my wires crossed :pac: - I meant the breakfast show where the two lads were co hosts

I did vastly prefer the dynamic between Chris and Ivan. I think Sarah and Chris aren't as entertaining a team on newstalk drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,345 ✭✭✭limnam

Sarah today talking about poo rolling down her leg at the swimming pool.

Back up the truck.

I couldn't eat my dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,472 ✭✭✭Grolschevik

limnam wrote: »

Back up the truck.

Some people would pay for that...

Back up the truck.

Was it her own poo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

The intro to their tech spot with Hook getting something deliberately wrong again really grates. I know he is gone from the Drive time slot, but please just get rid of him altogether.

Sarah trying to pretend she doesn't know anything about social media as well is pretty ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

gimmick wrote: »
    The intro to their tech spot with Hook getting something deliberately wrong again really grates. I know he is gone from the Drive time slot, but please just get rid of him altogether.

Sarah trying to pretend she doesn't know anything about social media as well is pretty ridiculous.

I hate that intro. It seems to go on for ages too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I wish Chris would stop calling Vincent Wall 'Vincenzo'.

Ivan made a point of calling anyone he could by something other than their actual name on the morning show. Chris is just dragging that on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,862 ✭✭✭JJayoo

The female presenter is possibly the worst presenter I have ever heard on radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

JJayoo wrote: »
    The female presenter is possibly the worst presenter I have ever heard on radio

Surely not - what about Mammy Finnucane?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭Conservative

Does anybody else recall what classes they had on a Tuesday afternoon at school?

Poor old Chris. Such a poindexter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,005 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Wow that was awkward to listen to, Sarah is like a dog with a bone with how she is unable to let things go and came across as very silly with her refusal to accept chris's sensible arguments.

Would love to have been a fly on the wall at the post show run down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Yeah think they've lost me totally now. That rant from Sarah was ridiculous. Like does she want all 11 women in fg in ministerial positions? She's was totally unreasonable and very screechy. Stick with mat Cooper from now on.

The morning show on news talk is grim too. The only thing I enjoy now is off the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,695 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

VinLieger wrote: »
    Wow that was awkward to listen to, Sarah is like a dog with a bone with how she is unable to let things go and came across as very silly with her refusal to accept chris's sensible arguments.

Exactly. She made herself look foolish.
    How can She think it's better to have a woman in job just because she is a woman than hire the best person irelvent of gender

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Exactly. She made herself look foolish.
    How can She think it's better to have a woman in job just because she is a woman than hire the best person irelvent of gender

Well a clunge quota got her where she is (nothing else explains it) so obviously in her mind it's a good thing.

Jobs OXO wrote: »
    Well a clunge quota got her where she is (nothing else explains it) so obviously in her mind it's a good thing.

Jay?

Cringe-worthy stuff, I had to switch.

12yr old spoilt school girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭jharr100

Cringe-worthy stuff, I had to switch.

12yr old spoilt school girl.

Between Pat being on his hols... Breakfast show being unlistenable.. and drive time being so cringey.. the only shows worth listening to now are off the ball and Sean Moncrief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

jharr100 wrote: »
    Between Pat being on his hols... Breakfast show being unlistenable.. and drive time being so cringey.. the only shows worth listening to now are off the ball and Sean Moncrief.

Off the Ball and Moncrief are also totally unlistenable to - silence is golden.

I'm still angry they brought the start time back to 4pm. I hear the music and think what the hell is this doing on in the middle of the afternoon.

All the more so since they literally just lifted Henry McKean's bit from Moncrieff and dropped it into this show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

yep. according to her, kate o'connell should be given a job despite insulting his backers, and her sister's boyfriend being in the opposing camp, all in the name of equality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Getting a lecture about how bad takeaway food is for us, but come "National Fish and Chip Day" again, they'll be shoving it down our throats as they tuck into the deep-fried freebies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭snotboogie

I was shocked that Chris stood up to her, the argument itself was a good one to have, given the volume of coverage it has gotten but she was so emotionally invested in her side that it made a civil discussion impossible.

Her central point was that if more women were ministers, more women would run for election, it would have been a lot more convincing if she provided some statistics on that. I thought that she went way overboard when Chris suggested that one male junior minister (i forget his name) would have lost out solely due to his gender if we followed Sarah's idea and her response was the most condescending "poor him" which I thought was pretty disgusting, that's somebody's career...... Even if gender quotas do provide for a better long term political system, should we not at least acknowledge that those who lose out because of the quotas are extremely hard done by?

Jesus Christ, I can't take the f*ckin hand wringing anymore.

That story of those poor OAPs in Wexford. It's a horrible story, but I've already heard the Joe Duffy call twice and the coverage on the news bulletins on the show, and i'm only catching bits of Drive.

It should be covered for sure, but these guys seem to be revelling in getting all upset about it.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Jesus Christ, I can't take the f*ckin hand wringing anymore.

That story of those poor OAPs in Wexford. It's a horrible story, but I've already heard the Joe Duffy call twice and the coverage on the news bulletins on the show, and i'm only catching bits of Drive.

It should be covered for sure, but these guys seem to be revelling in getting all upset about it.

The twit from the Sunday world and Coleman covered it on breakfast too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

snotboogie wrote: »
    I was shocked that Chris stood up to her, the argument itself was a good one to have, given the volume of coverage it has gotten but she was so emotionally invested in her side that it made a civil discussion impossible.

Her central point was that if more women were ministers, more women would run for election, it would have been a lot more convincing if she provided some statistics on that. I thought that she went way overboard when Chris suggested that one male junior minister (i forget his name) would have lost out solely due to his gender if we followed Sarah's idea and her response was the most condescending "poor him" which I thought was pretty disgusting, that's somebody's career...... Even if gender quotas do provide for a better long term political system, should we not at least acknowledge that those who lose out because of the quotas are extremely hard done by?

Sounds like her opinion on this matter is based on emotion, not logic or reason.

Fair play to Chris for not letting it go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

I haven't listened to this show in a while but I decided to give it another go this afternoon.

I'm shocked and really appalled at the way Sarah conducted the interview with Pat Treacy from (Faith in our Schools). I used to like her contributions to the Vincent Browne Show but I thought she was INCREDIBLY rude and overly aggressive today.

I feel if a broadcaster or journalist is behaving professionally you won't know what side of an argument they're on. A good journalist will be objective, they'll keep their own feelings/opinions under control. It was blantantly obvious how Sarah feels about 'faith in our schools'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I agree with you that it's not professional to be rude or aggressive to a guest. However both presenters don't pretend to be objective. It's obvious what political leanings both have. That's not a big deal to me, it's their right. This is a private station.

Just as George Hook has the right to air his political opinions on his show.