Grand Theft Auto Online (a.k.a. Frankie's Glitching Songs Thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,318 ✭✭✭Frankie5Angels

I'm a bit sceptical of the update. I get the feeling it's a ' we need to draw people back to gta online but we've run out of ideas so we'll just blow the **** out of each other' update. Hope I'm wrong though. Iv took Wednesday and Thursday off work so I'll find out soon. Feck all xbone on anymore though

I like the idea of these mobile command centres and the big armoured vehicles, but I'd hope the tossers in the Hydras couldn't blow you up with one shot. I'm very interested to see how they integrate the mobile command centre - hopefully it doesn't end up as another yacht and actually serves a purpose.

Interested to see the new Cheetah 2 as outlined above, but disappointed there's only one more muscle car, a modified version of the Tampa (which isn't the greatest muscle car anyway).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭DubDJ

So far nothing new is really available aside from clothes, bunkers and new warstock vehicles. Everything must be unlocked after you buy a bunker.

I've already stolen somebody's MOC but it only let me drive it and he eventually kicked me out. Not sure if they can be blown up but I think it's going to be treated like the yachts.

Glad to see the update isn't crazy with prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

MOCs can be blown up, and also customised with the same treatment as cars. With the max armor upgrade it takes a little more then an insurgent to blow up apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭deafroadrunner

i suppose the important question i have to ask phobinda is

any money glitches coz im broke :pac:

I've already spent over 10 million in the update. It doesn't seem too expensive until you start adding all the upgrades. Most of the new stuff is locked as well, and the gunrunning stuff takes forever to stock.

The new APC seems like a car mixed with a tank. Somebody already blew me up, but I think it takes multiple people to operate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭TacoMan

i suppose the important question i have to ask phobinda is

any money glitches coz im broke :pac:

Word from Louis is there's an easy dupe glitsch on the go after this update.

It requires three players, Elegy Retro Custom (best sale price) or a Lowrider. Also you'll need an office with at least 1 garage.

I won't derail this thread so I'll put the details on the #GlitschingScum thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭Scotty #

DubDJ wrote: »
    The new APC seems like a car mixed with a tank. Somebody already blew me up, but I think it takes multiple people to operate.

.. and a boat! only your passenger can operate the turret. It takes multiple rockets but you're vulnerable through the (small) windscreen.

Loving the weapons upgrades! Tracer bullets w00p!

Favourite so far is the new bike. Takes a lot of getting used to but great craic when you get the hang of it. I really hope it can be used in races! imaginative track builders will have a field day with it.

An alternative cab for yer MOC :pac:

(From Reddit)

lz11pyjyog3z.jpg

Scotty # wrote: »
    .. and a boat! only your passenger can operate the turret. It takes multiple rockets but you're vulnerable through the (small) windscreen.

Loving the weapons upgrades! Tracer bullets w00p!

Favourite so far is the new bike. Takes a lot of getting used to but great craic when you get the hang of it. I really hope it can be used in races! imaginative track builders will have a field day with it.

I dropped 17m last night in about 30 mins of playing. :eek:

What are the tracer bullets, what do they do? I just went for an extended mag.

Phobiss, that must be a mod, surely? Looks legend though.

No mod, just the Phantom Wedge substituting for the original MOC cab. The original is faster, but the Phantom Wedge has the irresistible....."OUTTA MAH WAY!" factor.

A very pricey update when ya go beneath the surface (bunker pun not intended). Started out with $202m, bought Farm bunker/MOC, upgraded a few guns and all new outfits/masks ....now I have $187m. Haven't bought any of the new mission vehicles yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭stuartmurphy87

The cab for the mco is a seriously good truck when detached.

What are the wheels like on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭deafroadrunner

they go round :pac:

They are fine wheels

Indeed. I'd like to see these in GP style races too.

78533_EN?exp=24572243901571

The truck is a beast even with the trailer attached. I haven't been killed inside it yet either.

I got absolutely destroyed by a level 30 in an APC last night. I hit it with at least 15 explosives and then went at it in a hydra and it was still going. It was only later on I realised you can just machine gun the driver easily.

It looks like it's a very time consuming update. I've only unlocked the dune buggy so far, the research takes about 12 real hours by how slow it was filling up.

Indeed. I'd like to see these in GP style races too.

78533_EN?exp=24572243901571

My thoughts exactly. Love having that truck modded finally. Always wanted it

Warning to anyone with personal vehicle storage in bay three of moc. If you have a vehicle stored in it and upgrade to weapon and vehicle workshop, you loose whatever vehicle was stored without warning. Lost my insurgent.

Stupid but what can ya do. Lesson learned.

Edit- Found the original. Have to go interactive menu and request personal vehicle. Its like its still in trailer even though its not phisically.

Wish i copped it before i bought replacment though lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Anyone else get that warning about cheating

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 4,716 Mod ✭✭✭✭TherapyBoy

Yup! They have 'tools' apparently :D

gta-apc.png

My APC with turret upgrade. This will fire explosives as quick as you can pull the trigger. Limited to about 50 though unfortunately. I can see a day where everyone on the server is riding around in one of these.

Spent a serious amount of $'s so far. Over the $200 million mark I'd say. Fast tracking all my research. It's a pity they didn't tell you what you are unlocking before you fast track it. Spent $225,000 unlocking camouflage livery last night :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: Even with $4 billion, that hurts.

I also upgraded the Heavy Sniper to the termo scope. Waste of money. It's handy if you are up on the hills and they go off the radar but you can' tell when looking through the scope if they are behind something or not.

I dont have the money to fastrack and the research is painfully slow. Its headwrecking when its researching something **** u dont want. Havent even finished the first research project.

Havent even finished the first research project.
    Oh my! I've about a dozen unlocks but it's been expensive depending on how much of the upgrade is complete when you fast track it. I think $250k is the max but you could do it every 15 mins or so. Half of them are ****e. Did you upgrade your staff etc?

Did one of the upgrades cant remember which one. Think it was staff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Did one of the upgrades cant remember which one. Think it was staff

In the same boat, haven't got the money to fast track. Had 1mill and was saving to buy an MOC but from reading about them I think I'd rather upgrade the bunker etc first. Upgraded my staff and left with 400k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

Any xbone getting on tonight?

I fast tracked my first Research project, turrets on the MOC, I won't be fast tracking again! The hidden costs in this update are insane, and by all accounts the upgrades are largely meh.

My least favourite part is they've patched the solo public session trick, really hoping someone discovers another way around it. Now I just keep switching session until I eventually land in one by myself. A right pain in the arse.

Buzzed around in a session with Davey on the gun on my half-track. Great craic. I upgraded to the quad guns, serious machine. Can't wait to upgrade the APC like Zan's above. The wings on that bike are class as well. Also took the APC for a swim, good craic too.

How do the turrets on the MOC work? Can you fire them yourself or are they automatic if a bunch of talibans are after you?

One thing I will say is the update is more craic than I've had with many an update before it. I look forward to trying the new vehicles in free roam, bustin heads.