Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wicklow 200 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭bbolger

Saw a cyclist on the ground around 160km, looked serious, being tended to by Orwell wheelers marshals and an ambulance.

Hope he/she is ok!

A tough day for the marshals too being out in all weather for hours on end, thanks to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭koutoubia

^^^^^
    I actually think it was a pedestrian.
    A lot of people were telling me it was a cyclist but then someone said it was a pedestrian in jeans and runners.

But thinking back I actually saw cyclists in normal clothes so anything is possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,117 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

koutoubia wrote: »
    ....But thinking back I actually saw cyclists in normal clothes so anything is possible.
    Two lads in normal clothes passed me going up Wicklow Gap. :o (They were definitely doing the WW200 as they had their numbers displayed.

Another lad passed me carrying a hairbrush in his jersey pocket. I've seen combs but a hairbrush!! Must have needed to be looking good at the food stops.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,468 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Got to admit to a bit of a double take when someone pulled up at the food station sporting "builders bum" cycling shorts....

...then it dawned on me that koutoubia was supposed to be marshalling around the corner so it was almost certainly some random punter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Seeing a comment or 2 on the W200 FB page claiming that a cyclist was hit by a car :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Galego

What did you have inside the orange bag?

Mine came with the water bottle and two flyers (10 off annual membership in Powers court and another for a bike fitting shop).

Was there to be more flyers?

I like the medal very much but a pity it does not state the year 2017...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭squa

Legs feeling pretty heavy this morning, but delighted to have finished the 200km. A rather embarrassing time of 10.5hrs but my first time cycling over 100km with any sort of serious climbing. Cycling in a group took some getting used to, even if I did the majority of it solo! The weather was pretty brutal at times as were those back to back climbs after Slieve Maan!

Big shout out to a group from Orwell who dug me out of a dark place around the 160km. Got a great tow for about 20km & it really lifted the spirits. A very sound group & some even sounder man by the name of Rory frim Orwell stopped again on his own to bring me through the last 5km....really decent chap!

Marshall's were fantastic too I thought. All in all a great event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,114 ✭✭✭✭neris

Another lad passed me carrying a hairbrush in his jersey pocket. I've seen combs but a hairbrush!! Must have needed to be looking good at the food stops.

Pedalur de charme

neris wrote: »
    Pedalur de charme
    Indeed! It was the first image that came into my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭J Madone

Great marshals and foodstops today.

I think I got a Boardsie from one but my tiny fat brain didn't process it till I was past

I said i looked forward to reading your write up on boards:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Tough day in the saddle yesterday. Much tougher than previous years - it's my fourth or fifth W200. That finish was the stuff of nightmares.

Overall, a well organised day. Marshals were top drawer. There were bound to be few teething problems with the new start / finish venue, but over all it worked out well. One comment would be the traffic coming from the south could perhaps be diverted through Fassaroe - would help split it up. Took me perhaps 30 minutes or so to get from the N11 in to the grounds. Registration was a doddle.

The food stops were a bit meh - sandwiches were nice, but some fruit cake / fruit would be nice. I find those bars they were giving out hard going to chew.

Good craic out on the road. I was on a work thing, I elected for the 200, rest if the lads did the 100. Some were novices who'd never cycled more than perhaps 20km, so kudos for completing a tough course. Stuck with the lads in work for the first 40k or so until we split for the W200. One lad joined me from the previous group - he was unsure about 100 / 200, so convinced him to do the latter...Was the two of us took on the Wicklow Gap in the p!ssing rain, against a murderous headwind. Was glad to get to the top. Got in a group soon after who we stayed with for the rest of the day. Good bunch of lads - pace was nice without being too hectic, regrouped on the climbs. Found Slieve Maam and Shay Elliott tough as ever. That climb as well coming from the Meeting of the Waters after Rathdrum - tough one fairly soon after the food stop. Enjoyed the flat sections where we could work together in a group.

Negatives for me are the rubbish - people chucking used tubes, wrappers, bottles (realise a few lost accidentally) all over the road. Also ,what's the story with p!ssing in people's gates? Saw groups of 2 or 3 lads more than once doing this. Realise we all need a call of nature every now and again, but somewhere more discrete and with respect for residents as well.

Had a few crazy passes as well. 2 of us were given a punishment pass on the Wicklow Way - WW registered car, most probably a local. I singled to single up, moved behind the guy in front, but he passed within inches of us. Made no attempt to move to the other side of the road.

Had same crazy overtaking coming into Rathdrum in almost the exact same spot last year. Two cars overtook a group of of perhaps 10, riding 2 abreast. First 2 overtook, then pulled in front of us. Spotted cars coming against us. 3rd car squeezed through, there was nowhere for him to go, as the 2 who overtook us were now in the space between us and more cyclists in front of them. 3rd car was now faced by an oncoming car - he decided to lust pull in, while blaring his horn, nearly taking the group down. Whats wrong with people?

The last 30km or so killed me. That drag out of Enniskerry and from Greystones will give me nightmares...:eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Einstein?

Very sorry to hear about the crashes, I hope the bikes are okay! Very tough luck WA sorry go hear about the wheel.

That was my first W200 and I finished it in about 23kph avg, but I'm happy since it's the first time I've done 3k plus elevation, I was wearing the Swiss flag jersey (white/red/black) you might have seen me around!

A few passing thoughts on the event:

× For what it's worth the organizers did a superb job considering the scale of the event and the number of riders.

× Some very cool people spotted indeed, the mad yokes on the squeaky mtbs, the gent wearing a regular chequered shirt flying up the hills.

× Thanks Mr Orwell for a banana at the food stop between the back to back hills.

× I got my first taste of tarmac, but thankfully I was doing minus 2kph in a hairpin turn near Avoca going uphill, my backwheel didn't push me forward as the ground was slippery and I went backwards instead and lost balance and fell over.:D

× That pub between the back to back hills was amazing, must go back sometime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,479 ✭✭✭rollingscone

The wheels nearly came off the wagon for me; I had done a decent amount of training including spins of up to 150 and covering Slieve Mann and Shay Elliot (from the wrong side as it turned out) but my knees started acting up in the weeks leading up to the event and my one attempt at doing a 160 with
    Slieve Mann and Shay Elliot (Drumgoff) from the Western approach ended when my back wheel collapsed and left me calling a Broomwagon from someone’s house in Aghvanna (0% mobile coverage in that area).

The other set of wheels for my 10kg road bike suffered a seized freehub a week ago so I had to make a late change to my 12kg+ Croix De Fer.

Was up at 05:15 to be collected by a mate at 05:55 then we spent about 35 minutes in a tailback to get into Bray Emmets and didn’t end up crossing the line till 0740.

The headwind and the early climbs really sapped me, and at one point descending the Wicklow gap and gust hit me so hard I felt the front wheel trying to lift.

Was completely spent at the 50km mark and struggled to keep my eyes open to the first foodstop even with taking on a bar and later the first gel of the day.

After a sandwich, a coffee and a stretch I felt like a new man and took off for the two main climbs, on Slieve Mann the 34x32 was a mixed bag as the CDF felt extremely sluggish and I quickly burned through my renewed energy reserves, the descent was wet and I was behind a guy with Triathlon bottle holders and a backpack who was an even more cautious descender than I am!

Drumgoff is an easier climb but I struggled through, at some point the metal in my right knee started to ache but the descent gave me a bit of a boost, I was in slightly better shape reaching the second foodstop, the last 60km was the point where I’d expected to start suffering instead of being the point where I’d already been clinging on for 100+ kms!

Got a tow from a group in no club gear but who were clearly club riders (very disciplined with signals etc) and a group from Swords CC gave me a rescue in the last 10k (nice bunch that I’d chatted to at the second food stop and who had a more sensible rest schedule, whereas I was flogging myself because my lift home was waiting for me)

Just when I thought I had a cruise to the finish in Bray the dual carriageway portion turned me back into that F***ng! headwind and I was back to crawling along at jogging pace. Every slight drag was a struggle after that and I mostly just freewheeled the descents to the finish.

It was a truly brutal day for me down to weather and not getting on with my choice of bike, some good folks and fantastic marshalling leavened the burden for me.

Glad it’s done but hard to feel proud of my performance.

https://www.strava.com/activities/1032210974/shareable_images/map_based?hl=en-US&v=1497212834

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Macy0161

The speed that many motorcyclists push on the roads and the overtaking moves they pull on the roads around where I live is ridiculous. Given they might be considered another vulnerable road user group, I really lose hope of any change of mindset on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

Regarding Motor cyclists. Big respect to the lad on the motor bike who was riding responsibly and made a left turn into Killoughter lane. A group of club cyclists overtook myself and 2 others as we approached the junction and they were entirely on wrong side of road when the biker literally came face to face with them. He pulled over hard into the hedge and braked to a full stop. Feckers could have at least thanked him or apologised. Didn't help that they found it funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,443 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Macy0161 wrote: »
    The speed that many motorcyclists push on the roads and the overtaking moves they pull on the roads around where I live is ridiculous. Given they might be considered another vulnerable road user group, I really lose hope of any change of mindset on the roads.

I do hear the Wicklow Gap Motogp most weekends, especially when the sun is out...

Sure see for yourselves what's on our road.. absolutely lethal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

they were entirely on wrong side of road when the biker literally came face to face with them. He pulled over hard into the hedge and braked to a full stop. Feckers could have at least thanked him or apologised. Didn't help that they found it funny.

I've been out on the bike around the Old Long Hill area and happened to cycle against the WW100 stream, I guess (9:20am). Their road discipline was sketchy at best, riding 3 abreast often, many stopped on the wrong side of the road with the bike sideways (especially around the water stop) or overtaking without checking the road ahead - I had to brake hard once going down. It was all on a 5km stretch...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Some absolutely moronic riding in that video, and I only watched less than a minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭HivemindXX

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    I do hear the Wicklow Gap Motogp most weekends, especially when the sun is out...

In the motorbike thread I only got as far as the guy claiming cyclists are the most dangerous thing on the road. It's depressing that there are so many people with the sort of attitudes shown in that thread out there, that they aren't embarrassed to show themselves up publicly and, most importantly, that they are allowed control machinery.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Some absolutely moronic riding in that video, and I only watched less than a minute.

Same here, I closed my eyes from the way some of them were riding over the white line missing oncoming cars by millimetres!

I hear the roars of the motorbike engines anytime I'm cycling up by Scarr or Laragh at the weekend...

HivemindXX wrote: »
    In the motorbike thread I only got as far as the guy claiming cyclists are the most dangerous thing on the road. It's depressing that there are so many people with the sort of attitudes shown in that thread out there, that they aren't embarrassed to show themselves up publicly and, most importantly, that they are allowed control machinery.

You'd think the motorbikers would have more respect for their 2 wheeled brethren but it seems some of the more hardcore are worse than any car/van driver....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

You'd think the motorbikers would have more respect for their 2 wheeled brethren but it seems some of the more hardcore are worse than any car/van driver....

You'd think so, but I find them much worse than motorists. I've been beeped / buzzed and verbally abused for using the bus / cycle lane on the quays by people on motorbikes. Bike lanes the same - they use them to filter up the inside of buses and cars. A part of the road that they're not even legally entitled to use - although, as fellow vulnerable road users, I've have no issues with motorbikes using bus lanes with cyclists - just with a few ground rules - not acting the d!ck being No. 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

i only watched a couple of minutes of that Tenzor but that's some proper scary sh1t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,727 ✭✭✭Macy0161

I hear the roars of the motorbike engines anytime I'm cycling up by Scarr or Laragh at the weekend...
    Will watch the video this evening, but this time of year it's also evenings. Speed limits don't seem to apply, and the cops even less inclined to enforce the law for motorbike drivers than they are for car drivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭1bryan

a motorcyclist was killed near the top of the wicklow gap a few years back. There were flowers placed at the site and they were there for a while after - long enough for lots of people to see.

I was out cycling on the wicklow gap another time and saw a motorcyclist lying prostrate across the road having had a spill. Another motorcyclist was with him, obviously waiting for an ambulance to arrive.

I wouldn't second guess what caused the above 2 accidents, but, as when something happens in the cycling community, I'm sure word spreads among the motorcycling community when there's an incident. I know the video is from 2010 but I'd sincerely hope people would have more cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,778 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

One of them nearly collects a car at 32 seconds on that vid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭Doc07

The feeling is just coming back into my legs and ar!e.
    My 3rd WW and worst day on a bike ever.
    Good route and marshals. Route Definitely tougher than last 2 years. I think it's now one of the toughest sportives.
    Too many sleepless nights due to work /family recently and lack of training caught up with me. One of those days when the legs just didn't seem to work. Tried to energise myself with gels but that just make me sick.
    Plenty of enjoyable moments all the same. Tailwind on Sliabh Man was fantastic. Thank you to the club members who helped me out a lot when I was really struggling. Sorry for the angry face and curses.

Saw the great WA at Hollywood but e unfortunatey was waiting to be collected due to a mechanical.

I wonder should some instructions be issued with registration like;

No stopping on hills to takeoff jackets
    If you have to stop suddenly due to fatigue or mechanical ease pull into the ditch or as far left as possible.
    Give a signal before suddenly stoppong esp on steep inclines.

I did a sportive in UK and marshals were shouting at us to pull in and stay left f we were slow on climbs.

So a bad day for me but overall a good day I think for he WW200 and IVCA.

Macy0161 wrote: »
    ... Speed limits don't seem to apply, and the cops even less inclined to enforce the law for motorbike drivers than they are for car drivers.
    More difficult to enforce for motorbikes as they only have a rear plate. Even if they pass a rear capture camera, you'd sometimes see the rider place a hand over part of the plate for a couple of seconds. (Others use the tax disc cover to obscure part of the plate).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,128 ✭✭✭✭dahat

On reflection I think I'll do.ot next year but hopefully be 7-8kgs lighter and a better climber.
    Legs are good today and about to hit the turbo for an hour in prep for a club league race in Tipp tomorrow night.