Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Their story of Rape and Reconiliation. *trigger Warning*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭jamesthepeach

He wasn't prosecuted so he wouldn't be on the sex offenders list . She didn't report it at time and by time she was open about it the statute of limitations had run out or expired (whichever the right phrase is) they were both on pat Kenny one morning and both admitted they couldn't get it to court . Yes ridiculous since there is no denial but unfortunately that's how this case is. As far as I can remember she said the laws have changed since.
    Not pretending to be an expert but that's what I recall from interview, I'm sure it's on a pat Kenny newstalk podcast

Point is that there was a crime committed. Two witnesses and an admission of guilt are available now to prosecute that crime and nobody is prosecuting it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,454 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Point is that there was a crime committed. Two witnesses and an admission of guilt are available now to prosecute that crime and nobody is prosecuting it.

Read the post you quoted. It has already been said that the statute of limitations has expired so no prosecution is possible.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

I think the statute of limitations was up. I am uncertain of Icelandic law though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

What other people feel is victim blaming is what other people feel..you can't please anyone ..but just cuz it doesn't make sense to you doesn't mean they don't feel it ..

Just because people feel a specific intention was at the heart of something said or done does not mean that it was what was actually being implied let alone the actual motivation behind it. The recent Gardai prevention measures posters for example were said to be felt as they were victim blaming... but that doesn't make them so.

Guess what I'm saying is that while feelings are important and all, in and of themselves they don't prove very much and so you can't just cite someone feeling that something is victim blaming as evidence of it being so.

Just because people feel a specific intention does not mean one was implied let alone the actual motivation. The recent Gardai prevention measures posters for example were said to be felt as they were victim blaming... but that doesn't make them so.
    I understand that might not be the intent.
    Guess what I'm saying is that while feelings are important and all, in and of themselves they don't prove very much and so you can't just cite someone feeling that something is victim blaming as evidence of it being so.

I don't think someone feeling it shows intent to make them feel that way at all ...in fact that is the issue. If people KNEW they made people feel this way ...they wouldn't. Obv we behave diff with our friends and when in front of people.

It is just a reminder to victims that no matter what is said don't let it make YOU feel bad ..even if that seems hard. You did nothing wrong.

I don't think people mean to make victims feel bad if they knew they wouldn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

The above is a far cry from saying a woman "shouldn't have got so drunk that let someone rape her!". A million miles from it in fact and as I said earlier... some people just can't seem to make the distinction between risk reduction measures and victim blaming... but a distinction there is and quite a large one but unfortunately it would seem some would rather not see it.

I think there is almost a hysteria in some circles about what is undeniably sensible advice. You SHOULD be able to do whatever, wear whatever, go wherever and so on - you should be, but that doesn't mean you are.

Much better in my mind to avoid any trouble, than to encounter it but have the moral high ground. That applies to all manner of things, not just rape.

It's better to not walk down that dark alley and get mugged, than to walk down it and know it's not your fault you were mugged. Better to take the long way home and avoid the gang of youngfellas drinking in the park, than to be the innocent victim of a hiding.

There is such a thing as common sense and self preservation. It's still not your fault per se, but if you temp fate it has a nasty habit of biting you on the arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

If this can change things and also help men who have raped not see themselves as monsters and feel their own humanity and self compassion

I honestly cant get my head around this sentence.This isn't some love-in where by the end of it everyone should feel better about themselves. This is a major sexual assault that can have repercussions for the rest of the victims life. A rapist SHOULD live with the feeling and knowledge that they are a monster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

It is just a reminder to victims that no matter what is said don't let it make YOU feel bad ..even if that seems hard. You did nothing wrong.

Rape is obviously a hugely emotive crime and so any kind of comment on or about it tends to elicits a response from someone. When a portion of those someone's are victims of rape or advocates for victims of rape then the whole discussion around the topic becomes a minefield - and I don't think that benefits anyone, victims included.

To use the judge in question's analogy; if someone has their car stolen after leaving it unlocked in a dodgy area nobody has an issue with anyone stressing the best way to deter would-be or opportunistic car thieves is to lock the car. Nobody gets upset thinking, wow, you think it's my fault my car was stolen...we should only be targeting car thieves and leaving victims of car thefts out of it. I don't think anyone views people as cars or that the horror of rape equates with car theft, but that the underlying principals of risk reduction apply to both...and for some reason while locking the car in a safe area is lauded as absolute common sense, suggesting women avoid making themselves even more vulnerable than they already are is chastised as victim blaming - when really, we should care a damn sight more about women than bloody cars!

In an ideal world nobody would ever need to take precautions about anything because crime would not exist. But we don't live in an ideal world. Rapists exist. Some are abusive partners. Some are sadistic predators. Some are opportunistic. I don't think there is any way to avoid the former two but there are some things you can do to lessen your chances of being targeted by the latter...and I read that judgement in the context of a woman using her voice having seen multiple sexual assault trials to underline that point....and if that caution means one less woman being raped then surely that's a good thing?! :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

I honestly cant get my head around this sentence.This isn't some love-in where by the end of it everyone should feel better about themselves. This is a major sexual assault that can have repercussions for the rest of the victims life. A rapist SHOULD live with the feeling and knowledge that they are a monster.

It has a bit of an ''he just made a mistake'' aura to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I don't really get the concern for the rapists feeling either, I have to say. You feel bad that you raped someone? Well boo hoo, so you should.
    You don't feel bad enough you fúcking scumbag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I don't know what to make of it and I'm not going to watch it because its too close to the bone for me. If she feels better for it and its helped her move on then I think that's great. I have worked with rape victims before who have been attacked by a partner or former partner and who have had to stay in touch with them for the sake of kids etc and they have been able to compartmentalise it. I'd imagine if the victim was subjected to a prolonged attack, if she had been dragged off a street and assaulted physically as well as sexually it would be a lot harder for her to find forgiveness. I don't think forgiveness is all its cracked up to be to be honest. I haven't forgiven the person who abused me and never will. If this helps some people great, but I don't think we should start encouraging victims of any crime to reconcile with the person who wronged them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,869 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

It's very rare for an abuser to allow this reconciliation for healing to happen. I wish i could happen more often.

I get where you're coming from, but with these two, I can't help but get the feeling that it's less about reconciliation, and more about self-promotion. To me it appears as though they're using their circumstances to promote a particular agenda - to frame rape in a political social context. Not once, in the videos in this thread, did the man acknowledge that he was a rapist, and even when asked the question directly by the interviewer - "Do you see yourself as a rapist?", he side-stepped the question and went on to talk about how he felt.

It just comes across as was suggested earlier - a sort of a love-in between the two of them, the woman was asked were they now friends, and she responded that it was a collaboration. Even the language they used and the way they try to frame the whole thing as this great journey of self-discovery with both of them travelling from opposite hemispheres to spend a week discussing it in South Africa? It just comes across to me at least as very "sanitised and romanticised".

If it helps her cope - fair play, grand, I don't see what harm she could possibly do to anyone but herself, and I completely get the idea of her need to forgive and understand her rapist as a human being. But when she says that she isn't suggesting that all people who have been raped should try and do what they've done, by the very fact that they are standing up on the stage and have written a book about it, and are giving talks and using their experiences to make a commentary about a wider social issue, they are trying to say that we should all try and show forgiveness and understanding to rapists, and the way they're going on, it appears that neither of them want to take responsibility for that fact.

They shouldn't just be able to say "Oh well we're not saying this or that", when that's exactly what they are saying by trying to map their own individual processing of their experience onto wider society as though society is at fault for demonising rapists, and suggesting that hurts people who have been raped too, as if to say "We shouldn't demonise rapists, we should show them forgiveness and understanding", which comes off exactly like someone suggested earlier as a bit of a love-in, a socially and politically motivated love-in which appears to be solely in both their interests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

It's not uncommon for victims to have an obsessive relationship (one-sided or two-sided) with their rapist, whether in a positive or a negative way.

Some victims get wrapped up in their hatred for and fear of their rapist, others become wrapped up in the idea of needing some sort of a bond with them for their healing.

In my opinion neither is healing, in most circumstances. Your healing should not depend on giving the power back to the person who hurt you in the first place.

It's a controversial topic ... I know so many victims of rape and abuse (probably more than most), and I am a victim myself of very violent and sadistic sexual abuse, back when I was a child. For me there could be NO healing in establishing any sort of relationship with the abuser, and I'm certainly not going to forgive him, although I do accept that he didn't choose to be that way (nor did his female accomplice) and I accept that they both probably suffered themselves in the past ... it's not my pain, though, and I've no interest in taking it on board.

For me the healing comes in being able to detach myself from it, and from relieving myself of blame in the whole situation. I was three when it started, and you wouldn't believe the amount of blame and self-hatred I attached to myself in all of it! So untrue. For me, I needed to learn that I didn't need to either hate myself or to forgive myself - that I wasn't in the wrong. It all came from within, from learning self-compassion and self-respect.

I wouldn't be happy in my recovery if it was linked with my relationship with my abuser. (Which is non-existent, by the way, and always will be, despite the fact that he's a member of the extended family.) I don't think about him regularly any more, and I don't live in fear of him any more.

I could never tie my healing into a relationship with him, knowing what he has done to me in the past. If someone hurts you so deeply, if they've the capability of doing that, how could you ever be truly sure they wouldn't do it again?

I know for sure that circumstances don't allow him any contact with other children any more (I wasn't the only one he hurt) ... that's enough for me, knowing no one else is in danger from him. I couldn't ever possibly move on if he were a part of my life.

What's the trigger warning for? I assume it's not to do with rape since rape is in the title so only an idiot wouldn't realise that rape was spoken about within the thread. So I just can't quite figure out what else it's there for.

I think it must be for traffic. Like a tabloid head line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭Vic_08

I wish i could happen more often.

I wish YOU would happen an awful lot less.

Vic_08 wrote: »
    I wish YOU would happen an awful lot less.

A bit mean! The thread got people talking.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Read the post you quoted. It has already been said that the statute of limitations has expired so no prosecution is possible.

I find it bizarre that a country would have a Statute of Limitations for serious crime...

The video is three months old only :)

And it's such an important topic. So it deserves the thread i think.

Don't be so dismissive. I think it's very valuable. :)

It was talked about in this thread 4 months ago.

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057710031/7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭GerryDerpy

Trigger warning. Oh my good lord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

We are getting to a stage it seems today where it's becoming cool for some women to have been raped and cool for some men to have been rapists.

No, no we are not, and never will be. Your post is sensationalist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

It's all a bit too lovey dovey, let's sing songs and hold hands for me. No. A violent crime was committed, an intimate violation of a young woman whose life would then be negatively shaped around it, let's not pretend we're in an episode of the Partridge Family and that there's "something to learn" to enrich the lives of both the perpetrator and victim and let's make a TED talk about it too, shur it's too good to go to waste.

Rape is not OK. Belittling rape is not OK. Cashing in on rape is not OK. Defending or denying rape is not OK and encouraging rape victims to find "healing" in renewed contact with their scumbag rapists, no matter how "sorry" they are, is not OK.

Seriously can we get through a day without another contentious rape ("or was it really rape") thread around here?

Bambi985 wrote: »
    It's all a bit too lovey dovey, let's sing songs and hold hands for me. No. A violent crime was committed, an intimate violation of a young woman whose life would then be negatively shaped around it, let's not pretend we're in an episode of the Partridge Family and that there's "something to learn" to enrich the lives of both the perpetrator and victim and let's make a TED talk about it too, shur it's too good to go to waste.

Rape is not OK. Belittling rape is not OK. Cashing in on rape is not OK. Defending or denying rape is not OK and encouraging rape victims to find "healing" in renewed contact with their scumbag victims, no matter how "sorry" they are, is not OK.

Seriously can we get through a day without another contentious rape ("or was it really rape") thread around here?

For me that's the bit that warrants the trigger warning, if anything does, and not any description of rape that might be in the video which I didn't watch.

The idea of it is making my flesh creep.

No, no we are not, and never will be. Your post is sensationalist.

No, no it's not.
    The couple in question are sensationalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

It has a bit of an ''he just made a mistake'' aura to it.

What is your opinion of rapists?

tiger55 wrote: »
    What is your opinion of rapists?

Let's save some time. You tell me what you think my opinion of rapists is.

I'd love to know how much the rapist makes out of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

He will always be a c*nt.