Innocent Person Accosted by Kildare Mob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭The Legend Of Kira

Read over some posts by please helpThank , I would concur that facebook should have better safety measures- at the moment facebook are on about launching new tools to tackle revenge porn.

https://thenextweb.com/insider/2017/04/05/facebook-presents-new-tools-to-combat-revenge-porn/#.tnw_6GYsFtKR

They should also launch tools to tackle posts that are defamation/ libelous , I know some might say posts can always be flagged to facebook to be taken down, while all well & good but once allegations are made against someone whether true or not true some people will still believe it as evidence by some people who were still suspicious about the innocent man targeted in Kildare with posts on FB " going on the radio doesn,t cut it for me, he should go on the late late show to prove he is " etc.

There was FB group a few years ago called " ( Anti Theft Waterford Watchdog Community ) "

it was talked about on this old boards.ie thread

https://www.boards.ie/b/thread/2057121180/3

Which used to post photos of people with rumours " he done this " or " he done that " of course with no real evidence produced, when photos of a person can be posted on FB with unproven allegations it can put innocent people in danger due to climate of hysteria .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I'm amazed that some people here still think Facebook is grand and its only the people on it that are the problem. FFS! Seriously? Take a step back and think about it. Its a platform for anything goes. Accessible to everyone on their smartphones and tablets with no actual computer knowledge. Surely Facebook management should have taken that into consideration. But no, they rolled it out all over the place and still allow complete assholes to do as they please on their Harvey Norman bought kit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Grandeeod wrote: »
    I'm amazed that some people here still think Facebook is grand and its only the people on it that are the problem. FFS! Seriously? Take a step back and think about it. Its a platform for anything goes. Accessible to everyone on their smartphones and tablets with no actual computer knowledge. Surely Facebook management should have taken that into consideration. But no, they rolled it out all over the place and still allow complete assholes to do as they please on their Harvey Norman bought kit.

Boards apparently has the same problem. Here you are all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Boards apparently has the same problem. Here you are all the same.

Not all the same. Couldn't be!

Grandeeod wrote: »
    The thing is with facebook & other social media sites is what can be posted on them by just about anyone, to do an analogy

Print Media vs Social Media

Print Media has an editorial process which is supposed to filter out illegal/libellous/biased materials (whether it does so effectively is another debate) .

Social Media  facebook pages or twitter pages, which allows people to instantly post just about anything on their own personal profile or set up their own group or their own page & gain a following with likes + shares ,that can put up posts  with no references or proof, I know posts can be flagged to be taken down etc, but if a post has been put up about someone with unproven allegation either on a personal profile or a public page even if the post is flagged & removed it doesn,t erase the fact that the post could of being shared around by hundreds of people who will have read it & to quote a phrase " Mud sticks " 
    https://en.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/mud_sticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

We just need to get a group of all the people who are angry about this, and go to Facebook's offices in Dublin. It might require a certain amount of aggression, and realistically the people in the office aren't actually responsible for the problem, but I think it's the right response here.
    So your plan is act like scumbags towards staff that had no part in this? Hope the Gardai go postal on the lot of ye!

the_syco wrote: »
    We just need to get a group of all the people who are angry about this, and go to Facebook's offices in Dublin. It might require a certain amount of aggression, and realistically the people in the office aren't actually responsible for the problem, but I think it's the right response here.
    So your plan is act like scumbags towards staff that had no part in this? Hope the Gardai go postal on the lot of ye!
    It's funny that you both missed the joke and managed to say something much worse yourself, but in full seriousness. Kudos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,369 ✭✭✭CeilingFly

Its not the first time this group of uneducated, lowlife, pay for nothing blow-ins made false accusations.

Last year it was claimed that a girl was attacked by one of the refugees in the hazel hotel and again the scum put it on their Facebook page without checking anything.

The real story was the girl had an argument with a relative and there was no connection whatsoever with anyone connected to the hazel hotel.

Same crowd of stupid people wanted to protest at the hotel until gardai issued a very strong statement to them

Most members of the vigilante group of stupids are not from kildare, most are on social welfare, most are unemployed and they are despised by the majority of people there who are decent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

CeilingFly wrote: »
    Its not the first time this group of uneducated, lowlife, pay for nothing blow-ins made false accusations.

Last year it was claimed that a girl was attacked by one of the refugees in the hazel hotel and again the scum put it on their Facebook page without checking anything.

The real story was the girl had an argument with a relative and there was no connection whatsoever with anyone connected to the hazel hotel.

Same crowd of stupid people wanted to protest at the hotel until gardai issued a very strong statement to them

Most members of the vigilante group of stupids are not from kildare, most are on social welfare, most are unemployed and they are despised by the majority of people there who are decent.
    The Kildare Mob are out of control that gang need to all put in Jail. And a life time ban from Facebook . Facebook are `failing` to protect us all and are now make our streets more unsafe ,dangerous , with the like of the Kildare Mob posting untrue post about Innocent Persons.

A few years ago another local crime watch facebook page posted a photo of a man saying he had past convictions for sexual offences, not only that but some people put up posters of him around town with his photo & details of where he was living , the FB page later posted rumours that the particular man had skipped town due to his photo had being made known to people etc, most of people who commented on it took what the page was saying at face value without any proof being given, below is a photo of one of those posters they put up around town with certain things like the fellows name & face blacked out for legal reasons as potentially libelous since not proven .

419013.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Hi Mystic Monk. My name is David Murray. Yes, I'm the guy who got mistaken for Anthony Luckwill in Monasterevin on 26th May.

I had to go on radio, TV and talk to the print media, because I was attempting to limit the spread of any images of me taken last week in Kildare / Monasterevin / Portloaise as those photos were taken by people who believed I was Anthony Luckwill and who would obviously be spreading the photos they took to others to prove just how effective vigilante action was in protecting a community and that other communities should be warned about someone with my face.

Sorry if I irritated you in clearing my name and attempting to prevent any repeat of what happened to me.

Unsincerest best wishes

David Murray:eek:

/mic drop

In all seriousness though, most sane people are horrified at what happened to you and the vast majority of even an AH thread reflects that most people found the whole thing shameful.

I'm sorry that you had to go through that. It was a godawful ****ty thing for someone to do and the mob had the original muckstirrer's (extremely low) intelligence divided by the number in the mob. It's not really been said if the people behind it will get trouble with the law for it, but they absolutely deserve to.

I hope this whole thing is put to rest and you don't get any more problems in the future from what happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Was looking at an episode of black books last night - one with Simon Pegg in it.

I hope Simon Pegg never goes to monasterevin as the stupid mob of uneducated low life's would probably target him cos he has similar red hair.

Yep, that is how stupid this band of vigilantes are.

The vast majority of people in monasterevin hate the group of scum some of whom have no issue committing other criminal acts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭storker

I was reading about a case in the States recently where a decorated Marine got the living sh1t kicked out of him in a mistaken case of Stolen Valor. Mob justice can not be tolerated in any form, it's too easy to spread rumours and whip up anger or fear.

If he's a marine, the people in that mob should beware of payback.

What next from the hate Mob in Kildare on Facebook there is a `Muslim` on the streets of Kildare . He our she is a terrorist the Kildare mob on a the attack like what the Kildare Mob did to that Innocent Man. This is like Mississippi burning but it`s in Kildare Ireland instead of Mississippi .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

What next from the hate Mob in Kildare on Facebook there is a `Muslim` on the streets of Kildare . He our she is a terrorist the Kildare mob on a the attack like what the Kildare Mob did to that Innocent Man. This is like Mississippi burning but it`s in Kildare Ireland instead of Mississippi .

Google?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,667 ✭✭✭harr

Your beginning to sound like a right troll now...plenty of muslims on the streets of Monasterevin and they were welcomed no problem..
    Majority of people in monasterevin are disgusted at the behaviour of that small group of people and they in no way represent the general population..

You must have little to be worrying you when you have time to get your jocks in a wad about imaginary offences.

harr wrote: »
    Your beginning to sound like a right troll now...plenty of muslims on the streets of Monasterevin and they were welcomed no problem..
    Majority of people in monasterevin are disgusted at the behaviour of that small group of people and they in no way represent the general population..
    Muslims are welcome but the Innocent Men with red hair & beards are ran out of Kildare by the Facebook Mob ? .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Ya'll have to listen to this Liveline piece , it's hilarious.

http://tunein.com/search/?query=liveline%20mistaken%20identity Just click on the first link

Michele from Monasterevin says that there has been 'repeated reports' of attempted abductions in her area in an attempt to justify the actions of the 'concerned parents', in her area.

Apparently the Gardai and the local national school had sent out text messages to warn the concerned parents of the imminent danger of a pedophile abducting children in the area, and it's not the first time folks, lol. No evidence to back up if this was true by the way. "paedophile alert text messages" from the Gardai, lol

Then she goes on to say that all those reports turned out to be false but nevertheless those reports were 'there'.

She admits that the reports were wrong but supports the activity of the mob by suggesting 'what if the next time it's real'.

The presenter puts it to her that her children are more at risk from being run down by a car than being abducted by a paedophile but she argues that she helps them cross the road, lol.

I ordinarily would never lol in a post but in this post I will make an exception. She is so stupid she cracks me up big time.

AllForIt wrote: »

http://tunein.com/search/?query=liveline%20mistaken%20identity Just click on the first link

Michele from Monasterevin says that there has been 'repeated reports' of attempted abductions in her area in an attempt to justify the actions of the 'concerned parents', in her area.

Apparently the Gardai and the local national school had sent out text messages to warn the concerned parents of the imminent danger of a pedophile abducting children in the area, and it's not the first time folks, lol. No evidence to back up if this was true by the way. "Pedophile alert text messages" from the Gardai, lol

Then she goes on to say that all those reports turned out to be false but nevertheless those reports were 'there'.

She admits that the reports were wrong but supports the activity of the mob by suggesting 'what if the next time it's real'.

The presenter puts it to her that her children are more at risk from being run down by a car than being abducted by a pedophile and she's argues that she helps them cross the road, lol.

I ordinarily would never lol in a post but in this post I will make an exception. She is so stupid she cracks me up big time.
    She comes across as the most stupid of people.

Can someone really be as stupid and devoid of basic intelligence as that?

God help her kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

After reading the tinder rape case thread, there are people here on boards who would have the innocent man locked up "just in case"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

AllForIt wrote: »

Apparently the Gardai and the local national school had sent out text messages to warn the concerned parents of the imminent danger of a pedophile abducting children in the area, and it's not the first time folks, lol. No evidence to back up if this was true by the way. "Pedophile alert text messages" from the Gardai, lol

The presenter puts it to her that her children are more at risk from being run down by a car than being abducted by a pedophile and she's argues that she helps them cross the road, lol.

If you truly are concerned for your children's welfare would your first port of call not be the Gardai? The people trained to deal with situations, the people there for that purpose?

This wasn't about concern for their children. It was mob mentality taking over, nothing more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

After reading the tinder rape case thread, there are people here on boards who would have the innocent man locked up "just in case"

Found not guilty doesn't necessarily equate to innocent...there is, quite rightly, a very high standard of proof required and many crimes are committed without handy eye witnesses or CCTV coverage. That uncomfortable fact coupled with lousy sentencing even when there is a guilty verdict and you have the perfect breeding ground for vigilante idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Muslims are welcome but the Innocent Men with red hair & beards are ran out of Kildare by the Facebook Mob ? .

Er, yeah, okay, but Muslim isn't a synonym for "terrorist".

The ongoing stories about Islamist terrorist attacks and a mob of idiots launching themselves at some poor guy accused of being a certain paedophile are absolutely unrelated. There isn't an anti-red hair Muslim brigade running all red-haired men out of Kildare. Because that would be ridiculous.

As for the Mississippi link...that's a tad hysterical.
    CeilingFly wrote: »
    She comes across as the most stupid of people.

Can someone really be as stupid and devoid of basic intelligence as that?

God help her kids.

I'm sure she'd be just as understanding if next time she was the one accused of being a paedophile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,852 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Samaris wrote: »

I'm sure she'd be just as understanding if next time she was the one accused of being a paedophile.

Very well sarcastically put. I like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,075 ✭✭✭MarkY91

To be fair he does look like my interpretation of how a paedophile would look. He should be hired in a movie yo okay the part of one.

As before, hope Simon Pegg never visits Monasterevin. Michelle will have the Kildare Mob after him too.

Simon-Pegg-simon-pegg-663193_278_329.jpg

It would be interesting to do a full background check on Ms. Michelle - I'm sure she's got a few cobwebs in her closet

It's funny, pegg played the part of a paedophile in the brass eye paedophile special many years ago, where the presenter puts him in the stocks.

And you know, the kildare stupids would probably think its real life.