If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Do you shower every morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,769 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

Can I put forward a question to some of the older members.

What did people do in Ireland before 'showers' became a common fixture in most Irish homes. (1960s, 1970s?)

Did they take a bath every morning? Sinkwash?

bath every weekend whether ye liked it or not. Sinkwash every other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,547 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

yes, every day.

Occasionally i haven't been able and just feel awful all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

I hate showering. Its a boring chore.
    Once a week here and more if I'm doing dirty work.

Hate showering too, it's a dull, necessary chore. I shower every other day.

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Getting into bed with wet hair? No thanks.

I couldn't either so I use a hair dryer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

YOU CAN'T WASH AWAY THE FEELING OF SHAME LADS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

I couldn't either so I use a hair dryer ;)

That's good. The poster I was replying to didn't ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 14,066 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Not another shower thread! Ok so I'm a filthy pig for showering every second day unless I've been physically active in hot weather.

I know I really should shower 4 times a day, but I just don't.

Love the occasional bath to unwind in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

I have a 5 minute shower every second day where I turn the water off when it isn't wetting/rinsing. my hair/body. Having a hot shower every day is luxurious and an unnecessary use of water and energy to heat the water. This compulsion to shower every day, sometimes more than once, only came about in the last 10/15 years. Also I can remember that prior to the mid 2000s it was normal for children and adults to wear the same clothes for days on end- now people seem to wear them once and throw them in the wash. Shows the power of culture - when people started to get spoilt during the 2000s the rich started to wash their clothes after minimal wearing and the sense that this is normal began to spread downwards on the socioeconomic scale, similar to how the norm of having a shower every day spread. Every second day is more than often enough.
    It only came to Ireland in the past 10/15 years, it was elsewhere long before that. Showers themselves only really came to Ireland quite recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 959 ✭✭✭Neames

Every morning....

And after a gym session

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

elefant wrote: »
    Can barely function without a morning shower.

Same. Every Sunday morning, whether it's needed or not. Saturday evening if I'm feeling decadent. Cleanliness is next to Godliness, and I've binned Mass these last few years, so a shower is second best.,.wash away the sins. Where would you be going with a daily shower? Sure you'd only go into work and get dirty again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,756 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Do ppl really JUMP into the shower?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Every 2 to 3 days is enough. I don't see the need for hoping in the shower every 5 minutes. It's actually quite bad for your skin. You can always use wet wipes to clean your smelly areas and powder for the balls to prevent swap crotch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Diarmuidin

We have mental health issues here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

I have a shower every Day, well, when I say Day, I mean SunDay.
    That said it would be the last SunDay of the month, except in the odd February, because of the 28 days and leap years as such I could possibly skip showering in February, it gets complicated if you use the four weeks in the month pattern, which means I always end up with an extra month at the end of the year.
    Hmmm, there ye have it O.P. the truth is out now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

Diarmuidin wrote: »
    We have mental health issues here.

I've to be poked into the shower using a taser. It's feckin Ireland. It's usually freezing getting back out. Abroad, on the holliers, I'd have 11 showers a day. Nice and warm getting out. Some of these clean-freaks ought to come stay at ours. It's bloody Baltic 300 days of the year. It'd curb their enthusiasm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

When your only company is sheep and larks, it's as well to leave the showering to the evening

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

lawred2 wrote: »
    I ask because I'm sitting on a bus traveling into town and there are a number of lads who have quite clearly not had a wash this morning..

I don't get it.
    Their parents didn't teach them to look after themselves.

Some kids were not allowed to shower daily.

I shower once a day.:)

Some of my fav people though don't bath too often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I shower every 15 minutes and spend the time between showers burning my underwear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Yes. Shower every morning. Love it mostly because it loosens my back and I walk out of it ten years younger than when I walked in.

I do understand those that say it's unnatural to shower so frequently. I would bet that less than 10% of the world's population in 2017 have a daily shower. Of course it feels lovely to be fresh but it ain't natural.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Yes. Shower every morning. Love it mostly because it loosens my back and I walk out of it ten years younger than when I walked in.

I do understand those that say it's unnatural to shower so frequently. I would bet that less than 10% of the world's population in 2017 have a daily shower. Of course it feels lovely to be fresh but it ain't natural.

Tell me where you purchase these showers please :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

r
    MadDog76 wrote: »
    I shower every 15 minutes and spend the time between showers burning my underwear.

You must be working in an Nuclear Waste facility if you do that!

Seriously. If (some) Irish people are spending so much time in showers as they saying they are, where's the chance of any recovery for the economy?:confused:

Oh we're very clean, & spent all our time in the shower to show how clean & great we are.

In my time, you washed/shaved every day & had a good bath every week.

Job Done!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Shower twice a day. Once in the morning and also after training.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭GB FAN GALWAY 30

I use the shower 15 times a day.

I work in a care home for the elderly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

You can always use wet wipes to clean your smelly areas and powder for the balls to prevent swap crotch.

Surly its as easy to shower though?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Surly its as easy to shower though?

Not on you wallet it isn't, besides it can't be good to wash away all that healthy bacteria. If you're in the gym everyday or in a very physical job by all means that's understandable that you'd shower everyday but if you're not I don't see why a person should shower daily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

I use the shower 15 times a day.

I work in a care home for the elderly.

You shower with the elderly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

AllForIt wrote: »
    Do ppl really JUMP into the shower?

Well this lad certainly jumps out of it !

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057702981/2/#post102546896

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭sjb25

I shower once a day always
    I work shifts so if working days I shower in the morning if I'm on nights in the evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭tedpan

murpho999 wrote:
    having thrown their previous underwear out after one use.
    You wear your underwear more than once and everyone on boards loves the comment. Lol!

I shower daily, wife every second day..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

depends on when I last showered or what I did in the meantime