Mens Rights Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,577 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

JRant wrote:
    We have lobby groups/quangos funded by the taxpayer that help set national policy on certain issues. These groups completely ignore half the population. Take the Equality Authority, they would be best served changing tgeir name as far as I'm concerned. So yes,as far as I'm concerned there is a lot of hypocrisy going on under the guise of "equality".

I can't say i know much about the taxpayer funded lobbies​ who don't advocate for men's interests. What has the equality authority done wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,447 ✭✭✭Calhoun

Yah its quite subtle, i didnt like the format of the article. All the headings in an article so small was a bit OTT.

The clear message for men i took from it was expect no thanks nor gains for advancing womans rights.

Calhoun wrote:
    The clear message for men i took from it was expect no thanks nor gains for advancing womans rights.

It depends on which parts of Watson's campaign you're talking about. For example the part about releasing children from gender stereotypes isnt advantageous to one gender or the other. I imagibe most people now a family where a boy asked Santa for a Barbie or something similar. I remember it being talked about for ages when one of my classmate's brothers asked for a doll for Christmas. It was genuine village gossip.

It's incredible to think children can be given limiting beliefs​ from such a young age. Getting rid of those kinds of limiting beliefs is it's own reward for the next generation who don't experience those gender stereotypes. Though they'll probably never appreciate it so they'll never thank you for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

Men Rights that is Joke of word you have no Mens Rights in Ireland you will be walked on .

It depends on which parts of Watson's campaign you're talking about. For example the part about releasing children from gender stereotypes isnt advantageous to one gender or the other. I imagibe most people now a family where a boy asked Santa for a Barbie or something similar. I remember it being talked about for ages when one of my classmate's brothers asked for a doll for Christmas. It was genuine village gossip.

It's incredible to think children can be given limiting beliefs​ from such a young age. Getting rid of those kinds of limiting beliefs is it's own reward for the next generation who don't experience those gender stereotypes. Though they'll probably never appreciate it so they'll never thank you for it.

At the same time i disagree with making everything gender neutral or dressing boys in dresses. If a boy or girl want toys that would have been marketted at opposite sex fair enough but i have no interest in dressing my kids as two little men and giving them boys names just for the craic of it.

Watson at the moment is all over the place, the shine has come off her for some feminists because of that photoshoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,853 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Zulu wrote: »
    Oh right so the person who creates the most money for the firm shouldn't make partner is it?

you will like this

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

Calhoun wrote:
    At the same time i disagree with making everything gender neutral or dressing boys in dresses. If a boy or girl want toys that would have been marketted at opposite sex fair enough but i have no interest in dressing my kids as two little men and giving them boys names just for the craic of it.

I'd send those as two fairly unrelated things though wouldn't you? One is a child telling you about their interests, the other is a parent deciding how to dress the child. Why conflate them?
    Calhoun wrote:
    Watson at the moment is all over the place, the shine has come off her for some feminists because of that photoshoot.

I've no idea what that is. Celebrity gossip bores me tbh. What was the significance of the photoshoot?

I'd send those as two fairly unrelated things though wouldn't you? One is a child telling you about their interests, the other is a parent deciding how to dress the child. Why conflate them?

I've no idea what that is. Celebrity gossip bores me tbh. What was the significance of the photoshoot?

Agreed on top point.

On the one below I personally don't see the problem she did a near nude shoot for a fashion designer, apparently she is a hypocrite.

Calhoun wrote:
    On the one below I personally don't see the problem she did a near nude shoot for a fashion designer, apparently she is a hypocrite.

I don't get it. Did she choose to do it? She can do what she likes as far as I'm concerned.

Oh you're pointing to another instance of women disagreeing with a feminist. It really seems to delight some of the posters on this forum to see that happening. Naturally, I don't care what she chooses to do in her free time. I imagine you'd agree with that.

I don't get it. Did she choose to do it? She can do what she likes as far as I'm concerned.

Oh you're pointing to another instance of women disagreeing with a feminist. It really seems to delight some of the posters on this forum to see that happening. Naturally, I don't care what she chooses to do in her free time. I imagine you'd agree with that.

That would be my point.

I am not pointing at another instance of just women she is under fire from feminists and I was commenting on how she is taking some heat at the moment as there are a good few articles about it.

Calhoun wrote:
    I am not pointing at another instance of just women she is under fire from feminists and I was commenting on how she is taking some heat at the moment as there are a good few articles about it.

That's for them to discuss amount get themselves I suppose. We don't object to her use of free time. As long as she doesn't let it stop her good work, I wouldn't go any further than to say I support everyone's right to speak d their fee time as they wish.

So she cops flack and as a human it has an affect on her and keeps doing her work regardless. It's an admirable trait in a person to keep doing what they believe is good work in spite of taking abuse for it, like the point about freeing children from unnecessary gender restrictions. Fair play. Would you agree it's an example the men's rights advodates could benefit from following?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,953 ✭✭✭iptba

Chechen authorities rounding up and killing gay men in 'prophylactic purge,' Russian paper says
    By PATRICK REEVELL
    MOSCOW — Apr 4, 2017
    http://abcnews.go.com/International/chechen-authorities-rounding-killing-gay-men-prophylactic-purge/story?id=46541508

Minister to unveil plans to diversify teaching profession
    Recent research showed that most teachers are white, female and middle-class
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/education/minister-to-unveil-plans-to-diversify-teaching-profession-1.3051122
    Why are so many teachers white, Irish, middle-class women?
    Diversity remains a challenge with few men or people from disadvantaged backgrounds entering the profession
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/education/why-are-so-many-teachers-white-irish-middle-class-women-1.3010251
    Gender is mentioned in the heading or subheading for these articles but nowhere else that I saw on a quick read.

iptba wrote: »
    Gender is mentioned in the heading or subheading for these articles but nowhere else that I saw on a quick read.

"white" muh US media :pac:

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

There doesn't seem to be anything on gender in the detailed plans (on a quick read):
    http://www.education.ie/en/Press-Events/Press-Releases/2017-Press-Releases/PR17-04-17.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

There doesn't seem to be anything on gender in the detailed plans (on a quick read):
    http://www.education.ie/en/Press-Events/Press-Releases/2017-Press-Releases/PR17-04-17.html

So basically they want black women, traveller women, brown women and disabled women? What is so toxic about men. Can they not bring themselves to say we need more men in teaching.

Here is the ministers email if anyone wants to contact him. richard_bruton@education.gov.ie

red ears wrote: »
    So basically they want black women, traveller women, brown women and disabled women? What is so toxic about men. Can they not bring themselves to say we need more men in teaching.

Here is the ministers email if anyone wants to contact him. richard_bruton@education.gov.ie

also working class women

red ears wrote: »

Do they actually say no men allowed?

More screenings of the documentary blocked (Australia)
    Dendy cancels screenings of The Red Pill
    Frank Chung, news.com.au
    April 20, 2017 2:21am

DENDY has become the latest cinema to ban a controversial film exploring the men’s rights movement, following pressure from feminist groups.

A sold-out April 26 session at Dendy Newtown for The Red Pill, a documentary by US filmmaker Cassie Jaye, has been cancelled, and a session scheduled for Dendy Canberra on May 17 also appears to have been ditched.
    continues at:
    http://www.couriermail.com.au/business/companies/dendy-cancels-screenings-of-the-red-pill/news-story/396bd2c28948e2b31a75412eda75e1d5

Charities sound the alarm on male 'honour abuse'
    By Katie Razzall & Yasminara Khan
    BBC Newsnight
    11 April 2017

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-39485348
    Honour abuse is usually associated with women from Muslim, Sikh or Hindu backgrounds and happens when they are seen to have "shamed" their community.

One charity, Jeena, said that one in five cases it handles involves men.

Another, Karma Nirvana, says calls from men to its helpline are up - and this is "just the tip of the iceberg" as many are afraid to come forward.
    Research by BBC Newsnight showed that men from conservative communities were particularly reluctant to go to the police. The men saw honour abuse as something that only women could report and receive support for.

One man told Newsnight that when he reported domestic abuse by his wife to the police, he was treated as the perpetrator, which left him feeling more isolated and discouraged him from talking to anyone else.

I have previously wondered why women/girls were seen as the only victims of forced marriages. The boy/man presumably would also generally not wish to marry somebody they weren't in love with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,178 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

I have previously wondered why women/girls were seen as the only victims of forced marriages. The boy/man presumably would also generally not wish to marry somebody they weren't in love with.

I know two Indian guys who did not want to get married (as a general thing, not that they objected to their matches per-se); one only got married because he was at an age where people would start to ask questions of whether or not there was "something wrong with him" although we [as in his workmates] all thought he was gay. The other put off going home for years because he knew that his family would marry him off when he went back.

So it's not as unusual as you might think.

It's probably because there are/were more circumstances where women are viewed as property can be involved in arranged marriages. Like the way a number of countries have laws to the effect that of a woman being raped which is primarily seen as an offence against her father (as the woman is her father's property), rather than an offence against the raped woman. The remedy in those instances is for the rapist to marry the victim in an arranged marriage. There's a famous bible passage where the legal remedy for rape is for the victim to pay the victim's father 50 shekels and marry his daughter, the rape victim. 

But as Lemming points out there's no reason why the man in an arranged marriage would be any happier about the marriage than the woman if neither of them had any influence in arranging the marriage. Given that women were traditionally treated as the lesser party in the marriage, you'd could reasonably assume that they have less influence in the arrangement. For example I could imagine a situation where a man could chat with his prospective father in law to arrange a marriage with his daughter without the daughter being involved in the decision. But I can't really imagine a situation where a woman could do the same to make an arrangement with the in-laws without the man's involvement. 

Any party to an arranged marriage could be forced to do it against their will. It's a backward practice and shouldn't be forced on anyone.

Irish women's advocates seem to get a lot of things trending on Twitter. The following is a snapshot from the last 4 (?) weeks or so:

#WomeninScienceDay

#CEDAWIRL

#womensinspire

#talkingequality

#womenintech

#womensinspire (again)

#womeninfilmire

#InternationalWomensDay
    #daywithoutawoman
    #IWD2017

#WomenonWalls

#WomenXBorders

Here are some more since then. These are copied from what is trending that I see on my PC which only shows the top 10 (some people can see the top 20).

A lot of what trends is international news, sport and celebrities. These make up quite a lot of the issues that trend.

Women

#womensinspire (again)

#PlanetWoman

#WIN2017 (women's inspiration network)

#galkindness

#LostGirls

#womensstrategy

#shemazinghpawards

#womensinspire (again)

#womensaid2016

#markievicz17

Listen up, feministas, we've moved on from gender war
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/ian-odoherty/listen-up-feministas-weve-moved-on-from-gender-war-35731792.html

When you think of N?ir?n O'Sullivan, what springs to mind?

Well, I'm no pollster (if only because some of my predictions have actually been accurate) but I imagine most of the following would come up in conversation - whistle-blowers, McCabe, a million dodgy breathalyser tests, serious financial irregularities and that weird sense of wounded indignation which pours forth whenever a member of Official Ireland is placed under any sort of scrutiny.

And if we're to continue the word-association game, words I don't think would feature particularly prominently?

Well, mother, wife, woman are the most obvious ones.

Yet in the last week we've been treated to something of a fightback on behalf of O'Sullivan from some people who seem to think that any attack on the embattled Garda Commissioner is somehow rooted in sexism.

It's not. The problem with O'Sullivan isn't that she's a woman. It's that she's one of the lads, the product of a policing culture which has taken a battering in the public eye.

The Conceptual Penis as a Social Construct: A Sokal-Style Hoax on Gender Studies
    by Peter Boghossian, Ed.D. (aka Peter Boyle, Ed.D.)
    and James Lindsay, Ph.D. (aka, Jamie Lindsay, Ph.D.)
    http://www.skeptic.com/reading_room/conceptual-penis-social-contruct-sokal-style-hoax-on-gender-studies/

I'm not totally against the Gender Studies, but there seems to be quite a lot of problems with it in its current format.

Over the last day or two, this Twitter account https://twitter.com/RealPeerReview has been highlighting dodgy Gender Studies papers that one could almost believe were hoaxes (except they are not).

http://www.skeptic.com/reading_room/conceptual-penis-social-contruct-sokal-style-hoax-on-gender-studies/

I'm not totally against the Gender Studies, but there seems to be quite a lot of problems with it in its current format.

Over the last day or two, this Twitter account https://twitter.com/RealPeerReview has been highlighting dodgy Gender Studies papers that one could almost believe were hoaxes (except they are not).

Why not? its leftist anti male garbage :pac:

“After completing the paper, we read it carefully to ensure it didn’t say anything meaningful, and as neither one of us could determine what it is actually about, we deemed it a success.” :pac:

silverharp wrote: »
    Why not? its leftist anti male garbage :pac:

“After completing the paper, we read it carefully to ensure it didn’t say anything meaningful, and as neither one of us could determine what it is actually about, we deemed it a success.” :pac:
    Maybe I should have been clearer that I'm not against the concept.
    For example, giving people questionnaires and varying the gender of the person described and seeing how that affects results. I think such research might have the potential to reveal interesting differences.

Maybe I should have been clearer that I'm not against the concept.
    For example, giving people questionnaires and varying the gender of the person described and seeing how that affects results. I think such research might have the potential to reveal interesting differences.

for sure if its coming out of a science dept. I wouldnt trust anything from a "gender studies dept" the whole area should be closed down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Not sure if this is the correct thread for this but:

Three women rape man, 23, for THREE days after drugging and kidnapping him

A South African man was left traumatized after being drugged and raped 'numerous' times over three days by three female assailants.
    The 23-year-old's ordeal began when he hailed down a communal taxi in eastern Pretoria on Friday - which had three young women inside.
    The taxi began to change direction and the man was ordered to sit in the front.
    He was then injected within an unknown substance and passed out

Notice the article is very much down the pecking order of articles.