Have you got a Public Services Card?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

McGaggs wrote: »
    Papers please.

It won't be "papers please " it will be "PSC please ".
    What's the problem with that?
    When a Gardai asks to see your driving licence, tv license, dog licence you just show it.
    What's the difference if it's a little plastic card?
    My brother lives in France and works in Switzerland and he has to show his ID all the time.

I have one and it's handy when I forget my PPS number. It would be great if it could be merged with other cards like Medical Card, Driving Licence etc. Maybe in the distant future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

I have a couple of months left on Passport.So I definitely need one of these before renewing passport?

I have one and it's handy when I forget my PPS number. It would be great if it could be merged with other cards like Medical Card, Driving Licence etc. Maybe in the distant future.

Not too distant I would imagine.
    It'll be one card covers everything.

Johngoose wrote: »
    I have a couple of months left on Passport.So I definitely need one of these before renewing passport?

No you don't need one at all.
    Right now it's only if your an adult applying for a Passport for the first time ever, or if you had a passport, it expired 10+ ago, and now you can't find it.
    You can renew your passport online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,964 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I got one years ago but unless you're claiming a payment, you'll never need it (I had been made redundant at the time)

As for the post about using it for Revenue, passport, driving licence (renewal in my case), motor tax etc.. Not so. I've used all of those services within the last 6 months and was never asked if I had a PS card.

Agree with others. Sending these out is another wasteful exercise that they've been at for years but which most people will never use or throw in a drawer because it came from welfare and thus assume isn't applicable to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

infogiver wrote: »
    It won't be "papers please " it will be "PSC please ".
    What's the problem with that?
    When a Gardai asks to see your driving licence, tv license, dog licence you just show it.
    What's the difference if it's a little plastic card?
    My brother lives in France and works in Switzerland and he has to show his ID all the time.

The guards have never asked me for any of those. The issues is being told that I'm not allowed out in public without carrying a government microchip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Hmm. First I am hearing of this, and I renewed my passport last month no bother.

Although, the last dealings I had with social welfare was after being made redundant, and was at an address that I have not lived at for almost 5 years, if I was to be sent anything, would it have been to there, or the current address linked to my PPS number? Saying all that, as I have not required any services from them in that time, and don't plan or expect to anytime soon, is it really worth my while seeking or investigating it.

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I got one years ago but unless you're claiming a payment, you'll never need it (I had been made redundant at the time)

As for the post about using it for Revenue, passport, driving licence (renewal in my case), motor tax etc.. Not so. I've used all of those services within the last 6 months and was never asked if I had a PS card.

Agree with others. Sending these out is another wasteful exercise that they've been at for years but which most people will never use or throw in a drawer because it came from welfare and thus assume isn't applicable to them.

Well if your planning to do your driving test now you need one.
    If your planning to be 66 and get Free Travel you need one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭SPDUB

Johngoose wrote: »

No , it's just currently for 1st time passport applications and from 1st June 1st time driving licences

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Hmm. First I am hearing of this, and I renewed my passport last month no bother.

Although, the last dealings I had with social welfare was after being made redundant, and was at an address that I have not lived at for almost 5 years, if I was to be sent anything, would it have been to there, or the current address linked to my PPS number? Saying all that, as I have not required any services from them in that time, and don't plan or expect to anytime soon, is it really worth my while seeking or investigating it.

Not renewals.
    https://www.dfa.ie/passports-citizenship/top-passport-questions/new-requirements-for-first-time-adult-applicants/

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/irish_social_welfare_system/public_services_card.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Yes, I have one. It should really be a valid form of I.D considering the amount of I.D required to apply for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Applied for one when looking to organise paternity leave under the new measures brought in last year.

Went through the process, never actually received my card, and the company I work for decided not to offer top ups so I didn't take that leave.

The process was easy enough in terms of what I thought was getting one sorted, but never actually got it in the post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭heroics

Needed one to get paternity leave.

I have to say it was very handy that they only open during working hours. Made it really easy to get it. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

heroics wrote: »
    Needed one to get paternity leave.

I have to say it was very handy that they only open during working hours. Made it really easy to get it. :rolleyes:
    You need one for Paternity Benefit but not for Paternity Leave but it is weird that you'd need one for PB at all. Normally you get one of these if you are already in the social welfare system and they haven't been fully rolled out to the non SW public yet so how do they expect ordinary working people to have them in advance of claiming a benefit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,873 ✭✭✭heroics

You need one for Paternity Benefit but not for Paternity Leave but it is weird that you'd need one for PB at all. Normally you get one of these if you are already in the social welfare system and they haven't been fully rolled out to the non SW public yet so how do they expect ordinary working people to have them in advance of claiming a benefit?

I found it a PITA to be honest. Went online to apply for PB. needed the card to be able to log in to register for the benefit. Then had to book appt and finish work early so I could go and get one. If they are forcing everyone to get one then they should have more flexible hours than for example Bray Mon - Wed & Fri: 9:15 - 17:00, Thurs: 9:15 - 15:00 Closed for lunch each day between 12:30 and 14:00. You cant even go during your lunch hour if you work close by.

These times are grand if you are in receipt of benefits because you are not working but they don't really allow for people accessing the services that have a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I just booked the appointment now for it as I'll need to renew my passport later on in the year and you'll need a PSC for this from now on :rolleyes:
    Registered, made the appointment and then it asked me to verify my basic account. Stuck in PPS number and got this:

An initial check of the information we have on file for you has identified an issue that requires you to call into a DSP Local Office.

Dafuq?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

bear1 wrote: »
    I just booked the appointment now for it as I'll need to renew my passport later on in the year and you'll need a PSC for this from now on :rolleyes:
    Registered, made the appointment and then it asked me to verify my basic account. Stuck in PPS number and got this:

An initial check of the information we have on file for you has identified an issue that requires you to call into a DSP Local Office.

Dafuq?

Everyone needs to go into an office or if you're in town , pop into the old fas office in dolier at.

Ah right. I'm going to the Loughrea office so I'm hoping it's an in and out job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,252 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Ah right. I'm going to the Loughrea office so I'm hoping it's an in and out job.

Call them first. Some places require an appointment. Others have walk in slots. Can't imagine loughrea to be busy

Bring an ID and proof of address

Call them first. Some places require an appointment. Others have walk in slots. Can't imagine loughrea to be busy

Bring an ID and proof of address

Already booked through the system so that's grand. It was when it asked me to validate my account with the PPS that it said there is an issue with my details and I need to call into them.
    Wonder if I'm being arrested :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Already booked through the system so that's grand. It was when it asked me to validate my account with the PPS that it said there is an issue with my details and I need to call into them.
    Wonder if I'm being arrested :D

Did it successfully give you an appointment without verifying the account?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Yes it did, June 1st.

• Subscribers, Paid Member Posts: 45,431 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

They sent me out a letter a month ago, offering me a midday appointment during work hours in their offices 60 kms from my work.

They can go fcuk

sydthebeat wrote: »
    They sent me out a letter a month ago, offering me a midday appointment during work hours in their offices 60 kms from my work.

They can go fcuk

That's your business but you can't moan then when you need a PSC for something and you haven't got one.
    Your surely taking a few days holidays in the summer.
    Just make an appointment for a time that suits you and get it done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭trellheim

Do you need a PSC for passport renewal - I thought you did not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

I see no fear in having one but I can see an awful lot of grief down the line in not having one.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭koumi

multipass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭constance tench

SPDUB wrote: »
    Why are they making you get one if you are now applying for a passport or a learner driving licence .

It can't be to spot duplicates as they already have a picture .

It's that kind of creeping reach that makes me wary of them.

What next ? You'll need one to buy a TV licence or dog licence .

I just wouldn't be buying those licence and I agree with both of them .

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/state-faces-60m-bill-for-public-services-cards-by-end-of-year-1.3091143?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fnews%2Fireland%2Firish-news%2Fstate-faces-60m-bill-for-public-services-cards-by-end-of-year-1.3091143

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭I love Sean nos

Yip. Had to get one in order to claim the two weeks paternity leave.
    Strange. I had some paternity leave in March and I didn't need the card for the application. The missus is on maternity right now and didn't need the card for the application either.