Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda investigated after CCTV showing arrest of naked, distressed woman goes viral.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 157 ✭✭biscuithead

infogiver wrote: »
    Not a poor desicion at all. Inexcusable.
    Not worthy of a jail sentence of course thats ridiculous but should be sacked as soon as even the filming on the mobile phone is confirmed never mind the Whatsapp bit.
    And potential future employers deserve to know what the make up of this guys character is like, so I'd like him named and shamed.

Now, do you want just the garda to be sacked or do you want all the members of the WhatsApp group sacked as well since anyone of them would have released it to Facebook. How comprehensive do you want the sacking frenzy to go? Do you want to also sack the people who vetted/trained this garda because they let such an unsavoury character onto the force? Slip through the net, so to speak? Do you want all the gardai who knew that he recorded the CCTV footage on his phone and didn't grab it out of his hand and smash it and then report him....do you want all of them to be sacked too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Now, do you want just the garda to be sacked or do you want all the members of the WhatsApp group sacked as well since anyone of them would have released it to Facebook. How comprehensive do you want the sacking frenzy to go? Do you want to also sack the people who vetted/trained this garda because they let such an unsavoury character onto the force? Slip through the net, so to speak? Do you want all the gardai who knew that he recorded the CCTV footage on his phone and didn't grab it out of his hand and smash it and then report him....do you want all of them to be sacked too?
    Members of the whatsapp group that were gaurds and not report it-sacked

Vetting people-not sacked

All gaurds that knew/seen him record on the phone and not report it/stop him....reprimanded and demoted where possible

Not too much to ask surly??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

What exact point are you trying to make? That this is no big deal?

Stop attacking others posts and put forward your own point of view if you have one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

GSOC and the Garda themselves are investigating the matter, maybe put away the pitchforks until a conclusion is reached. If true the Garda in question was incredibly stupid in their actions I however do not believe they foresaw the results of their actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I remember a few years ago in Galway, I think it was Good Friday, seeing a young woman walk down shop street completely naked. She had her hands in her mouth and was obviously either high on drugs or not in any fit mental state. Either way she was completely vulnerable. It was actually really shocking and a distressing thing to witness. I called the Guards immediately and told them what was going on they said they'd be right there. In all that time I didn't see one person trying to film this girl, everyone looked shocked and really concerned for her.

I just had to leave it at that and let the Guards follow it up because I wasn't comfortable following her to see where she was going and was she okay. If I saw the same thing today I'd still call the Guards. The actions of one moron should not mean that confidence in the whole force should be shattered- but I do see how this could be the case for some people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭infogiver

You say he was dispatched to help her when he wasn't and now that equates to "Ugh, well, uh, HE WAS ON DUTY!!"

But he was.
    You think this is just fine.
    I hope to God your not a public servant.

The Garda who filmed sacked named and shamed
    The Garda that didn't stop him from filming sent to a retraining course.
    Nothing else.
    What is your own opinion of his actions btw?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

nhunter100 wrote: »
    GSOC and the Garda themselves are investigating the matter, maybe put away the pitchforks until a conclusion is reached. If true the Garda in question was incredibly stupid in their actions I however do not believe they foresaw the results of their actions.

I presume it's sarcasm when you say that the Garda and GSOC are investigating this?

Exactly. Lack of foresight. That doesn't make it okay though. I'm sure if this hasn't come to light he'd have moved on and not given his actions that day a second thought. He'd prob be revelling in the banter of it. What he is experiencing now is regret that he was found out- not regret for shaming a vulnerable woman, who later killed herself.

pilly wrote:
    I presume it's sarcasm when you say that the Garda and GSOC are investigating this?

No it's in the Time's, contact the editors if you believe it's not true.

anna080 wrote:
    Exactly. Lack of foresight. That doesn't make it okay though. I'm sure if this hasn't come to light he'd have moved on and not given his actions that day a second thought. He'd prob be revelling in the banter of it. What he is experiencing now is regret that he was found out- not regret for shaming a vulnerable woman, who later killed herself.

I doubt if you or anyone knows what the guard in question was thinking at the time of the incident and I'm pretty sure you haven't a clue what he is going through now.

infogiver wrote:
    You think this is just fine.

Why are you saying this when the poster made no such claim or suggestion?

anna080 wrote:
    Exactly. Lack of foresight. That doesn't make it okay though.

Please point out in my comment where I suggested it was OK.

I doubt if you or anyone knows what the guard in question was thinking at the time of the incident and I'm pretty sure you haven't a clue what he is going through now.

But you seem to think they "did not forsee the results of their actions". How do you know that?

Funny how you tell everyone to "put away the pitchforks" they "did not foresee the results of their actions", but, judging by certain posts, you are more than capable of being a part of mob mentality when it suits you.

anna080 wrote:
    But you seem to think they "did not forsee the results of their actions". How do you know that?

Maybe because since I know nothing of the guard in question I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and leave my pitchfork down till I'm in possession of more facts as to whether it was a callous act or just stupidity.

anna080 wrote:
    Funny how you tell everyone to "put away the pitchforks" they "did not foresee the results of their actions", but, judging by certain posts, you are more than capable of being a part of mob mentality when it suits you.

Sorry what are you alluding to? Although it is funny to say as there is usually two 'mobs' just neither side wants to be labelled as such or see that they are. ;-)

Maybe because since I know nothing of the guard in question I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and leave my pitchfork down till I'm in possession of more facts as to whether it was a callous act or just stupidity.

Stupidity is crossing the road without looking.
    What he did was the definition of callous behaviour, and I'd describe it in no other terms.

silverharp wrote: »
    did he know that? if it was someone who was just drunk or high it would just be grouped under crazy sh1t you see in cities of which there are a near infinite amount on youtube etc.

Thank you.

It's amazing how people retroactively opportion their seething outrage.

silverharp wrote: »
    did he know that? if it was someone who was just drunk or high it would just be grouped under crazy sh1t you see in cities of which there are a near infinite amount on youtube etc.

Are those videos filmed and uploaded by people who have a duty of care, and are sworn to serve and protect the citizens of their country?

anna080 wrote:
    What he did was the definition of callous behaviour, and I'd describe it in no other terms.

Sadly nothing in life is black and white. You have claimed to know exactly what he was thinking which I find astonishing.

Nope that was you, actually. And if you don't think this act was heartless, uncaring and a complete disregard for an obviously vulnerable person, then I think that says a lot about you and quite frankly I'm done talking to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

sugarman wrote: »

Secondly, the Garda in question sent it to a private whatsapp group. Someone else in that group decided to share it or send it on until it reached facebook. I dont think there was any real intent or malicious here to defame anyone. It was probably a 'Ah you'll never guess what happened in work' type of message sent onto the lads.

I dont think the guard done a whole lot wrong, I mean the woman was recorded in the middle of the street. It not illegal to record anyone in a public place. It was stupid and imature, but thats really it.

Ah well that's okay then.

Hopefully karma gets a hold of this lad. Cos that's the only sanction he'll face in this country

anna080 wrote: »
    Are those videos filmed and uploaded by people who have a duty of care, and are sworn to serve and protect the citizens of their country?

The gaurds do not swear to serve ano protect the citizens of the country??

Only to uphold the constitution ano human rights afaik

neonsofa wrote: »
    I'm sorry, what would you like me to say about a hypothetical situation whereby a woman is riding a horse through a town naked? Was she coming from a sex party too? I really don't see what point you're making?

The point I'm making is that I wouldn't see anything innocuous about someone filming a woman naked on a horse. But then of course if a month later she committed suicide then people on here would be baying for blood.

I would imagine that if the hypothetical horse woman didn't commit suicide and was never heard from again or just went on about her life then the same people who are calling for the guard to be sacked/sued/jailed (ffs) wouldn't give a damn about her being filmed.

anna080 wrote:
    Nope that was you, actually. And if you don't think this act was heartless, uncaring and a complete disregard for an obviously vulnerable person, then I think that says a lot about you and quite frankly I'm done talking to you.

I said I doubt he knew what the consequences of his actions would be I never claimed to know his thought process, you seem to wish to attribute something to me I did not say. Why? Maybe you would to try a 'ninja edit ? It wouldn't be the first time now would it?

Please go away.

The point I'm making is that I wouldn't see anything innocuous about someone filming a woman naked on a horse. But then of course if a month later she committed suicide then people on here would be baying for blood.

I would imagine that if the hypothetical horse woman didn't commit suicide and was never heard from again or just went on about her life then the same people who are calling for the guard to be sacked/sued/jailed (ffs) wouldn't give a damn about her being filmed.

Are we into realms of make believe and easter bunnies now??

Why are you saying this when the poster made no such claim or suggestion?

Where would I be only for you....

anna080 wrote:
    Please go away.

I'll respect your request, pity not everyone listens the first time though they are asked.............

infogiver wrote:
    Where would I be only for you....

No idea... but maybe just reply to a comment without suggesting the poster has said something they didn't. Simple really.