Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda investigated after CCTV showing arrest of naked, distressed woman goes viral.

VonLuck wrote: »
    What does that have to do with the topic at hand?

Quite a f**king lot tbh. A lot of them seem (from top to bottom) unaware that the era of the Garda Complaints Board where guards investigated guards ended quite a while ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Her facebook profile is very worrying. She was obviously in an extremely bad way mentally.

Poor lady. May she rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭paleoperson

sugarman wrote: »
    Secondly, the Garda in question sent it to a private whatsapp group. Someone else in that group decided to share it or send it on until it reached facebook.

If he's the one who originally shared it then he has full responsibility for everything that then happens to it. If he had trust in the people of the group that it would never get out, well then who's responsible if it does? It's on him.
    I dont think there was any real intent or malicious here to defame anyone. It was probably a 'Ah you'll never guess what happened in work' type of message sent onto the lads.

oh that's alright then, shur if twas all done for a laff then where's the harm? I thought there was something malicious to it, but it was all just for a laugh. god forbid male policemen shouldn't be able to get a laugh out of the extreme mental turmoil of a woman before she committed suicide. </sarcasm>

He should be thrown in jail. Abusing his post like that, what a plonker.

Some police, not all, have serious, serious psychological and power issues. And you can only imagine how bad it goes when that type of control issues are mixed with hardened and tough criminals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭dirtyden

First, I saw the video and it wasn't that blurry, I could make it out.

Second, yeah we must have an awful attitude to mental health when a Garda thinks it's ok to share video footage of a clearly vulnerable woman.

Why did you watch the video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Quite a f**king lot tbh. A lot of them seem (from top to bottom) unaware that the era of the Garda Complaints Board where guards investigated guards ended quite a while ago.

Unfortunately it hasn't.

GSOC is a sham. A smokescreen to fool the public.

You make a complaint to GSOC and it sent to the Garda Division of the incident in question. There, a local Superintendent or Inspector investigates the complaint. In other words, the police are policing themselves. There is no
    oversight body.

There are a small number of cases that GSOC deal with themselves.Less than 10%. But in regard to these they are on the record as saying that the investigations are pointless as the Gardai do not cooperrate and do not share or disclose files or evidence. See the Boyle case in particular (supposed garda tout/high level drug dealer given total immunity by gardai)
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0509/391272-kieran-boylan-garda-ombudsman/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

AGS is in serious need of reform but conflating this incident with that is misguided.

It's not a organizational anomaly, rather a idiotic individual that should be sanctioned for such a stupid act.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I dont think there was any real intent or malicious here to defame anyone. It was probably a 'Ah you'll never guess what happened in work' type of message sent onto the lads.

That's an even bigger problem though. I doubt there was any calculated malice either. Based on the vast majority of guards I've encountered, I'd say it's far more likely that the guard in question is so incredibly thick that he thinks it's acceptable to send a video of a person going through a psychotic episode to "the lads" for their entertainment.

Maybe the entry requirements should be a little bit higher than just scraping five D3s in the Leaving Cert and being able to do the Loughborough Beep Test without throwing up afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,651 ✭✭✭tomofson

Her facebook profile is very worrying. She was obviously in an extremely bad way mentally.

Poor lady. May she rest in peace.

She boasts about stabbing her father then threatens to kill her brother, worrying sign indeed. Is there any truth to the stabbing allegation or is that just in her mind?

There was another young woman who was obviously mentally ill and was crying out for help on facebook for years, people mocked her, made a laugh of her. She went on to stab an innocent person in the neck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Murrisk

:(

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    Unfortunately it hasn't.

GSOC is a sham. A smokescreen to fool the public.

You make a complaint to GSOC and it sent to the Garda Division of the incident in question. There, a local Superintendent or Inspector investigates the complaint. In other words, the police are policing themselves. There is no
    oversight body.

There are a small number of cases that GSOC deal with themselves.Less than 10%. But in regard to these they are on the record as saying that the investigations are pointless as the Gardai do not cooperrate and do not share or disclose files or evidence. See the Boyle case in particular (supposed garda tout/high level drug dealer given total immunity by gardai)
    https://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0509/391272-kieran-boylan-garda-ombudsman/

Bloody hell. Reading that it seems there's a helluva long way to go until we can say the police of this state are properly policed themselves......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Just to add to the dismay, the woman heading up the new "Garda Review Body" was the one that appointed O'Sullivan. Like COME ON.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭rawn

Are people here actually taking the time to look her up on Facebook and read her profile? Have ye no respect for her or her family??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

If true the garda should be fired
    But as someone with no faith in the police force on this country i wont be syrprised when nothing comes of it.

The standard of An Garda is below acceptable most of the time. This latest incident, if it is down to a Garda leaking any footage of this woman is beyond belief. Where is the blue line with an Garda Siochana? Criminal charges should be applied, if An Garda are shown to be responsible. Then again An Garda investigating An Garda....

rawn wrote: »
    Are people here actually taking the time to look her up on Facebook and read her profile? Have ye no respect for her or her family??

Its just to get a better picture and understanding of her mind and mental state, some of us do have an interest in psychology.

tomofson wrote: »
    Its just to get a better picture and understanding of her mind and mental state, some of us do have an interest in psychology.

It's none of our business, and it's of no relevance to the thread.

RayM wrote: »
    It's none of our business, and it's of no relevance to the thread.

I would say her mental state is very relevant to the thread.

I'm sure her mental state is very relevant to the thread.

Not if you have to go snooping on a dead person's Facebook profile for it, like some kind of f*cking vulture, it isn't.

tomofson wrote:
    I would say her mental state is very relevant to the thread.

No. What is relevant to the thread is the circumstances surrounding the Garda that shared the video, NOT the woman's mental state.

I would say more than one particular issue is relevant, one of them being mental illness, after all mental illness was the root cause of the incident in the first place and led to the predicament.

But we already know she was mentally ill, why the need to poke around her Facebook page to see HOW mentally ill she was? The issue is the Garda, of course mental health in general is a large part of this topic but there is absolutely no need to be looking at her Facebook page. It's hugely disrespectful and frankly hypocritical to snoop through her page while at the same time talking about the lack of privacy she had with the video being shared!

I dont think its in anyway hypocritical, but I suppose hypocrisy is like racism you can find it in the most innocent places if you look hard enough and have enough dedication. Why is it not hypocritical to read her online blogs but it is to look at her facebook page? That really doesn't make sense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

For anyone that seen the video, was Dara assaulted, were they needlessly rough with her. in any way.... as seems from some accounts online they were.

Kinda reminds of how they reacted to this guy out in Blackrock who was also naked... you'd swear he was swinging a machete they way they tackled him.

For anyone that seen the video, was Dara assaulted, were they needlessly rough with her. in any way.... as seems from some accounts online they were.

Kinda reminds of how they reacted to this guy... you'd swear he was swinging a machete they way they were tackling him.

I have to be fair to the arresting gardai, they did seem gentle until she started getting aggressive and violent. The garda couldn't just leave her and let her walk through the streets naked, once she started kicking off, they met necessary measures I thought.

Plus she was naked walking on a fairly isolated street but was heading towards the main thoroughfare, if she had of reached o'connell street or any mainstreet in Dublin, imagine how many Facebook videos there would be?

I'd have to agree with you there, I really dont see how me saying "I hope mental illness never knocks on your door" could be offensive to anybody.

When a trolls' posts are deleted, responses are usually deleted too. Waste of time responding to (or acknowledging) them anyway, tbh.

tomofson wrote:
    I dont think its in anyway hypocritical, but I suppose hypocrisy is like racism you an find it in the most innocent places if you look hard enough and have enough dedication. Why is it not hypocritical to read her online blogs but it is to look at her facebook page? That really doesn't make sense to me.

I said nothing about her blogs. But going to her Facebook page and reading comments she wrote while having a psychotic break and then sharing details about what she said to a wider audience is totally different. It adds nothing to the discussion about the incident with the Garda but further invades her privacy.

But it does show facebook can detect possible mental illnesses/breakdowns, did you read my first comment, I mentioned I seen something similar happen before.... That was actually my only point that Facebook can recognize mental health issues. The fact you said nothing about her blogs is the point why dont you find people reading them as offensive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,264 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ED E wrote: »
    Just to add to the dismay, the woman heading up the new "Garda Review Body" was the one that appointed O'Sullivan. Like COME ON.

Appointed on a part time basis too. She's not leaving her current position to do it

Talk about being sold a pup. Don't see how it's gonna be the 'mother of all reviews' when a person from a city with huge policing issues is appointed to oversee it from abroad while dealing with her own local full-time stuff.

But hey, she has a good Irish name and a long record with making issues go away.

There are so many European policing experts. And our government went with an American who has no intention of giving it her full attention and has stark questions overshadowing the way she does her current job. They obviously don't want ant real change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

We have the gardai doing things like this, in addition to all the other recent scandals like faking breathalyser tests. a health minister denying medicine to a sick child, our social protection minister casting shame and suspicion on the unemployed and encouraging vigilantism against the poor while we operate as a tax haven for corporations and let the bankers who destroyed us walk free.

At all levels of authority, we continually allow unbelievably sick individuals to hold positions of power. We let them abuse the most vulnerable in our society, and unlike the abuse from the Catholic Church, these groups are doing it all out in the open. Since the recession I have just become so disgusted with our country, the way so many people have been just ground down into the dirt, treated like less than human beings.

It's no wonder we have so many people struggling with mental health issues and drug and alcohol abuse and that those who do often end up taking their lives. I hope that poor woman is finally at peace and in a better place. And I hope that cop never gets another night's sleep after what he did. Because God knows GSOC will do eff all.

We have the gardai doing things like this, in addition to all the other recent scandals like faking breathalyser tests. a health minister denying medicine to a sick child, our social protection minister casting shame and suspicion on the unemployed and encouraging vigilantism against the poor while we operate as a tax haven for corporations and let the bankers who destroyed us walk free.

At all levels of authority, we continually allow unbelievably sick individuals to hold positions of power. We let them abuse the most vulnerable in our society, and unlike the abuse from the Catholic Church, these groups are doing it all out in the open. Since the recession I have just become so disgusted with our country, the way so many people have been just ground down into the dirt, treated like less than human beings.

It's no wonder we have so many people struggling with mental health issues and drug and alcohol abuse and that those who do often end up taking their lives. I hope that poor woman is finally at peace and in a better place. And I hope that cop never gets another night's sleep after what he did. Because God knows GSOC will do eff all.

They planted a "tree of hope" in the gardens of Leinster House today, to support mental health awareness and suicide prevention. They might have a devil-may-care attitude towards funding our crumbling mental health services, but just look at that tree of hope...

https://twitter.com/OireachtasNews/status/862263022722699264

• Closed Accounts Posts: 281 ✭✭skankkuvhima

Did she really stab someone? Normally violent mentally ill drug addicts don't get so much sympathy on boards. Is it because of her gender or her politics?

Why is the video of that naked man get tackled by the guards allowed online? More hypocrisy to be honest.