Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marian Finucane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

"Paddy Armstong is here, and so is his solicitor".

Jaysus, Paddy doesn't even trust RTE now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Very telling audio from a Sinn Fein Ard Fheis. How quickly we forget how SF were up to their elbows in the IRA activities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭yosser hughes

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Very telling audio from a Sinn Fein Ard Fheis. How quickly we forget how SF were up to their elbows in the IRA activities.

Most people haven't forgotten. There are some younger people who may be naive enough to think otherwise and there are a lot of barstool republicans who don't care; because this kind of barbarity has never been visited upon them.So it's easy to parrot the propaganda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭mattser

Oops69 wrote: »
    This ex Garda Isn't revealing anything we don't know already , waste of an interview.

Absolutely. Cheap journalism at it's worst.

Roger_007 wrote: »

This is the bit that sickens me about the Shinners. Taking the moral high ground about the wrong doing in the Guards on one hand, and then best of pals with the guys convicted of shooting Guards on the other.

Well done to RTE for finding the world's dullest couple. I wonder did they really go to that remote island of their own volition, or were they asked to move there by their friends and family?

I didn't know Peader Tobin was in to the horses... Well, aside from Shergar of course.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

She's off again this morning...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Callan57

I didn't know Peader Tobin was in to the horses... Well, aside from Shergar of course.

:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

balanced discussion on water charges and the protests made up of a panal that admited live on air theyre ALL in favor of charges.

yup sounds like RTE alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭The Parish Priest.

Why does that fake Averil power get so much airtime ?

So if a man driving home with a couple of glasses of Guinness on him, and meets a tourist driving on the wrong side of the road, and the man is unable to take evasive action as the tourist's car is bounding towards him...........It's his fault for having a couple of glasses of Guinness?

Averill Power is off the wall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

Brendan o connor did'nt invite all these Marion Luvvies on , he's having difficulty managing them although its better than the usual mutual love-in dinner party with a bit of irish rugby team heroes, whatever your having yourself, it has to be saaaaaaaid and emphysematous cough/ wheezes thrown in before she turns on her hells with a " I'm outa here see ya next week, don't you know "

So if a man driving home with a couple of glasses of Guinness on him, and meets a tourist driving on the wrong side of the road, and the man is unable to take evasive action as the tourist's car is bounding towards him...........It's his fault for having a couple of glasses of Guinness?

I think the point she was making was that even on a rural road you know like the back of your hand the unexpected can still jump up and hit you "he was right, he was right as he sped along but he's just as dead as if he's been wrong"

I'd like to know what is Healy Rae's definition of "a couple" ... I'd be willing to bet it's a lot more than 2 :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Not much evasive action you can take on narrow country roads with not even a slight margin beside them. A few days ago I experienced a car coming right at me
    on my side - not a damn thing I could do except flash my lights madly at it. The fact that I was stone cold sober would not have saved me! Fortunately, the other driver reacted to my flashing lights and moved to his side of the road. :eek:

Callan57 wrote: »
    I think the point she was making was that even on a rural road you know like the back of your hand the unexpected can still jump up and hit you "he was right, he was right as he sped along but he's just as dead as if he's been wrong"

Are you a fan of Dale Carnegie? I remember that rhyme from his book.

"Here lies the body of William Jay,
    Who died maintaining his right of way“
    He was right, dead right, as he sped along,
    But he's just as dead as if he were wrong."

He was using it more as a metaphor though, not as argument against drink driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭newcavanman

Hard to beat Marians sympathetic approach to asylum seekers. No matter how bizarre or unbelievable their story, dont dare seriously question why they had to come to ireland as opposed to anywhere else in the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

I'm finding the entire interview very incoherent and hard to follow.

Tigger99 wrote: »
    I'm finding the entire interview very incoherent and hard to follow.

I agree, I though it was quite pointless & incoherent. I could get no understand at all of why the two women were claiming to be refugees ... they sounded more like economic migrants to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

from the bits i caught she sounded more like the class that used to run the country who had to do a legger for "unknown" reasons.

Serious competition for Marian now. Five minutes in to the show (still fighting my habit / inclination to switch on radio one) and I've already switched over to Yates. Far too comfortable in Marian's studio, with most of her panels seemingly agreeing about everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

Polling companies will be happy. Marian & her guests all dissed them. Finally came to the conclusion what the rest of us already knew.

I agree with Alice Leahy ... the swagger of Barry Cowen arrogance personified!

Callan57 wrote: »
    I agree with Alice Leahy ... the swagger of Barry Cowen arrogance personified!

God my blood was boiling the other morning listening to Barry Cowan. There should be some sort of rule that if your brother is part of a Government that bankrupts the country then you should not be allowed to take office.

You think given the position that his brother and his party have left the country, that he would be far more humble.

Just listening to Jack O'Connor talking about how he "joined Connolly's party" on the other station. My god, such hypocrisy. I don't think Connolly would have ever stood over the head of a union taking a wage over three times the average industrial wage from their members. Jack preaches socialism, but is as much a capitalist as Joe Duffy.

There is no justification for a union leader taking anything more than the average wage of their members without being a hypocrite.

Just listening to Jack O'Connor talking about how he "joined Connolly's party" on the other station. My god, such hypocrisy. I don't think Connolly would have ever stood over the head of a union taking a wage over three times the average industrial wage from their members. Jack preaches socialism, but is as much a capitalist as Joe Duffy.

Retiring this year and allegedly looking for a job within LP.

Donal55 wrote: »
    Retiring this year and allegedly looking for a job within LP.

Really? The way he's talking now, he sounds like he might be joining the shinners. Given Sinn Fein's similar relationship with socialism (i.e. claiming that they take the average industrial wage while having their medical bills paid for by sugar daddies, and their pensions paid for by the Northern Bank), he would probably be a good fit.

arrggghhh.. ffs I'm angry now... And on Easter Sunday.. :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Ah Rory Hearne, one of those ex student union hacks supposedly on as a researcher but just trying to increase his profile for his dream political career.

Really? The way he's talking now, he sounds like he might be joining the shinners. Given Sinn Fein's similar relationship with socialism (i.e. claiming that they take the average industrial wage while having their medical bills paid for by sugar daddies, and their pensions paid for by the Northern Bank), he would probably be a good fit.

arrggghhh.. ffs I'm angry now... And on Easter Sunday.. :-(

Just what I heard from someone within Liberty Hall.

Well thats him sorted.
    Chair of the LP from next week.