Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Ha, when she was pulling off in the car, you can see her mouthing! I'm no lip reader but I imagine it begins with a w and ends with an anker!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Somedude9 wrote: »
    Rightly so, it's not like every fourth couple is gay.

Over represented alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭theoldbreed

Bus driver came across really badly imo. I thought the way he spoke to her was quite condescending and rude. The irony! She was genuine and bubbly. I see he is commenting on all comments on Facebook too. Loves the attention of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

It's hard to say with the us driver. He was with her for about 90 minutes, we got to see 6-7 minutes of that. It's possible there were several other exchanges that we didn't get and that she's a headwrecker.

Or maybe he's a wally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Bus driver came across really badly imo. I thought the way he spoke to her was quite condescending and rude. The irony! She was genuine and bubbly. I see he is commenting on all comments on Facebook too. Loves the attention of it all.

What Facebook page? Linky?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭unichick

Did she not laugh at his hero story too? I found her rude but bus drivers aren't known for their manners either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I think the bus driver and his date were both as bad as each other to be honest. He was a bit arrogant, but she was definitely trying to put him down too.
    The Kerry lady and the Wicklow guy were a nice couple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I think the bus driver and his date were both as bad as each other to be honest. He was a bit arrogant, but she was definitely trying to put him down too.
    The Kerry lady and the Wicklow guy were a nice couple.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

If he is like that on a first date with a girl he just met over a few drinks and dinner ON TELEVISION over a trivial thing when she was just trying to have a laugh, what in god's name would he be like in private if someone irritated him!

Your one was a bit of an eeg1t herself but seriously, he was ready to hit a wall in that last scene!

"Learn some manners"!! The irony!

I think he was just fed up by then. He was right when he said he had to be on the defence, she was just being sarcastic or taking the piss too much, absolutely no conversation with her. He didn't have to say she had no manners, he could have said she was just not his type and too much work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Red Kev wrote: »
    I'd be scared to use the jacks if I was on that programme. Having a plss and letting out a ripper of a fart and then they show that to the nation.

Morto! :o

You should be morto for using the term morto!!

Learn your manners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

unichick wrote: »
    Did she not laugh at his hero story too? I found her rude but bus drivers aren't known for their manners either!

It seemed like he brought it up out of nowhere. If so, he deserved the ridicule. Nothing worse than someone blowing their own trumpet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭Somedude9

Funny I thought she was the condescending and rude one. And I know for sure if that is how she was for most of the date I'd be steaming too. The guy seemed a decent sort, where she was a bit of a knack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭Somedude9

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I think he was just fed up by then. He was right when he said he had to be on the defence, she was just being sarcastic or taking the piss too much, absolutely no conversation with her. He didn't have to say she had no manners, he could have said she was just not his type and too much work!

Why not pull her up on her lack of etiquette? Of course her response was a classless " whateveerr! "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,850 ✭✭✭FouxDaFaFa

I laughed at the end of The Notebook too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,735 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

He got pissed off that she said to the waitress that he was waiting on his chips. When she said that he look really annoyed. He said he could speak for himself.

She was only having a laugh. What a cock.
    She was trying to be a bit ladeeda though with her attitude that you can't get chips in a 'restaurant' if I remember correctly.
    He didn't find the condescending quip funny.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭Rothmans

That was the last episode!?! Talk about anticlimactic. I thought they might have had something juicy saved for the last episode. I feel cheated.

They killed the golden goose with quantity over quality. Might have gotten in more ad revenue this season but many will not bother watching again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

It's not a bad format for a show, having seen the Australian and UK versions. Some episodes were better than others though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,792 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

The problem with First Dates this season is the lack of variety.

I don't think there has been anybody over 40 on the show.

No divorcees or separated people.

Nobody with stories to tell.

Too many 19 year olds on complaining they have been 'single for years'. Wow really.

Look at the UK show and some of the funniest and interesting people were older and were out for fun.

Some bitter over divorces, some sad over deceased partners. All interesting.

They even had pensioners on who where great craic.

They should really change the format and vary the profile of participants of future seasons.

Also, put a bloody 'Push/Pull' sign on the door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

I remember one great older couple on the UK version. The lady had blue hair, she was about 60 odd but oh, she was beautiful :) The guy she met was in his 70s, a widower and had been out 'partying' till 7 am that morning. They had a great date and it was very refreshing viewing. The Irish version is people trying to further themselves on social media I think. I have seen two of the guys online since and one of them sent me a pile of abuse on Twitter because I made a throwaway Twitter status about his date. According to him I was 'ugly and stupid' ??? It was uncalled for as the comment I had made was pretty minor in comparison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I agree with the lack of variety comments. Also one thing that strikes me is how much in common some of the dates have almost to the point of having too much in common. "I like golf, oh I like golf, I play off scratch, I have an itchy ar$e...."
    Surely the Irish one has a much smaller pot of contestants than the UK one so how are the able to match similar interests? My guess is the UK one purposely avoids this to make it more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,819 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

I remember one great older couple on the UK version. The lady had blue hair, she was about 60 odd but oh, she was beautiful :) The guy she met was in his 70s, a widower and had been out 'partying' till 7 am that morning. They had a great date and it was very refreshing viewing. The Irish version is people trying to further themselves on social media I think. I have seen two of the guys online since and one of them sent me a pile of abuse on Twitter because I made a throwaway Twitter status about his date. According to him I was 'ugly and stupid' ??? It was uncalled for as the comment I had made was pretty minor in comparison.

Can you upload screenshots please? :)

That's against the rules of the site plus you can see me on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,819 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

That's against the rules of the site plus you can see me on them.

Damn :( can you even give us a few things that were said to you?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,876 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Just caught up on Thursday's episode. Wow that was harsh from the bus driver :eek: Granted, there's probably a lot we didn't see, but she didn't seem so bad to me. He could have just said he didn't want to see her again rather than go on the attack.

Anyway, I enjoyed this series immensely, and as such I'm surprised to see so many negative comments. I, like others, would like to see more variety among those taking part, but I'd imagine the field applying is almost entirely in the 20-39 age range so it must be quite difficult for the producers. I've seen the ads looking for contestants and they're crying out for male contestants in particular, so it seems like they're just trying to get enough people to actually take part rather than variety. Not liking the comments on here as well about the amount of gay couples on the show, seems some people are holding back a little on what they really want to say..

I agree that the first half of this series was better than the second, but I still enjoyed it. 6 episodes was too short for the first series, but 12 felt a bit long this time around. I think 9 would be a decent compromise for the next one. Overall I thought it was a great series and I'm looking forward to the next. It's great that the Irish adaptation has been so successful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Tigger99

Oh god at one point she gave him the finger. That was a very uncomfortable date. He seemed very embarrassed by her asking about chips, maybe the nerves of being on TV made him nervous. He was unnecessarily harsh at the end though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 870 ✭✭✭overmantle

It's healthy to see gay couples on it but proportionally, there seems to be more than you would expect. I agree that it would be nice to see a few older couples also.

Timmy just a big a pain second time round. Very conceited man.

She was very nasty to that guy 'oh you've never been in love, how sad.' That's fairly demeaning.

"So what are you looking for? An arsehole?"

Best comment of the whole series.