Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Annoying Punditisms

• Registered Users Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭The Davestator

My biggest hat is;

6 of one, half a dozen of the other to describe a hard tackle between two players.

Bugs me even more, when its shortened to 6 of one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Handbags.

• Registered Users Posts: 11 fdsfdsahhertdd

@Srameen

Fair cop. Oops!

Live by the sword, die by the sword

• Registered Users Posts: 14,377 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

gramar wrote: »
    Handbags.

Schmozzole.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

valoren wrote: »
    "This one is six pointer"

No it's not. You get 3 points if you win. Maths fail! ;)

It's called a six pointer because it has the potential to be a six point swing. For example, lets say Kirby United are 3 points ahead of Valoren FC.

If I win, I go 6 points clear. If you win, we go level. Ergo one game can have a six point differential in outcome.

If we are both playing teams at the other end of the league, if I win and you lose there is only a 3 point differential in outcome. When we play each other, that goes to 6. Hence, "6 pointer". Ofcourse you only get 3 points for a win....but if you play a team around you, the swing is bigger.

It's not complicated. Frankly I'm amazed so many people struggle with the logic behind it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,391 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

A big ask here Geoff.....

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

"Obviously, like I said, you know? The lads a top, top player."

Not obvious, you didn't just say that. Yes he is pretty good.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Kirby wrote: »
    It's called a six pointer because it has the potential to be a six point swing. For example, lets say Kirby United are 3 points ahead of Valoren FC.

If I win, I go 6 points clear. If you win, we go level. Ergo one game can have a six point differential in outcome.

If we are both playing teams at the other end of the league, if I win and you lose there is only a 3 point differential in outcome. When we play each other, that goes to 6. Hence, "6 pointer". Ofcourse you only get 3 points for a win....but if you play a team around you, the swing is bigger.

It's not complicated. Frankly I'm amazed so many people struggle with the logic behind it.

Get out of here with your algebra.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,992 ✭✭✭Korvanica

"You couldn’t write a script like this"

**** off.

Underdogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭valoren

They're parking the bus.

Clever analogy that get's overused.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Lad crosses the ball "he just puts that up in the air and says 'go on mate, head that, and the ball is hanging there saying 'head me' and doesn't he just!"

Andy Gray and his imaginary conversations between footballers and inanimate objects, and objects and footballers.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I'll tell you what.

He hasn't half hit it, has he?

He's putting himself about a bit, creating chances.

They'll be really up for this today.

They're not a bad side.

League positions mean nothing on derby day.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,881 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

Zebra3 wrote: »
    No he hasn't. He's been on a hundred grand a week, ffs.
    Or around five million a year.

Can people please quote annual salaries to save everybody from having to multiply by fifty-two?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,585 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Ok, so Messi can perform against the best defenders in the best teams in the world, BUT, can he do it on a cold November Tuesday in Stoke?

Because that, obviously, is the ultimate footballing yardstick.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭Liam28

The mangling of English grammar by football pundits, especially with verb tenses:
    Pundit: If he hits it, it goes in, the keeper's not stopping it.
    Correct: If he (had) hit it, it would have gone in, the keeper would not have stopped it.

Pundit: Who wins this?
    Correct: Who will win this?

Pundit: He has done well, for me, then, Rooney.
    Correct: I think Rooney did well.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

Deviating slightly from the topic. The words that come from a 17 stone bar stooler who never played a game in his life (although it probably applies to a lot of pundits too), when commenting on the performance of a young fella at Wembley

"He has an awful lot to learn about the game the young lad"

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Uncle_moe

Jamie Redknapp has a particular problem with the word 'literally'

"He’s literally turned him inside out."
    “He had to cut back inside onto his left, because he literally hasn’t got a right foot”
    “[Michael Owen] literally turns into a greyhound”
    Top, top punditry Jamie.

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭selwyn froggitt

Uncle_moe wrote: »

“He had to cut back inside onto his left, because he literally hasn’t got a right foot”
    Top, top punditry Jamie.

The very same Jamie that came out with this beauty.

"Peter Schmeichel will be like a father figure to Kasper Schmeichel." :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

Uncle_moe wrote: »

Top, top punditry Jamie.
    They've changed the Dictionary definition of 'literally' so that it can now mean
    1) What it's always meant
    2) Exactly the opposite (i.e. how idiot pundits use it) because it's become so common

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

Worst punditism - "he has to improve to get to the level of the Ronaldos of this world" instead of  "he has to improve to get to the level of Ronaldo"

Schoolboy defending/errors.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Raised it's head again last Friday, when a player seriously injures another player they always come out with, "I know him and he's not that type of player!"

Obviously he is.....

Often followed by, "He'll be devastated himself"

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭melon_collie

Use of th term 'for me' e.g. 'for me he is the best player on the field'. It should be ' in my opinion he is the best player on the field'.

It grinds my gears every time i hear it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

There's one for the scrapbook.

For a small fella he's great in the air.

So only beanpoles can be good at heading the ball? They'll win more headers but to say they're automatically better headers of the ball is wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,982 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

There's one commentator in rugby who drives me mad with "at the second/third/whatever time of asking" or "he's asking the questions of X team/player", and other variations on the "questions" theme.

Seriously needs to get himself a new cliché to play with :mad:

I read nearly every one of these comments in Jim Beglin's voice.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

tremenjus
    Donal Lenihan.

He looks like my Dad though so he gets away with it.