Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

seligehgit wrote: »
    He most definitely was'nt the winning or losing of that game.The head collision of Cillian and Aidan was a significant blow pardon the pun as was the MOTM performance of David Moran,an amazing display.The decision by management to persist with Ger Caff at full back with Kieran Donaghy as his direct opponent was questionable.TBH I only thought there was going to be one winner that day when it was went to extra time..Kerry.

Our real opportunity was the first day and yet again we failed to close the game out.

Having said all that Cormac Reilly's officiating that day was atrocious.

Thought that was the biggest factor in Kerry's win myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,225 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

That was the worst doing we ever got off a referee in Limerick. I'd rather just forget about it tbh.

But apart from his failure to give Enright a black what else did he do to harm Mayo ?

As the other poster alluded to, I think Mayo folks beef with Reilly is a spillover from a lot of other factors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

But apart from his failure to give Enright a black what else did he do to harm Mayo ?

Enright was on a yellow already for a tussle with COC off the ball.

Black would have been upgraded to red. Enright also hit AOS off the ball in the leadyp to the second goal and should have walked there as well.

Now a red card is no guarentee of a win. Mayo performed better the week before with 14 men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

As the other poster alluded to, I think Mayo folks beef with Reilly is a spillover from a lot of other factors.

Giving very soft frees to Kerry - mainly Donaghy. I was sitting right in front of a few of them. Gave one in extra time against Colm Boyle who's reaction summed it all up. I don't criticise referees too much but if that game was referred properly then we were in an All-Ireland final.

There were other factors of course, Hennelly's kickouts, Caff being left on Donaghy all game, the clash of heads between AOS and O'Connor etc but it doesn't take away Reilly's performance that day. The proof is there, analysts called him out on it and the GAA even demoted him because of it. I'll say no more, if you're brave enough to watch it again then go for it.

To hell or to Limerick they said! It's a game the Mayo support will never forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

Sad news coming from ballaghaderreen this evening on the passing of tommy hanley.
    RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

RD10 wrote: »
    Sad news coming from ballaghaderreen this evening on the passing of tommy hanley.
    RIP

Terrible news RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

15 years old. Awful awful when you think back to yourself at that age. Thankfully the lads got home but sadly it is only a small comfort.

RIP and best of wishes to the family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

RIP Young man, thoughts and prayers with his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Edit: To be fair to Tommy Carr I might be amalgamating his comments with Kevin McStays on the Sunday Game the night after. McStay was clearly emotional and while he showed a few token double hops from Mayo that went unpunished the fact that a Mayo man got free reign of the poor refereeing highlight clips clearly wont help on quelling the notion that Mayo were screwed. The other clip that he showed was Peter Crowley being pulled back going down the wing and barging into the Mayo man. He ignored the jersey pull and went with the subsequent barge and gave out about the free.

Well to be honest, I don't think McStay was that emotional, in fact he is generally very straight in his analysis. I think he showed more incidents where mayo were hard done by, simply because there were far more of them.
    Im no fan of blaming refs, but watch that game back, it genuinely was a terrible performance, where he seemed to just lose track of the rules. Jonny Buckley and Donnacha Walsh were going around like the bash brothers, blocking runs, fouling off the ball, fouling in group tackles, frontal charges on guys in possession and nothing, not even a tick or a word in their ear.

Donaghy fouled Cafferkey several times also, wrestling and manhandling him out of contention for the high ball as it came in, yet he was getting the frees. If that was done on the throw in it would be a free all day long. He ended up shipping a lot of criticism from fans looking for someone to blame, but the guy was hung out to dry by Reilly.

In truth the mayo lads' mistake was trying to continue to play football and were just too honest. The Kerry lads copped what was going on and fair play to them for that. However, if the thing was run properly the ref would have been reprimanded for his performance. We shouldn't simply say 'ah mayo are just sour about losing' - there is a bigger picture at play there; Mayo shouldn't have needed to be cute enough to play the ref, and it was mayo this time, but who will it be next time out? Will it cost Dublin a 3 in a row for example? This time the rather handy 'same old mayo just not good enough' attitude can sweep it under the rug, but when that isn't there, what then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Reilly was awful that day in Limerick and to suggest that he was awful for Mayo and Kerry in equal measure is simply not true, tbh. Kerry got away with murder all day. There's a reason he hasn't reffed an important match since.

That said, I still think the clash of heads between Cillian and Aidan was the biggest factor in our losing that replay. I think I knew it wasn't going to be our day when I saw that happen. But no more than Dublin last year, there should never have been a replay in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

Reilly's performance that day was just part of the culmination of f**k ups that rankles with Mayo supporters. That day turned normally sane *ish* supporters into raving loons. A lot of people are still very bitter about it. When I heard he was reffing on Sunday, I could actually feel my blood boiling and rising. All those horrible bitter feelings from that whole episode came flooding back.

Why the hell did they appoint him for this, or any Mayo match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭westsidestory

mayo.mick wrote: »
    Reilly's performance that day was just part of the culmination of f**k ups that rankles with Mayo supporters. That day turned normally sane *ish* supporters into raving loons. A lot of people are still very bitter about it. When I heard he was reffing on Sunday, I could actually feel my blood boiling and rising. All those horrible bitter feelings from that whole episode came flooding back.

Will you be taking to the pitch again this time Mayo Mick?

I'm not that Mayo Mick!

Actually don't know who named him that. I was getting a bit of stick after it, :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭homewardbound11

100 percent agree.
    Reilly bought them extra time through non existent frees . I remember BARRY John brought the free in 15 yards and not a word said .
    ENRIGHT , penalties the list went on .
    We we probably at our peak that year only to have it taken. No fault of Kerry . Kerry did what they had to do . We would have done the same .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

100 percent agree. Reilly bought them extra time through non existent frees . I remember BARRY John brought the free in 15 yards and not a word

I've said this already. That free was for pulling Donaghy off the ball which was off camera. I was down in that Corner and the referee clearly indicated as much. Reilly blew the whistle and marked the spot just to the left of the posts where BJK kicked it.

By all means lambast his performance but that free and the later one when Boyle lifted his knee into BJK were the correct calls.

Enright should have walked. Kerry wasted loads of time in Extra Time by starting fights and Reilly couldn't control it. Kerry picked up some soft frees throughout the match. However Reilly made mistakes on both sides that day. The last free in normal time given against Moran I believe,which gave Hennelly the free to try and win it was for nothing IMO. Kerry batted it put and Mayo had possession but Reilly blew it up before Moran could kick it. I thought that was harsh even though the 3 minutes had just elapsed.

Like many posters on here I just don't think it was Reillys fault. Cafferky and the clash between O'Shea and O'Connor stand out as far bigger reasons for the loss.

Look that's in the past, hopefully ye can get it together and beat Donegal by between 6 and 10 points, Dublin beat Monaghan and Kerry beat Tyrone and we're all happy.

I see the Mayo ladies are playing Kerry in Swinford, at the same time as the Mayo v Donegal game in MacHale. Why can they not be a double header, same as how Dublin seem to manage it, for their minors, hurlers and only last week their ladies? :confused::confused::confused:

C8HB0iGXUAIRzlt.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

I see the Mayo ladies are playing Kerry in Swinford, at the same time as the Mayo v Donegal game in MacHale. Why can they not be a double header, same as how Dublin seem to manage it, for their minors, hurlers and only last week their ladies? :confused::confused::confused:

C8HB0iGXUAIRzlt.jpg

What condition is McHale Park in? Maybe it is to protect the pitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

What condition is McHale Park in? Maybe it is to protect the pitch?

Possibly, can't speak for McHale Park but there's still plenty of give in the ground. While I can see the appeal of a double header, there would be murder if the pitch wasn't in as best a condition as possible for such a crucial match.

As an aside, I see Mitchels have started fundraising for a big 4g pitch development. That should come in handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,109 ✭✭✭Oldtree

C8HB0iGXUAIRzlt.jpg

Double header, now that would have been a really great day out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭NabyLadistheman

Surely that Donegal U-21 semi-final being postponed until next week is favourable to Mayo? How many of the Donegal seniors that would be playing will miss this Sunday's game?

was thinking same re. a double header myself.
    probably down to the pitch.
    just read ryan mchugh is out for the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Surely that Donegal U-21 semi-final being postponed until next week is favourable to Mayo? How many of the Donegal seniors that would be playing will miss this Sunday's game?

Those between both panels will still feature, as usual.

Tough going for the lads involved but sure they're only young fellas!

Mattie Donnelly has been handed a one match ban in the aftermath of his altercation with Aidan O Shea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Mayo Club 51

Mayo team for Sunday has just been announced;

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
    2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
    3. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
    4. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
    5. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
    6. Lee Keegan (Westport)
    7. Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
    8. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
    9. Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels)
    10. Shane Nally (Garrymore)
    11. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, Capt)
    12. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
    13. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
    14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
    15. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)

Mayo team for Sunday has just been announced;

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
    2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
    3. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
    4. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
    5. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
    6. Lee Keegan (Westport)
    7. Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)
    8. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
    9. Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels)
    10. Shane Nally (Garrymore)
    11. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, Capt)
    12. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
    13. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
    14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)
    15. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)

Happy with that team. i'd like to see diarmuid stay in that position for some of the game to see how he gets on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites) 2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore) 3. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis) 4. Chris Barrett (Belmullet) 5. Colm Boyle (Davitts) 6. Lee Keegan (Westport) 7. Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels) 8. Tom Parsons (Charlestown) 9. Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels) 10. Shane Nally (Garrymore) 11. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, Capt) 12. Fergal Boland (Aghamore) 13. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore) 14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen) 15. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)

That's very close to full strength, 11/12 championship starters there I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭squiredanaher

That's very close to full strength, 11/12 championship starters there I reckon

Certainly looks good on paper. Throw in aos and sos and its even stronger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭SeanJ09

What game are tg4 showing tomorrow then?