Bus Eireann

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

ricero wrote: »
    Shame on minister shane ross. His tenure as minister of transport has been deplorable

What do you want him to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

ThisRegard wrote: »
    What do you want him to do?

No reason for him to get involved. Company has to become self sufficient - not rely on tax payer handouts to fund their bloated expenses.

Or they could double/triple fares to cover their costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,423 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Spoken like a true public sector worker!

Next you will be saying companies like Ryanair (where redundancies are rare and which continues to go from strength to strength) are a failure.

Privatisation in this case seems to be the only solution.

If the workers want to threaten the taxpayer/government with all out strikes, then we need to threaten them with privatisation. If they want to dig in, we should dig in also.

oh dear god! there are tons of people writing about this now, some have been doing so for many years, decades in fact. things such as neoliberalism,neoclassical theory,globalisation etc etc, truly are a bust. i was glad to hear stephen donnelly mention this on this week's irish times inside politics podcast. at least somebody in our political system is awake and aware of these issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭soups05

jasus lads would you ever lay off with the neo this and neo that. I just want to get to college next week, then get to st james mid week, without having to take a second mortgage. I really don't get this fancy theories, I just wanna get a bus. :(

Or better yet get my car back on the road and BE can fup off lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

ricero wrote: »
    Shame on minister shane ross. His tenure as minister of transport has been deplorable

Staying out of this has been his best move since becoming minister. Short term pain, long term gain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,498 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    There's no question our public services badly need an overhaul and investment, but privatisation is a bust. Sadly I don't think anybody knows what to do next but increasing worker insecurity most certainly is not the answer

The only people responsible for increasing worker insecurity is the drivers by behaving like spoiled brats who throw their toys out of the pram anytime its even hinted they might think about working a bit more efficiently.

They have an absenteeism rate twice the national average, an internal report indicated on average 104 staff were out sick each day, and that number does not include long term sick leave.

They've been taking the piss for far too long and now they have an option to hike up their socks or lose their jobs when the company becomes insolvent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

This is totally totally unacceptable. People are left stranded and the government stands idly by. This strike should be illegal and it is an assault on democracy and is inconveniencing the people especially since trains are also involved. A lot of places sadly depend only on those companies. Sure, the workers have a right to protest but NOT this type of thing. It should be DECLARED ILLEGAL TODAY BY SHANE ROSS and he and the government should then settle the issues fairly.

VinLieger wrote: »
    The only people responsible for increasing worker insecurity is the drivers by behaving like spoiled brats who throw their toys out of the pram anytime its even hinted they might think about working a bit more efficiently.

They have an absenteeism rate twice the national average, an internal report indicated on average 104 staff were out sick each day, and that number does not include long term sick leave.

They've been taking the piss for far too long and now they have an option to hike up their socks or lose their jobs when the company becomes insolvent.

not at all, its been well written about at this stage, even alan greenspan has mentioned that increasing worker insecurity is good for the economy:rolleyes: im just wondering, whos economy is he actually on about? its time for us to move on from these economic theories, systems and models before we self destruct

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭satguy

Let J.J.Kavanagh do for bus users what Ryanair did for air travel..

We can keep 1 or 2 over priced routes reserved for BE, just the way we keep Aer Lingus around. ( for those that want to pay that bit extra)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,498 ✭✭✭Wheety

I love how the Unions keep saying they're available for talks and it's management who won't engage in negotiations.

Then they have a meeting and the Unions say we're not moving. Absolutely no pay cuts or cuts to workers terms. Talks break down and the Union come out and say 'We're disappointed with the management. We're willing to talk but they want to push ahead with cuts.'

Fecking negotiate then :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

Here,

Sell all the busses to JJ Kavanagh.

Fire all the staff.

Allow the market to sort itself out.

not at all, its been well written about at this stage, even alan greenspan has mentioned that increasing worker insecurity is good for the economy:rolleyes: im just wondering, whos economy is he actually on about? its time for us to move on from these economic theories, systems and models before we self destruct

This is the problem.

Don't be looking to the government or public companies to look after you.

You are an adult, look after yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Wheety wrote: »
    I love how the Unions keep saying they're available for talks and it's management who won't engage in negotiations.

Then they have a meeting and the Unions say we're not moving. Absolutely no pay cuts or cuts to workers terms. Talks break down and the Union come out and say 'We're disappointed with the management. We're willing to talk but they want to push ahead with cuts.'

Fecking negotiate then :mad:

Yes. They all act like children and it is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE for this strike to be allowed. Surely the government should have legislation in place that:

1. Limits such actions to a single day at most.
    2. If a bus strike is on, a train one can't go ahead.
    3. Other means besides disrupting the public should be the main forms of industrial protest.

This strike should be declared an illegal public gathering today and all participants should be told they have 3 hours to dismantle their pickets and go back to work or go home (depending on their normal working hours) or face arrest. The greater good here is public service that needs to be reliable.

Glenster wrote: »
    Here,

Sell all the busses to JJ Kavanagh.

Fire all the staff.

Allow the market to sort itself out.

'the market' is a utopian view of how reality should work, its ultimately a failure

This is the problem.

Don't be looking to the government or public companies to look after you.

You are an adult, look after yourself.

for various different complex reasons, this just simply doesnt work in reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,922 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

hmmm wrote: »
    We can't go on like this, handing more and more money over in subsidies to inefficient state transport companies - particularly as they will strike at the drop of a hat.

the state transport companies don't strike at the drop of a hat.
    Failed company, overpaid pampered workers, let it go and start afresh with a new one where union membership is banned.

Or else support the private operators. There's no point having a public bus company where the workers pick and choose when they work.

There are much more vital services to fund than pampered well paid bus drivers.

not failed company, not over paid pampered workers, not let it go. union membership can't be banned, it would be against workers rights and us union members would have to do what is necessary to stop it. we will organise and there is nothing nobody can do about it. the workers don't chose when they work, they work when they are told to work, however they are now on strike as they are entitled to do so. there are no well paid pampered bus drivers, just begrudgers who will never be able to improve their terms and conditions, so will drage everyone else down with them. there will be no race to the bottom, your dream of a high cost low wage economy with no rights will not be realised.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

They should just privatize the whole of Bus Eireann, tell the current drivers to deal with it or quit/be fired and that's it.

As someone who grew up in rural Ireland, having to endure buses running late (by late, I mean over an hour) or not even showing up, with zero explanation as to why either happened or with bus drivers that are among the rudest people I've ever met, then I've zero sympathy for them.

Smaller privately owned bus services, like CityLink, GoBus, and even the smaller rural ones are an absolute godsend and means that I am not required to give any money to the shambles of a company.

If it goes belly up and drivers lose their jobs, then they've nobody to blame but themselves.

Edit to add:

The last time I was forced to use Bus Eireann was on Jan 01 this year, because the other bus services I use didn't have times that suited. I got to the stop early and thankfully I did, because the bus got in 20 minutes early, picked me up, and then left right away. This was the last bus, meaning I've no idea how many people got stranded, because of that one bus driver's ignorance and impatience.

It is an absolute joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭PeadarCo

Wanderer78 wrote:
    'the market' is a utopian view of how reality should work, its ultimately a failure

Tell that to Ryanair or all the private companies that currently out compete Expressway.

for various different complex reasons, this just simply doesnt work in reality

I look after myself. I have to develop my skills to reflect the needs of my employer.

I don't sit back and go, "I am a burden to you forever because you hired me and I deserve job security, try and mess with me and I'll disrupt the lives of everyone in Ireland"

I didn't even know that Bus Eireann went from Dublin to Galway anymore, the competing busses are so much better.

PeadarCo wrote: »
    Tell that to Ryanair or all the private companies that currently out compete Expressway.

you need to think in an macro-economic way to realise this, i will agree with somebody like deirdre mccluskey that the customer has most definitely gained from these models and systems but i to would agree with those that say many workers have not by increasing worker insecurity.

I look after myself. I have to develop my skills to reflect the needs of my employer.

I don't sit back and go, "I am a burden to you forever because you hired me and I deserve job security, try and mess with me and I'll disrupt the lives of everyone in Ireland"

i had to agree with noam chomskys use of the term 'atomisation'!

Wanderer78 wrote:
    you need to think in an macro-economic way to realise this, i will agree with somebody like deirdre mccluskey that the customer has most definitely gained from these models and systems but i to would agree with those that say many workers have not by increasing worker insecurity.

So what your saying cheaper ticket prices, more journey options both in terms of destination and availability isn't a good thing? The job of any transport system is to transport as many people from point a to b. If workers aren't happy get another job that they are happy with like most normal people.

What does neo classical theory have to do with this?

i ll quote this again!
    PeadarCo wrote: »
    So what your saying cheaper ticket prices, more journey options both in terms of destination and availability isn't a good thing? The job of any transport system is to transport as many people from point a to b. If workers aren't happy get another job that they are happy with like most normal people.

What does neo classical theory have to do with this?

its the most common economic theory used to date, and we re slowly watching it fail, globally

i had to agree with noam chomskys use of the term 'atomisation'!

I'm not a woodsman or anything, so that term doesn't apply.

I'm just saying I take responsibility for what happens to me. The bus drivers should stop relying on state handouts.
    Deirdre McClusky

She never said that massive, expensive public services that provide a poor service benefit workers. she was saying that some state intervention in industry is a good thing for workers, I have no problem with the government privatising these route with the caveat that certain services have to be delivered to a minimum, that level of state intervention is fine.

But transferring my taxes to these unskilled scroungers is a disgrace when schools are underfunded health provision is a joke in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭MonkstownHoop

Is there a private route Dublin to Derry or just Expressway/Ulsterbus?

I'm not a woodsman or anything, so that term doesn't apply.

I'm just saying I take responsibility for what happens to me. The bus drivers should stop relying on state handouts.

atomisation applies to most if not all, our economic systems are designed to encourage this type of behaviour. if we continue with it, it will ultimately end our species. thankfully stephen donnelly mentioned this again in the irish times inside politics podcast this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭TheDoctor

SHUT THIS FAILED COMPANY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,205 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Is there a private route Dublin to Derry or just Expressway/Ulsterbus?

John McGinley probably covers that.

Wanderer78 wrote:
    its the most common economic theory used to date, and we re slowly watching it fail, globally

No it's a random meaningless phrase used when a person wants to avoid debating substantive points. A fairly simple go to phrase that saves the need to actually debate.