Half price Dewalt DCF899P2-GB 18 V impact wrech - screwfix.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,762 ✭✭✭my3cents

Cocoon wrote: »

These two bargain alerts made short work of rotating the 4 wheels on the the car today :D

I'm not sure how long those sockets will last with an impact driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,493 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

my3cents wrote: »

That's not an impact socket from the Halfords 3/4 set. Cocoon is just showing off:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,787 ✭✭✭cletus

I think he might just be letting the great unwashed masses know he picked up two of the best BA bargains this year :D

cletus wrote: »
    I think he might just be letting the great unwashed masses know he picked up two of the best BA bargains this year :D

It's actually a good picture to gauge the size of the socket set though as the dewalt, as big as it is, is simply dwarfed. That large socket is just massive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

Im a mechanic by trade and used this today im well impressed. I was lookin at the milwaukee half inch as i already have the three eigth one but it was nearly three times the price.
    Anyone not used to air guns or battery guns be carefull when tightening or you will be replacing wheel studs :-)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,458 ✭✭✭✭beertons

What price was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭CurlyEng

Thank you m-i-m-m-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,684 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

11214 wrote: »
    Why not buy the one in your post?

Yep, seems logical to me too. :confused:
    my3cents wrote: »

lifetime warranty. :D

P.S thanks m-i-m-m-

Awesome bargain, mine arrived today. Cheers m8.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭adne

Looking for deep impact sockets to go with this kit. Set of teng on ebay for 50 euro delivered.

Any recommendations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭rocksolid

Got mine today also....some piece of kit.....

Jumped on this Saturday as soon as i seen this thread as i know it is retailing for bout €500 in the shops here.

I thought there is no way this can be sold for €210, it was a pricing error as i rang screwfix on Monday last and was told that they made a mistake and that it should have been just the impact wrench and x1 battery (probably not a 5ah) with NO case, 2nd battery or charger that should have been listed.

Have to say fair play to them honoring it, many wouldn't have....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 334 ✭✭11214

NoelDoran wrote: »
    Got mine today also....some piece of kit.....

Jumped on this Saturday as soon as i seen this thread as i know it is retailing for bout €500 in the shops here.

I thought there is no way this can be sold for €210, it was a pricing error as i rang screwfix on Monday last and was told that they made a mistake and that it should have been just the impact wrench and x1 battery (probably not a 5ah) with NO case, 2nd battery or charger that should have been listed.

Have to say fair play to them honoring it, many wouldn't have....

:eek: The first rule of Bargain Alerts is don't contact the retailer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭rocksolid

11214 wrote: »
    :eek: The first rule of Bargain Alerts is don't contact the retailer!

they had already copped on well before i rang....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Got mine aswell , great bit of stuff . The brother whipped the back wheel off the tractor without a bother to it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭mayota

Cocoon wrote: »
    IMG_20170323_153107.jpg

These two bargain alerts made short work of rotating the 4 wheels on the the car today :D

And all for less than €240, thanks lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,661 ✭✭✭eringobragh

adne wrote: »
    Looking for deep impact sockets to go with this kit. Set of teng on ebay for 50 euro delivered.

Any recommendations

Collected this today - some piece of kit and the bloody weight of it - solid

Need some sockets now

Whats verdict on these?

http://www.teng.co.uk/9121-teng-tools-10-piece-1-2-drive-regular-metric-impact-socket-set.html

works out at under €50 delivered to Parcel Motel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

They are grand but if you could find a set of long reach be better job.

Cheeers, any suggestions?

Have a Clarke 240V impact wrench and using sockets that came with that and they seem grand - takes the effort out of removing the car wheels!

I have one albeit the Bosch version, it's probably my favourite piece of kit.
    Million and one uses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭m-i-m-m-

The dewalt got it's first real test this morning. Removing a thoroughly rusty tow hitch. Normally this would be plenty of wd40, hit with hammer and chisel a few times to try and break the rust bond, and foot on the breaker bar job.

With this however, from the time the socket was on the bolt to fully off about 3 seconds! A few knocks, a little cloud of rust and it zipped off. Some job. Also coped with removing two front shocks not a bother. Very usefull bit of kit.

B7ZCJee.jpg

OcyKLf6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭mondeoman2

Cheeers, any suggestions?

I Bought This Set,Very Happy With it,Size 10mm to 32mm all deep,very good quality alsohttps://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0035F9WXI/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭The lips

Great to see it getting use M-I-M-M.

If anyone has second thoughts and would like to sell for a reasonable profit drop me a PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,429 ✭✭✭5500

Is it worth the original price that its on screwfix for now? I need one regardless and whilst itd have been nice to get it for good money is it still worth it?

5500 wrote: »
    Is it worth the original price that its on screwfix for now? I need one regardless and whilst itd have been nice to get it for good money is it still worth it?
    Obviously the €210 was a steal. It's current price is about it's corect mark when compared to Amazon (£359) so not any savings to be had there monce you factor in shipping.

If I had to have one, i'd buy a bare unit for £150 and grab a battery and charger for somewhere in the region of £100. It's unlikely that you would need a 2nd battery unless it was going to be in constant use - the 5.0ah fully charged should be up to quite a bit of graft. You could basically save yourself about 100£ by dropping a battery and the box. Not an ideal solution, but it's an option.

m-i-m-m- wrote: »
    The dewalt got it's first real test this morning. Removing a thoroughly rusty tow hitch. Normally this would be plenty of wd40, hit with hammer and chisel a few times to try and break the rust bond, and foot on the breaker bar job.

With this however, from the time the socket was on the bolt to fully off about 3 seconds! A few knocks, a little cloud of rust and it zipped off. Some job. Also coped with removing two front shocks not a bother. Very usefull bit of kit.

B7ZCJee.jpg

OcyKLf6.jpg

I'd sell those pics to Dewalt. Superb!

I've got the Li-ion bug now :o

Just bought this and this. Sorted for a shade over €300. Savage deal for 2 serious tools!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

dodzy wrote: »
    I've got the Li-ion bug now :o

Just bought this and this. Sorted for a shade over €300. Savage deal for 2 serious tools!

Jesus dodzy will ya stop you'll have me buying them next :pac:

Well the drill was a once off adverts buy. But the kit combined is pretty much the same as this less one battery. Look at the price!