Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attack outside UK Houses Of Parliament — No speculation — Read 1st post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

And that on the day that little islamist twat in Istanbul came out with this one

But there is no problem with islam. No, sir.

And those who made this happen looked down from their ivory tower and saw it was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,603 ✭✭✭tigger123

The very nature of yesterday's attack proves that its nigh on impossible to prepare against this kind of thing; the guy used a knife and a car.

All that An Garda Siochana do is monitor suspected radicals as much as possible. But you can't let it effect how you live your life. That's what they want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 618 ✭✭✭Thomas__

inforfun wrote: »
    And that on the day that little islamist twat in Istanbul came out with this one

But there is no problem with islam. No, sir.

And those who made this happen looked down from their ivory tower and saw it was ok.

He made that threat just hours before the Terrorist incident unfolded in London. He´s an Islamist himself and the more he´s freaking out, the more proof he delivers for that by himself. He just seeks confrontation with every country and institution that criticizes him. Europe and all those who consider themselves being part of the free world has to stand up to this bully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,053 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

infogiver wrote: »
    I wouldn't think that they are expecting anything like that to happen here.
    Don't forget, we are a very small neutral generally peace loving nation who have never got involved in any major conflicts.
    Ireland is one of the safest places on the planet right now.
    This is not our fight.

My ****ing god. This is our fight. This fight has no borders or flags. It is a fight against an ideology that wants to wipe us out.

An NO, we are no neutral. Where on earth did you get that from? We are not neutral from terror groups, we don't even pretend to be.

Whatever the comments on this thread are so far, I just like to express my deep sympathy for all those innocent people injured and who died in this mean and cruel terrorist attack in London. I hope that there won´t be more people succumbing to their injuries and increase the numbers of killed people on which this brute of Islamist terrorists can and will gloat.

I also hope that those who were behind this attack will get caught and brought to justice with the severest punishment to be given that the law has for them.

Thomas__ wrote: »
    I also hope that those who were behind this attack will get caught and brought to justice with the severest punishment to be given that the law has for them.

He is dead

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    On 2fm the news said it's now 5 dead(including the alledged attacker) and at least forty injured. I don't feel any less horrified when this has happened in the past but I do feel a bit more worried as London and the uk isn't the other side of the world.

What exactly are the Irish states preparedness if god forbid it ever happened here.

Don't forget, we are a very small neutral generally peace loving nation who have never got involved in any major conflicts.
    This is not our fight.

That´s what the Islamist Terrorist Feckers hate most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,914 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

t is a fight against an ideology that wants to wipe us out.

That's not going very well is it?
    This was an attack of very low scale and smacks of desperation to me. Doesn't make it any less horrific or tragic for those caught up in it and I don't mean to be insensitive or callous.
    But less sensational responses would calm the situation.

A tiny tiny minority wish to wipe out the west. Let's keep things in perspective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,932 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

My ****ing god. This is our fight. This fight has no borders or flags. It is a fight against an ideology that wants to wipe us out.

An NO, we are no neutral. Where on earth did you get that from? We are not neutral from terror groups, we don't even pretend to be.

To the vast majority of Muslims, we are just people of different faith.

But to some nutters, like the guy in London yesterday, we are all infidels who deserve to die. Unfortunately if the wrong person gets their mind warped in such a way, this attack could happen in any country in the world, including Ireland.

bubblypop wrote: »

He is dead
    He carried out the attack by himself, but as you may know by now, there have been seven others arrested in Birmingham and the car the attack drove into the people was rented from a rental car company in Birmingham, thus the trace leading to them. It is already stated that there is some IS-Network already operating in the UK, probably small, but capable of such attacks.

Maybe you might keep yourself up to date and follow the news. My line was directed to his accomplices.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

My line was directed to his accomplices.

It doesn't suit the right-on agenda for him to be anything other than a "lone wolf" operating independently though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Noddyholder

This is not our fight.

I think that's a bit of naïve thinking. We are have troops in Afghanistan & Syria, we support/help in US troops logistics in Shannon, Plus ISIS has any western country down as a target, we are infidels .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

I think that's a bit of naïve thinking. We are have troops in Afghanistan & Syria, we support/help in US troops logistics in Shannon, Plus ISIS has any western country down as a target, we are infidels .

Correct Plus, many analysts also view our intelligence services as being poor, even at the most basic level of having enough linguists fluent in Arabaic language and dialects, and consider Ireland an ideal country for terrorists to recruit, plan and organise for attacks elsewhere in Europe.

t is a fight against an ideology that wants to wipe us out.

That's not going very well is it?
    This was an attack of very low scale and smacks of desperation to me. Doesn't make it any less horrific or tragic for those caught up in it and I don't mean to be insensitive or callous.
    But less sensational responses would calm the situation.

A tiny tiny minority wish to wipe out the west. Let's keep things in perspective.

So, what is the majority of the other Muslims doing? Let´s keep that in perspective as well, they are either doing nothing or too less and I have observed that for years. But to fall for the far-right and right-wing anti-Muslim propaganda would be the wrong answer to it, it would just help the fanatics to recruit more idiots willing to die for that stupid "cause" and kill as many innocent people as they can. But maybe, it the anti-terrorist Muslims are continue to remain silent on such incidents, anti-Islamism might even grow further. That isn´t even better, but to still speak of a "tiny, tiny" minority isn´t appropriate anymore, cos I suspect that there are more "tiny" minorities scattered across Western Europe already. No wonder why all those Eastern EU member states refuse to take Muslims into their country. They see what happens in the West and no politician there can sell that idea of a multicultural society to their people, not by looking at what happened since 9/11 2001.

I was just yesterday reading some article about how FBI agents of Muslim background have been treated by their own agency, even before Trump became US President. They are put under general suspicion. I might give you the link to the article, but this doesn´t fits into this thread.

My line was directed to his accomplices.

It doesn't suit the right-on agenda for him to be anything other than a "lone wolf" operating independently though.

I think that further results of the ongoing investigations might deliver the proof that he wasn´t that "lone wolf", but just the "one IS-Soldier" who was to carry out the attack, but the Police is already about to lift the network behind it. No matter what the result, in regards of the far-rights it doesn´t make a big difference in order to get water on their mills and stir anti-Muslim sentiments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

Dramatic

Donal55 wrote: »

Correct Plus, many analysts also view our intelligence services as being poor, even at the most basic level of having enough linguists fluent in Arabaic language and dialects, and consider Ireland an ideal country for terrorists to recruit, plan and organise for attacks elsewhere in Europe.

Well, one might ask this man whether he might have an interest in working for the Irish State:

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/video/2017/mar/22/fbi-muslims-donald-trump-Video

Btw, that is the article I was reading yesterday to which I was referring in my previous post. There are others like this man too who got the boot from the FBI for just being a Muslim, but with the skills required to fight islamist terrorism.

What this article in its essence is telling is, that once islamophobia is getting hold anywhere, the Islamist terrorists have one a quater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Whatever about some of the more extreme views here, do people honestly believe the neutrality lark means nutters like this don't despise our way of life here?

And that's before you consider Shannon, our links to other countries and our relatively lax security.

Bubbaclaus wrote: »

An NO, we are no neutral. Where on earth did you get that from?  We are not neutral from terror groups, we don't even pretend to be.

Dramatic

But not unrealistic at all. But it still bears the question of how to respond properly to that threat. I´d say that a response requires wisdom, determination and above all, good intelligence work. That´s the tricky thing.

So, what is the majority of the other Muslims doing? Let´s keep that in perspective as well, they are either doing nothing or too less and I have observed that for years. But to fall for the far-right and right-wing anti-Muslim propaganda would be the wrong answer to it, it would just help the fanatics to recruit more idiots willing to die for that stupid "cause" and kill as many innocent people as they can. But maybe, it the anti-terrorist Muslims are continue to remain silent on such incidents, anti-Islamism might even grow further. That isn´t even better, but to still speak of a "tiny, tiny" minority isn´t appropriate anymore, cos I suspect that there are more "tiny" minorities scattered across Western Europe already. No wonder why all those Eastern EU member states refuse to take Muslims into their country. They see what happens in the West and no politician there can sell that idea of a multicultural society to their people, not by looking at what happened since 9/11 2001.

I was just yesterday reading some article about how FBI agents of Muslim background have been treated by their own agency, even before Trump became US President. They are put under general suspicion. I might give you the link to the article, but this doesn´t fits into this thread.

Try and see the reaction of the wider Muslim community through the prism of what happened the Irish.

When British and Unionist state violence was at it's worst the Irish community closed ranks to a large extent. While they didn't support Irish republicanism there was a latent tendency to do or say nothing too. It is what happens when communities come under oppression.

The vast majority of Muslims are no different. The only way you will stop or minimise these attacks is to solve the root cause of why these people feel there is a need to attack.
    That is the stark choice. Otherwise random low level attacks with ordinary implements will continue to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,863 ✭✭✭seachto7

Interesting to see the response to right winger Tommy Robinson, who happened to be nearby as events were unfolding.

People seemed to be more offended by him being there than by what happened. Yes, Robinson was very quick to blame “Islam”, and while I wouldn’t blame “Islam”, it was hardly a Buddhist who did it.

There’s a video of him knocking around near the scene, and he comes across like a scumbag in a pub, not able to remain calm and make a point, you know, like he’s always just about to break into a bout of violence.
    I do think, in amongst his ranting and raving, he does have a point, but just because he’s working class, his point isn’t taken seriously? He’s proven to be right on many occasions, and wrong on many more.

I see Graham Linehan retweeing critics of Robsinson yesterday, but he failed to say anything about the scum who carry out these attacks.

On the other hand, when you have US airstrikes killing 33 refugees in Syria the other day, can you blame people who then decide to take revenge….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Well, one might ask this man whether he might have an interest in working for the Irish State:

https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/video/2017/mar/22/fbi-muslims-donald-trump-Video

Btw, that is the article I was reading yesterday to which I was referring in my previous post. There are others like this man too who got the boot from the FBI for just being a Muslim, but with the skills required to fight islamist terrorism.

What this article in its essence is telling is, that once islamophobia is getting hold anywhere, the Islamist terrorists have one a quater.

Well you wouldn't have a German in the security services during world war 2, would you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,907 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

seachto7 wrote: »
    he failed to say anything about the scum who carry out these attacks.

Must be a sympathiser so...

Try and see the reaction of the wider Muslim community through the prism of what happened the Irish.

When British and Unionist state violence was at it's worst the Irish community closed ranks to a large extent. While they didn't support Irish republicanism there was a latent tendency to do or say nothing too. It is what happens when communities come under oppression.

The vast majority of Muslims are no different. The only way you will stop or minimise these attacks is to solve the root cause of why these people feel there is a need to attack.
    That is the stark choice. Otherwise random low level attacks with ordinary implements will continue to happen.

Thanks for that. I wouldn´t have brought up any comparison with the troubles ever myself. But I see some parallels there, just that the "roots" as you say, are just different from one another. Let´s wee how others view your post. I can´t agree with you on the whole of it, but I understand the point you´re making or trying to make by that comparison.

Well you wouldn't have a German in the security services during world war 2, would you?

I would rather like to correct you on that one by just adding "Nazi" to "German". There were of course native German speaking people helping the allies during WWII, but well, if you don´t consider a German Jew as a German then your way of argument would have some "aspect". It´s been those who fled Nazi-Germany before the start of WWII.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

There were 10,000 Germans and Austrians in the British security services alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

If why they continue to attack is because they want a global caliphate I can't see how we get to the root cause.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

But that means steering a tricky path between addressing poverty in marginalised communities, preserving liberal rights and absorbing new cultures (which should always be the case) but also addressing the fact that de facto religious ghettos exist - and are growing - in a secular democracy.

And also accepting that unbridled immigration into already marginalised communities is not a rosy panacea

Something that's seems harder and harder to do with the increasing political polarization around the topic.

Thanks for that. I wouldn´t have brought up any comparison with the troubles ever myself. But I see some parallels there, just that the "roots" as you say, are just different from one another. Let´s wee how others view your post. I can´t agree with you on the whole of it, but I understand the point you´re making or trying to make by that comparison.

I wasn't trying to say it was the same situation.

But the reaction or lack of reaction from the wider Muslim community is totally understandable. They are a much less open community than the Irish one was and there will have to be huge trust built before you get what is required from them.
    But that trust is a huge prize and asset in the fight against these random low level attacks. It will far outweigh whatever size of intelligence community you want to employ.

But it will take massive work. But I don't see any choice really.