Post a picture of your vehicle here Part 5 (don't quote pictures, 24h ban!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I find this hard to believe.

The damage on the sidewall (granted I've only seen a picture) looks more than significant enough to be worried about. Especially when you can see it has cut completely through the thickness of the rim protection and resulted in the wheel being damaged too. Because of this I assume it is at least 5mm deep into the sidewall?

Personally I think that would be enough to compromise the tyre. I think you should strongly consider replacing it (even with something cheap) to get it through the next few days.

I'll have to get a photo in the morning as it's fairly hard to tell even with a flash photo but the lipped part of the tyre that meets the alloy is fully intact and not even marked, either way I'll be getting another opinion and see where we go from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I'll have to get a photo in the morning as it's fairly hard to tell even with a flash photo but the lipped part of the tyre that meets the alloy is fully intact and not even marked, either way I'll be getting another opinion and see where we go from there.

As I said it is hard to tell from a photo but I'm glad you're going to get someone else to confirm.

At the risk of sounding like my own mother, god forbid something happened!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    As I said it is hard to tell from a photo but I'm glad you're going to get someone else to confirm.

At the risk of sounding like my own mother, god forbid something happened!

lovejoy3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

There's no way the depth of the damage is 5mm, more like 1.5-2mm absolute tops. I had the same a few years ago before I fixed and replaced the previous owners damage and it looked identical to that. Its like someone takes a knife and just pares the surface, its purely superficial damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

From the photo it looks like the tyre has a massive rim protector like this, which is what has taken the damage:
    guide-pneu-rebord.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

It's pretty much exactly as ye describe, if the damage was a bit tidier it wouldn't seem half as bad but for obvious reasons I've left it as is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,525 ✭✭✭JohnBoy26

It's pretty much exactly as ye describe, if the damage was a bit tidier it wouldn't seem half as bad but for obvious reasons I've left it as is.

I wouldn't worry about it tbh. It looks purely superficial as another poster has said

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,315 ✭✭✭Reventon93

17362369_1903431149941433_6301014311100296283_n.jpg?oh=f3096b7595734cc5c9144a8b4ab6db25&oe=595A21C6

Beautiful weather today. Now its sunny :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

^^^^

is that an entrance to an estate? Or your garden?

Nice photo !

Garden I'd say.

^^^^

is that an entrance to an estate? Or your garden?

Nice photo !

That's the entrace to my garden :D That's a quarry accross the road, and my neighbours house next door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Saab on garda twitter where driver didn't clear off the ice/snow from windscreen.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Saab on garda twitter where driver didn't clear off the ice/snow from windscreen.....

That is dangerous. I was a passenger in a car with some guy and his air con/heater system wasn't working and he just wiped his windscreen with his hand. Came to a zebra crossing and because of window the way it was we couldn't see much, so he just drives straight on as we never seen anyone, sure enough two people were half way across the road. He just missed them by millimetres.

Highly dangerous always make sure your windows are clear.

I'm embarassed as a fellow Saab owner, mainly because my heater clears the windows pretty rapidly. Theres always one idiot that trys stupid stuff like this -_-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I decided to treat the 240 Passat with a little remapp. Standard it actually read 231bhp 6bhp below factory qouted figure ( could be because only 2k on the clock). After the map was loaded it reached a nice 288.4bhp with approx 410 lbs ft torque. The car flies, very happy :-)

RR_zps7talnpa9.png

OSI wrote: »
    Not even a month and you said **** it to the warranty already. I like it :pac:

Life is too short! I have tuned all my new cars bought since 2003 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Life is too short! I have tuned all my new cars bought since 2003 :D

Thats mental. Theres something really cool about a diesel passat with 290 odd BHP...:D:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭vintagevrs

It's 4wd too isn't it? Will be sharp away from a standstill. Fair play

vintagevrs wrote: »
    It's 4wd too isn't it? Will be sharp away from a standstill. Fair play

Have to say 4wd is brilliant, even in the wet today not the slightest hint of wheel spin and solid pulling out of corners:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I decided to treat the 240 Passat with a little remapp. Standard it actually read 231bhp 6bhp below factory qouted figure ( could be because only 2k on the clock). After the map was loaded it reached a nice 288.4bhp with approx 410 lbs ft torque. The car flies, very happy :-)

Isn't the 240 figure PS rather than bhp? That would be around 236bhp

I admire your bravery!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

RR_zps7talnpa9.png

Where did you get it mapped? Most places don't seem to handle 4 wheel drive.

Edit: Nevermind, I see the logo now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,971 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Not one person who pulls up alongside it will even get the impression it has almost 300bhp! Utter weapon.

mloc123 wrote: »
    Where did you get it mapped? Most places don't seem to handle 4 wheel drive.

Joe Power @ TDR. He's done all my cars with good results. The 4motion can be disabled by pressing the accelerator a few times with ignition on( i think but could be wrong, i know you press something) and leave the hazard lights flashing. The car then can be dynoed as a front wheel drive.

Yeah the car is 240 ps ( 237bhp), mine was actually 6 bhp down ( 231bhp) the final 288bhp figure is bhp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,328 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The figure they give for hp at the flywheel is an estimate based on a lower hp figure at the wheels though?

The 4motion can be disabled by pressing the accelerator a few times with ignition on( i think but could be wrong, i know you press something) and leave the hazard lights flashing. The car then can be dynoed as a front wheel drive.

Did not know.. must check if all haldex systems are the same.

mloc123 wrote: »
    Did not know.. must check if all haldex systems are the same.

Was there not a fuse you pull for the haldex?

Looks like the dyno mode works across most VAG cars... Based on another forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭tossy

Your passat is Haldex Michael no? The dyno mode is only a new addition to Haldex cars there isn't a dyno mode on my S3 even, you can't disable Torsen (mechanical) 4wd without disconnecting the driveshaft.

I've always pulled the fuse on my haldex cars, VW always made the haldex fuse double as the DSG fuse also on auto cars though ( very deliberate i would say) so you can't pull it. There is an option to disconnect the Haldex controller though. Also for the record it's not a dyno mode but a mode for doing the brake test on the rollers at car test centres.

Either way impressive results :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,239 ✭✭✭selectamatic

I decided to treat the 240 Passat with a little remapp. Standard it actually read 231bhp 6bhp below factory qouted figure ( could be because only 2k on the clock). After the map was loaded it reached a nice 288.4bhp with approx 410 lbs ft torque. The car flies

Im assuming the 288bhp was achievable with all the emissions sh1te in situe. Surely well over 300 is achievable with a few choice mods/removals ;)

Prob best wait a few years till the warranty is completely finito for stage 2 though as they say :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,769 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Came out to this today....

2vv9a81.jpg

.... Christmas comes earlier every year!!