Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ray D'arcy on RTE Radio 1 **Mod Warning post 1, 1263, 1610**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

great start:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Plugs for the lotto and Ikea. Cursory mention of Cheltenham.

Is he going to spend the day discussing the pronunciation of "Taoiseach"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

He asked Eileen Dunne to pronounce "Nuacht".

She should've said to him that his pronunciation of Nuacht isn't his only problem with it. Gimp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

I wonder will there be breaks for Cheltenham this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,064 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Don't know which is worse. Some idiot contacting every single TD to see or they liked Beyonce (Or not,and why),Or this gimp reporting on it !

Love how he telling PC how he felt about becoming the lead singer,instead of asking him.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

What was the point of bringing up the pot of paint story without going into the significance of it? Phil ends it by saying something about a lawsuit but it doesn't seem to have occurred to our best paid broadcaster to delve deeper into it, too busy thinking about his Kildare being the home of black and decker line or some shyte like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭goochy

don't know who was more dull - Ray or Phil. obviously Phil is a legend but hes not a ray of sunshine ! bored being in Miami - wealth and fame wasted on some people !

Incredibly difficult,patchy,stop start and teeth sucking interview. He should be ashamed or himself,a good interviewer could have knocked great crack out of someone with PC'smusical heritable and knowledge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,216 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Yeah. He was moaning that there will be races at half three and ten past four.

"I can't belieeeeeve I'm talking to Phil Collins."

He's long enough in the game now not to be acting like a starstruck teenager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Was just wondering the same myself when I heard him today. He actually spoke about the horse racing this year... "It's a strange week, we have Patricks Day, and we have Cheltenham". Now.... last year, it was like he was in a parallel universe. He would take an ad break, after a short ad break they would go to Cheltenham for coverage. Then when the race was finished, there would be another ad break, and back to Ray who pretended that there had never been a horse race at all at all.

So the question is will Ray repeat his petty, childish protest this year. The fact that he actually mentioned Cheltenham makes me think that he will be dropping the protest this year. But then consistency has never been Ray's strong point has it.

Red Kev wrote: »
    He asked Eileen Dunne to pronounce "Nuacht". She should've said to him that his pronunciation of Nuacht isn't his only problem with it. Gimp.

He always pronounces "Priomhscealta na Nuachta" as "PHriomhscealta na Nuachta" .... . Every f**king day. How about somebody picks him up on that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Was just wondering the same myself when I heard him today. He actually spoke about the horse racing this year... "It's a strange week, we have Patricks Day, and we have Cheltenham". Now.... last year, it was like he was in a parallel universe. He would take an ad break, after a short ad break they would go to Cheltenham for coverage. Then when the race was finished, there would be another ad break, and back to Ray who pretended that there had never been a horse race at all at all.

So the question is will Ray repeat his petty, childish protest this year. The fact that he actually mentioned Cheltenham makes me think that he will be dropping the protest this year. But then consistency has never been Ray's strong point has it.

Should pack him off for the week and bring Val Joyce back for an "Airs and Races" special.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Will he have a rant at the gambling, conveniently forgetting that he was fawning all over the Lotto jackpot winners a few weeks ago?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,353 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Should pack him off for the week and bring Val Joyce back for an "Airs and Races" special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,337 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

He should be pulled on it and told to cope on, spoilt TWAT.

Red Kev wrote: »
    Will he have a rant at the gambling, conveniently forgetting that he was fawning all over the Lotto jackpot winners a few weeks ago?

Same as his bad eating rants. One week he was giving out about people eating crisps and chocolate on the Monday, and I saw him giving away a basket of Tayto to everybody in the audience on The Saturday Night Show.

Word on the street is that D'Arcy is 4/1 to cover the racing today, but only if the Director General is on his back.

Just heard Sean O'Rourke saying "Tune in to the Ray D'Arcy Show today for coverage of the Cheltenham racing". I'm pretty sure that D'Arcy has moved his principles to one side and given in.

There's a lot of people who preach about stuff and then go back on what they said Ray. Remember when you used to be giving out yards about RTE for example?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭goochy

surprised that Ray managed to behave himself during Bishop casey piece.

I'm beginning to wonder if I just dreamed up that Ray D'Arcy Cheltenham protest last year. Can somebody tell me that I haven't lost my mind??

You're right. He even had his alter-ego Declan Lynch on a few days before pontificating about gambling.

He didn't hide his disdain today either.

"We'll be going to the 3.30 , whatever it is, and the 4.10 race later."

I gave up backing horses 15 years ago but I still like to watch or listen to the racing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

"post office savings account, do you remember them ?"

yeah ray its not like we had a financial crisis recently and half the country put their money there or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

hang on.

has darcy REALLY just done half n hour today?

half a bleeding hour !

WTF was the point of even payin the lad to come in today if cheltnams taking over? should just had twonks waffling about that from 3 onwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,314 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

What was he saying about the RTE newsreader reading the news in his shorts many years ago. I think he said Maurice O Doherty I stand to be corrected of course. I think he is mixing up the RTE newsdesk with the 'Drop the dead donkey' scene when the newsreader has a suit shirt tie and boxer shorts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,314 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

hang on.

has darcy REALLY just done half n hour today?

half a bleeding hour !

WTF was the point of even payin the lad to come in today if cheltnams taking over? should just had twonks waffling about that from 3 onwards.

Howld yer horses sotospeak....he's back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭Right2Write

Sad story and this chap has had a rough deal. But hard cases make bad law - how can we not learn this? The greater good would be served I think by allowing learner drivers who've done all their lessons and at least one test, to drive on their own. How else are they to get the experience needed to keep us all safer? That's how I learnt to drive, by taking responsibility.