Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Why I did not report my rapist"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

I'm really glad I'm not in the hookup/casual sex game. It sounds ****ing horrendous.

You don't have to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Mod: Cool it on the personal jabs and insinuations about autism. It's not necessary and it's getting in the way of the conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Regarding this case, as a feminist (ikr) in its most basic sense, I entirely agree that "All men are guilty of.." is as dumb a bit of logic as "All Muslims are guilty of..."

The whole "no means no" thing is awkward. On the one hand, I totally agree. On the other, someone did bring up the very salient issue that, in part due to social conventions around women and sex, it's practically ingrained to show some resistance for many people which makes the whole thing murky again. In this case, I don't think she did signal her no's. It's unfortunate that it does still upset her, but you can't expect the other person to be psychic and if they honestly think that the "no" is playful or a "seduce me" type thing, the onus returns to the person trying to communicate that no, this no means no, not interested. Maybe at some point "No means No" will just be an absolute, but it will take consciously undoing generations of training towards "No-no-yes". Not saying that all women do it, btw, but it's something we get a certain amount of reinforcement in and examples towards from society. It does sound like her body language was going against what she was saying from her own words.

Although I can think of plenty of situations where one might be willing to kiss someone but not be interested in casual sex from it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I'm reading this thread as the father of boys and I am horrified by the casual assumption that they are guilty by virtue of their sex for just existing.

We have discussed relationships with the eldest already but we are going to have another chat against being alone at any stage of a relationship with a female until he ascertains the thought processes of said female because if the 'rape' in this case and the mans trial by media is the future direction of relationships, I will be suggesting a life of near chastity to protect his future and reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

If you want to understand where she's coming from in terms of psychology, read this post. It explains a hell of a lot:

http://rosemarymaccabe.com/expectation-vs-reality-life-31/
    Rosemary wrote: »
    I wouldn’t get upset when I encountered mean girls. I found secondary school really tough. I wasn’t in the popular crew – in fact, I think I was probably pretty close to the bottom of the societal rung – and I was really sensitive to any slights, perceived or otherwise. I had curly hair that my mother insisted on brushing for me (frizz ball) and I was that kind of dangerous combination of incredibly self-conscious about my looks, and incredibly self-assured about my intelligence. I was, in short, a massive nerd – and I felt the brunt of it at school.

If you asked my sixth-year self what would be different about my life in, say, 13 years’ time, she would have told you that I wouldn’t be feeling intimidated and humiliated by groups of girls who thought they were better than me – but she would have been totally wrong. At 31 years of age, I still find myself whimpering, tears welling in my eyes, when “girls are mean to me”. I should know better, but I just don’t.

I wonder does she self sabotage in terms of her appearance?

Short dyed white grey hair to make herself look purposely uglier and older, but who she will describe as being an individual/not confirming to society etc. Check.

What's a ****ing surprise that was.

From above, she even admits it, sarcasm, passive aggressive, you go GURLLLL hastag save the whales Ru paul drag race massive fan all of that craic. That's her working default. She has an avoidant dismissive personality.These are people who have been severely hurt in the past and will do anything and everything to avoid acknowledging that hurt or coming into contact with that hurt again.

Her undergoing actions are please reject me, please, its what I want because to get close to people is to get closer to that big dark thing in my head. Her parents were either indifferent to her needs or are/were highly narcissistic.

Wibbs, you (and I) said that it was an attention seeking/cash rules everything around me ruse.

I think that might not be the case, just reading through some of her articles.

It might be a self sabotaging one.

These people, Louise O Neils or the Una Mullalys are like clockwork oranges. It's creepy out in all fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Aw come on now. There's absolutely no need to be taking shots at her looks her hair cuts or her appearance. She has a boyfriend, who no doubt finds her attractive and that should be the end of that. Her looks have no bearing on her attitude. She could be a size 6 DD model with a Kim kardashian arse and long blonde flowing locks and still be drawing negative attention with her postings and attitude.

Changing her appearance means nothing. She's fine as she is, she doesn't need to work on her appearance, just her attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

If you want to understand where she's coming from in terms of psychology, read this post. It explains a hell of a lot:

Short dyed white grey hair to make herself look purposely uglier and older, but who she will describe as being an individual/not confirming to society etc. Check.

From above, she even admits it, sarcasm, passive aggressive, you go GURLLLL hastag save the whales Ru paul drag race massive fan all of that craic. That's her working default. She has an avoidant dismissive personality.These are people who have been severely hurt in the past and will do anything and everything to avoid acknowledging that hurt or coming into contact with that hurt again.

Her undergoing actions are please reject me, please, its what I want because to get close to people is to get closer to that big dark thing in my head. Her parents were either indifferent to her needs or are/were highly narcissistic.

Wibbs, you (and I) said that it was an attention seeking/cash rules everything around me ruse.

These people, Louise O Neils or the Una Mullalys are like clockwork oranges. It's creepy out in all fairness.

I didn't watch the whole video because it got very boring very quick but I found it bizarre that she's on a "romantic weekend" and she has filmed every aspect-- the romantic dinner, the walk in the park etc. Rather than hold hands with her boyfriend and chat to him she holds her phone and narrates what they're doing- doesn't seem very romantic at all!

Anyway in relation to her hair- white and grey hair has been the popular choice for the past couple of years for a lot of women, I wouldn't read too much into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

So? Is she ever not a victim? I was bullied in school, had one friend to my name and it wasn't until I went to college where I started to be myself and not give a sh!t about who liked me. I have frizzy hair too, what has that to do with anything? Pure victim mentality. Always. Someone give her the gold medal in the victim olympics. There comes a time in life you have to shed that teenage baggage and pull up your big girl pants and stop wandering around like the worlds owes you a favour. Using your perpetually victimised place in the world to tear people down around you is not okay.

Aw come on now. There's absolutely no need to be taking shots at her looks her hair cuts or her appearance. She has a boyfriend, who no doubt finds her attractive and that should be the end of that. Her looks have no bearing on her attitude. She could be a size 6 DD model with a Kim kardashian arse and long blonde flowing locks and still be drawing negative attention with her postings and attitude.

Changing her appearance means nothing. She's fine as she is, she doesn't need to work on her appearance, just her attitude

I'm not insulting her looks at all.

Why do some people wear this kind of clothes over another?

Why do some people get this kind of tattoo or this kind of piercing?

There's an underlying reason for that and it's highly common in depressed people, that (weirdly enough) they'll try and bury themselves further and further down if they can.

Why do you get your hair dyed to purposely make you look as old and sick as possible?

If this guy who she said raped her comes back, there could be massive trouble coming up for her in the future.

This is a much bigger step from whining about neo nazi lads or the patriarchy.

For what it's worth, she's pretty good looking tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I'm reading this thread as the father of boys and I am horrified by the casual assumption that they are guilty by virtue of their sex for just existing.

We have discussed relationships with the eldest already but we are going to have another chat against being alone at any stage of a relationship with a female until he ascertains the thought processes of said female because if the 'rape' in this case and the mans trial by media is the future direction of relationships, I will be suggesting a life of near chastity to protect his future and reputation.

Maybe you could simply teach him that if a woman says she doesn't want to have sex with him he shouldn't proceed to have sex with her.

anna080 wrote: »
    So? Is she ever not a victim? I was bullied in school, had one friend to my name and it wasn't until I went to college where I started to be myself and not give a sh!t about who liked me. I have frizzy hair too, what has that to do with anything? Pure victim mentality. Always. Someone give her the gold medal in the victim olympics. There comes a time in life you have to shed that teenage baggage and pull up your big girl pants and stop wandering around like the worlds owes you a favour. Using your perpetually victimised place in the world to tear people down around you is not okay.

Yeah, exactly. You were abused as a child? I feel really sorry for you, but an awful thing to do is still an awful thing to do.

It may explain the behavior, but it in no way justifies it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Maybe you could simply teach him that if a woman says she doesn't want to have sex with him he shouldn't proceed to have sex with her.

Of course. But this case is not as black and white as that. And you know that.

anna080 wrote: »
    Of course. But this case is not as black and white as that. And you know that.

True. But if that posters son did exactly as they taught him- stopped the second she said no- in this kind of situation he may avoid having a similar post made about him, or a visit from police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

I'm more inclined to believe her after seeing her photo, that chap must have been absolutely desperate. Embarrassing all round.

Mod: banned

So tell me, for the next lesson, what does he teach him when it comes to the woman deciding to have sex only to withdraw her consent on a trending blog 15 years afterwards? When he has no opportunity to a fair trial, his side of the story or the chance to clear his name? When he might have a wife and a family?

Teach him that he should have stopped when he heard the word no.

Even if the woman's still wearing the face off him?
    If I say no, and I'm still kissing him, and he stops I'd be like wtf? Are you not into me?!?!

If I mean no, I'll tell him. "I said no. Stop it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Rightwing wrote: »
    I'm more inclined to believe her after seeing her photo, that chap must have been absolutely desperate. Embarrassing all round.

Nice.

Do you high five yourselves everytime you come up with such brilliant insult?

If he had stopped when she said no rather than persist then she wouldn't have "let him" have sex with her and he wouldn't have found himself the subject of this particular type of blog post.

Even if the woman's still wearing the face off him?
    If I say no, and I'm still kissing him, and he stops I'd be like wtf? Are you not into me?!?!

If I mean no, I'll tell him. "I said no. Stop it"

Continuing to kiss someone doesn't give consent for sex. Kissing doesn't have to move on to sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

He's sensible enough to make his own decisions on that.

The problem arises even after consent was given, in a fit of remorse/pique he could accused of rape and his future goes down the drain while the accuser will get support and lauded from high.

The system is loaded against the male of the species.

If he had of stopped when she said no, none of the rest would have happened.

By the way, I don't think it's right that she put this out in public, where he is judged by social media. She is wrong in that.

All the nuance discussed on this thread has whooshed over your head.

neonsofa wrote: »
    If he had stopped when she said no rather than persist then she wouldn't have "let him" have sex with her and he wouldn't have found himself the subject of this particular type of blog post.
    But that's not really how it works in the heat of the moment.
    We should give our sons, our brothers, our nephews and our friends sex consent forms to carry around so in the event of an intimate encounter he can stop the proceedings and say "do you mind signing the sex consent form? I'll just explain this really quick, tick this box to acknowledge I asked if you were sure, tick here if it's ok to touch your tits and tick here if you want me to use a condom. Just sign it there and the date is the 25/02"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

The problem arises even after consent was given, in a fit of remorse/pique he could accused of rape and his future goes down the drain while the accuser will get support and lauded from high.

Is it? Tell me how many rapes actually end in conviction? Oh wait vast majority of victims are false reporting rape.

Continuing to kiss someone doesn't give consent for sex. Kissing doesn't have to move on to sex.

Yeh but if it does. What after saying "no I'm tired" a woman gets into it, tears the clothes of the guy and has consensual sex?

So tell him to sure her for defamation.

No, it just hasn't changed my mind that someone saying no three times is a pretty clear refusal.

bubblypop wrote: »
    If he had of stopped when she said no, none of the rest would have happened.

By the way, I don't think it's right that she put this out in public, where he is judged by social media. She is wrong in that.

Last Sunday morning LMII was looking for the ride. We were in a hotel, nearing check out time. I said no, we don't have time. He followed me to the shower and we ended up having sex anyway. Do you think he raped me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

It doesn't, and it doesn't have to, we're in agreement there. I've kissed plenty of lads I've never slept with in my youth.

However, they didn't just kiss and all of a sudden his penis is in her.

Kissing doesn't mean consent to sex.

However, kissing, followed by taking a top off and continuing to kiss, followed by taking pants off and continuing to kiss, followed by laying on the bed and continuing to kiss, followed by saying NOTHING when he's lining up his dong, well to many, many people, that's gonna come across as enthusiastic consent.

If you KNOW someone is trying to shag you, and you don't want to do it, you have a responsibility to say no. Not to say no, but continue what you're doing, knowing what the other person is thinking it'll lead to, then saying nothing when they believe you are happy to have sex, when it's progressed that far.

People understand the nuance but a very easy way to avoid misinterpreting such nuances is to simply stop when they say no. If they actually do want sex then they will say so.

I was being intimate with a guy before and I got a flashing pain in my side out of nowhere, I kind of stopped kissing and waited for it to pass, he sat up and asked was everything OK, did I want to stop, I said no no just a pain and we carried on, simple communication. If a guy is hearing no, all he needs to do is say "everything OK? Want me to stop?" The girl can then clarify if she would like to continue. It doesn't need to be a big deal where he whips out a drawn up contract and asks her to sign, a simple question to clarify if her no means no, stop. In the example I gave above I didn't even say no and he clarified, I think it's fairly simple to just always make sure if you hear the word no. To account for the nuances.

Edit: lol LexieOnRale great minds, I just saw your contract suggestion :)