Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

There is a checkpoint at cherryville cross between monasterevin and Kildare presently. Chcecking everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,369 ✭✭✭ezra_

Can't understand why people in Kildare still try this on.

You've got an aggressive Traffic Corp Team (and fair play to them) and you've got a judge who has a pretty much zero tolerance for speeding and RTA offences.

Would be interesting to know if this has had any impact on reducing serious accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

Mr Snow wrote: »
    how to upload a picture to this fourm from the garda twitter page?

thanks for your feedback

Just copy the url address and in between [ url] and [ /url] also it shouldn't have a space between the [ and the u..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Mr Snow

Not working

fixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

I absolutely despise people who park in disabled parking spaces without the permit..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

You have a link to that? Would be interested to know the highest speed recorded too.
    It was 236 km/h my apologies.

https://twitter.com/GardaTraffic/status/802191444870135808?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Speed kills but so can walking out without looking.

Its not always speed but obviously impacts will be much greater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭rex-x

I agree, it's 52 years since the 70mph limit was introduced and it hasn't increased even with all the advances in safety and cars, time to step out of the stone age I think and have some sensible limits including minimum allowed speeds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

rex-x wrote: »
    I agree, it's 52 years since the 70mph limit was introduced and it hasn't increased even with all the advances in safety and cars, time to step out of the stone age I think and have some sensible limits including minimum allowed speeds

It icreased to the equivalent of 75mph in 2005. And 70mph only came into operation in 1992, 1971 in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

In 52 years there's been no increase in ability of the squiggy bit between the steering wheel and the seat. If people could put down their mobiles, judge the road conditions and have the first concept of hazard perception I'd be all for increasing the limit. They can't though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭rex-x

GM228 wrote: »
    It icreased to the equivalent of 75mph in 2005.

I'm talking about significant increases, circa 100 mph+ 4-5 mph makes no odds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

The day you come up with a way to get people to use the overtaking lane properly will be the day that's even approaching safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭bear1

You must be joking? Apart from Germany the highest speed limit in the eu is 140.
    Would I fcuk do 160 plus on a motorway with drivers who haven't a clue how to even use one properly at 120.
    I'd be more in favour that at certain times of the day the speed limit is increased.
    Or just give us the eu norm of 140.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

EU norm is 130. Only 2 EU states use 140 Poland and Bulgaria for motorways.

My bad, but still I think our motorways which I imagine are better than Bulgarian motorways would be fine with 140.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭billie1b

bear1 wrote: »
    My bad, but still I think our motorways which I imagine are better than Bulgarian motorways would be fine with 140.

Was driving in Poland a couple of weeks ago, belting down snow, roads covered, I was still doing 100km and there was people passing me at speeds that are unimaginable, madness it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

OT but anyway :

.... circa 100 mph+ 4-5 mph makes no odds

The exact opposite is true - it's half the mass x velocity squared

small increases matter more at higher velocities so they do

billie1b wrote: »
    Was driving in Poland a couple of weeks ago, belting down snow, roads covered, I was still doing 100km and there was people passing me at speeds that are unimaginable, madness it was.

Tell me about it, I spend most of the year here and have driven all over but most of it is done in warsaw.
    The amount of close calls I've had.
    My favourite is when trucks in the opposite Lane overtake other trucks barrelling towards you with no room to move over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

Tips for driving in Warsaw:

- Weave in traffic
    - Go 45kph above speed limit
    - Leave braking till the last moment
    - Don't let anyone in front of you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,887 ✭✭✭billie1b

bear1 wrote: »
    Tell me about it, I spend most of the year here and have driven all over but most of it is done in warsaw.
    The amount of close calls I've had.
    My favourite is when trucks in the opposite Lane overtake other trucks barrelling towards you with no room to move over.

Yeah most of it I do in Warsaw too and then a 5 hr drive to the west to the inlaws, totally different style of driving and people give out here about 'Irish drivers', they have no clue how bad continental Europe is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

billie1b wrote: »
    Yeah most of it I do in Warsaw too and then a 5 hr drive to the west to the inlaws, totally different style of driving and people give out here about 'Irish drivers', they have no clue how bad continental Europe is.

You aren't driving an Irish reg bmw in warsaw by any chance? Met a 7 series a few times.
    Be some coincidence ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,129 ✭✭✭✭neris

polan wrote: »
    Tips for driving in Warsaw:

- Weave in traffic
    - Go 45kph above speed limit
    - Leave braking till the last moment
    - Don't let anyone in front of you

Thats not just warsaw its Eastern Europe.

Another "tip": if theres a gap between the car in front of you and in front of him, over take the car in front of you and fill that gap. and if theres an unbroken white line on a bend even better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Just had to go watch some "polskie drogi kuuuuuuurva" on youtube there lads, awesome stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

ThisRegard wrote: »
    The video title is a bit loaded and the intro is pretty dumb, unless it's tongue in cheek. Guy looked like he went for the garda when he was left on his own, garda threw him onto the boot of the car with the unintended consequence of breaking the window with his head. Nothing wrong there.

Zero relevance to this thread though, like most of the off topic crap posted here lately.