Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

Can any one tell me who mayo sub keeper is to nite?
    Just wondering is that lad that was taken off in replay is he still involved ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,440 ✭✭✭✭km79

RD10 wrote: »
    christ kerry should be at least 10 points ahead going in at half time. running rings around mayo.
    mayo need to tighten up big time on the runners.
    unfortunately again apart from cillian and andy trying hard, the rest of the forwards are contributing as much as the guys sitting on the bench right now.

35 minutes later and the crisis is over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Great win, Kerry disappeared in the second half but we showed great intensity to claw it back all the same. Andy once again was sublime, his resurgence is showing no signs of stopping, even at his age.

Hope that red for parsons doesn't come back to bite us later in the year
    Thought the ref was awful for both teams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,980 ✭✭✭Panrich

km79 wrote: »
    35 minutes later and the crisis is over

In fairness we looked clueless in the first half. Poor Donie looked as slow as me and Im 53.

Great spirit shown in the second half though and that win will stand to them. I thought Borland was unlucky to be called ashore ahead of Doherty in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,226 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Good to get the points, will have no bearing on anything that might happen in August.

Rossies at home next, hopefully another two points there.

Should be a bit quieter around here this week now anyway ........ ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,402 ✭✭✭naughto

Good to get the points, will have no bearing on anything that might happen in August.

Rossies at home next, hopefully another two points there.

I hope we beat them out the gate in two weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

well that was some turnaround, they really grinded out that win. fair play.
    andy is some man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,402 ✭✭✭naughto

Was having a nose in the dub thread

31 games now and counting. It'll take some side to stop this Dublin team from,winning 3 in a row and right now there's not a side in the country that has the quality, or belief too knock us off our perch. Not at there best tonight,but still showed unbelievable resilience,in the face of adversity.

On too play Donegal next,before facing the perennial bottlers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

RD10 wrote: »
    well that was some turnaround, they really grinded out that win. fair play.
    andy is some man.
    As good as a months training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

super win. This is what we need to get the ball rolling after last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Congrats.

Great Mayo crowd in Tralee.

Super fightback in the second.

Gutted that Kerry didn't make the first half count more on the scoreboard but a fair result overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Blackjack

naughto wrote: »
    Was having a nose in the dub thread

31 games now and counting. It'll take some side to stop this Dublin team from,winning 3 in a row and right now there's not a side in the country that has the quality, or belief too knock us off our perch. Not at there best tonight,but still showed unbelievable resilience,in the face of adversity.

On too play Donegal next,before facing the perennial bottlers.

I tend to avoid that particular cesspit of arrogance myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Blackjack

DDC1990 wrote: »
    Congrats.

Great Mayo crowd in Tralee.

Super fightback in the second.

Gutted that Kerry didn't make the first half count more on the scoreboard but a fair result overall.

Kerry should have been out of sight at half time. I feared the worst when Kerry got the goal that had been threatening for a while.
    A lot of our players a bit rusty. Vaughan in particular and Doherty also. I would not be getting too worried about either of those at this stage. Vaughan was in similar if not worse form at this point last year too and ended up being one of our best in the latter stages of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Blackjack wrote: »
    I tend to avoid that particular cesspit of arrogance myself.

We'd be the same ourselves if we had their record over the last few years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Some good and some bad in that, but surprised and happy with the win. Nearly froze to death, but had good craic with the Kerry supporters at the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Also special mention to the ref, who was shocking for both sides. It wasn't a dirty match (save for the handbags at the end), and yet he was dishing out cards left right and centre. Nonsense.

PressRun wrote: »
    Also special mention to the ref, who was shocking for both sides. It wasn't a dirty match (save for the handbags at the end), and yet he was dishing out cards left right and centre. Nonsense.

Fully agree
    Still trying to find out what parsons got a ref for too

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Wow, that was expected, unexpected and fantastic! :) When I heard they had lost a few and our subs I was happy and had hope, 35 mins in I thought we were lucky not to be 10 down, then the 2nd half was superb.
    Clarke was good and bad all in one! Thought the defence got destroyed in the 1st half. COC was poor in the 1st, missed some nice frees and we just seemed lost.
    The penalty was shocking, some of the frees were as bad.
    2nd half was a total change. Thought Parsons had a great 2nd half, what the red was for, well only the numpty Hughes will know.
    Andy was excellent, if ever we had someone who could teach young lads how to play that position its him. COC had a better 2nd half as did McLoughs and Doch.
    Vaughan seems slow and lost, but he must be doing something right.
    Boland i thought played well, Regan from my view was poor again. COS did alright, he seems to have more pace than Aidan or Seamie.
    I think its harsh to say lads aren't up to it, they are 2-4 games into their senior intercounty career, remember some of these played in that U21 final last year, they should more character than I have seen in many senior teams.

All in all I'm delighted with that win. Having to go to Dublin and Tyrone seem big asks, but again though why not get a result?

A bit of consistency now. McHale park seems to bloody haunt us, so while I expect the same level of 2nd half performance against the Rossies, who knows what will happen.

km79 wrote:
    Fully agree Still trying to find out what parsons got a ref for too

He charged in with the shoulder into Peter Crowley after the free out was given.

Unnecessary, stupid but never a straight red. A definite yellow and if I recall, he was on a yellow anyway. But it was right in front of me and there wasn't a punch thrown by either side. Just a bit of old fashioned time killing.

Silly refereeing.

Disagreed with Lyne's black as well. Didn't pull McLoughlin to ground. Pulled the jersey back cynically, but under the current rule that isn't a black card.

The other two were spot on. Regan for the body check and Jason Foley for the foot trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

just watched it back on slow motion. nonsense that red card. yes a yellow for running into the back of him like that but definately not a red. the kerry lad grabbed parsons around the neck after that and the umpire (who was out on the pitch with them) deemed parsons actions before that worthy of a red. it was the umpire that gave the ref the information on that so wouldnt blame the ref on that one.
    as i said before our forwards need to start stepping up to the plate. all six. not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,871 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

RD10 wrote:
    just watched it back on slow motion. nonsense that red card. yes a yellow for running into the back of him like that but definately not a red. the kerry lad grabbed parsons around the neck after that and the umpire (who was out on the pitch with them) deemed parsons actions before that worthy of a red. it was the umpire that gave the ref the information on that so wouldnt blame the ref on that one. as i said before our forwards need to start stepping up to the plate. all six. not good enough.

Referees trying to enforce rules that will be forgotten about by championship. Happens every league. But by the rule book it was a red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,914 ✭✭✭statto25

But it was right in front of me and there wasn't a punch thrown by either side. Just a bit of old fashioned time killing

Keane threw two punches right into the gob of one of the Mayo players. I can't recall who he hit as I was going soft at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Agreed. That's 2 weeks in a row where the ref's performance was worthy of mention. Just watching the Mayo again and Hughes certainly ruined it.

statto25 wrote:
    Keane threw two punches right into the gob of one of the Mayo players. I can't recall who he hit as I was going soft at the time.

Barry John Keane?

He pushed Danny Kirby about but didn't throw one punch. I am pretty certain of this. Crowley had Parsons in a headlock and a few lads threw body's about but no punches.

Literally front row seats to it. I couldn't have been closer.

Yet he didn't give BJK a card, i seen him giving two punches to the jaw of a mayo player at the end. I assume he will be getting some ban for that ???Even the Kerry supporters around us were disgusted with him.

Barry John Keane?

He pushed Danny Kirby about but didn't throw one punch. I am pretty certain of this. Crowley had Parsons in a headlock and a few lads threw body's about but no punches.

Literally front row seats to it. I couldn't have been closer.

He gave it alright, two short upper cuts.

Yet he didn't give BJK a card, i seen him giving two punches to the jaw of a mayo player at the end. I assume he will be getting some ban for that ???Even the Kerry supporters around us were disgusted with him.

I totally missed this. I was right in in front of it. When did it happen. Nobody spotted it around me.

Was it in the initial melee or after.

He certainly didn't punch anyone during the first one or when Kirby piled in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DDC1990 wrote:
    He certainly didn't punch anyone during the first one or when Kirby piled in.

Those punches were just resting in his account DDC1990!! :)