Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Jessme

OttoPilot wrote: »
    Noooooooo Ian and Gary :'(

Yeah, what the..? They seemed to get on so well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,186 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Is it 2 fine looking lesbians next week or was that 2 separate dates in the preview? Asking for a friend...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

That passport photo was shocking. Fair ridebag now though.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,426 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

Jessme wrote: »
    Yeah, what the..? They seemed to get on so well.

Eh hello?! He opened his first scene pining about his broken heart, then welled up with tears talking about his ex! I wasn't one bit surprised to read that they got back together

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭4Ad

The paying part does my head in, why do they show it?

So that us Boardsies can comment !!

Til next weeks bitch fest Folks !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭Passenger

Hunchback wrote: »
    That passport photo was shocking. Fair ridebag now though.

Does anybody actually have a decent passport photo though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Jessme

Eh hello?! He opened his first scene pining about his broken heart, then welled up with tears talking about his ex! I wasn't one bit surprised to read that they got back together

Must have missed that bit. Oh well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭kenmccarthy

Didn't think it was great tonight...."my mother dropped me in" was my favourite line!!! Till next week then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Passenger wrote: »

I have the best photo ever!! Seriously!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

I'm actually distraught over last week when yer man turned down the Russian lady last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,152 ✭✭✭Passenger

I have the best photo ever!! Seriously!

Is that so.

when that icelandic lad walked in with a pair of trousers like a juggler from fossets circus, I wasn't surprised he'd be a vegan naturist to be honest. she was lovely, he was just an arse and yeah I;d agree, i'll pay by card, oh leave your half on the table, thank you very much, bleedin miser!!

jasus that feminist was a cracker though to be fair, old mac donald was'nt doing bad for emself at all, and didn't **** it up, despite all the cringey high fives.

I thought yer wan the tall girl with the red hair was lovley, she was brutally honest and quirky, even a bit nervous, again though, the lad was a clown! talking about white stuff in some young wans mouth...DAFUQ!!!!

funny program to be fair...now to offset this with a few episodes of nationwide and the antiques roadshow!!! jeees yu cant bate a bish o cultueur lads!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Passenger wrote: »

I look like I was caught for armed robbery in the 80's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

rusty cole wrote: »
    when that icelandic lad walked in with a pair of trousers like a juggler from fossets circus, I wasn't surprised he'd be a vegan naturist to be honest. she was lovely, he was just an arse and yeah I;d agree, i'll pay by card, oh leave your half on the table, thank you very much, bleedin miser!

If you go to the "Stingiest thing I've ever seen" thread, there's a fair few of examples of people who pay by card as they can then pocket the tip. I wouldn't put it past him to have done that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,026 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

The Glencar waterfall guy seemed like a decent guy, just a bit nervous at times, a bit like David Brent on a date. His date seemed uptight and not one bit attractive to be honest, not sure why she was so up herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

So there was an uproar when the gay guy from a few episodes back let the other guy pay when he had no interest.

Now there's uproar when a guy who's not interested in a girl doesn't pay the full thing.

Do people on here not actually think through their opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

LLMMLL wrote: »
    So there was an uproar when the gay guy from a few episodes back let the other guy pay when he had no interest.

Now there's uproar when a guy who's not interested in a girl doesn't pay the full thing.

But I think he was interested last night??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭LLMMLL

Nah he said as friends

LLMMLL wrote: »

nope it's not that, unfortunately he had no cash so he had to take her half and put it in his pocket. Yes it's the same thing but looks very stingy. at least when both put half each in the bill and walk away, from an optics standpoint it seems fair and amicable. He brought a knife to a gunfight and looked the worst of it, not so much the act but more the execution. todays fish and chips paper though and all that!!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,783 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Yeah wasn't in the least bit surprised either. I was actually delighted when it said that he got back with his ex, he clearly still loves him. I didn't see him and Gary as anything more than great friends.
    50 50 ya bum

Pay for the lady ffs

"the lady" :pac:

If women want equality they can pay for their own meals.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,783 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Jesus, the look on your man's face when she said she liked meat!

I'd order the bloodiest f**king steak. Then maybe slap his face with it.

I know it's very in vogue to hate vegans right now, but I think he reacted like that more so because she said that she uses almond milk and vegan shower gel as if to say that she too is a vegan.. and then followed it up by saying she eats meat :pac: It reminded me a little of people who've told me that they're vegetarian and then follow it up by saying "but I still eat chicken".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

You're vegan aren't you? :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,629 ✭✭✭Hunchback

LLMMLL wrote:

Were those 2 statements made by the same people? If not, then they're just different opinions ?

I don't know how people manage to make it so awkward on the show though - I do be squirming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

It's a fair comparison, it was the general consensus.

ligerdub wrote: »
    You're vegan aren't you? :-)

Me? No, definitely not. I just the whole 'awkward vegan' thing tiresome.

One thing I really like about the Irish first dates is the emphasis is more so on the actual dates themselves. I love the UK one but I'm so sick of Fred and his musings on love, as if we're supposed to be listening to him or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭Sound Bite

Missed this week....when is the repeat show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,005 ✭✭✭Ann22

One thing I really like about the Irish first dates is the emphasis is more so on the actual dates themselves. I love the UK one but I'm so sick of Fred and his musings on love, as if we're supposed to be listening to him or something.

Yes and the waiting staff..I've no interest in their smalltalk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Definitely agree, don't care about Fred or the waiters, daters only please

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Sound Bite wrote: »
    Missed this week....when is the repeat show?

It's on the RTE Player here:

http://www.rte.ie/player/ie/show/first-dates-ireland-30003993/10684466/