Call to raise cost of tobacco to cut cancer rates

• 04-02-2017 07:24PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭

The Irish Cancer Society has urged the Government to follow Australia’s lead and increase the cost of smoking after the southern nation announced plans to raise the price of a packet of cigarettes to AU$40 (€28.50) by 2020.

Donal Buggy, Head of Services and Advocacy at the Irish Cancer Society said: "We need to send a strong signal that the Government is serious about reaching its target of a tobacco-free Ireland by 2025.

Nearly 3,000 cancer deaths in Ireland annually, about one in four, are caused by smoking.

Forest Ireland, a campaign group for smokers, has criticised the call to increase the cost of tobacco.

"Tobacco is a legal product and consumers shouldn't be punished or treated like lepers for exercising their right to buy or consume it."

http://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0204/850105-cancer-smoking/

Do yo think by raising the price of tobacco to 28e will put people of smoking ?

And also what's this having a tobacco free Ireland in 8 years ?

The tobacco black market is huge & with laws like this will mushroom & I cant see Ireland in 8 years being tobacco free or am I reading that wrong ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Surly raising the price will just make everyone buy the illegal fans instead??

Have heard of a lad selling 20K illegals a week in waterford city (200 packs at a time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Make it affordable or illegal. Don't pretend it's about people's health.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

€28.50 for a packet of 20? Could backfire badly and create an even bigger black market than there is now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 L Angelo Misterioso

Pointless. If the Government were so concerned they'd simply ban them altogether. Too much money to be made though - that's all they care about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,399 ✭✭✭eeguy

It would only work if they cracked down on illegal fags.

Lads are openly selling them in every market around the country and Gardai do nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Alcohol causes over 900 cancers in Ireland every year, with 500 deaths, according to the HSE National Cancer Control Programme - See more at:

Time to ban or raise the price of booze to €15 a pint too

Two reasons why this wont happen

1. If it did have the desired effect people would stop smoking thus lowering tax income for govt.

2. Black market sale would go through the roof, thus lowering the govt tax income.

So there you have 2 valid reasons why...oh no... wait....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

What's their position on processed meats I wonder ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

RasTa wrote: »
    Time to ban or raise the price of booze to €15 a pint too

That be REVOLUTION.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

learn_more wrote: »
    What's their position on processed meats I wonder ?
    Baloney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,571 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

This raising of the prices is the biggest load of tosh. If they think its so dangerous why don't they ban them? They do it with cannabis. Its total hypocrisy.

As is banning things that are viewed as 'dangerous' by some. Thats a load of bollix. If we don't endanger others why can't we decide for ourselves what we want to do with ourselves?
    I hate this nanny state sh1t. Its patronising. You can't do this. You cant do that. You cant think like this. You mustn't say that. Will you feck off with that please? People are fed up with being told whats correct by others. You keep pestering them and they serve you a Trump in return.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Don't know anyone who quit because the fags were too expensive. They just got them off "a bloke down the street" instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Money never gets in the way of addiction

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Life is short and then we die. Who really cares what kills us? If you didn't get cancer from smoking you'd most likely get it from something else anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Life is short and then we die. Who really cares what kills us? If you didn't get cancer from smoking you'd most likely get it from something else anyway.

Thats the kind of Doctors advise I need

Where is your practice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Smoking is great. Personally I'd like to see it banned in public but smokers should be applauded; they pay more in tax than they consume in health services and don't hang around claiming pensions and filling houses. Admittedly this is based on a study done by Philip-Morris in Czech Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

If the money genuinely went towards cancer research/care then I would be all for it but it won't so no fcuk off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

The rate of cancer has increased since we stop letting people smoke indoors and on planes.

The most I have paid for a pack of fags in the last 10 years is €6. You can go to Poland and bring 800 back legally and they are only €3.50 a pack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,679 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

The most I have paid for a pack of fags in the last 10 years is €6. You can go to Poland and bring 800 back legally and they are only €3.50 a pack.

Smoke them in good health.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 825 ✭✭✭jameorahiely

The rate of cancer has risen since they started rising the price of cigarettes

the 10 top things "the man"doesn't want you to know

You won't believe number 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,309 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Michael Douglas would disagree.

(Obscure joke :pac: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Yep, probably. Sometimes it seems like people forget there's more than just lung cancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

The Irish Cancer Society has urged the Government to follow Australia’s lead and increase the cost of smoking after the southern nation announced plans to raise the price of a packet of cigarettes to AU$40 (€28.50) by 2020.

Donal Buggy, Head of Services and Advocacy at the Irish Cancer Society said: "We need to send a strong signal that the Government is serious about reaching its target of a tobacco-free Ireland by 2025.

Nearly 3,000 cancer deaths in Ireland annually, about one in four, are caused by smoking.

Forest Ireland, a campaign group for smokers, has criticised the call to increase the cost of tobacco.

"Tobacco is a legal product and consumers shouldn't be punished or treated like lepers for exercising their right to buy or consume it."

http://www.rte.ie/news/2017/0204/850105-cancer-smoking/

Do yo think by raising the price of tobacco to 28e will put people of smoking ?

And also what's this having a tobacco free Ireland in 8 years ?

The tobacco black market is huge & with laws like this will mushroom & I cant see Ireland in 8 years being tobacco free or am I reading that wrong ?

Another bloody charity making noise

pre-empting :
    but but they provide nightnursing and transport volunteers and research and and

the HSE could do all that in their lunch-break while munching chips

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Cigarettes in this country are more then expensive enough as it is. Raising the price to almost €30 a pack would create an explosion in the black market and illegal activity. Own goal.

These sanctimonious health fascists piss me off. Didn't they get what they wanted with the smoking ban? Obviously not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,321 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Why don't they just make cigarettes healthier, put vitamin c in them or orange juice or something like that.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Tin Foil Hat

Money never gets in the way of addiction

High prices can certainly add to the misery of the afflicted, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Not very many people smoke anymore, well I don't notice it as much when out and about now.

The Irish Cancer Society is a charity, always fundraising and so on, yet they have a YUGE property on Northumberland Road that's worth a good few bob. Should go out to somewhere like Ballymount and put the proceeds to good use. LOL.

Once they've got the fags sorted, Vaping is next. Watch this space.

And no, there is a tipping point re prices, and then those who would never use smuggled dodgy fags will do so.

I heard you can ring the suppliers and they will deliver to your door!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

JupiterKid wrote: »
    ................These sanctimonious health fascists piss me off...................

may be mistaken but you might be able to add to that :

"All of the Irish Cancer Society’s work is funded by voluntary contributions: the charity does not receive any grants.

Donal doesn’t think that’s a bad thing."

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/news/donegal-news/46383/Helping-cancer-patients-cope-.html

However, figures obtained by TheJournal.ie show that the amount paid out to recipients in 2015 was in fact €1,551,775, and not the €1.8 million previously stated by the society.

http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-cancer-society-fund-closed-2543829-Jan2016/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Parachutes

I'd say cigarettes will be completely banned by 2050.

It seems strange that people think its okay to completely ostracize cigarettes to the point where they're almost impossible to enjoy on a regular basis just because they're bad for you. If we applied the same standard to processed food or drink for example and put in the same amount of public spending and policy would people feel the same way?

I think the dangers of smoking are completely overblown, I know people in there 70's and 80's who have smoked their entire lives who are as strong and healthy as an ox.

I say educate people and let them make their own decisions.