Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭ooter

Fcuk PBF, he's fighting Manny now.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

You can paypal me the 4 bob lads cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Gamebred wrote: »

I doubt anyone will pay up once they start watching it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Cheers Gamebred, no bother about that 4 euros, just PM me your card details and I'll send it on to ya, don't forgot the CVV either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

20 pence? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Is there anything new or is it just repeats of everything he's said already?

cloudatlas wrote: »

Seems to be same scripted stuff

cloudatlas wrote: »

Same talk.

As I said earlier he needs to commit to something instead of anything can happen.

It's just getting boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

I getting impression he has no intention of defending the belts any time soon, sounds like mid to late 2018

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

dave1982 wrote: »
    I getting impression he has no intention of defending the belts any time soon, sounds like mid to late 2018

*belt ;)

I'll have a listen in the morning. Say it's an awful load of ****e though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,916 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Helwani must have been paid well. I watched 20 minutes of it. Same ****e, different venue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 175 ✭✭Withrax

Is it just me or is he off his tits on something in this interview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

I though it was grand - enjoyed it actually - who was saying "drink isnt the only thing he is on" or similar - what are you on about??

Not the same stuff either - announced a few things. It was a chat - I wouldnt pay for it even if I had his money but why the hate?

(Apart from obvious hating reasons held by the usual few)

ardinn wrote: »
    I though it was grand - enjoyed it actually - who was saying "drink isnt the only thing he is on" or similar - what are you on about??

Not the same stuff either - announced a few things. It was a chat - I wouldnt pay for it even if I had his money but why the hate?

See post above yours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭BeepBeep!

ardinn wrote: »

100% agree with you. Listened to people's opinions before I watched the interview and feared the worst. Watched it then and actually enjoyed it. No way was he inebriated to an extent that it affected the interview. I've seen people here saying he should commit to something. He has about 5 organisations waiting for him to do that, once he does that he loses all his bargaining tools. It may be boring for his fans to listen to the same ****e but he has to say it or else he shows his hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

mdwexford wrote: »
    *belt ;)

I'll have a listen in the morning. Say it's an awful load of ****e though.
    lertsnim wrote: »
    Helwani must have been paid well. I watched 20 minutes of it. Same ****e, different venue.

I really enjoyed it. Thanks Gamebred.

There was a couple of nuggets in the interview. Not sure there's much point spoiler tagging anything tbh:

He booked a date in March for the Point (or whatever it's called these days) to put on an MMA show by McGregor Promotions. His idea was to set it up as a feeder promotion to the UFC and get all the up-and-coming SBG and Irish/European talent on it. It was due to be announced in the Octagon after the Alvarez win but he bailed out last second.

The baby is a boy.

He has a pre-arranged settlement with Nevada State Athletic Commission and is filming the anti-bullying commerical when he goes to Vegas next week. He'll be receiving his Nevada boxing licence during the same trip, as part of the same thing.

Admitted he's gone off the rails (implied w/ drinking etc) since UFC 205.

Best answer (probably) was when asked who would be his 3 ideal guests at a dinner table (dead or alive, real or fictional) and he said "Don't eat with someone you wouldn't be willing to starve with. My mother, father and family".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

See post above yours

He Posted that as I was typing - thats 2 people basically saying he was on drugs!

Comical idiocy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Watching Frampton Santa Cruz and Mayweather just said the Conor fight is happening and that the UFC are close to matching his number

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭slavetothegrind

Dana seems pissed off, but then it could all be an act too...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPqZ6Cf3n-8

sorry video won't embed for me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Dana seems pissed off, but then it could all be an act too...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wPqZ6Cf3n-8

sorry video won't embed for me....

I think Dana is pissed off because he knows that Floyd and Conor are talking to each other and trying to cut the UFC out of it.

Conor looks likely to challenge the legality of certain parts of his ufc contract and coming under the Ali Act to protect his right to earn money as a boxer.

Lots of sports lawyers have been saying for ages that ufc contracts are in contravention of employment law and completely unenforceable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

I think Dana is pissed off because he knows that Floyd and Conor are talking to each other and trying to cut the UFC out of it.

Conor looks likely to challenge the legality of certain parts of his ufc contract and coming under the Ali Act to protect his right to earn money as a boxer.

Lots of sports lawyers have been saying for ages that ufc contracts are in contravention of employment law and completely unenforceable.

Is Randy not stuck in limbo land with UFC and has 1 fight left on his contract, so he can do nothing?

Conors right though, UFC not doing all that well at the moment and I think the Ferrtitas seen it coming and it was their plan to flood market with MMA/UFC events get it mainstream then offload it. IMO UFC been on downward spiral last 2-3 years before every fight on the card was amzing now we lucky if we get a amazing card 1 or 2 times a year. Dana used always say if we lose the main event any fight on the card could a main event which was true, now... they have to cancel whole card if they lose it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Is there any possible links to the interview last night ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I'd say of all the things McGrgeor said, it was the comment that the UFC need to "know their place" which would have grated with him the most.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 HillBillyElegy

Anyone see the video on the Sun of McGregor lashing out at the fan's phone?

Let us all be honest here. McGregor is done. I've lost all interest in him...he has completely immersed himself up his own rectum.

Doubt we will see him in the Octagon again unless he squanders all his money (so I guess there is a good chance we will see him in the octagon again!)

Absolute waster and clown.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Let us all be honest here. McGregor is done. I've lost all interest in him...he has completely immersed himself up his own rectum.

Doubt we will see him in the Octagon again unless he squanders all his money (so I guess there is a good chance we will see him in the octagon again!)

LOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭Useful.Idiot

yep thought it would've been way worse and rowdier going by people's reactions but it was grand. Like Dana said he pretty much has to stay "F*** everyone" if people are paying to watch some entertainment through PPV. It seemed like a normal Ariel-Conor interview aside from all the bravado for the crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭how.gareth

Think you might be feeling a bit yellow pretty soon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

What was most strange was that there were no questions about the lightweight belt, the interim belt that will be fought for in 6 weeks and the potential match up between himself and either Ferguson or Kahbib. The Mayweather fight was probably no 1, the lightweight belt was the next biggest question. He made one comment about both Ferguson and Kahbib in general terms, as having glass chins. As an MMA supporter you would have been disappointed with this interview. There was nothing really specific about it. Yes we know that Conor wants another run at Nate Diaz, but to be honest, there are bigger potential matches out there than Nate.

I have a feeling that Conor will not defend any belts. He is on a collision course for a row and huge falling out with the UFC and it seems to be a pre ordained plan.