Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celebrity Big Brother 2017 [Mod Warning in Post #1]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭amor3

I felt very sorry for jamie when he heard his dad on the phone. They certainly were not fake tears. He was upset and crying.

I did too. He looked genuinely upset. In fairness to the creep, his head looked completely wrecked and probably needed a chat about the whole Bianca sitch. D'ya know wha I mean babe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Omackeral wrote: »
    Thing that gets me on here is some people get off lighter than others or get treated different for the same thing. People's minds are made up and that's simply that. Example would be Jamie crying when his dad was on the phone. Everyone saying it was fake and OTT but come on like. Yes he's a knob and a sleaze but can't he be upset too? Kim was emotional when her husband called and got all the awwwwwws and perhaps rightly so, but surely it's understandable that it's the same situation for him too.

To me Kim and Jamie's reactions were at two extremes that's why I said Jamie's reaction was OTT. I didn't comment on Kim's at all. Kim's reaction was the same one that I would have in that situation and it was similar to Colleen and Nicola's reaction during their part of the task.

I can only judge the situation that is presented and watching that clip I believed Jamie reaction was exaggerated for the cameras.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,774 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Personally I did not get all the tears by Jamie when he father was on the phone.

It is not like years ago when people went off to America or Australia and are never seen or heard of again apart from a letter. It is not like Jamie is in prison and has to do time, he chose to go in for the money, maybe these people are emotionally weak, maybe that is why we have a showmance.

When I go away and on my own from family, I have to contact my family every day, because I found my sister couldn't sleep one night because I had not contacted her, she had sent me a text and the time zone was several hours behind, when I saw the text, I decided it was too late to reply as she would be asleep and didn't want to wake her, but then I was told she couldn't sleep as I had not replied.
    In that house their family can see they are fine, and if anything was wrong BB would tell them. It makes all the tears seem way over the top, it is like a young child lost in a supermarket and crying for the parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭QueenOfWexico

Hi all! Very long time off here as I'm on final year placement but following CBB and this thread sporadically has kept me sane :D

Anyway, I'm probably very late to the game but here's my thoughts on the HMs left.

Love: None of them this year :(

Like: Jedward: They would have been in the love category but I can see how they would be annoying to live with at times. Things like the shaving cream/bubbles wouldn't bother me too much once they clean up, but I can see how the constant high energy might be exhausting. From what I've seen a lot of their bashing is uncalled for.. e.g Nicola starting on them by saying "What are you up to, you're looking at me funny" when they haven't done anything. On the whole they play up to being wind up merchants but do have a good heart too. The abuse they're getting from the other housemates might actually be the secret to them getting the win, and they're my winners this series!

Kim: Absolute raving lunatic but deserves a top 3 finish, maybe runner up. She shook up the entire dynamic of that house and knows exactly what she's doing. Like her purely due to the memeworthy one liners!

James C. I like him, nice bloke, doesn't bother me if he's top 3 but definitely should not get the win.

Meh: Callum: Seems all round nice guy, eager to please all but doesn't bring much for the telly watching. Thought he seemed quite smug in the diary room talking about how he's never been nominated so would like to see a change in that this weekend.

Bianca/Bonka: I really liked her at the start when she seemed to be doing her own thing getting on with all and being genuine. The evolution of this blatant showmance with Jamie and friendship with Nicola has turned me off her completely as she seems to just be playing a role that was basically handed to her.

Colleen: She's done well to get this far. Hasn't been the worst housemate but is a bit of a grump. Reacted quite well to Speidi's attempts at going at her I thought, in fairness to her.

Dislike: Jamie: Sleazy, sly, cringey. Bonka was 100% his third choice. If I was getting with a fella who was going on like that on national TV my poor parents would be morto. There's nothing genuine or sweet about this 'romance', where they pull each other off to the jacks twice a day for a shift. No real connection or chemistry there, just plain, shallow attraction and the glimmer of a magazine deal at the end. Knob.

Hate: Nicola: There are obviously good qualities to her but on the whole she has quite a nasty side and I don't like any of the airtime she gets. Once she's taken a dislike to anyone (Kim/Jedward) she tends to initiate many of the arguments with them and then spout off aggressive language in a very patronising way. I particularly don't like her run ins with Jedward. Speidi were also on point when they called her out for nominating Colleen for eternal immunity right after she'd done well in the public vote.

Losing Speidi and James J was such a shame for the house!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I don't understand the tears at all.

Seriously though, if I was lucky enough to be in BB and a family member phoned, the conversation would be like:

"Yeah, I'm alright, you?"
    "Are are you watching?"
    "Cool"
    "Yeah, mad isn't it"
    "Did Villa win?"
    "Who's dead in Eastenders?"

They're crying like they are on death row. Or in hospital and have just been given a few weeks to live.

Also, these people are used to the spotlight. Their families are used to seeing them on TV every now and then too, or being written about in the tabloids the odd occasion and so you'd understand such reactions more if they were members of general public, as it would so weird for them to be thrust into the pubic eye all of a sudden, but these people? Come on.

Or maybe I'm just broken inside :P

Just sitting down to watch cbbots, don't usually watch it but want to see speidi backtrack.

Now I know why I don't watch it, what an absolutely annoying audience..

I get people saying it's OTT to cry as it's a short time . My point is though that if Jedward or James C, for example, cried they would be judged far less harshly than Jamie was. People would be like ''ah our boys miss their mammy etc''. That's whataboutery I know but I truly believe it would be the case.

amor3 wrote: »
    Just sitting down to watch cbbots, don't usually watch it but want to see speidi backtrack.

Now I know why I don't watch it, what an absolutely annoying audience..

They're the worst aren't they. Last night was my second time watching it and
    I'd say my last. Mouthy arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I get people saying it's OTT to cry as it's a short time . My point is though that if Jedward or James C, for example, cried they would be judged far less harshly than Jamie was. People would be like ''ah our boys miss their mammy etc''. That's whataboutery I know but I truly believe it would be the case.

Well, maybe if James C cried I might feel something...

They're the worst aren't they. Last night was my second time watching it and
    I'd say my last. Mouthy arseholes.

Rylan isn't too far behind them either....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Mrs Woman

Hi all! Very long time off here as I'm on final year placement but following CBB and this thread sporadically has kept me sane :D

Anyway, I'm probably very late to the game but here's my thoughts on the HMs left.

Love: None of them this year :(

Like: Jedward: They would have been in the love category but I can see how they would be annoying to live with at times. Things like the shaving cream/bubbles wouldn't bother me too much once they clean up, but I can see how the constant high energy might be exhausting. From what I've seen a lot of their bashing is uncalled for.. e.g Nicola starting on them by saying "What are you up to, you're looking at me funny" when they haven't done anything. On the whole they play up to being wind up merchants but do have a good heart too. The abuse they're getting from the other housemates might actually be the secret to them getting the win, and they're my winners this series!

Kim: Absolute raving lunatic but deserves a top 3 finish, maybe runner up. She shook up the entire dynamic of that house and knows exactly what she's doing. Like her purely due to the memeworthy one liners!

James C. I like him, nice bloke, doesn't bother me if he's top 3 but definitely should not get the win.

Meh: Callum: Seems all round nice guy, eager to please all but doesn't bring much for the telly watching. Thought he seemed quite smug in the diary room talking about how he's never been nominated so would like to see a change in that this weekend.

Bianca/Bonka: I really liked her at the start when she seemed to be doing her own thing getting on with all and being genuine. The evolution of this blatant showmance with Jamie and friendship with Nicola has turned me off her completely as she seems to just be playing a role that was basically handed to her.

Colleen: She's done well to get this far. Hasn't been the worst housemate but is a bit of a grump. Reacted quite well to Speidi's attempts at going at her I thought, in fairness to her.

Dislike: Jamie: Sleazy, sly, cringey. Bonka was 100% his third choice. If I was getting with a fella who was going on like that on national TV my poor parents would be morto. There's nothing genuine or sweet about this 'romance', where they pull each other off to the jacks twice a day for a shift. No real connection or chemistry there, just plain, shallow attraction and the glimmer of a magazine deal at the end. Knob.

Hate: Nicola: There are obviously good qualities to her but on the whole she has quite a nasty side and I don't like any of the airtime she gets. Once she's taken a dislike to anyone (Kim/Jedward) she tends to initiate many of the arguments with them and then spout off aggressive language in a very patronising way. I particularly don't like her run ins with Jedward. Speidi were also on point when they called her out for nominating Colleen for eternal immunity right after she'd done well in the public vote.

Losing Speidi and James J was such a shame for the house!

Bloody brilliant post!

Rylan isn't too far behind them either....

Whoa steady on! He's got charm and wit in abundance. Rylan is love, Ry.... you know how it goes.

#RILRIL

Mrs Woman wrote: »
    Bloody brilliant post!

Seconded. A great return for The Queen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

The only reason I felt sorry for Kim during her phone call was because she is in a more vulnerable position in the house than Jamie. She has zero support in there (beside jed) and I felt for her because I'm sure she wanted to talk to someone who actually liked her. Jamie has had loads of support in the house and is being given a pat on the back for getting it on with someone who has a boyfriend when any other housemates would be torn down in that position. And also, when you don't like someone you just don't feel sorry for them. Like I don't like Nicola so I didn't care about her phone call with her kids because she is a b!tch. And that's the truth of it.

Whoa steady on! He's got charm and wit in abundance. Rylan is love, Ry.... you know how it goes.

#RILRIL

Haha... I usually do like him but as I said I don't watch bots and I just can't take to him on it!

#RILR.......

sorry just not the same!

#RILR.......

sorry just not the same!

I know. I know it's not. I'm just grieving is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭QueenOfWexico

Mrs Woman wrote: »
    Bloody brilliant post!
    Seconded. A great return for The Queen.

D'aww you guys! It's been a while. This thread really is the best

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

ziggy wrote: »
    What do you want? You said there was no proof of them being two faced, I gave you an example then you tied yourself in knots explaining it away using the narrowest definition of being two faced I've seen!

Roll eyes were fully justified

You might wanna get a definition of two faced then rollyeyes. A definition is a definition. Cunning and stirring are completely different things ok bbz? Yeah ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,980 ✭✭✭wyrn

ziggy wrote: »
    One of them called Nicola a bitch behind her back the other day and didn't say it to her face. Is that not two faced?

She's called them worse behind their back. She called them dickheads the other day when they weren't there.

That said, I hate this kind of craic. It's not too faced. We don't have to tell everyone every little thing we dislike about another person. Sometimes you just need to vent.

I'm now a Jedward fan but I have been critical of them. I don't what they do has any real malice behind it. I think the behaviour of others makes them look better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭Liordi

Thing that gets me on here is some people get off lighter than others or get treated different for the same thing. People's minds are made up and that's simply that. Example would be Jamie crying when his dad was on the phone. Everyone saying it was fake and OTT but come on like. Yes he's a knob and a sleaze but can't he be upset too? Kim was emotional when her husband called and got all the awwwwwws and perhaps rightly so, but surely it's understandable that it's the same situation for him too.

This x1000.
    I think people should be less biased in most situations and not have double standards.
    I find crying in that situation bizarre for every housemate but that's just me.

The same thing happens in the house to Jedward all the time though which is why I (and maybe others here) are rooting for them.
    e.g: the condom on the gold banana - majority of housemates said it was immature but if it was someone else they'd probably be in stitches.
    the chili challenge they did with Heidi. Nobody thought it was entertaining when they did it but when Bonka & Jamie did it everyone surrounded them to see who won.

It's kind of frustrating to watch and has nothing to do with their nationality for me.

Liordi wrote: »
    The same thing happens in the house to Jedward all the time though which is why I (and maybe others here) are rooting for them.
    e.g: the condom on the gold banana - majority of housemates said it was immature but if it was someone else they'd probably be in stitches.

That Sex Ed class from Mr Grimes was the absolute bees knees. His slow and deliberate demeanour as he gave the lesson was surreal. They were all just looking on in astonishment. I was losing it watching that segment. He didn't lose his composure once or get thrown off his game, the same cadence the whole way through. Loved it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,924 ✭✭✭✭Mam of 4

On the Jedward point , whether they are two faced or not , I think everyone in the house is , to some extent or another . Imagine if we were all in there , I'm sure we'd all do things that the others would find annoying or immature or just plain silly at times , same as in real life . Except they all want to get to the final , so snide comments or sly digs would be expected ,imo.

Except Nicola seems to be the only one that lets fly at the boys , she honestly hasn't a clue how to engage her brain before she opens her mouth to them . I think anyway :)

They'd probably drive me bonkers too at times , but I'd rather them dressing up in pizza boxes having fun than listen to B/J slurping and slobbering all over each other tbh :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭red ears

It doesn't bother me who ends up winning i just don't want Nicola to win. I want her to walk out to thunderous boos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

I really hope they show this tonight. John standing up to Calum.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1479228985495680&id=119257188159540

Eeeeekkkkkkk!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Lads, it's only on for half an hour tonight? That's crap. We'll see feck all.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Jedward are the only all stars who will leave the house having kept or enhanced their reputation. The rest of them are absolutely f*cking arseholes. Jedward are going to win it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,476 ✭✭✭neonsofa

It seems that something happened before that though that paints John in a bad light. Like it wasn't just John got sick of Calum being a dope. Wonder what happened.