Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

As opposed to what?

There was absolute crickets in here for weeks. At times 2 posts a day with one man and a sheep viewing and one of the posts would be "So, can he beat Floyd lads?......(facepalm)"

Like it or lump it, John Kavanagh is Conor McGregors head coach. When he makes national headlines attacking Streep, the actual headline is "Conor McGregors Coach".

So when he goes on twitter to slate the Woman's March by sarcastically suggesting they go march in Saudi Arabia, then it does reflect on and relate to Conor. It shouldn't - but it does. John is purely known in the wider media for one reason - Conor.

I guarantee you 100% if we had a Ronda Rousey thread and Edmond came out with those tweets, there'd be pages of discussion about Edmond in it and not many would be jumping to his defence.
    The last month has been ****e alright, without the politics and coke there'd have been nothing to read :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I'd disagree, his grappling is based on a wrestling game. He's either using upper-body locks (greco) to unbalance you and pull you down or double leg/single leg/High crotch enteries (freestyle) for the purpose of taking you on the Eagle Express. He mixes up these takedowns with very fundimental judo trips and reaps at times to keep you guessing.

On the ground it's pure wrestling control to maintain dominant position and advance to where he can do damage. The reason he's not trying to do slick guard passes like Maia is because he's not focused on taking your neck and not hurting you like Maia is, he's happy to just control you, inflict damage and make you his girlfriend for the next 15-25 minutes.
    A lot of those techniques might exist predominantly in one style or another. But they also exist in sambo itself.
    If he does a kosoto gake, or a harai goshi is he using judo or sambo? A large part of sambo scoring is using hold downs on the mat. Are these wrestling pins, or judo holddowns, etc
    Obviously I'm not suggesting it's all sambo, he has triangle wins which it essentially BJJ (illegal in sambo). And he clearly cross trains in all aspects of grappling. I'm just pointing out that, imo at least, sambo is much more rounded than BJJ, judo or wrestling.

I'd love be to find footage of him in NAGA. Googled turned up nothing but it must be out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

As opposed to what?

There was absolute crickets in here for weeks. At times 2 posts a day with one man and a sheep viewing and one of the posts would be "So, can he beat Floyd lads?......(facepalm)"

Like it or lump it, John Kavanagh is Conor McGregors head coach. When he makes national headlines attacking Streep, the actual headline is "Conor McGregors Coach".

So when he goes on twitter to slate the Woman's March by sarcastically suggesting they go march in Saudi Arabia, then it does reflect on and relate to Conor. It shouldn't - but it does. John is purely known in the wider media for one reason - Conor.

I guarantee you 100% if we had a Ronda Rousey thread and Edmond came out with those tweets, there'd be pages of discussion about Edmond in it and not many would be jumping to his defence.

Crickets >>> The current nonsense.

Hell I'd even rather watch a game of cricket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Effects wrote: »
    That's a bit much considering his own brother is quite openly gay. Perhaps he was just pandering to McInnes? Who to be honest, he should be calling out for that.

Homophobia has no place in mma, which is after all the gayest sport in existence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

What do people make of the political situation in South Sudan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Depp wrote: »
    not really the place for this so I'm not getting into it but do some research next time you want to come out with shite like this,

So are you disputing that this is common practice in christian majority countries in East Africa (and some countries in central and western Africa)? Because I can produce reams of research to back the statement.

I never once said it was an aspect of Christianity, it's something that happens to women regardless of their religion, which if you actually read my post instead of hunting for something to react to, you'd be able to understand.

I work SPECIFICALLY in the area of human rights research with a focus on violence against women and children with a multinational NGO. I've been "doing some research" on topics like this for the last 15 or so years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Depp

So are you disputing that this is common practice in christian majority countries in East Africa (and some countries in central and western Africa)? Because I can produce reams of research to back the statement.

I never once said it was an aspect of Christianity, it's something that happens to women regardless of their religion, which if you actually read my post instead of hunting for something to react to, you'd be able to understand.

I work SPECIFICALLY in the area of human rights research with a focus on violence against women and children with a multinational NGO. I've been "doing some research" on topics like this for the last 15 or so years.

fair enough you know what you're on about but that doesn't change your post was worded very misleadingly.

also of the top 5 countries (Mali, Eritrea, Mauritania, Guinea and Egypt) where the problem is biggest 4 are overwhelming muslim majority countries with at least 80% majority and only eritrea with a 50% to 48% split is of christian minority. these are the just the facts from unicef make your own conclusions.

I dont care what you know or what your job is, you try to use a post thats misleading (purposely or accidentally) to push a narrative, I'm calling you out on it.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,462 Mod ✭✭✭✭Axwell

Lads I already posted about this before..take the off topic debate/discussion to the off topic thread. Be it religion, politics or whatever else..I dont care who's coach said it or what fighter - it doesnt belong in this thread so quit clogging it up with that sort of stuff. The thread being quiet for a few days is not a reason to just derail it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

martyos121 wrote: »
    Diaz the exception of course, he handled the trash talk brilliantly and gave as good as he got

Nah, he didn't give as good as he got. The trash talk just didn't work on Diaz the same way it does on most other fighters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,305 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Nah, he didn't give as good as he got. The trash talk just didn't work on Diaz the same way it does on most other fighters.

Ah cmon, "Playing touch butt with dorks in the park" was better than anything Conor said to Nate in the build up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Zero-Cool wrote: »
    Ah cmon, "Playing touch butt with dorks in the park" was better than anything Conor said to Nate in the build up.

No way. That was a funny line from Nate but not great for getting under someones skin.

"Nate can only count to five"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,670 ✭✭✭✭rob316

No way. That was a funny line from Nate but not great for getting under someones skin.

"Nate can only count to five"

Forgot about this, epic stuff from Conor. "Get me, me coffee nate"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

The count to five was weak IMO, though that whole fox sports face off  chat 8 mins or so is GOAT fight promo. Touch butt and mocking Conors team mates defo hit a nerve. Was much better than gang signs with one hand, baloons with the other or some ****. 

His RDA mocking was pretty weak too, when RDA in broken english pointed out that aspiring to a better way of life was the american dream McGregor had an internal money panic when he realized how many people/fans he could be alienating.
    But when he's on fire, hes better than anyone else really. And it doesn't read as rehearsed either. Thats why its a bit annoying when people claim hes just talking like any young rum lad from Dublin, he's not - he had natural charisma and his turn of phrase into soundbites is something.   
    I think he's defo changed over the few years in the way he comes across as his star has risen. He also has a 'telephone voice' for when he's talking to US media too.
    And shout out to the off topic stuff, its a sign of good conversation surely when you can go from talking about russian grappling styles to female circumcision in Sudan in a few swift sentences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Conors striking is elite, Conors bjj we haven't seen much of but it has to be getting even better by the day. If Conor sticks around for a few more years he might get even better in my opinion, his take down defense has improved immensly judging by his last fight.

Question is will Conor stick around MMA to keep on fighting after 30? When he has millions in the bank and a Rolls Royce outside his mansion? Is the hunger still there?

As Marvin Hagler said "It's hard to get out of bed in the morning to go for a run when you're sleeping in silk sheets".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 647 ✭✭✭eddie73

Difference between McGregor and Diaz in their trash talk is a lot of McGregors is pre thought before interview. Diaz is all in the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

McGregor getting name checked in Eastenders tonight when one of the characters recovered from the laughable bus crash says:

"Feel like I've done six rounds with Conor McGregor".

Seen as they said 'six rounds' they must be talking about Conor the boxer and not the mma fighter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

More confirmation the Mayweather fight is on imo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

McGregor getting name checked in Eastenders tonight when one of the characters recovered from the laughable bus crash says:

Seen as they said 'six rounds' they must be talking about Conor the boxer and not the mma fighter.

That's hilarious that he's infiltrating the like of british soaps.
    But 6 rounds probably meant title fight + 1. Boxing would be 12 rounds with.

...or just shoddy writing :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Mellor wrote: »
    Boxing would be 12 rounds with.

Not if she was knocked out in the 6th.. here's the scene.

https://twitter.com/ConormcGregor5/status/824735101816823809

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

Pffft she's a bit full of herself isn't she???

Conor would have her finished in 30 seconds. Just another big mouth trying to raise her profile and get her name out there. Bum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

http://streamable.com/pnt5i

This doing the rounds. Personally think the guy was rude, the guys entitled to personally space. He's not some monkey in a zoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Floyd would have successfully snatched the phone, Conor doesn't stand a chance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

I think hes had enough now of the pictures with the public have heard of a few things lately similar of him being annoyed surprised it took this long tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

http://streamable.com/pnt5i

This doing the rounds. Personally think the guy was rude, the guys entitled to personally space. He's not some monkey in a zoo.

Link not working for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

I don't understand going up to celebrities/sports stars etc when they're going about their daily lives and trying to stick a camera in their face.
    I can understand grabbing a photo when they're doing specific photo ops etc or just giving a quick hello, head nod when walking by and saying 'good luck/big fan' etc but the general public are animals a lot of the time.

Luckily I'll never be famous because I'd spend the day telling people to **** off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Link not working for me

He didn't seem best pleased. All I'll say is the obvious answer in that situation is to roll up your window, not try grab someones phone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Wonder what was going on before the recorded bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

Wonder what was going on before the recorded bit.

No idea but he must get fairly fed up of people (like me) star-struck and looking for a photo.

It could be slightly related to what Cathal Pendred said a while back. When Conor has no fight lined up, God help whoever he spars with as he builds up a lot of pent-up-aggression. He's not used to having nearly a year off between fights when healthy, and that's the likely lay-off involved here if the baby is due in May and a fight camp begins in possibly August or September.

Or none of the above and he's just fed up of having phones poked in his face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭moneyman

It's pretty rude to stick a camera in someone's face for an impromptu video without asking, which is what I presume happened here. There's loads of videos like this out there of celebrities, with people just walking up and taking selfies/videos without even asking and getting negative reactions. He's not a zoo animal ffs.

The guy filming comes off much worse in that to be honest.