Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Official Conor McGregor thread (part 3) *Updated Warning in 1st Post Re:Boxing match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Mellor wrote: »
    I thought he applied in California? Maybe Nevada also.

John, if you are lurking can you confirm. :D

He definitely said Nevada... Could be both?

He should really be fighting Khabib/Ferguson winner though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

Does every new poster have to be a reporter? You're hardly the sole crux of rumours out there. Do you want me to justify my lurker status by mentioning wonderfullife and his annoyingly blinkered support mixed with solid disagreements every few months with McGregors coach.

But im asking as a fairly new fan, who genuinely didn't know he was partying when he tore his ACL. Im sorry if thats not allowed.

Oi!

My "blinkered" support for Conor is based primarily on the fact I think he is the best in the world, so I always take his side in fight discussions. I'm never going to say Khabib CAN'T get him down and sambo him to the next dimension. He can and he might. I just think it's more likely that Conor drops him first.

As for Coach Kav, he's a nice person I just don't agree with a lot of his views. He's a right-wing, alt-right type and I'm more of the compassionate "snowflake" type.

For example - he mocked the Womens March saying "why don't these people go march in Saudi Arabia or places that don't have equal rights?". Which is fairly hypocritical considering he personally took money from the Bahrain Royal Family whose record on women is just as atrocious as Saudi Arabia.

Then he posts on Facebook that Chael Sonnen would be a great addition to any gym. Which is fairly hypocritical because John's on record as saying he'd never allow anyone in his gym with a PED record.

So which is it? Is he for protesting against Bahrain and PED's or is he for their money and Chael types are welcome in the gym? :rolleyes:

As for Conor, he briefly alluded to his ACL recovery-partying in the walk-and-talk Ariel did with him before the Brandao fight. He just said he was hanging out with the wrong crowd and going out too much.

Ahh was a little dig, but tongue in cheek. Your blog post articulated just why your support is so 'blinkered' and it really is endearing. Just a few times when reading your posts they tend to over-egg a little. It would take some scrolling but I remember BJJ comments about how he dealt with someone like Dave Hill in comparison to high level black belts, some other bits about his drawing power too seemed a little OTT. 
    And I'm with you totally on Kavanagh. Twitter is the worst format for him, he can come across as very patronising. Whenever I've listened to interviews, podcasts etc he's come across really well. On social media he tends to come across as a pseud.
    And I'm off the same opinion with his hypocritical world viewpoint - these 'snowflake' 'sjw' insults, like being compassionate is a bad thing. But not sure this thread is the place to bring all that up.
    The ACL partying, I suppose he's just so much more in the public eye now that everything is scrutinized. Like his past has been alluded to and reading between the lines and the crowds he has been know to hang with you could come to a conclusion that wouldn't be a million miles off. 
    But doing it now, when the worlds at his feet - it seems a little silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I'm not seeing this.

As for him being alt right come on now! I'm guessing he's like an awful lot of people who are just in the middle, more than likely left of the middle, looking at the extreme left, the alt right, and populism politics thinking WTF is going on here!

I know I'm talking about some very non MMA issues here but I find labelling someone alt right when they're just not extreme left incredibly annoying.

He follows and likes tweets from Ben Shapiro, Gavin McInnes, Lauren Southern, Tomi Lahren and Milo. That's effectively the cast of Breitbart who, in my view, are about 1 notch below the views of Hitler. He liked a tweet from Lauren on her book "How Baby Boomers, Immigration and Islam screwed my generation". He liked a tweet from McInnes on a video of him sucker-punching an innocent protester with a fairly lame overhand right.

He went on Gavin McInnes show (twice) and both times laughed at homophobic statements and jokes, not to mention a joke about grabbing a baby by the pu*sy. I don't find jokes about sexually assaulting children amusing.

Either way, I don't think it does Conor a whole lot of good if his Coach keeps getting involved in controversy like the Meryl Streep rant and I don't think it does the image of Irish MMA any good either. And I certainly don't think many Muslims will be rushing to the doors of SBG if he keeps liking anti-Islam tweets on twitter.

See what you want to see. I see what I see.

Moving on...... is anybody actually going to this meet-and-greet in Manchester on Saturday?

He follows and likes tweets from Ben Shapiro, Gavin McInnes, Lauren Southern, Tomi Lahren and Milo. That's effectively the cast of Breitbart who, in my view, are about 1 notch below the views of Hitler. He liked a tweet from Lauren on her book "How Baby Boomers, Immigration and Islam screwed my generation". He liked a tweet from McInnes on a video of him sucker-punching an innocent protester with a fairly lame overhand right.

He went on Gavin McInnes show (twice) and both times laughed at homophobic statements and jokes, not to mention a joke about grabbing a baby by the pu*sy. I don't find jokes about sexually assaulting children amusing.

Either way, I don't think it does Conor a whole lot of good if his Coach keeps getting involved in controversy like the Meryl Streep rant and I don't think it does the image of Irish MMA any good either. And I certainly don't think many Muslims will be rushing to the doors of SBG if he keeps liking anti-Islam tweets on twitter.

See what you want to see. I see what I see.

Moving on...... is anybody actually going to this meet-and-greet in Manchester on Saturday?
    I enjoy reading a lot of your posts but I dont really care about John Kavanaghs political opinions. Also Lauren Southern isn't one step below Hitler, she is a youtube troll, that makes her views by trolling snowflakes, that is all.

Yeah fair point. I was only responding to the new poster who said I have blinkered support for Conor and disagreements about his Coach.

How many sales do you think the PPV of Conor's interview will do Saturday? I know £3.99 isn't a lot but will people actually pay €4/$5 for an interview with Ariel?

Yeah fair point. I was only responding to the new poster who said I have blinkered support for Conor and disagreements about his Coach.

How many sales do you think the PPV of Conor's interview will do Saturday? I know £3.99 isn't a lot but will people actually pay €4/$5 for an interview with Ariel?
    How long is the interview? What time is it on? If I was bored and was sitting home having a few beers and its a long interview I'd consider paying it. I mean, its only 4 euro? I'll most likely stream it at a later point, but I might watch it, I'll see what Im doing when its on.

It's advertised as a 1-hour special 9-10pm Saturday our time. Can't see it making much money to be honest. The link to buy it doesn't even work at the moment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Will lose faith in humanity if people pay for this when it will be on youtube instantly.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10 HillBillyElegy

Wonderfullife, stick to talking about MMA and not politics. You contribute something valid when talking about MMA.

But when talking about Politics you are just assuming that your political views are the correct views and judging Kavanagh off of that.

You are a self-described snowflake so please just stop.

I agree with you, McGregor should stop putting stuff in his nose.

Heard this from a friend who was at an event John Kavanagh was attending and speaking at last night:

John Kavanagh this evening said Conor has been granted a boxing license in Nevada and it will be publicly announced next week. He says that they want a Khabib or Mayweather fight at some time in 2017 after Conors child is born, most likely towards end of the year. Also wants to be on new years card December 31st 2017. This was at one of John's appearance events that he does.
    Khabib would destroy him

I'll take the bait,

Heard that line before :)

XJ9qQon.gif

One exchange like this and hes waking up with his 0 gone.

Wonderfullife, stick to talking about MMA and not politics. You contribute something valid when talking about MMA.

But when talking about Politics you are just assuming that your political views are the correct views and judging Kavanagh off of that.

You are a self-described snowflake so please just stop.

I agree with you, McGregor should stop putting stuff in his nose.

I'm assuming that Conor McGregor's Coach is going to get himself, Irish MMA & Conor in unwanted headlines if he keeps pushing political agendas - left or right. He already has with the Meryl Streep stuff.

I've no idea what Firas Zahabi or Greg Jackson believe in because they keep politics well away from their Twitter, Facebook and professional life. John, on other hand, goes on rants about "liberals" and "snowflakes" and inserts himself into media headlines.

It's not about 'correct opinions' or judging anybody. I just don't want to see Irish MMA tarred with an accusation of racism based on the fact we have so few non-white athletes and our most famous Coach is off liking anti-Islam material on Twitter.

I'm not the one bringing his politics into sport. He did that himself. For that matter, I don't want to see Conor in any headlines for being pictured in the Jacks in Diceys shoving stuff up his nose.

Meh.

Gamebred wrote: »
    I'll take the bait,

XJ9qQon.gif

One take down and it's good night for McGregor.

Alvarez had the right plan. Kick McGregor's lead leg and then try to take him down.

I'll take the bait,

XJ9qQon.gif

I think MJ needed to be a bit calmer and more clinical and he could have got Khabib out of there. He just started swinging for the fences when he wobbled him. If he picked his shots he'd have dropped him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

He went on Gavin McInnes show (twice) and both times laughed at homophobic statements and jokes

That's a bit much considering his own brother is quite openly gay. Perhaps he was just pandering to McInnes? Who to be honest, he should be calling out for that.

Alvarez had the right plan. Kick McGregor's lead leg and then try to take him down.

nintchdbpict000281880036-e1479033145747.jpg?w=960&strip=all

How that game plan go for him? and for everyone else.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

How did that fight go again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Worked well for him too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Alvarez had the right plan Jesus wtf :pac:

Johnson wobbled khabib and he wasn't even striking as he usually would, just look at the massive amount of distance he was keeping when throwing punches (presumably a tactic to avoid getting taken down). McGregor is knocking him out if he connects.

Do people really think it's going to be simple for khabib to take Conor down? Look at the first (I think) Alvarez knockdown, he was closing the distance to go for a takedown and got hit with a left that put his eyes to the back of his head. Khabib doesn't have half the chin Alvarez has, he's going to sleep if that happens. I honestly think Ferguson is a harder matchup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭hewhoscares

How that game plan go for him? and for everyone else.

Put the evidence that Khabib will get KO'd by McGregor is based on a fight KN won convincingly. Its just pointing out that there is a gameplan to get at McGregor. The kicks seemed to work, until McGregor landed. And that left landing just once tends to throw anyone not named Nate Diaz.
    I suppose that would be the fun in the fight, would McGregors TDD be good enough. Would he be able to goad Khabib into trading with him. Each round starts on the feet so you'd have to fancy Conor, but then again beatdowns on his back and he could well be a mess by the end of each 5 mins.

I will say one thing about Eddie.....

The way he started off the fight was 100% the right plan. By that I mean the first 25 seconds.

He landed 3 leg-kicks, 1 took Conor's base completely from under him, another off-balanced him and he circled away from Conor's left hand.

It's still strange to me why he abandoned it so quickly when it was working but the immediate game-plan was pretty sensible.

It's also why so many people believe(d) Aldo would present huge problems for Conor with his wide karate-based stance. If he could just avoid being unconscious he might give Conor problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

I will say one thing about Eddie.....

The way he started off the fight was 100% the right plan. By that I mean the first 25 seconds.

He landed 3 leg-kicks, 1 took Conor's base completely from under him, another off-balanced him and he circled away from Conor's left hand.

It's still strange to me why he abandoned it so quickly when it was working but the immediate game-plan was pretty sensible.

It's also why so many people believe(d) Aldo would present huge problems for Conor with his wide karate-based stance. If he could just avoid being unconscious he might give Conor problems.

A lot of that boils down to psychology too. Why are these top fighters abandoning their smart gameplans and instead trading with an elite counter-puncher? It's the other strength in Conor's game, the build-up to fights and how he handles them pretty much perfectly (Diaz the exception of course, he handled the trash talk brilliantly and gave as good as he got). He simply makes the opponent want to KO him, and that plays right into his hands.

Of course I'm playing the role of "armchair psychologist" here but it really does have an impact on his fights. It's often said (and it's true) that sport is 90% mental, and here you have a guy who is phenomenal at exploiting that.

martyos121 wrote: »
    A lot of that boils down to psychology too. Why are these top fighters abandoning their smart gameplans and instead trading with an elite counter-puncher? It's the other strength in Conor's game, the build-up to fights and how he handles them pretty much perfectly (Diaz the exception of course, he handled the trash talk brilliantly and gave as good as he got). He simply makes the opponent want to KO him, and that plays right into his hands.

Of course I'm playing the role of "armchair psychologist" here but it really does have an impact on his fights. It's often said (and it's true) that sport is 90% mental, and here you have a guy who is phenomenal at exploiting that.

I think you're right. Plus, if you watch the fight closely, when Eddie landed the third leg-kick Conor started talking to him and Eddie started talking back.

I'm only guessing but it looked like Conor was saying "Ah here, don't be messing with them leg-kicks, fight me!" type of thing. And very soon after Eddie circled around the other way and froze to the spot before telegraphing a 1-2 and being dropped.

I think you're right. Plus, if you watch the fight closely, when Eddie landed the third leg-kick Conor started talking to him and Eddie started talking back.

I'm only guessing but it looked like Conor was saying "Ah here, don't be messing with them leg-kicks, fight me!" type of thing. And very soon after Eddie circled around the other way and froze to the spot before telegraphing a 1-2 and being dropped.

Exactly. Sometimes it happens during fights like it did with Alvarez, sometimes it's before fights like Aldo, and rarely it just doesn't work like with Diaz. It's still one hell of a weapon though, and unless you have a very strong mind and extremely thick skin, it can't be avoided.

martyos121 wrote: »
    Exactly. Sometimes it happens during fights like it did with Alvarez, sometimes it's before fights like Aldo, and rarely it just doesn't work like with Diaz. It's still one hell of a weapon though, and unless you have a very strong mind and extremely thick skin, it can't be avoided.

Or just perpetually stoned in the build-up to the fight. I'm kinda being serious :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Its almost as hard to trash talk to a Diaz as it is to knock one out.
    Both brothers routinely do it during fights so they're well used to it.

Khabib is a world class wrestler. Game over. Look at Khabib's record.

Conor is a world class striker. Game over. Look at Conor's record.

And so it balances out to a 50/50 fight. :pac:

Honestly though, it's 50/50 to me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,187 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

VW 1 wrote: »
    Not sure about general white Americans feelings toward him at the time, but some of the stuff he said to Frazier was pretty abhorrent. Classless mostly, and led to it taking Frazier years to forgive him.

I dont think Frazer did forgive him.