Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam thread (car videos only)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭kirving

Had a similar one myself recently, but me in place of the truck. I saw a bike in my left rear view mirror coming up the bus lane quick enough, so I drove forward into the yellow box to cut off the car that was turning (right) across my path.

Cue getting abuse from the driver I had stopped, and the passenger in my car asking why I was driving like an arsehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭Isambard

it just goes to show you should drive your own vehicle and not rely on what others signal .

As it isn't in Ireland I don't think you can positively say that lane is for left turn only, it may be the arrow is there to warn drivers there is a left turn there. Depends on local regulations.

It could be entirely the car drivers fault, but no one is 100% correct here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭Isambard

I bow to your knowledge of Australian road law.

Car also turned too soon btw, across the double whites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,316 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

josip wrote: »
    Kind but not very clever by the HGV driver to let somebody across the road at that junction.
    The HGV will completely block the view of those in the left lane, even if it is only for turning left.
    Most HGV drivers would be more aware than that I think.

I was thinking the same, till I read this..
    Wailin wrote: »
    The numpty on the bike of course. If you look at the road markings at the start the lane the biker was in was for turning left. He was using it to go straight.

Then looked at this

https://www.google.ie/maps/@-35.3772306,150.4566399,428a,20y,62.04h,56.72t/data=!3m1!1e3

https://www.google.ie/maps/@-35.3736407,150.4633881,3a,75y,60.65h,90.32t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sp0ErpljrZU6f1xODTW11FQ!2e0!7i13312!8i6656

Bike undertaking in wrong lane, he should have been more aware, and with his view being blind from HGV it would have been prudent to have come to an almost stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,560 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

I say this as a semi retired biker, but the biker is totally at fault.
    The junction is two distinct lanes, turning left and straight ahead, as clearly marked by the arrows.
    The road ahead is a single lane with a hard shoulder, note all the cars in the one lane and the blue car leaves the left turn to join them.
    Biker is undertaking going straight in a left turn lane.
    He wasn't going particularly fast, but given the junction and the gap in front of the truck, he should have been more cautious.

Edit: didn't see Seve's post just ahead of me.

From Reddit. Driving at night :eek:

https://gfycat.com/GoodPolishedAuk

cisk wrote: »

fock that!

he doesn't seem to stop or even slow down much after
    yer man must have been gee eyed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,726 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

mad crazy Slovakian ba*tard!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

What kind of dashcam is that? Picture is unreal :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,894 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

josip wrote: »
    Unless he's driving a Road Train, he had plenty of space by 0:22 to be clear of the junction.

It looked like he would block it but within 3 seconds it was not the case as traffic moved and knitted together to leave loadsa room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,858 ✭✭✭✭cormie

mad crazy Slovakian ba*tard!!

Can I ask how you figured it's in Slovakia?

cormie wrote: »
    Can I ask how you figured it's in Slovakia?

:confused: you've even linked it yourself?

48.56673 19.10618

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,858 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I know, haha, I was just wondering if that's the how, because I couldn't make out the street signs:pac:

Maybe he was turning left and decided to bail out when the car took his line into the side road and tried to go around the back of the car to avoid the collision.
    Pulling on the brakes on a bike whilst leaning into a corner on a damp road is a recipe for disaster.

ah here, do you really think there was even the slightest chance he was turning left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭Mr Snow

starts 0.20 2 bicyles on the worng side of road

[html] This is how you do youtube links

[/html]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,308 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Seve OB wrote: »
    fock that!

he doesn't seem to stop or even slow down much after
    yer man must have been gee eyed
    Looks like he was playing chicken.
    Maybe he was turning left and decided to bail out when the car took his line into the side road and tried to go around the back of the car to avoid the collision.
    Pulling on the brakes on a bike whilst leaning into a corner on a damp road is a recipe for disaster.
    If the bike had gone left, he would have hit the trees.

I'd say that sort of accident was only a matter of time, if he regularly undertook traffic blindly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭tedpan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Gaspode

Mr Snow wrote: »
    starts 0.20 2 bicyles on the worng side of road

[html] This is how you do youtube links

[/html]

Cavan town? Figures!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Wailin

Er, no....I don't think so. He was definitely skipping traffic and using the wrong lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

What kind of dashcam is that? Picture is unreal :eek:

Left bottom says "Garmin"

So i reckon it is a Garmin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

Spotted this online earlier, there are no words really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭ando

Had a similar one myself recently, but me in place of the truck. I saw a bike in my left rear view mirror coming up the bus lane quick enough, so I drove forward into the yellow box to cut off the car that was turning (right) across my path.

Cue getting abuse from the driver I had stopped, and the passenger in my car asking why I was driving like an arsehole.

Good man, I would rather be shouted at then see someone get hurt!

Shane_ef wrote: »

unreal - the neck of some people. nice view of the reg there, hope the focker gets the book thrown at him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,055 ✭✭✭✭GBX

I know many see filtering on a bike as dangerous & illegal - its not. But that's some carry on from the not so smart driver!! Could have easily wiped out the cyclist too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,389 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

They must have been a tuk tuk driver in a previous life. What amazes me is how well they seem to know the width of the vehicle, perhaps they were just lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

According to some on reddit the car has no tax or MOT, says everything really

This list I can come up with, overtaking on a solid whit line, undertaking, driving without due car, dangerous driving (not sure of the UK equivalents)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Lorry driver at 45s wants the whole road for himself.
    The quality of vid took a nosedive when I converted it.
    They also removed the soundtrack I had!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

blade1 wrote: »
    Lorry driver at 45s wants the whole road for himself.
    The quality of vid took a nosedive when I converted it.
    They also removed the soundtrack I had!:mad:

Not many instances I would be arsed to report but if could pull a reg or identifying mark off that, I definitely would. Very stupid, very dangerous and deserves what he gets for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

According to some on reddit the car has no tax or MOT, says everything really

This list I can come up with, overtaking on a solid whit line, undertaking, driving without due car, dangerous driving (not sure of the UK equivalents)

Fortunate typo.